DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment40
The preliminary amendment filed on 20/9/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-15 have been amended and claims 16-20 have been newly added. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leem et al. (US 20100302110 A1, hereinafter, “Leem”).
Regarding claim 1, Leem teaches a light fixture (portable terminal 400, see figures 9-14, and figures 1-8 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a housing (first and second bodies 401 and 402, see fig 12) including an opening (see opening of 401-402 for display unit 451, and 451’, see fig 9), wherein an interior (see interior of 401-402, see fig 9) of the housing (401-402) is accessible through the opening (see upper opening of 401-402, for 451, 451’),
a display (451, 451’, see fig 9-10) with a front surface (front surface of 451, better seen in fig 7e), located in the interior (see interior of 401-402) such that the front surface (front surface of 451) is visible through the opening (see opening of 401-402, for 451, 451’) in a viewing direction (looking into 451 as expected from the device use) when a user (observer looking into 400) of the light fixture (400) is looking at the light fixture (400) from outside the housing (exterior of 401-402), and
an antenna (sensing antenna 530, see fig 9) of a wireless communication module (as 530 includes additional elements forming a communication module, see fig 11), which is arranged in the viewing direction (looking into 451 as expected from the device use) behind the display (451).
Regarding claim 2, Leem teaches wherein the antenna (530) extends at least partly in parallel (as seen in fig 11) along the display (451, 451’).
Regarding claim 3, Leem teaches wherein the light fixture (400) comprises a base (second body 402, see fig 11) and a head (first body 401, see fig 11) that is movable relative to the base (402), and wherein the display (451) and the wireless communication module (530) are arranged within the base (402) of the light fixture (400).
Regarding claim 4, Leem teaches wherein the antenna (530) is arranged directly adjacent (better seen in fig 11) to a back surface (rear surface of 451) of the display (451) in the viewing direction (looking into 451 as expected from the device use).
Regarding claim 9, Leem teaches wherein the antenna (530) is direct contact with a backlight module (light source in 451, or 451) of the display (451, 451’, as seen in fig 11, and as the displays have an included backlight).
Regarding claim 12, Leem teaches wherein the antenna (530) is realized as a flexible printed circuit board (FPC) (as 530 is provided with a flexible PCB 532, as clearly seen in fig 14).
Regarding claim 13, Leem teaches wherein the antenna (530) is realized as a printed circuit board (PCB) (as 530 is provided with a flexible PCB 532, as clearly seen in fig 14).
Regarding claim 10, Leem teaches wherein the antenna (530) is connected to a control printed circuit board (circuit board 501, see fig 14) within the housing (401-402) by a flexible printed circuit (FPC) connector (flexible PCB 532 and connector 541).
Regarding claim 11, Leem teaches wherein the control printed circuit board (PCB) (501) is arranged substantially parallel (at least when the device is closed, as seen in fig 9) to the antenna (530) and spaced from the antenna (530) by a predetermined distance (necessarily occurring, as the antenna and PCB are separated by 405).
Regarding claim 15, Leem teaches a method for assembling a light fixture (portable terminal 400, see figures 9-14, and figures 1-8 to show common elements and features to all embodiments), comprising the following steps:
providing a housing (401-402) of the light fixture (400) including an opening (see opening of 401-402 for 451, 451’), wherein an interior (see interior of 401-402) of the housing (401-402) is accessible through the opening (see opening of 401-451, 451’);
providing a display (451, 451’) with a front surface (front surface of 451);
providing a wireless communication module (530); and
assembling the display (451) and the wireless communication module (530) in the interior (see interior of 401-402) of the housing (401-402),
wherein the front surface (front surface of 451) of the display (451) is visible through the opening (see opening of 401-402 for 451, 451’) in a viewing direction (looking into 451 as expected from the device use) when a user (user looking into the device) of the light fixture (400) is looking at the light fixture (400) from outside the housing (401-402), and wherein an antenna (530) of the wireless communication module (as 530 includes additional elements forming a communication module, see fig 11) is arranged in the viewing direction (looking into 451 as expected from the device use) behind the display (451).
Regarding claim 16, Leem teaches further comprising: providing a base (second body 402, see fig 11) and a head (first body 401, see fig 11) that is movable relative to the base (402); and arranging the display (451, 451’) and the wireless communication module (530) within the base (402) of the light fixture (400).
Regarding claim 17, Leem teaches further comprising extending the antenna (530) extends at least partly in parallel (as clearly seen in fig 9) along the display (451).
Regarding claim 18, Leem teaches further comprising arranging the antenna (530) directly adjacent to a back surface (rear surface of 451, 451’) of the display (451, 451’) in the viewing direction (looking into 451 as expected from the device use).
