Ed DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0275774 to Niergarth et al. (N1) in view of US 2003/0007865 to Chard et al. (C1).
In Re Claim 1:
N1 teaches:
A turbine engine for an aircraft comprising: [Page 1, ¶1.]
An unducted fan(Fig. 2, 204) which is movable in rotation about a longitudinal axis(220);
An unducted flow straightener(210) which is fixed in rotation about the longitudinal axis, the flow straightener being configured to straighten at least part of an airflow generated by the unducted fan, the flow straightener comprising at least one guide vane(212) with variable pitch about an axis of rotation(254) that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the guide vane being secured to a shaft (248) that is guided in rotation about the axis of rotation in a casing(252) being fixed to a fixed structure(264,272,256,276) of the turbine engine; [Pages 4-6, ¶57-58 or engine parts, generic fan and vane identification, ¶66-68 for vane pitch change structures ¶73-76 for fixed engine structures and core engine features.]
A system for adjusting the pitch of the guide vane, the adjustment system comprising a device for actuating the guide vane(unlabeled, but numerical references to the fan pitch change device 282 show a similar device in the image with labeling) about the axis of rotation, the actuating device, [Page 5, ¶66-67 note the vanes and fan blades include mechanisms for adjusting their orientation about the relative axis, Page 7, ¶87 notes pitch changing mechanisms can be actuators.]
N1 does not teach:
The actuating device comprising an electric motor, the adjustment system further comprising a braking device configured to occupy an active position in which the braking device blocks the rotation of the guide vane about the axis of rotation hen the actuating device is at a standstill, and a passive position in which the braking device allows rotation of the guide vane about the axis of rotation when the actuating device is running.
C1 teaches:
A known in the art vane actuator for turbine engines. [Abstract.] The system utilizes an electric motor(Fig. 3, 35) for actuating the vanes, including a braking device(36) configured to occupy an active position in which the braking device blocks the rotation of the guide vane about the axis of rotation when the actuating device is at a standstill, and a passive position in which the braking device allows rotation of the guide vane about the axis of rotation when the actuating device is running. [Page 2, ¶33 – Page 3, ¶39 disclose that when the motor is not energized spring force applies braking pressure to prevent rotation; however when the motor is energized the power also activates the electromagnetic armature to pull the braking discs against their braking spring bias allowing rotation of the system.] This system has the advantage that during operation the system will automatically lock the blades in place without any hydraulic pressure or other power during constant vane orientation periods, as the system will brake at the release of power, rather than with the application of braking force from a powered of hydraulic source. This also has reduced weight and maintenance over common hydraulic methods of pitch change. [Page 3, ¶41.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of N1, which is silent about the particular powering of the actuation of the vanes, to use the electric motor and brake pitch actuation system of C1, with the expectation of providing a method of providing vane actuation which has the advantages of permitting constant vane orientation modes to automatically brake reducing a reliance on powered or pressurized breaking methods to maintain the vanes against airflow. [C1, Page 3, ¶41.] This would yield the limitation of the actuating device comprising an electric motor, the adjustment system further comprising a braking device configured to occupy an active position in which the braking device blocks the rotation of the guide vane about the axis of rotation hen the actuating device is at a standstill, and a passive position in which the braking device allows rotation of the guide vane about the axis of rotation when the actuating device is running.
In Re Claims 2, 4, 8, 12, and 14:
N1 as modified by C1 in Claim 1, further teaches:
The turbine engine according to claim 1, wherein:
(Claim 2) the braking device is mounted in the casing. [Figure 2 of N1 shows the actuating structure is in the casing supporting the vanes.]
(Claim 4) the electric motor is mounted in an internal end of the casing with reference to the longitudinal axis. [N1 Figure 2 shows the actuating structure is located inward of the vane in the casing.]
(Claim 8) the braking device is hydraulic or mechanical or electromagnetic. [Per C1, Page 2, ¶33 – Page 3, ¶39 is electromagnetic (for pulling brake pads back) and mechanical (spring) for biasing forward.]
(Claim 12) the adjustment system comprises a position sensor (C1, 20, 22, 90) associated with the shaft or with a rotor of the electric motor, so as to measure the pitch of the guide vane. [Per C1, Page 2, ¶31 and Page 4, ¶47, these position sensors are “associated” in that they either measure a rotation associated with the electric motor rotor, (Electric motor rotation directly rotates the gears measured by a rotary variable differential transducer), and the control from the sensors is associated (20, 22, and 90 all directly control motor rotors with their results) with electric rotors, and is used to determine the pitch of the gears.]
