DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the cover element” should be replaced with --the flexible cover element--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations (“arranged so as to face a light diffusion region of the lighting device”) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Correction is required.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations (“the housing opening is arranged to diffuse the light of the lighting device”) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Correction is required.
Regarding claim 19, it appears the “support” of claim 1 and the “housing” of claim 19 are both referring to the same element (41). Clarification of correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. CN 114684244 A (hereinafter “Xu”, previously cited in an IDS).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses a vehicle steering wheel comprising:
a frame (rigid body 151, shown in FIGS. 2-3);
a lighting device (light emitter 210, circuit board 220) arranged to emit light towards a user;
a flexible cover element (light-transmissive cover 130, includes a cover body 131 and a connection portion 132) at least partially covering the lighting device, the flexible cover element being at least partially permeable (“portion 1310 of the cover body 131 corresponding to the cutout 111 of the cover 110 is made of a transparent material (e.g., Polycarbonate (PC), Polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), Polyamide (PA), etc.,” and “the light-transmissive cover of the present invention is not limited thereto, and for example, in some cases, the cover body of the light-transmissive cover may be entirely formed of a transparent material“) to light, and
a support (housing 120) arranged between the frame and the flexible cover element,
wherein the flexible cover element comprises at least one protuberance (132) arranged at least partially in at least one recess of the support (refer to FIG. 2 or FIG. 3).
Note: The phrase “flexible” is a very broad to include any material or object that is capable of any amount of bend.
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses wherein the at least one protuberance is permeable to light (130 is translucent).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses wherein the at least one protuberance is arranged in a region through which the light of the lighting device does not pass.
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses wherein the at least one protuberance is formed or imprinted entirely with the flexible cover element.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Xu discloses wherein the at least one protuberance is overmolded (formed as one member) or glued on the flexible cover element.
Regarding claim 19, further comprising a housing (12) having a housing opening which is arranged to house the at least one protuberance.
Regarding claim 20, a motor vehicle (automobile) comprising a vehicle steering wheel according to claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653