DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 07 October 2025 for application number 19/473,391. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 24-38 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 10/7/25; 4/24/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24, 28, 29, 33, 34, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (NPL titled “Non-EE2: Copy-Padding for IBC”).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang (pages 1-3) discloses a device for video decoding, the device comprising: a processor configured to: obtain, based on block-vector-based intra prediction (“IBC mode”), a prediction block of a current block in a current picture; determine that the prediction block comprises previously decoded samples and non- decoded samples (“unreconstructed sample”); based on determining that the prediction block comprises the previously decoded samples and the non-decoded samples, pad the non-decoded samples using neighboring samples based on a statistical calculation associated with the neighboring samples (fig. 1, where unreconstructed samples (shaded) in the reference block are padded by copying their prediction samples); and decode the current block based on at least the padded samples (implicit in “IBC mode”).
Regarding claim 28, see teachings of claim 24, Zhang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the prediction block further comprises partially decoded samples; partially decoded samples using neighboring samples (pages 1-3).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 28.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24. The decoding process is well known to be the reverse process of the encoding process.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 30, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (NPL titled “Non-EE2: Copy-Padding for IBC”) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0141318).
Regarding claim 25, see teachings of claim 24, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the statistical calculation associated with the neighboring samples is a weighted average of the neighboring samples.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses wherein the statistical calculation associated with the neighboring samples is a weighted average of the neighboring samples (pars. 283, 284, 350; figs. 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Zhang to include the teachings of Li in order to achieve padding (Li, par. 283).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 25.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 25.
Claim(s) 26, 31, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (NPL titled “Non-EE2: Copy-Padding for IBC”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2016/0241868).
Regarding claim 26, see teachings of claim 24, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the statistical calculation associated with the neighboring samples is a median calculation of the neighboring samples.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses wherein the statistical calculation associated with the neighboring samples is a median calculation of the neighboring samples (pars. 129, 164).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Zhang to include the teachings of Xu in order to replace the unreconstructed sample values with default or otherwise determined values (Xu, par. 129).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 26.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 26.
Claim(s) 27, 32, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (NPL titled “Non-EE2: Copy-Padding for IBC”) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2023/0061216).
Regarding claim 27, see teachings of claim 24, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-decoded samples are padded by applying a DC or planar prediction process using the neighboring samples.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhao discloses wherein the non-decoded samples are padded by applying a DC or planar prediction process using the neighboring samples (par. 208).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Zhang to include the teachings of Zhao in order to implement the padding process (Zhao, par. 208).
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 27.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 27.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486