DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits of application 19/472,359. Claims 24-43 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 7, “guid rail” should read “guide rail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the channel" in line 3 and again in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-27, 29, 32-34, 36-37, and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110817649 A (Chen et al.).
Regarding claim 24, Chen et al. disclose:
A pit-set assembly for an elevator system, the pit-set assembly comprising:
at least one pit platform (31) positioned in an elevator pit of the elevator system,
wherein the at least one pit platform supports a bottom end of at least one
guide rail (21, 22) of the elevator system;
at least one first support element (322) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one first support element abuts a vertical first face of
the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (322 abuts the bottom end of the vertical face of the tip of guide rail 21 or 22, for example the tip of 21 facing leftward in figure 4); and
at least one second support element (321) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one second support element abuts a vertical second
face, opposite to the first face, of the bottom end of the at least one guide
rail, and wherein a position of the at least one second support element is
adjusted, with respect to the at least one guide rail, to abut the second
face of the bottom end (vertical part 3211 of 321 abuts the vertical back side of the bottom end of 21, 22).
Regarding claim 25, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein the at least one first support element abuts the first face of the at least one guide rail to form a surface contact between one or more peripheral faces of the at least one first support
element and the first face (figure 5), and the at least one second support element is adjusted to form a surface contact between the second face of the at least one guide rail and one or more peripheral faces of the at least second support element (by adjusting bolts shown on 321 on both the horizontal portion and the vertical portion).
Regarding claim 26, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein the at least one second support element comprises a plurality of elongated holes (elongated holes shown in figure 4 on the back side of 321, labeled 32 in figure 4, 321 and 322 are portions of 32, additional elongated holes also in figure 5 on the horizontal portion of 321), and wherein
each of the elongated holes receives a fastening member (bolts shown in figures 4 and 5) and allows lateral adjustment of the at least one second support element between a first position and a second position (holes in horizontal portion of 321 allow lateral adjustment between two end positions).
Regarding claim 27, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein, upon installation of the at least one guide rail, the at least one second support element is laterally adjusted to a position, between the first position and the second position, such
that the at least one second support element abuts the second face of the at least one guide rail (as shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 29, Chen et al. further disclose:
further comprising:
a first pair of support elements (321, 322, collectively labeled 32, lower left figure 5) having a first support element (322) and a second support element (321) mounted at a first end of the at least one pit platform (left end of 31); and
a second pair of support elements (321, 322, collectively labeled 32, lower right figure 5) having a first support element (322) and a second support element (321) mounted at a second end of the at least one pit platform (right end of 31),
wherein the first support element and the second support element of each pair of support elements are mounted on the at least one pit platform at a predefined distance (D) from each other (distance between bolt holes of the horizontal portion of each 321), and each of the first pair of support elements and the second pair of support elements supports the bottom end of one of guide rails (as shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 32, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein the at least one first support element and the at least one second support element are formed as a singular plate-like structure (321 is formed as a singular, bent plate-like structure).
Regarding claim 33, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein a thickness of the at least one first support element is greater than a thickness of the at least one second support element;
or
wherein a thickness of the at least one first support
element (thickness of 322, right side of figure 5 measured vertically) is less than a thickness of the at least one second support element (thickness of 321, right side of figure 5 measured vertically).
Regarding claim 34, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein each of the at least one first support element and the at least one second support element comprises at least one flat surface to facilitate positioning on a top surface of the at least
one pit platform (horizontal part 3212 of 321 has a flat surface to facilitate positioning on the top surface of 31).
Regarding claim 36, Chen et al. disclose:
An elevator system comprising:
at least one counterweight (right side of figure 7, unlabeled);
at least one elevator car (center of figure 7, unlabeled) coupled to the at least one counterweight, wherein the at least one elevator car moves within an elevator shaft (figure 1) having an elevator
pit (bottom end of figure 1);
at least one guide rail (21, 22) extending along the elevator shaft, wherein the at least one
guid rail guides movement of the at least one counterweight and the at
least one elevator car (21 guide the car, 22 guide the counterweight); and
a pit-set assembly positioned in the elevator pit, wherein the pit-set assembly (figure 5) supports the at least one guide rail, the pit-set assembly including:
at least one pit platform (31) positioned in the elevator pit,
wherein the at least one pit platform supports a bottom end of the at least one
guide rail (21, 22);
at least one first support element (322) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one first support element abuts a vertical first face of
the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (322 abuts the bottom end of the vertical face of the tip of guide rail 21 or 22, for example the tip of 21 facing leftward in figure 4); and
at least one second support element (321) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one second support element abuts a vertical second
face, opposite to the first face, of the bottom end of the at least one guide
rail, and wherein a position of the at least one second support element is
adjusted, with respect to the at least one guide rail, to abut the second
face of the bottom end (vertical part 3211 of 321 abuts the vertical back side of the bottom end of 21, 22).
