DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on October 4, 2025. Claims 1-17 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0126291 (“Xu”), which corresponds to a priority application filed in July 2022, in view of the level of skill in the art.
With respect to claim 17, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
An apparatus of video coding, the apparatus comprising one or more electronics or processors (see Figs. 1A-1C, 17, items 1, 2, 13, 23, 1000, 101, 71, ¶¶6-7, 34-55, 118, 317-326, describing encoders and decoders, i.e., apparatuses of video coding, which may comprise one or more electronics/processors) arranged to:
receive input data associated with a current block, wherein the input data comprises pixel data to be encoded at an encoder side or coded data associated with the current block to be decoded at a decoder side, and wherein the current block is coded in intra prediction (see Fig. , ¶¶6-7, 38-39, 41-47, 50-56, 84, describing that the encoder/decoder may receive input data associated with a current block/CU comprising pixel data to be encoded at an encoder side or coded data at a decoder side, and that the current block/CU may be coded using intra prediction);
determine one or more templates for the current block (see Fig. 4, ¶¶75-80, 89, 91-93, 98, 100-102, 118-124, 204, describing determining one or more templates for a current CU/block);
determine a reference region for said one or more templates, wherein the reference region comprises multiple reference lines (see citations with respect to element above, showing and describing a left template region 12, an upper template region 12, and a reference template region 13, i.e., reference region, for the one or more templates which may comprise multiple reference lines);
determine a first selected intra mode from a set of intra mode candidates based on costs associated with the set of intra mode candidates, wherein a target cost for a target intra mode candidate is evaluated based on reconstructed signals and predicted signals in said one or more templates for the target intra mode candidate, and the predicted signals in said one or more templates for the target intra mode candidate are generated based on the reference region (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, describing that the system may select, i.e., determine a first selected, intra mode candidate based on the cost/SATD of that intra mode candidate and that the cost/SATD is evaluated based on the difference between the reconstructed value of the template region, i.e., reconstructed signals, and the prediction result for each mode, i.e., the predicted signals, for the template region based on the template – generated based on reference region);
derive a first multi-line predictor as a weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra- mode predictors, wherein each of said two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors is derived according to the first selected intra mode based on one respective reference line in the reference region, and at least two first-selected-intra-mode predictors use different reference lines (see citations with respect to elements above, and ¶¶80, 101-102, 207-208, 212, 224, 230, 232, 235, 239, 251, 253-254, 260-261, 293-294, describing that the prediction (which as detailed above may be multi-lined) may be determined as a weighted sum of 2 or more lowest cost intra mode predictors, i.e., first-selected-intra-mode predictors, and that these predictors are derived according to the cost analysis, i.e., derived according to the first selected intra mode, based on the template region for each of the modes, i.e., based on at least one respective reference line in the reference region, and that each of the two lowest cost modes use different reference regions, i.e., different reference lines);
generate a fuse predictor comprising the first multi-line predictor and at least another intra predictor (see citations with respect to element above, describing that a fused predictor may be generated by a weighted combination of the first multi-line predictor and at least another intra predictor); and
encode or decode the current block using information comprising the fused predictor (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, describing that the current block/CU is encoded/decoded using this fused prediction/predictor).
Xu describes in various portions the analysis of a difference/SATD/SAD which may be expressed as variables “cost1” or “cost2”. Xu does not always label this difference/SATD/SAD as a “cost” or “target cost”. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood the different ways to analyze the “cost” of using a candidate for prediction and would have understood, at least from the use of the variable names “cost1” and “cost2” associated with the SATD and from portions of the specification that equate the term “difference” with “cost” (e.g., 190), that each of these terms – difference, SATD, and SAD – refer to a “cost”, e.g., “target cost”, associated with using a particular mode for prediction. Accordingly, to such a person, it would have been obvious to have used the term “cost” in place of difference, SATD, or SAD in the disclosure of Xu. Thereby, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of independent claim 17.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 recites the elements of claim 17 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 17 also applies to claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of independent claim 1. Xu also discloses:
wherein said at least another intra predictor comprises a second multi-line predictor generated by determining a second selected intra mode from the set of intra mode candidates based on the costs associated with the set of intra mode candidates, and deriving the second multi-line predictor as a weighted sum of two or more second-selected-intra-mode predictors, wherein each of said two or more second-selected-intra-mode predictors is derived according to the second selected intra mode based on one respective reference line in the reference region, and at least two second-selected-intra-mode predictors use different reference lines (see ¶¶204-207, 251, describing a higher level fusion, i.e., weighted sum prediction, wherein the fusion prediction is based on fusing multiple IPF prediction results (see Xu’s specification throughout which indicates that the term fusion refers to weighted summing, e.g., ¶¶80, 207, 293, 300, 310), and that each IPF prediction result is based on a multi-line predictor generated by determining a candidate mode based on difference/SATD/SAD/cost associated with the mode and weighted summing two or more selected predictors which use different reference lines and are derived according to a selected mode based on the reference/template region).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein a set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors is determined for the current block adaptively (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 17 above, and ¶¶82, 235, describing that the weights may be determined for the current block based on the costs or based on reference line, i.e., is determined adaptively).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein a set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors is determined for the current block according to one or more pre-defined rules (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 17 and 3 above, describing that the weights may be determined according to cost rules or reference line rules, i.e., pre-defined rules).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in art, discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein one or more syntax elements to indicate values of a set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors are signaled in a bitstream or parsed from the bitstream (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and ¶¶84, 235, describing that the weights for the weighted sum of the two or more first-selected-intra-mode-predictors may be indicated by the reference line index, i.e., the syntax elements indicate a set of weights for the weighted sum, and that these may be transmitted/signaled in a bitstream from the encoder to be received/parsed at the decoder).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 5. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein said one or more syntax elements are in one or more high-level syntax sets (see citations and arguments and ¶¶168-171 and table therein, describing that the reference line index syntax may be signaled in a high level syntax set for the CU).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 6.
