DETAILED ACTION
The present Office action is in response to the application filing on 6 OCTOBER 2025 and the Information Disclosure Statement.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, “GPM-TM” should read --GPM-TM (Template Matching)--
Claim 7, “CIIP-TM, CIIP-PDPC” should read --CIIP-TM (Template Matching), CIIP-PDPC (Position Dependent intra Prediction Combination)--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 5, it is not clear what “support for” is intending to limit in “subblock-based CIIP is supported for CIIP-TM […].” The techniques subblock-based CIIP and CIIP-TM are two distinct predictive techniques and it is not clear how one “support[s]” the other. For examination purposes, if the system allows for refinement, signaling, or use together in the same frame, then the techniques “support” each other.
With regard to claim 7, it is not clear what “support for” is intending to limit in “GPM-based CIIP is supported for CIIP-TM […].” The techniques GMP-based CIIP and CIIP-TM are two distinct predictive techniques and it is not clear how one “support[s]” the other. For examination purposes, if the system allows for refinement, signaling, or use together in the same frame, then the techniques “support” each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., “Non-EE2: CIIP with subblock-based motion compensation”, JVET-AF0170-v3, (hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0187633 A1 (hereinafter “Deng”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method of prediction for colour pictures (p. 1, 2 Proposed method, “CIIP is improved by allowing subblock-based inter prediction”), the method comprising:
determining combined prediction comprising target inter prediction and at least one of target intra prediction and neighbouring reconstructed samples, wherein the target inter prediction refers to subblock-based inter prediction (p. 1, 2 Proposed method, “When CIIP flag is true and CIIP-TM flag is false, a subblock-based CIIP flag is signalled. If subblock-based CIIP flag is true, an index indicating specific candidate in the subblock-based merge list is signalled, and TIMD is used to generate intra signal by default thus no CIIP-PDPC flag is signalled any more”); and
encoding or decoding the current block by using prediction data comprising the combined prediction (p. 2, Proposed method, “a subblock-based merge candidate may be used to generate the inter signal of CIIP, where the same subblock-based merge candidate list used by affine and sbTMVP is utilized”).
Zhao fails to expressly disclose receiving input data associated with a current block, wherein the input data comprise pixel data to be encoded at an encoder side or coded data associated with the current block to be decoded at a decoder side; and
GMP (Geometric Partition Mode)-related prediction.
However, Deng teaches receiving input data associated with a current block ([0045], “The partition unit 201 may partition a picture into one or more video blocks.” FIG. 2 depicts the “partition unit 201” receives video data and outputs the partitioned result to the “prediction unit 202” for predicting), wherein the input data comprise pixel data ([0072] describes coding “video pixels”) to be encoded at an encoder side ([0424], “the conversion at 1704 may comprise encoding the target picture into the bitstream of the video”) or coded data associated with the current block to be decoded at a decoder side ([0423], “the conversion at 1704 may comprise decoding the target picture from the bitstream of the video”); and
GMP (Geometric Partition Mode)-related prediction ([0402], “GPM inter-intra;” [0229], “at least one prediction sample of a GPM prediction block may be refined by a Combined Inter-Intra Prediction (CIIP)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have received input video for predicting and applied GMP, as taught by Deng (FIG.2), in Zhao’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Zhao’s disclosure, by incorporating Deng’s disclosure, to improve coding efficiency and enable a more precise prediction (Deng: [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Zhao discloses wherein explicit signalling is used to indicate whether to use subblock-based CIIP (Combined inter and intra prediction) for the current block(p. 1, 2 Proposed method, “When CIIP flag is true and CIIP-TM flag is false, a subblock-based CIIP flag is signalled. If subblock-based CIIP flag is true, an index indicating specific candidate in the subblock-based merge list is signalled, and TIMD is used to generate intra signal by default thus no CIIP-PDPC flag is signalled any more”).