Regarding claim 37, Chen et al. further disclose:
further comprising at least one supporting bracket (323) coupled to a third face of the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (323 is either directly or indirectly coupled to a face of the rail that is perpendicular to the first face and the second face).
Regarding claim 40, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein a profile of at least one peripheral face (face that extends toward each rail 21, 22) of the at least one first support element (322) conforms with a profile of the channel at the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (the face of 322 that faces 22 conforms with the profile of the channel formed by the extension portion of the rail 22 at the bottom end of the rail), wherein the at least one first support element forms a form-fitting connection with the channel of the at least one guide rail (as shown from above in figure 5), and wherein a profile of the at least one peripheral face of the at least one second support element conforms with a profile of the second face of the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (peripheral faces of 321 and the back of each rail 21, 22 conform with each other).
Regarding claim 41, Chen et al. further disclose:
wherein the at least one guide rail is embodied as a guide rail having one of an I-shaped profile and a T-shaped profile (21, 22 have T-shaped profiles).
Regarding claim 42, Chen et al. disclose:
A method of installing a pit-set assembly in an elevator system, the method comprising:
positioning a pit-set assembly (figure 5) within an elevator pit (bottom of figure 1), the pit-set assembly including:
at least one pit platform (31) positioned in the elevator pit, wherein the at least one pit platform supports a bottom end of at least one guide rail (21, 22) extending along an elevator shaft (figure 1);
at least one first support element (322) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one first support element abuts a vertical first face of the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (322 abuts the bottom end of the vertical face of the tip of guide rail 21 or 22, for example the tip of 21 facing leftward in figure 4); and
at least one second support element (322) mounted on the at least one pit platform, wherein the at least one second support element abuts a vertical second face, opposite to the first face, of the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (vertical part 3211 of 321 abuts the vertical back side of the bottom end of 21, 22); and
adjusting (by loosening bolts on the horizontal portion of 321 and adjusting the lateral position of 321), upon installing the at least one guide rail (21, 22), the at least one second support element with respect to the at least one guide rail to locate and abut at least the second face of the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (the back face of the guide rail abuts the vertical part of 321), wherein the first face, opposite to the second face, abuts the at least one first support element (the front face of 21, 22, opposite the back face abuts 322, figure 5).
Regarding claim 43, Chen et al. further disclose:
further comprising securing the at least one second support element (321, by tightening bolts on the horizontal portion of 321) to a position on the at least one pit platform (31) when the at least one second support element abuts the at least one face of the at least one guide rail.
Claims 24, 30-31, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20040129505 A1 (Rice et al., cited on the IDS filed October 3, 2025).
Regarding claim 24, Rice et al. disclose:
A pit-set assembly for an elevator system, the pit-set assembly comprising:
at least one pit platform (30, 32) positioned in an elevator pit of the elevator system,
wherein the at least one pit platform supports a bottom end of at least one
guide rail (16, 20, 22, 24, 26) of the elevator system;
at least one first support element (flange 34, figure 3) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one first support element abuts a vertical first face of
the bottom end of the at least one guide rail (34 abuts the bottom end of the vertical face of the back side of rail 20, figure 4); and
at least one second support element (second support element, annotated figure 4) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one second support element abuts a vertical second
face (front vertical face of rail 20), opposite to the first face, of the bottom end of the at least one guide rail, and wherein a position of the at least one second support element is
adjusted, with respect to the at least one guide rail, to abut the second
face of the bottom end (the second support element is a rail clip adjusted by the fastener shown at the center of the clip to abut the front face of rail 20).
