DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 10/7/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claim 17 has been cancelled, claims 1-16 amended, and thus claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Linear light-emitting element, lamp assembly and motor vehicle”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-16 the phrase “linearly light-emitting element” on line 1, should be changed to -- linear light-emitting element --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schabacker et al. (US 20190187352 A1, hereinafter, “Schabacker”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 12/20/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Schabacker teaches a linearly light-emitting element (Linear light source 1, see figures 1-4), comprising:
a core layer (core 5, see fig 2), which is rod-shaped (see shape of 5 in fig 2), at least one end side (end 30, see fig 2) of the core layer (5) being configured to receive and input light from a light source (light-emitting elements 11, see fig 2);
a cladding layer (cladding 6, see fig 2), which envelops (as seen in fig 2) the outside of the core layer (5, see ¶ 33), wherein the refractive index (refractive index, see ¶ 33) of the cladding layer (6) is lower than that of the core layer (5), and light from the core layer (5) enters the cladding layer (6) through refraction (mainly caused by scattering elements 9, better seen in fig 4);
wherein at least one layer (light-blocking coating 15, see fig 2) of the linearly light-emitting element (1) is a coloured layer (color, see ¶ 37).
Regarding claim 2, Schabacker teaches wherein the linearly light-emitting element (1) has a laterally light-exiting region (region of 16, see fig 3a) and further comprising a reflective layer (region of 15, see fig 3a) formed on the outside of the cladding layer (6), the reflective layer (region of 15) being configured to reflect light (as expected from a reflecting layer, and better seen in fig 4) from the cladding layer (6) towards the laterally light-exiting region (region of 16);
wherein at least one layer (15) of the linearly light-emitting element (1) including the reflective layer (region of 15), is a coloured layer (color, see ¶ 37).
Regarding claim 3, Schabacker teaches wherein the reflective layer (region of 15) of the linearly light-emitting element (1) at least partially covers (as clearly seen in fig 3a) the outside of the cladding layer (6).
Regarding claim 11, Schabacker teaches wherein the core layer (5) is a colourless layer (as the core is made of a transparent material 8, see ¶ 33), and in that the cladding layer (6) and/or the reflective layer (region of 15) is a coloured layer (as the reflecting layer has a color, see ¶ 37).
Regarding claim 14, Schabacker teaches wherein the linearly light-emitting element (1) includes a flexible optical fibre which emits light laterally (light-scattering fiber, see ¶ 20).
Regarding claim 15, Schabacker teaches a lamp assembly (Linear light source 1, light-emitting elements 11 and control circuit 20, see figures 1-4), comprising:
a linearly light-emitting element (1), the linearly light-emitting element (1) includes a core layer (5), which is rod-shaped (see shape of 5 in fig 2), at least one end side (30) of the core layer (5) being configured to receive and input light from a light source (11),
a cladding layer (6), which envelops the outside (as seen in fig 3a) of the core layer (5, see ¶ 33), wherein the refractive index (refractive index, see ¶33) of the cladding layer (6) is lower than that of the core layer (5), and light from the core layer (5) enters the cladding layer (6) through refraction (mainly caused by scattering elements 9, better seen in fig 4), wherein at least one layer (15) of the linearly light-emitting element (1) is a coloured layer (as the reflecting layer has a color, see ¶ 37), a light source module (11, 20) configured to emit light (better seen in fig 4) towards at least one end side (30) of the linearly light-emitting element (1) .
Regarding claim 16, Schabacker teaches wherein the light source module (11, 20) comprises includes a light-emitting element (11) capable of emitting white light or coloured light (color of light sources, see ¶ 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schabacker.
Regarding claim 4, Schabacker does not explicitly teaches wherein the reflective layer is configured to cover at least half of the area of the outer peripheral surface of the cladding layer.
However, in an alternative embodiment of figure 5, Schabacker teaches wherein the reflective layer (15) is configured to cover at least half of the area (as clearly seen in fig 5) of the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 6) of the cladding layer (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reflective layer as taught by the alternative embodiment of Schabacker into the teachings of the current embodiment in order to prevent a sharp boundary between light emitted by the cladding and light reflected internally by the reflective layer. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance the appearance of the device.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 12, Schabacker does not explicitly teach wherein the linearly light-emitting element includes a transparent light exit layer at least partially covering the outside of the cladding layer, the transparent light exit layer being configured to transmit light from the cladding layer and the reflective layer; wherein at least one layer of the linearly light-emitting element, comprising including the transparent light exit layer, is a coloured layer; and
(claim 6) wherein the transparent light exit layer is connected to the reflective layer on the outer peripheral surface of the cladding layer to jointly envelop the outer peripheral surface of the cladding layer; and
(claim 7) wherein the laterally light-exiting region includes at least a portion of the outer peripheral surface of the transparent light exit layer; and
(claim 12) wherein the core layer is a colourless layer, the reflective layer is a coloured layer.
