DETAILED ACTION
Following is a list of prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including prior arts not relied upon in the rejection
US 20260032232 A1 (hereinafter Zhang)
US 20260113462 A1 (hereinafter Hung)
US 20210352274 A1 (para 339-340; coding information from a list of candidates is selected { para 339, 331} ; para 265 multiple pieces of coding information is stored, Fig.12, para 288; coding information buffer para 294, FIg.16; coding information represent motion information, para 313; coding information specify mode type {para 347})
US 20220116657 A1 (para 167, Fig.16; para 107; unit 301-303 select coding information from unit 111)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18-19 recites the limitation “selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates”. This statement is not proper, candidates and selection indicate at least two candidates are available, otherwise this steps amount to nothing. For examination purpose two or more PMI candidates are assumed. Dependent claims 2-17 inherit this .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang.
Zhang teaches, with respect to following claims
1. A video coding method comprising: receiving data to be encoded or decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video: [(Fig.8A-B )] selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates, each PMI candidate specifying a mode-type, a mode-setting, or both: [(Fig.10, in step 1003 current block is determined based on template matching prediction mode. One block vector is selected from list of candidate block vectors {para 91}. This identifies mode setting as to which block is to be used for the mode. A candidate block is selected based on corresponding matching error from list of candidate blocks with matching error {para 81}. Para 214 “when the matching block used by the current block is determined, a plurality of intra prediction modes are used to perform template prediction in the template region, thereby calculating prediction templates corresponding to different intra prediction modes. The template error values are calculated according to the prediction templates and the template of the current block, reordering is performed according to the template error values, to select an optimal matching block, or to select a smaller index value of an intra prediction mode for encoding”)] generating at least one first predictor for the current block based on the selected at least one first PMI candidate [(Fig.10 #1003 )]: generating a second predictor for the current block: [(Fig.10 #1004 )]: generating a final predictor based on the at least one first predictor and the second predictor: [(Fig.10 #1005 )]: and encoding or decoding the current block based on the final predictor [(para 286, 287 )]
2. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein each PMI candidate comprises information associated with an intra prediction mode or a block vector. [(para 91, 81 )]
4. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates intra template matching prediction (intraTMP) mode, wherein the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate specifies information associated with a block vector that is used for identifying a reference block in the current picture as a predictor for the current block. [(para 91, 81 )]
5. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates intra block copy (IBC) mode, wherein the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate specifies information associated with a block vector that is used for identifying a reference block in the current picture as a predictor for the current block. [(para 91, 81, block vector indicates IBC {para 108}, different intra prediction mode can be used for template prediction {para 214} )]
6. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first PMI candidate is selected from one or more PMI candidates based on template costs of the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81 )]
7. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first PMI candidates are from a list comprising the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81 )]
8. The video coding method of claim 1, further comprising selecting a second PMI candidate from the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81 )]
9. The video coding method of claim 8, wherein the first PMI candidate and the second PMI candidate have different mode-types. [(Para 214)]
10. The video coding method of claim 8, wherein the first and second PMI candidates are selected from the one or more PMI candidates based on template costs of the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81 )]
11. The video coding method of claim 8, wherein first and second prediction hypotheses generated according to the first and second PMI candidates are blended. [(para 91, 81, fusion teaches blending )]
12. The video coding method of claim 11, wherein the first and second prediction hypotheses are blended according to weights determined based on respective template costs of the first and second PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81, fusion teaches blending )]
13. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the one or more PMI candidates comprises at least one of spatial adjacent, spatial non-adjacent, history, temporal, and default candidates. [(para 66, Fig.1 )]
15. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the second predictor is generated by inter prediction. [(para 124 “IntraTMP fusion prediction modes are any of prediction modes in which matching blocks obtained based on template matching participate in fusion, such as an IntraTMP multi-matching block fusion prediction mode, a combined intra-inter prediction mode” )]
17. The video coding method of claim 16, wherein an enabling flag is signaled to indicate that multiple predictors are combined for the current block. [(para 119-122, 125 )]
18. An electronic apparatus comprising: a video coder circuit configured to perform operations comprising: receiving data to be encoded or decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video: selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates, each PMI candidate specifying a mode-type, a mode-setting, or both: generating at least one first predictor for the current block based on the selected at least one first PMI candidate: generating a second predictor for the current block: generating a final predictor based on the at least one first predictor and the second predictor: andencoding or decoding the current block based on the final predictor. [(see analysis of claim 1 and see Zhang para 378 )]
19. A video decoding method comprising: receiving data to be decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video: selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates, each PMI candidate specifying a mode-type, a mode-setting, or both: generating at least one first predictor for the current block based on the selected at least one first PMI candidate: generating a second predictor for the current block: generating a final predictor based on the at least one first predictor and the second predictor: and reconstructing the current block based on the final predictor. . [(see analysis of claim 1 and see Zhang Fig.8B )]
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11, 13-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hung.