With respect to claim 8, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein one or more syntax elements are signaled in a bitstream or parsed from the bitstream for deriving values of a set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 3 and 5 above, describing that the syntax elements, e.g., reference line index, may be signaled in a bitstream or parsed from the bitstream for deriving a set of weights for the weighted sum of the fused intra mode predictors).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 8.
With respect to claim 9, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein said deriving the first multi-line predictor and said generating the fused predictor comprising the first multi-line predictor and said at least another intra predictor are disabled for the current block according to one or more pre-defined rules (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and ¶¶210, 216-217, 219, 221-223, 225, 228-229, 255, 266, 303-304, describing that TIMD fusion and/or IPF mode, i.e., deriving the first multi-line predictor and said generating the fused predictor comprising the first multi-line predictor and said at least another intra predictor, may be conditioned according to pre-defined rules).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 9.
With respect to claim 10, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein said deriving the first multi-line predictor and said generating the fused predictor comprising the first multi-line predictor and said at least another intra predictor are disabled for the current block if the current block is coded in one or more target prediction modes (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 and claim 9 above, describing that TIMD fusion and IPF may be disabled for the current block if the current block is coded in certain angular modes, i.e., one or more target prediction modes).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 10. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein said one or more target prediction modes comprise DC prediction mode and Planar prediction mode (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 9-10 above, including ¶¶303-304, describing that a disabling condition may be that a current block is coded in DC or planar mode).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 11.
With respect to claim 12, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein one or more high-level syntax sets are used to indicate whether said deriving the first multi-line predictor and said generating the fused predictor comprising the first multi-line predictor and said at least another intra predictor are enabled or disabled for a current video data unit (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and ¶¶260, 263, 270-274, 277, describing a tmrl_fusion_flag, indicating that tmrl fusion mode may be used, i.e., deriving the first multi-line predictor and said generating the first multi-line predictor and at least another intra predictor are enabled or disabled, for the CU).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 12.
With respect to claim 14, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein a set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors is determined implicitly (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above, including ¶235, describing that the weights may be determined by reference line index, i.e., implicitly).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 14.
With respect to claim 15, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 14. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein the set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors is determined according to block dimension, area size, QP, reference line index, prediction mode associated with the current block, or a combination thereof (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above including ¶235, describing that the weights may be determined according to reference line index).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 15.
With respect to claim 16, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Xu additionally discloses:
wherein a set of weights for the weighted sum of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors is determined implicitly when width, height, and/or size of the current block is greater than or less than one or more specified threshold values (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 17 and 14-15 above, describing that TMRL fusion and/or IPF include weighted fusion of two or more first-selected-intra-mode predictors and includes implicitly determined weights and ¶¶209-210, 225, 228, 255, 265-266, 285, 303-304, describing that the use of this mode may be conditioned based on block size/width/height being greater or less than a threshold).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of the level of skill in the art and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0030837 (“Jeon”), which corresponds to priority applications dated in 2022 and March 2023.
With respect to claim 7, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of dependent claim 5.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein said one or more syntax sets comprise SPS (Sequence Parameter Set), PPS (Picture Parameter Set), PH (Picture Header), SH (Slice Header), or a combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon discloses that it was known to include syntax elements like reference line index in the SPS, PPS or other higher level syntax set, i.e., wherein said one or more syntax sets comprise SPS (Sequence Parameter Set), PPS (Picture Parameter Set), PH (Picture Header), SH (Slice Header), or a combination thereof (see ¶414, describing reference line indices may be included in the SPS, PPS, or the like).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with signaling information from encoder to decoder to assist in the decoding of a block and where such elements may be located in the bitstream. Such a person would have understood that, as evidenced by Jeon, that one such location for such information, including reference line index information, is in the SPS, PPS, or like parameter set. Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, signaling the reference line index of Xu in the SPS or PPS as taught by Jeon would have represented nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a mechanism for signaling the reference line index of Xu in the SPS or PPS as taught by Jeon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of the level of skill in the art and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0337931 (“Wang”), which corresponds to a priority application dated January 2023.
With respect to claim 13, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above, Xu in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of dependent claim 12.
Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein said one or more syntax sets comprise SPS (Sequence Parameter Set), PPS (Picture Parameter Set), PH (Picture Header), SH (Slice Header), or a combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses that it was known to include syntax elements that indicate the use of a fusion mode in the SPS, PPS or other higher level syntax set, i.e., wherein said one or more high-level syntax sets comprise SPS (Sequence Parameter Set), PPS (Picture Parameter Set), PH (Picture Header), SH (Slice Header), or a combination thereof (see ¶614, describing that indicators for fusion modes, e.g., intra TMP fusion, may be included in the SPS, PPS, header, etc.).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with signaling information from encoder to decoder to assist in the decoding of a block and where such elements may be located in the bitstream. Such a person would have understood that, as evidenced by Wang, that one such location for such information, including fusion mode usage information, is in the SPS, PPS, or header. Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, signaling the TMRL fusion flag of Xu in the SPS, PPS, or header as taught by Wang would have represented nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a mechanism for signaling the TMRL fusion flag of Xu in the SPS, PPS, or header as taught by Wang.
Conclusion
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481