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chuang et al. (US 9839144 B2, hereinafter, “Chuang”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 10/9/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches a light fixture (Display module 10, see figures 9-10a-c, and figures 1-8 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a housing (carrier 600 and rear shell 400, see figures 9 and col 14, lines 11-18) including an opening (see upper opening of 600, 400, see fig 9), wherein an interior (see interior of 600, 400, see fig 9) of the housing (600, 400) is accessible through the opening (see upper opening of 600, 400),
a display (display panel 100, see fig 9) with a front surface (display surface 101, better seen in fig 7e), located in the interior (see interior of 600, 400) such that the front surface (101) is visible through the opening (see upper opening of 600, 400) in a viewing direction (along dashed line, as seen in fig 9) when a user (observer looking into 10) of the light fixture (10) is looking at the light fixture (10) from outside the housing (exterior of 600, 400), and
an antenna (sensing antenna 500, see fig 9) of a wireless communication module (500 and second circuit board 752, better seen in fig 7d), which is arranged in the viewing direction (along dashed line, as seen in fig 9) behind the display (100).
Regarding claim 2, Chuang teaches wherein the antenna (500) extends at least partly in parallel (as seen in fig 9) along the display (100).
Regarding claim 4, Chuang teaches wherein the antenna (500) is arranged directly adjacent (better seen in fig 10a) to a back surface (rear surface of 100) of the display (100) in the viewing direction (along dashed line, as seen in fig 9).
Regarding claim 6, Chuang teaches wherein the wireless communication module (500, 752) comprises a wireless communication transceiver for short-range communication (see col 3, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 7, Chuang teaches wherein the wireless communication module (500, 752) comprises a Near- Field Communication (NFC) tag (as the device is capable of providing wireless communication via NFC, an NFC tag needs to be included, see col 3, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 14, Chuang teaches wherein the antenna (500) is glued (conductive adhesive layer, see col 13, lines 12-24) to a back surface (rear surface of 100) of the display (100).
Regarding claim 15, Chuang teaches a method for assembling a light fixture (Display module 10, see figures 9-10a-c, and figures 1-8 to show common elements and features to all embodiments), comprising the following steps:
providing a housing (600, 400) of the light fixture (10) including an opening (see upper opening of 600, 400), wherein an interior (see interior of 600, 400) of the housing (600, 400) is accessible through the opening (see upper opening of 600, 400);
providing a display (100) with a front surface (101) (111);
providing a wireless communication module (500, 752); and
assembling the display (100) and the wireless communication module (500, 752) in the interior (see interior of 600, 400) of the housing (600, 400), wherein the front surface (101) of the display (100) is visible through the opening (see upper opening of 600, 400) in a viewing direction (along dashed line, as seen in fig 9) when a user (user looking into the device) of the light fixture (10) is looking at the light fixture (10) from outside the housing (600, 400), and wherein an antenna (500) of the wireless communication module (500, 752) is arranged in the viewing direction (along dashed line, as seen in fig 9) behind the display (100).
Regarding claim 17, Chuang teaches further comprising extending the antenna (500) extends at least partly in parallel (as clearly seen in fig 9) along the display (100).
Regarding claim 18, Chuang teaches further comprising arranging the antenna (500) directly adjacent to a back surface (rear surface of 100) of the display (100) in the viewing direction (along dashed line, as seen in fig 9).
Regarding claim 20, Chuang teaches wherein the wireless communication module (500, 752) comprises a wireless communication transceiver for short-range communication (necessarily included as 500, 752 provide wireless communication via NFC, see col 3, lines 15-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leem et al. (US 20100302110 A1, hereinafter, “Leem”) in view of Wang Nan (CN 214502712 U, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 5, Leem does not explicitly teach wherein an assembly of the display with the housing has an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating against ingress of solid objects and water into the housing.
Wang teaches a light fixture (multi-probe, see figures 1-2) having a display (first display screen 2, see fig 1) and a housing (first body 1, second body 5);
wherein an assembly of the display (2, see fig 1) with the housing (1, 5) has an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating (IP67) against ingress of solid objects and water (as 6 represents the mobile phone can completely protect the internal circuit from dust intrusion, 7 represents that the mobile phone is immersed in less than 1m deep underwater, see ¶ 5 of “The above technical solution has the following advantages”) into the housing (1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the IP rating as taught by Wang into the teachings of Leem, to realize the water-proof performance of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because sealed internal parts prevent moisture and dirt damage, reducing sudden hardware failures.