Hung teaches, with respect to following claims
1. A video coding method comprising: receiving data to be encoded or decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video:[(FIg.1 )] selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates, each PMI candidate specifying a mode-type, a mode-setting, or both: [(Table 4, para 156-158; Preset weights option can be selected {para 158-159})] generating at least one first predictor for the current block based on the selected at least one first PMI candidate [(Equation 8, pred0 )]: generating a second predictor for the current block: [(Equation 8, pred1 )]: generating a final predictor based on the at least one first predictor and the second predictor: [(Equation 8, pred )]: and encoding or decoding the current block based on the final predictor [(para 102, 113 )]
2. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein each PMI candidate comprises information associated with an intra prediction mode or a block vector. [(para 154. 155-163 )]
3. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates that an intra prediction predictor is to be generated for current block, and the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate indicates information associated with an intra prediction mode comprising angular direction or DC mode or planar mode for the intra prediction predictor [(para 154. 155-163)]
7. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first PMI candidates are from a list comprising the one or more PMI candidates. [(Table 4 )]
8. The video coding method of claim 1, further comprising selecting a second PMI candidate from the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 155-163 )]
9. The video coding method of claim 8, wherein the first PMI candidate and the second PMI candidate have different mode-types. [(Table 4)]
11. The video coding method of claim 8, wherein first and second prediction hypotheses generated according to the first and second PMI candidates are blended. [(para 155-163, fusion teaches blending )]
13. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the one or more PMI candidates comprises at least one of spatial adjacent, spatial non-adjacent, history, temporal, and default candidates. [(para 155-163 )]
14. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the one or more PMI candidates are derived from a merge candidate list. [(para 164 )]
16. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first predictor and second predictor are combined to generate the final predictor according to weighting value that is determined based on modes of coded neighbors above and left of the current block. [(para 159 )]
17. The video coding method of claim 16, wherein an enabling flag is signaled to indicate that multiple predictors are combined for the current block. [(para 154-157 )]
18. An electronic apparatus comprising: a video coder circuit configured to perform operations comprising: receiving data to be encoded or decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video: selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates, each PMI candidate specifying a mode-type, a mode-setting, or both: generating at least one first predictor for the current block based on the selected at least one first PMI candidate: generating a second predictor for the current block: generating a final predictor based on the at least one first predictor and the second predictor: and encoding or decoding the current block based on the final predictor. [(see analysis of claim 1 and see Hung, Figs.2-3 )]
19. A video decoding method comprising: receiving data to be decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video: selecting at least one first prediction mode information (PMI) candidate from one or more PMI candidates, each PMI candidate specifying a mode-type, a mode-setting, or both: generating at least one first predictor for the current block based on the selected at least one first PMI candidate: generating a second predictor for the current block: generating a final predictor based on the at least one first predictor and the second predictor: and reconstructing the current block based on the final predictor. . [(see analysis of claim 1 and see Hung Fig.3 )]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hung.
Regarding Claim 3. Zhang does not explicitly show the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates that an intra prediction predictor is to be generated for current block, and the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate indicates information associated with an intra prediction mode comprising angular direction or DC mode or planar mode for the intra prediction predictor
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Hung teaches the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates that an intra prediction predictor is to be generated for current block, and the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate indicates information associated with an intra prediction mode comprising angular direction or DC mode or planar mode for the intra prediction predictor [(para 154. 155-163)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities, both of the prior arts teaching encoding/decoding predictor generation with fusion modes involving intra prediction, therefore the details description/techniques of one would easily fit into other as the combined system they would provide same functionality of fusion mode prediction.
Hung additionally teaches, with respect to claim 14. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the one or more PMI candidates are derived from a merge candidate list. [(para 164 )]
Zhang in view of Hung additionally teaches, with respect to claim 16. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first predictor and second predictor are combined to generate the final predictor according to weighting value [(Zhang para 215-220 )] that is determined based on modes of coded neighbors above and left of the current block. [(Hung para 159 )]
Claims 4-6, 10, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 4. Hung does not explicitly show the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates intra template matching prediction (intraTMP) mode, wherein the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate specifies information associated with a block vector that is used for identifying a reference block in the current picture as a predictor for the current block
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Zhang teaches the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates intra template matching prediction (intraTMP) mode, wherein the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate specifies information associated with a block vector that is used for identifying a reference block in the current picture as a predictor for the current block. [(para 91, 81 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities, both of the prior arts teaching encoding/decoding predictor generation with fusion modes involving intra prediction, therefore the details description/techniques of one would easily fit into other as the combined system they would provide same functionality of fusion mode prediction.
Zhang additionally teaches, with respect to claim 5. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the mode-type of the selected PMI candidate indicates intra block copy (IBC) mode, wherein the mode-setting of the selected PMI candidate specifies information associated with a block vector that is used for identifying a reference block in the current picture as a predictor for the current block. [(para 91, 81, block vector indicates IBC {para 108}, different intra prediction mode can be used for template prediction {para 214} )]
Zhang additionally teaches, with respect to claim 6. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first PMI candidate is selected from one or more PMI candidates based on template costs of the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81 )]
Zhang additionally teaches, with respect to claim 10. The video coding method of claim 8, wherein the first and second PMI candidates are selected from the one or more PMI candidates based on template costs of the one or more PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81 )]
Zhang additionally teaches, with respect to claim 12. The video coding method of claim 11, wherein the first and second prediction hypotheses are blended according to weights determined based on respective template costs of the first and second PMI candidates. [(para 91, 81, fusion teaches blending )]
Zhang additionally teaches, with respect to claim 15. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the second predictor is generated by inter prediction. [(para 103; para 124 “IntraTMP fusion prediction modes are any of prediction modes in which matching blocks obtained based on template matching participate in fusion, such as an IntraTMP multi-matching block fusion prediction mode, a combined intra-inter prediction mode” )]
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426