DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motsenbocker (US Pub 2004/0090195) in view of NYBERG (CN 106604865 B).
Regarding claim, Motsenbocker discloses a control system for controlling at least one marine drive unit (figs. 6-8, 10-15; sec 0160-0166) on a vessel (1520; figs. 14-15; sec 0216-0218, 0243-0245), the control system (sec 0160-0166) being configured to obtain data indicative of a speed through water (STW) of the vessel (sec 0155-0160),
the control system being configured to determine a propeller slip (sec 0155-0160) of the at least one marine drive unit based on a propeller speed (sec 0155-0160) of the drive unit and on the speed through water of the vessel (sec 0155-0160),
wherein the control system is configured to obtain a relationship between drive unit thrust and propeller slip (sec 0155-0160),
wherein the control system is configured to obtain data indicative of a desired thrust to be generated (sec 0155-0160) by the drive unit, and to determine a target propeller slip corresponding to the desired thrust (sec 0155-0160), based on the relationship between drive unit thrust (sec 0155-0160),
wherein the control system being arranged to control the propeller speed of the marine drive unit to generate the target propeller slip and to maintain the propeller slip below a predetermined propeller slip limit (sec 0155-0160).
Motsenbocker discloses at least one drive unit, but did not particularly recite, “….a plurality of marine drive units on the vessel,….”
However, NYBERG teaches of a control system for controlling at least one marine drive unit (fig. 1; abstract; s. on a vessel
wherein the control system is arranged to control a plurality of marine drive units on the vessel, where the control system is configured to obtain the data indicative of speed through water separately for at least two drive units out of the plurality of drive units [fig. 1; citing, “he power system 10 also includes a pair of main propellers 18A, 18B mechanically connected to a pair of engines 12A, 12B via respective drive shafts 19A, 19B, such as a gear mechanism (not shown). For example, each of the main propellers 18A, 18B may be configured as a controllable pitch orientation propeller. For example, the pitch of the blades of each propeller can be adjusted using a pitch control valve 36 (see FIG. 3), which will be described in more detail below. The drive shafts 19A, 19B transfer the rotation of the engine 12A, 12B to the main propellers 18A, 18B, so that the speed of the main propellers 18A, 18B, to the speed of the engine 12A, 12B is rotated at a rate proportional to the speed of the engine 12A, 12B. The thrust force provided by the main propellers 18A, 18B can be adjusted by adjusting the pitch of the blades of the propeller. In the following, this will be simply referred to as the pitch of the "adjusting main propeller" or, in the following description of the tunnel thruster, is "adjusting the pitch of the tunnel thruster”………..;
“The control unit 16 is configured to receive the current speed as the input propeller 14. The current speed of the propeller 14 is determined using, for example, a shaft adjacent to the propeller 14, the speed sensor provided in the motor 23 or at the other part of the propeller 14, and the speed can be obtained by the speed sensor. Alternatively, based on the frequency and/or other parameters supplied to the AC power of the motor 23, the speed of the propeller 14 can be obtained by the control unit 16. Further, the control unit 16 is configured to output the start/stop command to the starter 22 associated with the propeller 14, and to output the pitch for the propeller 14 to be set to the pitch control valve 34.
When the propeller 14 is activated, the frequency of the AC power supplied to the motor 23 determines the speed of the motor 23 and the propeller 14. Therefore, the control unit 16 is configured to receive an input indicating the current speed of the propeller 14, and a pitch for calculating the propeller 14, obtaining according to the thrust command value received from the operator input device 30 is the need of the pitch. For example, one or more maps can be stored in the memory, the memory can be accessed by the control unit 16. One or more maps can be associated with the received thrust command value, the speed of the propeller 14 and the required pitch, and can be used by the control unit 16 to calculate the pitch. The pitch may also be calculated based on one or more mathematical relationships between these parameters. Using the calculated pitch, the control unit 16 commands the pitch control valve 34 to adjust the pitch of the propeller 14 so as to obtain a thrust according to the thrust command value. In this manner, the desired thrust force can be obtained at the variable speed of the pusher 14.”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Motsenbocker to have at least two drive units for the purpose or advantage of improving performance and maneuverability of the Motsenbocker as taught by NYBERG.
Regarding claim 2, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim 1, where the marine drive unit comprises an electric machine arranged to provide a target axle speed upon request from the control system (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 3, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim 1, arranged to receive the data indicative of speed through water from a speed log arranged on the vessel (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 4, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, arranged to receive the data indicative of speed through water as speed over ground data from a global positioning system arranged on the vessel and/or from a sonar sensor system (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 5, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, arranged to obtain the relationship between drive unit thrust and propeller slip at least in part as a predetermined analytical function or a collection of predetermined analytical functions (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 6, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, where the relationship between drive unit thrust and propeller slip comprises a preconfigured look-up table (LUT) (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 8, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, arranged to control a port side drive unit and a starboard side drive unit, where the control system is arranged to configure a lower propeller slip limit for a turning maneuver outer drive unit out of the port side drive unit and the starboard side drive unit compared to a propeller slip limit for a turning maneuver inner drive unit out of the port side drive unit and the starboard side drive unit (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 9, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, arranged to control a marine drive unit having an adjustable propeller pitch and comprising an electric machine that is controlled by the control system, where the control system is arranged to control the propeller speed and the propeller pitch of the marine drive unit to generate a target propeller slip, based on a predetermined relationship between efficiency, motor axle speed, and applied torque of the electric machine (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 10, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, comprising a centralized vessel motion management module (VMM) arranged to request a propeller slip from at least one motion support device (MSD), control module (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 11, Motsenbocker discloses the control system according to claim1, comprising a centralized vessel motion management module (VMM) arranged to request a propeller speed from at least one motion support device (MSD), control module (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 12, Motsenbocker discloses a marine vessel comprising the control system of claim 1 (sec 0155-0160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motsenbocker (US Pub 2004/0090195)
Regarding claim, Motsenbocker discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling a marine drive unit (figs. 6-8, 10-15; sec 0160-0166) on a vessel (1520; figs. 14-15; sec 0216-0218, 0243-0245), the method comprising:
obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system (sec 0160-0166), data indicative of a speed through water (STW) of the vessel (sec 0155-0160),
determining, by the processing circuitry, a propeller slip (sec 0155-0160) of the marine drive unit based on a propeller speed of the drive unit and on the speed through water of the vessel (sec 0155-0160),
obtaining a relationship (400) between drive unit thrust and propeller slip (sec 0155-0160),
obtaining data indicative of a desired thrust to be generated by the drive unit (sec 0155-0160),
determining a target propeller slip corresponding to the desired thrust, based on the relationship between drive unit thrust and propeller slip (sec 0155-0160), and
controlling, by the processing circuitry, the propeller speed of the marine drive unit to generate the target propeller slip and to maintain the propeller slip below a predetermined propeller slip (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 14, Motsenbocker discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 13 (sec 0155-0160).
Regarding claim 15, Motsenbocker discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry (sec 0160-0166), cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 13 (sec 0155-0160).
Conclusion
The prior art, US 11673633 B1, US 10766592 B1 made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657