Zhao fails to expressly disclose to indicate whether to use GPM-based CIIP for the current block ([0120], “geometric partitioning mode is signaled.” [0046], “select a combination of intra and inter predication (CIIP) mode in which the predication is based on an inter predication signal and an intra predication signal”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Zhao discloses wherein the subblock-based inter prediction is generated using one or more subblock-based motion candidates from a subblock merge candidate list (p. 1, 2 Proposed method, “a subblock-based merge candidate may be used to generate the inter signal of CIIP, where the same subblock-based merge candidate list used by affine and sbTMVP is utilized”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 3, as outlined above. Additionally, Zhao discloses wherein the subblock merge candidate list is unified with subblock merge candidates for affine and SbTMVP (Subblock-based Temporal Motion Vector Prediction) modes (p. 1, 2 Proposed method, “a subblock-based merge candidate may be used to generate the inter signal of CIIP, where the same subblock-based merge candidate list used by affine and sbTMVP is utilized”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Deng discloses wherein the GPM-related prediction is generated using GPM-TM, TPM-MMVD (Merge mode with Motion Vector Differences), GPM-intra, or any combination or extension thereof ([0402], “the target coding mode may comprise one of GPM TM, MMVD, GPM inter-intra”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Deng discloses wherein GPM-based CIIP is supported for CIIP-TM, CIIP-PDPC, or both ([0402], “GPM inter-intra;” [0229], “at least one prediction sample of a GPM prediction block may be refined by a Combined Inter-Intra Prediction (CIIP).” Note, the limitation “supported for” is interpreted as “refining” the combination establishes with Zhao that types of CIIP include CIIP-TM and CIIP-PDPC). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Deng discloses wherein the combined prediction is formed by using said neighboring reconstructed samples to blend with the target inter prediction ([0135], “the CIIP prediction combines an inter prediction signal with an intra prediction signal. The inter prediction signal in the CIIP mode Pinter is derived using the same inter prediction process applied to regular merge mode; and the intra prediction signal Pintra is derived following the regular intra prediction process with the planar mode. Then, the intra and inter prediction signals are combined using weighted averaging, where the weight value is calculated depending on the coding modes of the top and left neighbouring blocks.” The weighting with the neighboring blocks for combining is understood to be synonymous to blending). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Deng discloses wherein the target inter prediction is generated using one or more inter motion candidates being refined by template matching ([0145], “Template matching (TM) is a decoder-side MV derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighbouring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.” [0294-0298] describes the benefit of refining motion for inter and intra prediction. [0402], “CIIP TM”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 9, as outlined above. Additionally, Deng discloses wherein said one or more inter motion candidates correspond to one or more merge candidates after said template matching ([0145], “Template matching (TM) is a decoder-side MV derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighbouring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.” [0294-0298] describes the benefit of refining motion for inter and intra prediction, including merge candidates. [0402], “the target coding mode may comprise one of GPM TM, MMVD, GPM inter-intra, or CIIP TM”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Deng discloses wherein the target intra prediction and the target inter prediction are blended using blending weights and multiple blending methods with different weights are treated as multiple optional modes of combined prediction mode ([0135], “the CIIP prediction combines an inter prediction signal with an intra prediction signal. The inter prediction signal in the CIIP mode Pinter is derived using the same inter prediction process applied to regular merge mode; and the intra prediction signal Pintra is derived following the regular intra prediction process with the planar mode. Then, the intra and inter prediction signals are combined using weighted averaging, where the weight value is calculated depending on the coding modes of the top and left neighbouring blocks.” The weighting with the neighboring blocks for combining is understood to be synonymous to blending and the combinations are the different weight values dependent on the coding modes of the top and left neighboring blocks). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations are the same as those in claim 1; however, written in machine form instead of process form. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 15. Additionally, Deng discloses the apparatus comprising one or more electronics or processors ([0005], “The apparatus comprises a processor”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 15.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., “Non-EE2: CIIP with subblock-based motion compensation”, JVET-AF0170-v3 (hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0187633 A1 (hereinafter “Deng”), and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2026/0197459 A1 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Zhao and Deng fail to expressly disclose wherein the subblock-based CIIP is supported for CIIP-TM (Template Matching), CIIP-PDPC (Position Dependent intra Prediction Combination), or both.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the subblock-based CIIP is supported for CIIP-TM (Template Matching), CIIP-PDPC (Position Dependent intra Prediction Combination), or both ([0232], “if subblock-based CIIP flag is true, a third flag (i.e., CIIP-TM) may be signalled”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have supported subblock-based CIIP with TP and/or PDPC, as taught by Zhang ([0232]), in Zhao and Deng’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Zhao and Deng’s invention, by incorporating Zhang’s disclosure, to improve coding efficiency and cost efficiency with the support of subblock-based CIIP (Zhang: [0186] and [0273].
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., “Non-EE2: CIIP with subblock-based motion compensation”, JVET-AF0170-v3 (hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0187633 A1 (hereinafter “Deng”), and further in view of Kim et al., “EE2-1.14 related: Modifications of MTS and LFNST for IntraTMP coded block”, JVET-AB0115-v1 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao and Deng disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Zhao and Deng fail to expressly disclose wherein one or more intra modes are determined using histogram analysis process.
However, Kim teaches wherein one or more intra modes are determined using histogram analysis process (p. 2, Section 2.1, “derive the intra prediction mode of the current block. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude value is used to determine the MTS transform set or the LFNST transform set”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a histogram analysis with intra prediction, as taught by Kim (Section 2.1), in Zhao and Deng’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Zhao and Deng’s invention, by incorporating Kim’s disclosure, to comply with coding standard for the improved benefits thereof and because it is a use of a known technique for intra prediction with histogram analysis for best transform set to improve a similar encoding method in the same way (see MPEP § 2143(I)(C).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao, Deng, and Kim disclose every limitation of claim 12, as outlined above. Additionally, Kim discloses wherein said one or more intra modes corresponding to a largest histogram count is used to determine a transform set in transform process of the current block and/or coding process of following coding blocks (p. 2, Section 2.1, “derive the intra prediction mode of the current block. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude value is used to determine the MTS transform set or the LFNST transform set”). The same motivation of claim 12 applies to claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao, Deng, and Kim disclose every limitation of claim 13, as outlined above. Additionally, Kim discloses wherein the transform process of the current block corresponds to LFNST (Low Frequency Non-Separable Transform), NSPT (Non-Separable Primary Transform), MTS (Multiple Transform Selection), or a combination thereof (p. 2, Section 2.1, “derive the intra prediction mode of the current block. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude value is used to determine the MTS transform set or the LFNST transform set”). The same motivation of claim 12 applies to claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Publication No. 2024/0195952 A1 – Discloses CIIP with PDPC blending and geometric partition mode along with subblocks. See [0280-0284].
/STUART D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2481