DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ookubo et al US 2010/0107477 in view of Okada et al CA 1,273,201 (see IDS).
In Re 1, Ookubo teaches
An additive composition for fuel for a common rail diesel engine (paras 1-2), comprising the following component (a) to component (c):
(a) a compound represented by the formula (1): (see Okada formula 1 para 19)
wherein
R1 is an alkenyl group having 12 to 22 carbon atoms (para 19 “R.sup.1 represents an alkyl group with a carbon number from 8 to 25”),
R2 and R3 are each independently an alkylene group having 2 to 4 carbon atoms (para 19 “each of A.sup.1 and A.sup.2 is an alkylene group with a carbon number from 2 to 4”),
m1 and m2 are each independently an integer of 1 to 10 (para 19 “k and l respectively represent a number from 1 to 30”),
when m1 is an integer of two or more, multiple R2s are the same as or different from each other (inherent to paras 19-20 teachings, “when A.sup.1O and/or A.sup.2O are repeated, each of A.sup.1 and A.sup.2 may be either the same or different alkylene group”), and
when m2 is an integer of two or more, multiple R3s are the same as or different from each other (para 19 “k and l respectively represent a number from 1 to 30”),
(b) a compound represented by the formula (2):
R40-(R50)m3-R6 (Okada formula 2: R.sup.2O(A.sup.3O).sub.mH)
wherein
R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms (para 19 “R.sup.2 is an alkyl group with a carbon number from 1 to 8”),
R5 is an alkylene group having 2 to 4 carbon atoms (“A.sup.3 is an alkylene group with a carbon number of 2 or 3”),
R6 is a hydrogen atom (“H” is hydrogen) or (optional) an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms,
m3 is an integer of 1 to 4 (“m represents a number from 1 to 4”), and
when m3 is an integer of two or more, multiple R5s are the same as or different from each other (inherent “ when A.sup.3O is repeated, A.sup.3 may be either the same or different alkylene group”), and
(c) a compound represented by the formula (3):
(see Okada formula 3: R.sup.3O(A.sup.4O).sub.nR.sup.4)
wherein
R7 is an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms ( para 19 “R.sup.3 and R.sup.4 is an alkyl group with a carbon number from 1 to 8”), and
R8 is an alkylene group having 2 to 5 carbon atoms (“A.sup.4 is an alkylene group with a carbon number of 2 or 3”),
and/or a (clause corresponding to formula 4 taken as optional) compound represented by the formula (4): [Chem. 4]R (4) R wherein R9 and R10 are each independently an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms,Ril is an alkylene group having 2 to 4 carbon atoms, R12 is an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms,m4 is an integer of 1 to 3, andwhen m4 is an integer of two or more, multiple R1s are the same as or different from each other,
wherein a content of component (a) is 2 to 85% by mass ([0064] Above component (a) is contained at 50 to 80% by weight.), a content of component (b) is 10 to 85% by mass ([0067] Above component (b) is contained at 5 to 20% by weight.), a content of component (c) is 5 to 50% by mass ([0070] Above component (c) is contained at 5 to 15% by weight.), and a total content of component (a) to component (c) (inherent to taught components by weight), each based on the whole additive composition ([0083] It is preferable that the above diesel fuel additive composition is used by being added at 0.5 to 2% by weight to diesel fuel.).
Ookubo does not teach in formula 3 a Nitrogen atom paired with a carbon atom bonded to oxygen; total content of component (a) to component (c) is 20 to 100% by. However, Okada teaches a Nitrogen atom paired with a carbon atom bonded to oxygen (formula 1 pg 1 l 29 to pg 2 l 5); total content of component (a) to component (c) is 20 to 100% by mass (pg 3 ll 25-37 inherent to taught relative components of a to b). Okada further teaches additive cleans diesel injector nozzles (abstract and table 1 teachings pgs 5-6). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to modify Ookubo’s formula with Okada’s formula and relative weights to clean diesel injector nozzles.
In Re 3, Ookubo in view of Okada further teaches A method for cleaning a control valve inside an injector of a common rail diesel engine (Ookubo paras 1-5), comprising supplying a mixture of the additive composition according to claim 1 and diesel fuel to the common rail diesel engine (paras 1-5), wherein a content of the composition in the mixture is 0.5 to 5 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the diesel fuel (Ookubo para 27).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ookubo et al US 2010/0107477 in view of Okada et al CA 1,273,201 (see IDS) and Reid et al US 2016/0152910.
In Re 2, Ookubo teaches which is for a fuel for a common rail diesel engine with a fuel injection pressure (paras 1-3).
Ookubo is silent however Reid teaches fuel injection pressure of 200 MPa or more (para 254). Reid further teaches improved performance and efficiency and emissions at injection pressures above 2000 bar paras 251-254. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to add Reid’s pressure to Ookubo’s engine to improve performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure teaching fuel cleaning additives in diesel engines.
/CARL C STAUBACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747