Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the words “… on the the detected reaction whether …” should be rewritten as “… on the detected reaction whether …”.
Appropriate amendment is required to correct the clerical or typographical error.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Each of claims 2 and 11 recites “wherein the method is carried out only in response to it not being otherwise reliably determined whether at least one hand is arranged on the steering wheel.” It is unclear what is meant by “carried out only in response to it not being otherwise reliably determined.” The foregoing limitation does not define what the “otherwise” methods are. Nor does it define the boundaries of when the method is active or inactive. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the scope of the limitations are ambiguous or indefinite.
Furthermore, the term “reliably” in “reliably determined” is a relative and/or subjective term of degree. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Moreover, the phrase “not being otherwise reliably determined” creates an ambiguous negative limitation because it implies there are alternative methods being used but fails to define these methods in the claimed language.
Appropriate amendments are required to address the above-identified issues. No new matter should be added for any amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urhahne (US 2013/0317699) in view of Stout et al. (US 2002/0129988).
Regarding claim 1, Urhahne teaches a method for detecting contact of hands with a steering wheel of a vehicle, the method comprising: impressing a test signal on the steering wheel by an actuator; (see at least Urhahne at [0009] which discloses that a method according to the invention is suitable for use in a vehicle in which an actuator (e.g., electric motor) for selectively applying a steering force and sensors for measuring the current steering force and/or the steering angle are associated with the steering linkage (which includes a steering wheel, a shaft, and a steering pinion); see Urhahne at [0010-0013] which discloses that the invention proceeds according to the following steps: a) the actuator impresses a test force pattern on the steering linkage that propagates to the steering wheel; b) the steering force sensor and/or the steering angle sensor measure(s) the reaction (e.g., movement) of the steering wheel to the test force pattern; and c) the strength of the reaction of the steering wheel is used to decide whether or not at least one of the driver's hands is in contact with the steering wheel; see Urhahne at [0014] which discloses that the invention is based on the fact that a steering angle disruption caused by the test force pulse pattern produces a different reaction in the case of a) a free steering wheel without driver contact with at least one of the driver's hands versus the case of b) a "held" steering wheel. Also, see at least Urhahne at [0026] which discloses that FIG. 2 schematically illustrates one embodiment of a method according to the invention, wherein individual steps may be omitted or carried out in another order if useful and that the corresponding steps are implemented in a known manner as a software algorithm inside the electronic control unit (ECU)
10, the control unit also obviously simultaneously performing other control tasks.)
detecting a reaction on the steering wheel to the test signal by a sensor; and deciding, based wherein on the [the] detected reaction whether at least one hand of the driver is in contact with the steering wheel, (see Urhahne at [0009] which discloses sensors for measuring the current steering force and/or the steering angle are associated with the steering linkage; see Urhahne at [0012-0013] which discloses that b) the steering force sensor and/or the steering angle sensor measure(s) the reaction (e.g., movement) of the steering wheel to the test force pattern; and c) the strength of the reaction of the steering wheel is used to decide whether or not at least one of the driver's hands is in contact with the steering wheel.)
wherein the test signal is impressed according to [a predefined torque curve], and wherein the torque curve initially, abruptly increases to [a predefined minimum torque, which corresponds to a minimum friction of a steering system of the vehicle] (see Urhahne at [0021] which discloses that various methods are known for executing in ECU 10 to derive an assistive torque to be applied by motor 14; see Urhahne at [0023] which discloses that electric motor 14 is designed to apply the additional steering torque to drive pinion 16 in a manner to assist the driver, the applied torque also affects steering wheel 12 and that in the present invention, electric motor 14 is used to generate a test force in a pulse pattern; see Urhahne at [0029] which discloses that the increase of the test force pulse pattern may be comprised of a greater force magnitude or a longer duration (i.e., larger number of cycles) of the pattern. Examiner maps the term pattern in “pulse pattern” to predefined torque curve. Examiner notes that a pulse corresponds to an abrupt increase.)
Urhahne does not expressly disclose a predefined torque curve, and a predefined minimum torque, which corresponds to a minimum friction of a steering system of the vehicle, which in a related art, Stout teaches (see at least Stout at [0038] which discloses that the present invention produces a favorable steering feel by generation the required reaction torque, td, as feedback to the driver's action, or disturbance torque, td. Examiner maps required reaction torque to the minimum friction of a steering system of the vehicle; see at least Stout at [0042] which discloses that multiple programmable torque curves can provide a range of adjustable steering feel for the operator and that the predetermined torque curves are used in the control loop to change the gain and gain limitation values automatically. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Urhahne to incorporate a predefined torque curve, and a predefined minimum torque, which corresponds to a minimum friction of a steering system of the vehicle, as taught by Stout.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to use torque curve equations in a control loop to automatically change the gain and the gain limitation values as the vehicle's speed and dynamic characteristics change and produce an adjustably controlled steering reaction torque, as suggested by Stout at [0041-0042].