(Claim 14) the turbine engine comprises a ducted fan(N1, Fig. 2, 260) which is moveable in rotation about the longitudinal axis and which is surrounded by a nacelle(252), the nacelle internally defining a compartment in which the casing and the adjustment system are located. [N1, Fig. 2 and Page 6, ¶75 disclose the fan cowl and nacelle of the ducted fan and note the actuating system is contained within the nacelle above it. C1, Fig. 3, shows the adjustment motor and brakes are located inside a casing/housing for the motor and gearbox and brakes.]
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over N1 and C1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0371938 to Skertic et al. (S1) and FR 2,957,667 to Nouhaud et al. (N2).
In Re Claim 13:
N1 as modified by C1 in claim 1 teaches:
The adjustment system comprises an electronically identifiable individual position sensor (C1, Fig. 2, 20,22) associated with a unison ring or gear system. [C1, Page 1, ¶31, these transducers, electrically communicate with an EEC(25) which receives the individual electric signals indicative of each position sensor to control its individual motor, i.e. an electric identification and control is associated with each.]
N1 as modified by C1 in claim 1 does not teach:
Each adjustor is specific to the guide vane, and is controlled by an electronic control card.
S1 teaches:
It is well-known in the arts of control of stator vanes, that it can be desirable to individual monitor and with specific position sensors an individual stator vane and shaft, and individually control stator vanes. [Page 4, ¶46-48.] This has the advantages of individual control of each and monitoring of each should one vanes position be mis angled and further, fewer errors across the system as each vane is individually monitored and control and can be individually replaced or adjusted resulting in more localized correction and repair. [Page 5, ¶52-55.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of N1 and C1 to include individual actuation, control, and monitoring per vane rather than per set of vanes, as taught by S1, it is known that individual control of and monitoring of vanes can reduce errors across the system, and permit easier repair when an error is localized by identifying the erroneous vane more quickly and repairing its system directly, [Page 5, ¶52-55.] This would yield individual system and individual monitoring sensors specific to each vane.
N1 and C1 as modified by S1 does not teach:
The specific of the vane control is an ECC, electronic control card.
N2 teaches:
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an engine control computer would be composed of electronic cards responsible for individual control functions and in particular electronic control cards are known for controlling motors. [Page 1-2.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of N1 and C1 and S1, which is silent as to the control computer specifics, to use an engine control card to control each motor as taught by N2, as these are known in the art established methods of controlling the motors, which would perform with an expectation of success to control the individual motors of the control system. This would result in the limitation of specific engine control cards associated with each vane as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 3 recites the brake located between the two bearings guiding the shaft in rotation about Y, and the examiner notes the brake as required in Chard is located about bearings in the motor control not the vane shaft. While one of ordinary skill might place a brake in said location this would not be a brake operating/behaving as claimed in claim 1, given that the breaks linked to the electromagnetic armature are to be near the motor itself, and the motor is aligned with the unison ring not with an individual vane shaft. Claims 5 and 9 similarly require the braking device brakes secured to the vane shaft(Claim 5) or the actuator planet carrier of a planetary gearbox affixed to the adjustment system is directly affixed or secured to the vane shaft(Claim 9). The closest actuator with braking for vanes which behaves as claimed in claim 1 was that of Chard, and it nor any other close in the areas searched provides for placing a planetary gear system with carrier directly on a single vane shaft or the brakes directly on the vane shaft as required in said claims. Even with the modification of claim 13, to provide individualized vane control, it is not clear without using the instant application for guidance that the gearing of C1 or the brake of C1 would be relocated to the vane shaft and away from the motor shaft region. This has an advantage to the system wherein each torque for braking (Claim 3 or claim 5) or torque for turning (Claim 9) is directly applied to the vane shaft rather than split between or offset on a motor shaft, reducing the number of gear connections or linkages between the braking/turning and the vane reducing the braking or motor power required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,595,474 to Girard teaches a pitch change system(Fig. 1, with a lock for securing said blades in a position when not being rotated. [Claim 15, and Col. 7, ll. 5-45.] US 5,242,265 to Hora teaches an electric motor(Fig. 5, 310) with a brake system(520) that utilizes brakes(560) to stop rotation of a vane during some pitch actuation phases. [Col. 9, line 34 – Col. 10, ll. 47.] US 2016/0305273 to Ratke et al. teaches the use of motor position sensors(508) such as rotary encoders tracking pitch or position of stators through an electric motor’s rotor position. [Page 5, ¶40.]
/JOSHUA R BEEBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745