However, in an alternative embodiment of figure 6, Schabacker teaches:
(claim 5) wherein the linearly light-emitting element (1) includes a transparent light exit layer (layer 151 of 15) at least partially covering the outside of the cladding layer (6), the transparent light exit layer (151) being configured to transmit light (as 151 is so thin that light is able to exit, see ¶ 47) from the cladding layer (6) and the reflective layer (layer 152 of 15); wherein at least one layer of the linearly light-emitting element (1) including the transparent light exit layer (151), is a coloured layer (as 15 may comprise an inner transparent ink layer and a reflective layer applied on the ink layer, see ¶ 49); and
(claim 6) wherein the transparent light exit layer (151) is connected to the reflective layer (152) on the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 6) of the cladding layer (6) to jointly envelop the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 6) of the cladding layer (6); and
(claim 7) wherein the laterally light-exiting region (region of 16, see left region in the orientation of fig 6) includes at least a portion (see left side portion of 6) of the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 151) of the transparent light exit layer (151); and
(claim 12) wherein the core layer (5) is a colourless layer (as the core is made of a transparent material 8, see ¶ 33), the reflective layer (152) is a coloured layer (as the reflecting layer has a color, see ¶ 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transparent exit layer and reflective layer as taught by the alternative embodiment of Schabacker into the teachings of the current embodiment as an obvious matter of design choice to enhance the appearance of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification so that the combination of layers creates a colored specularly reflective appearance.
Regarding claim 13, Schabacker teaches wherein at least one of the cladding layer (6), the reflective layer (152), and the transparent light exit layer (151) is coloured layer (as 15 may comprise an inner transparent ink layer and a reflective layer applied on the ink layer, see ¶ 49)
Schabacker does not explicitly teach wherein the coloured layer is one of a red layer, an amber layer, a blue layer, or a green layer.
However, one of ordinary skill would have considered a variety of colors for the reflective layer, including red layer, an amber layer, a blue layer, or a green layer.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a red, amber, blue or green layer, since the applicant has not disclosed that a specific color solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with red, amber, blue or green layer.
In this case, selecting a given color would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claims 8-10, Schabacker does not explicitly teach:
(claim 8) wherein the linearly light-emitting element further includes:
a transparent light exit layer enveloping the outer peripheral surface of the cladding layer, the transparent light exit layer being configured to transmit light from the cladding layer;
the reflective layer is opaque and partially covers the outer peripheral surface of the transparent light exit layer, the reflective layer being configured to at least partially face the laterally light-exiting region to reflect light from the transparent light exit layer towards the laterally light-exiting region;
wherein at least one layer of the linearly light-emitting element including the transparent light exit layer, is a coloured layer.
(claim 9) wherein the reflective layer is configured to cover at least half of the area of the outer peripheral surface of the transparent light exit layer; and
(claim 10) wherein the laterally light-exiting region includes at least a portion of the outer peripheral surface of the transparent light exit layer.
However, in an alternative embodiment of figure 6, Schabacker teaches:
(claim 8) wherein the linearly light-emitting element (1, see figure 6) further includes:
a transparent light exit layer (layer 151 of 15) enveloping the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 6, see fig 6) of the cladding layer (6), the transparent light exit layer (151) being configured to transmit light (as 151 is so thin that light is able to exit, see ¶ 47) from the cladding layer (6);
the reflective layer (layer 152 of 15) is opaque and partially covers (as clearly seen in fig 6) the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 151) of the transparent light exit layer (151), the reflective layer (152) being configured to at least partially face (as seen in fig 6) the laterally light-exiting region (region of 16) to reflect light from the transparent light exit layer (151) towards the laterally light-exiting region (region of 16);
wherein at least one layer of the linearly light-emitting element (1) including the transparent light exit layer (151), is a coloured layer (as 15 may comprise an inner transparent ink layer and a reflective layer applied on the ink layer, see ¶ 49); and
(claim 9) wherein the reflective layer (152) is configured to cover at least half of the area (as seen in fig 6) of the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 151) of the transparent light exit layer (151); and
(claim 10) wherein the laterally light-exiting region (region of 16) includes at least a portion (left portion, as seen in the orientation of fig 6) of the outer peripheral surface (outer surface of 6) of the transparent light exit layer (151).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transparent exit layer and reflective layer as taught by the alternative embodiment of Schabacker into the teachings of the current embodiment as an obvious matter of design choice to enhance the appearance of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification so that the combination of layers creates a colored specularly reflective appearance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tazawa et al. (US 20050189545 A1) discloses a linear light-emitting element having a light source emitting light into a rod-shaped core. Light is refracted out through a cladding having a lower index of refraction than the core. The element provides a high performance linear light emitter having optimized angular distribution of outgoing light in peripheral direction and capable of radiating the light from a side peripheral surface with a high directivity without a loss.
Hasegawa et al. (JP 2011044395 A) discloses a linear light-emitting element used in a motor vehicle. The device contains a core and a cladding receiving light from a light source. The optical fiber can be changed according to shape of the accommodating part, thus improving the design of the element.
Kinoshita et al. (WO 2013114747 A1) discloses a linear light-emitting element formed by a core surrounded by a cladding layer, a phosphor layer and a reflective layer for emitting light from one side surface of the element. A thickness of the element can be reduced and several LEDs are accommodated into the element. The power-consumption of the device can be reduced with improved service life.
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875