Regarding claim 2, the modified Urhahne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is carried out only in response to it not being otherwise reliably determined whether at least one hand is arranged on the steering wheel (see Urhahne at [0006] which discloses that the detection of a hands-on state is easily made during times when the driver carries out active steering movements and that such movements can be detected by the steering angle and steering force sensors which are usually present in connection with other driving dynamics systems; however, detection becomes more difficult during times when no relatively great manual steering interventions are necessary (e.g., on relatively long, straight stretches or when automatic steering assistance systems are engaged), that in these situations, manual engagement with the steering wheel may be very light (e.g., only a finger on the driver's hand may be holding the steering wheel), and that in any case, it is necessary for the "hands-on-off" detection to be effected in a very reliable manner; see Urhahne at [0007-0008] which further discloses detecting the driver's hands on a steering wheel using an electronic circuit based on a change in the capacitance in a resonant circuit (i.e., acting as a proximity switch) and that it would be desirable to provide a method and apparatus for detecting contact between any portion of the driver’s hands with the steering wheel of a motor vehicle which distinguishes between "hands-on" and "hands-off" states in a particularly reliable manner without the need for additional hardware; further, see Urhahne at [0017] which discloses that alternatively or additionally, operation of a control element (for example buttons or indicator switches) arranged on the steering wheel can also be assumed to be an indication that at least one of the driver's hands is at least sufficiently close to the steering wheel. Examiner notes that Urhahne discloses a number of different methods and apparatus’ which previously provide detection of driver’s hand on a steering wheel and that the invention provides a desirable method and apparatus.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Urhahne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in response to the minimum torque being reached, (see Stout at [0038] which discloses that the present invention produces a favorable steering feel by generation the required reaction torque, td, as feedback to the driver's action, or disturbance torque, td. Examiner mapped required reaction torque to the predefined minimum torque.)
the torque curve increases with a predefined first slope to a predefined value (see Urhahne at [0023] which discloses that in the present invention, electric motor 14 is used to generate a test force in a pulse pattern, and the effects of the test force on steering wheel movement are then analyzed; see Urhahne at [0027] which discloses that step 32 first of all generates a short first test force pulse, for example one period of a sine wave at a frequency which is as close as possible to the unattenuated, inherent torsional frequency of the steering system; see Urhahne at [0029] which discloses that the increase of the test force pulse pattern may be comprised of a greater force magnitude or a longer duration (i.e., larger number of cycles) of the pattern. Examiner notes that a pulse (i.e., infinite slope) has a predefined first slope to a predefined value. Examiner notes that a pulse has a predefined first slope (i.e., infinite slope)).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Urhahne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, after a predefined time duration, the torque curve decreases with a second slope at least to the predefined minimum torque (see Urhahne at [0023] which discloses that in the present invention, electric motor 14 is used to generate a test force in a pulse pattern, and the effects of the test force on steering wheel movement are then analyzed; see Urhahne at [0027] which discloses that step 32 first of all generates a short first test force pulse, for example one period of a sine wave at a frequency which is as close as possible to the unattenuated, inherent torsional frequency of the steering system; see Urhahne at [0029] which discloses that the increase of the test force pulse pattern may be comprised of a greater force magnitude or a longer duration (i.e., larger number of cycles) of the pattern. Examiner notes that a sine wave decreases from its maximum to zero and that this portion of the sine wave corresponds to the torque curve decreasing at a second slope to a minimum value. Also, see Stout at [0038] which discloses that the present invention produces a favorable steering feel by generation the required reaction torque, td, as feedback to the driver's action, or disturbance torque, td, in which the Examiner mapped required reaction torque to the predefined minimum torque.)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Urhahne teaches method of claim 1, further comprising generating and making available a release signal for at least one assistance system based on the decision of whether at least one hand of the driver is in contact with the steering wheel such that a release of the at least one assistance system takes place when at least one hand of the driver is in contact with the steering wheel (see Stout at [0032] which discloses that the road wheel controller 44 provides a road wheel torque control signal 54 as an output to the road wheel actuator 50; see Urhahne at [0029] which discloses that as indicated in step 40, detection is likewise immediately ended and the hands-on state is detected whenever an active steering action is performed by the driver.)
Regarding claim 9, the modified Urhahne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is carried out only in response to at least one assistance system transmitting a readiness signal (see at least Stout at [0030] in conjunction with Fig. 1 which discloses that control signal 70, the road wheel torque 34 and the steering wheel reference angle 32 are sent to the steering wheel controller 16 by the road wheel controller 44. Examiner maps the control signal to the readiness signal. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
Independent claim 10 recites a device that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 1. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the device of claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 1 above.
Claims 11-13, 16, and 18 recite a device that perform the steps recited in the method of claims 2-4, 7, and 9. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejections of claims 2-4, 7, and 9 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the device of claims 11-13, 16, and 18. Therefore, claims 11-13, 16, and 18 are rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 2-4, 7, and 9 above.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urhahne (US 2013/0317699) in view of Stout et al. (US 2002/0129988) and further in view of Nehmer et al. (US 4,138,723).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Urhahne does not expressly disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the release signal releases a starting process or re-starting process for an adaptive cruise control, which, in a related art, Nehmer teaches (see at least Nehmer at col. 6 which discloses that the cruise mode of operation is initiated upon release (following actuation) of the SET switch 42 which produces a 0-1 transition of the SET' signal. Examiner maps the SET’ signal to the release signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Urhahne to incorporate wherein the release signal releases a starting process or re-starting process for an adaptive cruise control, as taught by Nehmer.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to initiate the cruise mode of operation, as suggested by Urhahne at col. 6.
Claim 17 recites a device that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 8. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 8 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the device of claim 17. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 8 above.
Conclusion
/ROY RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664