Figure 4 of Rice et al., annotated by the Examiner
Regarding claim 30, Rice et al. further disclose:
further comprising:
at least one car buffer plate (40 on plate 32, figure 3) mounted on the at least one pit platform, wherein the at least one car buffer plate supports a first buffer unit (48, figure 4) for an elevator car;
and
at least one counterweight buffer plate (40 on plate 30) mounted on the at least one pit platform,
wherein the at least one counterweight buffer plate supports a second buffer unit (48) for a counterweight.
Regarding claim 31, Rice et al. further disclose:
wherein each of the at least one first support element and the at least one second support element has a plate-like structure and/or is formed of an alloy or a metallic material (34 has a plate-like structure).
Regarding claim 35, Rice et al. further disclose:
wherein the at least one pit platform (30, 32) is at least one of:
formed of a sheet metal; embodied as a structure having a U-shaped cross-section; and/or includes at least one bent edge coupled to one or more structural elements of the elevator system (paragraph [0019], “The plates and the fittings associated therewith may be manufactured of any appropriate material, such as steel, cast iron, or aluminum,” lines 11-13, plates 30, 32 also have U-shaped cross sections and include at least one bent edge, 54/64 that couple to each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110817649 A (Chen et al.) in view of EP 1194359 B1 (Schmidt, cited on the IDS filed October 3, 2025).
Regarding claim 28, Chen et al. teach:
The pit-set assembly according to claim 26.
Chen et al. do not teach:
wherein the plurality of elongated holes is oriented in a direction parallel to each other and inclined with
respect to at least one peripheral face of the at least one second support element to be in contact with the at least one guide rail.
However, Schmidt teaches:
A pit-set assembly, and
wherein the plurality of elongated holes (elongated holes, annotated figure 10) is oriented in a direction parallel to each other and inclined with respect to at least one peripheral face of the at least one second support element to be in contact with the at least one guide rail (the elongated holes are parallel to each other and inclined relative to a face of the bracket that contacts the guide rail 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the elongated holes of Chen et al. such that they are parallel to each other and inclined relative to the contact face of the second support element as taught by Schmidt to facilitate adjustment of the second support element relative to the guide rail in one movement that moves the support element angularly toward the rail rather than adjusting each side of the rail relative to the second support element. Chen et al. teach inclined elongated holes on the vertical portion of the second support element that are angled opposite to each other rather than parallel. The parallel holes can be adjusted simultaneously rather than individually which saves time during installation.
Figure 10 of Schmidt, annotated by the Examiner
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110817649 A (Chen et al.) in view of WO 2020127787 A (Butler et al.).
Regarding claim 38, Chen et al. teach:
The elevator system according to claim 36.
Chen et al. teaches a traditional T-shaped rail and does not teach a hollow guide rail with a non-uniform cross-section.
However, Butler et al. teach:
An elevator system,
wherein the at least one guide rail (figure 4) is embodied as a hollow guide rail having a non-uniform cross-section bordered in a closed manner and defining at least three guide contours (9a, 10b, 10c, 17, figure 4) for guiding the at least one elevator car and the at least one counterweight (9a is for guiding the car, 10b, 10c are for guiding the counterweight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hollow or closed-edged rail in the elevator system of Chen et al. as taught by Butler et al. for increased stability without increasing material. Butler et al., “The design of the elevator rail with a closed-edged cross-section has the advantage that, with the same use of material, it is significantly more stable than an open cross-section.” page 3, paragraph 5, lines 1-2 of the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 39, Butler et al. further teach:
wherein two guide contours are formed as a tongue (10b, 10c are formed as tongues) and distant apart from each other defining the second face therebetween (a vertical face is between tongues 10b and 10c), and wherein one guide contour is formed as a channel (9a) having the first face abut the at least one first support element mounted on the at least one pit platform (in the combination with Chen et al. the vertical face of 9a of Butler et al. abuts the first support element).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP-S61135865-U, JP-H02158586-A, JP-H0442300-Y2, JP-H1192050-A, JP-2001226053-A, JP-2005126217-A, JP-2005343629-A, JP-4279383-B2, JP-4544843-B2, JP-5554097-B2, and JP-2021195212-A are cited to show pit-set assemblies for elevator systems that have at least one adjustable support element for contacting the guide rail.
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654