DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification does not disclose reference numbers for “a fold” and “a return fold” (Claim 7). Upon adding these reference numbers, it should be ensured that these reference numbers and the associated features are also shown in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 5 and 16-18, the term “preferably” is recited however is indefinite as it is not clear whether the limitation is required or not. Furthermore, this term has been recited multiple times in an attempt to claim narrowing ranges, however the indefiniteness applies in each instance.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the sliding engagement" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 14, “a fastening interface” is recited, however this structure is already introduced in parent Claim 1. If it is the same structure that is intended, proper antecedent basis should be used. Or if it is a different structure, a unique name should be selected. Additionally, it is not clear whether “the foam” in line 4 is required since it is associated with the foam alternative (i.e. not the insert alternative).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0274920 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. discloses
a flexible substrate (11, Fig. 5), designed to cover part of the vehicle steering wheel (comprising 10) once the trim element has been mounted on the vehicle steering wheel,
an attachment portion (15), separate from the flexible substrate and having an attachment shape such as a male attachment shape (i.e. 15 is inserted) or a female attachment shape, wherein:
the attachment portion is designed to be attached, at least during part of
and/or after an operation of mounting the trim element on the vehicle steering wheel, on a fastening interface (i.e. inner surfaces of 13 that are parallel to shaft of 15 as well as the horizontal surfaces of 13/14 against which 17 contacts) of the vehicle steering wheel, comprising a fastening shape such as a female fastening shape (i.e. into which 15 is inserted) or a male fastening shape.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim et al. discloses
the flexible substrate is arranged to cover at least part of the attachment portion once the trim element has been mounted on the vehicle steering wheel (i.e. when viewed from the right or left direction in Fig. 5, 11 covers/overlaps with 15).
Regarding Claims 3 and 15, Kim et al. discloses
at least two attachment portions (i.e. 1) the central shaft of 15, and 2) hooks 17), at least one of said at least two attachment portions (i.e. the central shaft of 15) is arranged to be attached, at least during part of an operation for mounting the trim element on the vehicle steering wheel, to a dedicated fastening portion (i.e. the inner surface of 13 that is parallel to the shaft of 15) of the fastening interface of the vehicle steering wheel. It is noted that ‘portions’ may be taken as any sectional parts of a whole.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim et al. discloses
the flexible substrate has an elongate shape in an axial direction (i.e. as outstretched in the left/right direction of Fig. 5, since ‘axial’ is not defined), and said at least two attachment portions are each arranged at one end of the flexible substrate in the axial direction (i.e. each attachment portion is arranged at both ends of 11 in the left/right direction, wherein the claim does not preclude as such).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16-18, Kim et al. discloses wherein the attachment portion has:
a first interface surface (i.e. the central shaft of 15) in contact with the flexible substrate,
a second interface surface (horizontal surface of hooks 17) arranged to be in contact with the fastening interface, wherein the first interface surface is greater than the second interface surface (see Fig. 5), preferably the first interface surface is greater than 120% of the second interface surface, preferably the first interface surface is greater than 160% of the second interface surface, preferably the first interface surface is greater than twice the second interface surface. Also see the 112 rejection above.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. discloses
the attachment portion (15) is at least partially arranged in a fold of the flexible substrate or in a return fold of the flexible substrate (i.e. 15 is arranged at a region where 11 is folded into 13 on both ends, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim et al. discloses
the attachment portion (15) is arranged to engage on the fastening interface (i.e. inner surface of 13), by resilient or sliding engagement (i.e. 15 is pushed/slid into 13).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim et al. discloses
the sliding engagement is arranged to take place in a direction parallel to a direction of application of a force for mounting the trim element on the vehicle steering wheel (i.e. 15 slides into 13 in a direction parallel to a direction of application of force for mounting 15/upwards in Fig. 5) or in a direction parallel to an axial or longitudinal direction of the flexible substrate or the trim element. Also see the 112 rejection above.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim et al. discloses
the flexible substrate comprises or forms a decorative element, arranged to be visible, such as an outer casing of the vehicle steering wheel (i.e. ‘decorative’ is subjective, wherein the leather of 11 may be found to be aesthetically pleasing, also see [0046]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim et al. discloses
at least one trim element (comprising 11 and 15) according to claim 3,
a fastening interface (i.e. inner surfaces of 13 that are parallel to shaft of 15 as well as the horizontal surfaces of 13/14 against which 17 contacts), formed in a foam of the vehicle steering wheel or in an insert (14) of the steering wheel and separate from the foam, wherein the fastening interface receives or interfaces at least partially with the two attachment portions (i.e. interfaces with the central shaft of 15 and hooks 17). Also see the 112 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0274920 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, Kim et al. discloses adhesive to be applied between 13 and flexible substrate 11 but does not disclose it between the flexible substrate 11 and 15.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Kim et al. by including adhesive between the flexible substrate 11 and attachment portion 15, since Kim et al. already discloses adhesive between the substrate and another part and it would have been “obvious to try” to do so between the flexible substrate and attachment portion. This would achieve the purpose of an additional means of securing the substrate to the steering wheel.
It is noted that by applying the adhesive as such, the press fit would cause the adhesive to form in a thin film.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0274920 A1) in view of Chen (US Pub No. 2023/0408299 A1).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Kim et al. does not disclose the flexible substrate to have an electrically conductive element.
Chen discloses the flexible substrate (i.e. covering material 103) comprises or forms an electrically conductive element and capacitive detection sensor (see Claim 14 of Chen), for the purpose of detecting if a hand is away.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Kim et al. by including the electrically conductive
element and capacitive detection sensor as disclosed by Chen, for the purpose of detecting if a hand is away.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bertrand et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0354743) discloses element 110 that tensions the covering material.
Kreuzer et al. (US Pub No. 2002/0017157) discloses attachment portion 34 and fastening interface 36.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 August 13, 2026