DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 6-11 are pending in the application.
In the Preliminary Amendment filed 09 October 2025, claims 1-5 were canceled and claims 6-11 were newly added. These amendments have been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claim 6: Lines 7-10 of claim 6 should be amended as follows:
--a drive force transmission path from the input shaft to the output shaft includes a plurality of fitting portions that [[is]] are each provided with a spline shaft portion that has a plurality of spline teeth and a spline groove portion that has a plurality of fitting grooves that fits to the plurality of spline teeth, and--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitta (JP 2020-153460 A, a copy of which was provided by Applicant with the IDS filed 09 October 2025, along with an English translation).
Re Claim 6: Nitta discloses a drive force transmission device comprising:
an input shaft (30) to which rotational drive force from a drive source (12) is input;
a first joint (22) that is linked to the input shaft (30);
an output shaft (32) to which the rotational drive force is output;
a second joint (24) that is linked to the output shaft; and
an intermediate shaft (20) connecting the first joint (22) and the second joint (24), wherein
a drive force transmission path from the input shaft (12) to the output shaft (32) includes a plurality of fitting portions (50, 52, 54) that are each provided with a spline shaft portion that has a plurality of spline teeth (60, 64, 66) and a spline groove portion that has a plurality of fitting grooves (formed between teeth 62, 66, 70) that fits to the plurality of spline teeth, and
the plurality of fitting portions includes a first fitting portion (for example, 54) and a second fitting portion (for example, 52) in which the plurality of spline teeth is twisted with respect to rotation axial lines (see Figs. 3-4 and 6-7), and torsional directions of the plurality of spline teeth (64, 68) differ between the first fitting portion and the second fitting portion (note paragraph [0047] of the translation which states that each of the fitting portions 50, 52, 54 may have a “right-hand helix angle” (θ1, θ2, θ3) or a “left-hand helix angle” (θ4, θ5, θ6); and further note paragraph [0051] which states that “The right twist angles θ1, θ2, θ3 or the left twist angles θ4, θ5, and θ6 may be the same angle or different angles, respectively. That is, in order to adjust the torsional rigidity of the vehicle drive shaft 10, each can be appropriately changed.”).
Re Claim 7: Nitta discloses a drive force transmission device, wherein the same number of the first fitting portion (54) and the second fitting portion (52) are provided.
Re Claim 8: Nitta discloses a drive force transmission device, wherein
the first fitting portion (54) is provided at a linking portion of the output shaft (32) and an output side member (40), and
the second fitting portion (52) is provided at a linking portion of the second joint (24) and the intermediate shaft (20).
Re Claim 9: Nitta discloses a drive force transmission device, wherein
the plurality of fitting portions includes a third fitting portion (for example, at 30; Fig. 1) that is provided at a linking portion of the input shaft (30) and an input side member (12), and a fourth fitting portion (for example, 50) that is provided at a linking portion of the first joint (22) and the intermediate shaft (20), and
in the third fitting portion and the fourth fitting portion, the plurality of spline teeth extends linearly along rotation axial lines (note in paragraphs [0050]-[0051] that not all of the fitting portions need to have a helix angle).
Re Claim 10: Nitta discloses a drive force transmission device, wherein
the first joint (22) is a tripod type constant-velocity joint, and
the second joint (24) is a ball type constant-velocity joint.
Re Claim 11: Nitta discloses a drive force transmission device, wherein the plurality of spline teeth (60, 64, 66) extends in a torsional direction that is downward and to right (for example, as shown for “right-hand helix angle” (θ1, θ2, θ3); Figs. 3-4) or upward and to the right (for example, as shown for “left-hand helix angle” (θ4, θ5, θ6); Figs. 6-7) with a direction in which the rotation axial lines extend as a right-left direction, such that in a case in which the torsional direction is downward and to the right at the first fitting portion, the torsional direction is upward and to the right at the second fitting portion, and in a case in which the torsional direction is upward and to the right at the first fitting portion, the torsional direction is downward and to the right at the second fitting portion (note paragraph [0047] of the translation which states that each of the fitting portions 50, 52, 54 may have a “right-hand helix angle” (θ1, θ2, θ3) or a “left-hand helix angle” (θ4, θ5, θ6); and further note paragraph [0051] which states that “The right twist angles θ1, θ2, θ3 or the left twist angles θ4, θ5, and θ6 may be the same angle or different angles, respectively. That is, in order to adjust the torsional rigidity of the vehicle drive shaft 10, each can be appropriately changed.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678