Regarding claim 19, Leem does not teach further comprising providing an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating against ingress of solid objects and water into the housing (401-402) for an assembly of the display (451) with the housing (401-402).
Wang teaches a light fixture (multi-probe, see figures 1-2) having a display (first display screen 2, see fig 1) and a housing (first body 1, second body 5); further comprising:
providing an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating (IP67) against ingress of solid objects and water (as 6 represents the mobile phone can completely protect the internal circuit from dust intrusion, 7 represents that the mobile phone is immersed in less than 1m deep underwater, see ¶ 5 of “The above technical solution has the following advantages”) into the housing (1, 5) for an assembly of the display (2, see fig 1) with the housing (1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the IP rating as taught by Wang into the teachings of Leem, to realize the water-proof performance of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because sealed internal parts prevent moisture and dirt damage, reducing sudden hardware failures.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 9839144 B2, hereinafter, “Chuang”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 10/9/2025) in view of Wang Nan (CN 214502712 U, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 5, Chuang does not teach wherein an assembly of the display with the housing has an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating against ingress of solid objects and water into the housing.
Wang teaches a light fixture (multi-probe, see figures 1-2) having a display (first display screen 2, see fig 1) and a housing (first body 1, second body 5);
wherein an assembly of the display (2, see fig 1) with the housing (1, 5) has an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating (IP67) against ingress of solid objects and water (as 6 represents the mobile phone can completely protect the internal circuit from dust intrusion, 7 represents that the mobile phone is immersed in less than 1m deep underwater, see ¶ 5 of “The above technical solution has the following advantages”) into the housing (1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the IP rating as taught by Wang into the teachings of Chuang, to realize the water-proof performance of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because sealed internal parts prevent moisture and dirt damage, reducing sudden hardware failures.
Regarding claim 19, Chuang does not teach further comprising providing an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating against ingress of solid objects and water into the housing for an assembly of the display with the housing.
Wang teaches a light fixture (multi-probe, see figures 1-2) having a display (first display screen 2, see fig 1) and a housing (first body 1, second body 5);
wherein an assembly of the display (2, see fig 1) with the housing (1, 5) has an Ingress Protection (IP-) rating (IP67) against ingress of solid objects and water (as 6 represents the mobile phone can completely protect the internal circuit from dust intrusion, 7 represents that the mobile phone is immersed in less than 1m deep underwater, see ¶ 5 of “The above technical solution has the following advantages”) into the housing (1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the IP rating as taught by Wang into the teachings of Chuang, to realize the water-proof performance of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because sealed internal parts prevent moisture and dirt damage, reducing sudden hardware failures.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leem et al. (US 20100302110 A1, hereinafter, “Leem”) in view of Takahashi Yoshitaka (US 20110306296 A1, hereinafter, “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 8, Leem does not teach wherein the wireless communication module (530) comprises a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag.
Takahashi teaches a light fixture (Mobile phone, see figure 1 and ¶ 99) having a wireless communication module (mobile phone IC);
wherein the wireless communication module (mobile phone IC) comprises a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag (RFID tag, see ¶ 99).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RFID tag as taught by Takahashi into the teachings of Leem, to provide the device light fixture with a compact device structure can be provided and the communicable range can be extended sufficiently. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to extend the range of communication of the fixture.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 9839144 B2, hereinafter, “Chuang”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 10/9/2025) in view of Takahashi Yoshitaka (US 20110306296 A1, hereinafter, “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 8, Chuang does not teach wherein the wireless communication module comprises a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag.
Takahashi teaches a light fixture (Mobile phone, see figure 1 and ¶ 99) having a wireless communication module (mobile phone IC);
wherein the wireless communication module (mobile phone IC) comprises a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag (RFID tag, see ¶ 99).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RFID tag as taught by Takahashi into the teachings of Chuang, to provide the device light fixture with a compact device structure can be provided and the communicable range can be extended sufficiently. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to extend the range of communication of the fixture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon Young-Mi. (US 20120146863 A1) discloses a light fixture having a housing, display and a wireless communication device that includes an antenna. The antenna is positioned behind the display in the plane view of the device. The fixture can improve antenna performance by controlling a position where the ESD prevention ground of the display device is in electric contact with the main board. The apparatus enables slimming of the portable terminal
Jiang Weikai. (US 11421858 B2) discloses a light fixture having a base and a head. The base includes a display and an antenna enclosed within the base and behind the display. the antenna uses a circular appearance, which have the advantage that stable signal reception can be ensured during rotation of the U-shaped arm and the light head, and a situation can be avoided that the signal will be strong and weak from time to time due to distance change in relative movement of a traditional antenna
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875