DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the submission by the applicant of a preliminary amendment dated 10/3/2025. The examiner has examined these new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US10221542) in view of applicant cited Mcaree et al (US8311970).
A method of determining an estimated payload weight (Abstract 1st sentence; col. 1 ll 55-57; fig. 5 at 520) of a work machine (“mining machine”), wherein the work machine comprises a boom (130) and a boom lift electronic actuator (col. 7 ll 8-11) configured to actuate the boom (fig. 1), the method comprising:
determining a preliminary estimated weight value of the payload using (col. 5 ll 54-57; col. 6 ll 58-64):
a net force on the boom lift electronic actuator determined from a motor current (col. 4 ll 6-9; col. 1 ll 29-36) of the boom lift electronic actuator, wherein the motor current is indicative of a motor torque and wherein the motor torque is indicative of a net force on the actuator (col. 4 ll 55 to col. 5 ll 3; col. 5 ll 44-63); and
a position of the boom (col. 3 ll 53-54; arrows in figures 1, 2, 4 & 6);
adjusting the preliminary estimated weight value (col. 7 26-27; col. 5 ll 38-41) to provide an estimated payload weight value, wherein the adjustment comprises filtering; and
outputting the estimated payload weight value (col. 6 ll 62-65; col. 8 ll 55-67).
Lee does not disclose electronic filtering of the weight values.
Mcaree discloses a work machine payload estimation controller where weight values are adjusted or filtered (figures 6 & 7). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the work machine controller art to adjust and manipulate the signals of Lee by filtering as taught by Mcaree.
A motivation for this is that electronic filters improve signal quality by removing unwanted noise, mitigating interference, and shaping frequency spectra. This U.S.C. 103 combination is an example of the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 2 Lee in view of Mcaree discloses the method of claim 1. Lee discloses (col. 6 ll 6-16 & Equation 1) the use of angular acceleration and Mcaree discloses the use of adjusted or filtered signaling (fig. 7).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Mcaree et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zimmerman et al (US 20220145592).
Lee in view of Mcaree does not disclose the step of determining the preliminary estimated weight value comprises using a weight lookup table.
Zimmerman discloses a work machine (10) using an estimated weight value (fig. 3) calculation that uses lookup tables (0044, “the machine 10 (e.g., via the data received from the corresponding sensors), and an estimated weight, the lookup tables”). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in this art to augment the device of Lee in view of Mcaree with the weight value lookup tables of Zimmerman. A motivation for doing so would be to quickly calculate a tractor's total operating weight and axle distribution without driving onto a physical scale. This U.S.C. 103 combination is an example of the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Mcaree et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Young (US20230104698).
Lee discloses (figures 1 & 2) a work machine (100) coupled to a work tool (“bucket 140”).
However, Lee in view of Mcaree does not disclose a tilt electronic actuator configured to actuate the coupled work machine to work tool.
Young discloses (0087 & 0090) a work machine tractor (fig. 5 “power machine 500”) load controller with a coupler configured to connect to a work tool (516); and a tilt electronic actuator configured to actuate the coupler (“electrical tilt actuators 522”). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the work machine load controller art to improve the control between the work machine and work tool of the device of Lee in view of Mcaree with the tilt electronic actuator of Young. The motivation for this would be to improve the control subtlety of the control. This U.S.C. 103 combination is an example of the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Mcaree et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zimmerman et al (US 20220145592).
Lee in view of Mcaree does not disclose recording the estimated payload weight value against a corresponding loading event.
Zimmerman however, discloses (0017 last sentence) recording the estimated payload weight value against a corresponding loading event (“nominal conditions recorded during calibration that relate the adjusted force value to the load weight”). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill to improve the device of Lee in view of Mcaree with the recorded estimated payload weight value against a corresponding loading event as taught by Zimmerman. A motivation for this would be to improve the reliability of the estimated values of Lee in view of Mcaree. This U.S.C. 103 combination is an example of the KSR case law rationale A; combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Mcaree et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Currier (US 20200263384).
Lee in view of Mcaree does not disclose comparing the estimated payload weight value to a threshold weight value.
Currier discloses a work machine loading tractor (fig. 1) that compares an estimated payload weight value to a threshold weight value (Abstract; 0006; claim 1). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in this art to upgrade the device of Lee in view of Mcaree with the technique of comparing the estimated payload weight value to a threshold weight value as taught by Currier. A motivation for this combination would be to ensure more reliability of the estimated and final weight measurements. This U.S.C. 103 combination is an example of the KSR case law rationale A; combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-11, 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658
1 Claim 15 is rejected as being an apparatus claim version of method claim 1. After doing a “compare viewer” comparison between claims 1 and 15 it is noted that both claims a virtually the same.