DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “coupling capacitor” (see claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“each extending” in line 4 should be --each of the plurality of pistons extending--;
“each configured” in line 7 should be --each of the plurality of regenerators configured--;
“two adjacent pistons” in lines 7-8 should be --two adjacent pistons of the plurality of pistons--;
“across the pistons” in lines 8-9 should be --across the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 5 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 2 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 6 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 2 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 9 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 1 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 11 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 1 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 12 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 2 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 14 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 1 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 16 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 1 should be --the plurality of pistons--.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“each extending” in line 4 should be --each of the plurality of pistons extending--;
“two adjacent pistons” in line 7 should be --two adjacent pistons of the plurality of pistons--;
“across the pistons” in line 8 should be --across the plurality of pistons--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881).
Re claim 1:
Fraser discloses a heat engine (Figs. 1-3) for utilizing temperature differential for high efficiency heat conversion (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 5, Lines 1-36), comprising:
a housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of housing)) having a hot side (Modified Fig. 2 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of hot side of element A)) and a cold side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of cold side of element A));
a plurality of pistons (74, piston - Col. 5, Lines 25-26 (see Figs. 2-3 )) arranged within the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 2 above and Figs. 2-3 and Col. 5, Lines 23-30), each extending from the hot side (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) to the cold side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C) and configured to actuate according to working gases heated therewithin by the hot side of the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 2 above and Col. 5, Lines 1-36); and
a plurality of regenerators (54, regenerator - Col. 5, Line 5 (see Figs. 2-3)), each configured to be arranged between two adjacent pistons (74)(see Figs. 2-3) and configured to store heat generated as the working gas moves across the pistons (74)(see Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, Lines 1-36 (standard function of a regenerator in a Stirling heat engine)).
Re claim 2:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein at least one material of the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) is selected based on thermal conductivity and a size of the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 4, Lines 44-68).
Re claim 4:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the plurality of pistons (74) includes an even number of pistons (see Figs. 2-3).
Re claim 5:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 4 (as described above), wherein the pistons (74) are arranged in a two by two arrangement within the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 2 above and Figs. 2-3).
Re claim 7:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the regenerators (54) are arranged within cavities created between the adjacent pistons (74)(see Figs. 2-3).
Re claim 8:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the pistons (74) are at least one of double acting free pistons (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 2, Lines 30-32 and Lines 39-49), physical hard-stop pistons and spring pistons.
Re claim 14:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the pistons (74) have properties effecting an efficiency of the heat engine, the properties including at least a spring constant and damping (see Figs. 1-3 (elements 74 necessarily include properties, including a spring constant and damping, effecting an efficiency of the depicted heat engine)).
Re claim 17:
Fraser discloses a heat engine (Figs. 1-3) for utilizing temperature differential for high efficiency heat conversion (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 5, Lines 1-36), comprising:
a housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of housing)) having a hot side (Modified Fig. 2 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of hot side of element A)) and a cold side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of cold side of element A));
a plurality of pistons (74, piston - Col. 5, Lines 25-26 (see Figs. 2-3 )) arranged within the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 2 above and Figs. 2-3 and Col. 5, Lines 23-30), each extending from the hot side (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) to the cold side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C) and configured to actuate according to working gases heated therewithin by the hot side of the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 2 above and Col. 5, Lines 1-36); and
at least one regenerator (54, regenerator - Col. 5, Line 5 (see Figs. 2-3)) arranged between two adjacent pistons (74)(see Figs. 2-3) and configured to store heat generated as the working gas moves across the pistons (74)(see Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, Lines 1-36 (standard function of a regenerator in a Stirling heat engine)).
Re claim 18:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 17 (as described above), wherein the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) is hermetically sealed (see Figs. 1-3 and Claim 14 - “…a closed gas flow path…”) to maintain a gas (Col. 2, Lines 50-51 - “…an engine working gas such as hydrogen…”) therein, the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) formed of a material to maintain stable operating temperatures (Col. 4, Lines 44-68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Papadopoulos (DE-4123665-A1).
Re claim 3:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 2 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of the housing is formed of glass.
Papadopoulos teaches a heat engine (Fig. 2) wherein at least a portion of a housing (8, working cylinder - Para 34) is formed of glass (Para 34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the housing of Fraser after that of Papadopoulos, thereby making at least a portion of the housing of Fraser be formed of glass, as taught by Papadopoulos, for the advantage of making thermal and mechanical stress low (Papadopoulos; Para 34).
Re claim 19:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 17 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the housing is formed at least in part of at least one of glass and silicon.
Papadopoulos teaches a heat engine (Fig. 2) wherein a housing (8, working cylinder - Para 34) is formed at least in part of at least one of glass (Para 34) and silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the housing of Fraser after that of Papadopoulos, thereby making the housing of Fraser be formed at least in part of glass, as taught by Papadopoulos, for the advantage of making thermal and mechanical stress low (Papadopoulos; Para 34).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Martini et al. (U.S. 3,822,388).
Re claim 6:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 4 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose the heat engine further comprising a piezo generator for recovering power from the actuation of the pistons.
Martini teaches a heat engine (22, Stirling engine - Col. 2, Line 63) comprising a piezo generator (28, piezoelectric generator - Col. 2, Line 65) for recovering power from actuation of pistons (50, displacer - Col. 4, Line 2)(see Figs. 1, and 4-5, Col. 2, Line 62 - Col. 3, Line 11 and Col. 4, Lines 36-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Martini, thereby including, in the heat engine of Fraser, a piezo generator for recovering power from the actuation of the pistons of Fraser, in the way taught by Martini, for the advantage of being able to produce electricity (Fraser; Col. 2, Line 62 - Col. 3, Line 11).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wuan et al. (U.S. 10,770,996).
Re claim 9:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the pistons actuate in a specific phase enforced by electronic force feedback.
Wuan teaches a heat engine (b1110, closed cycle engine - Col. 29, Line 44) wherein pistons (see Fig. 13 at b1110 where pistons are shown and Col. 29, Lines 51-53 - “…piston movement characteristics…”) actuate in a specific phase enforced by electronic force feedback (see Figs. 13-14, Col. 29, Line 41 - Col. 30, Line 37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Wuan, thereby actuating the pistons of Fraser in a specific phase enforced by electronic force feedback, as taught by Wuan, for the advantage of being able to prevent failure modes (Wuan; Col. 30, Lines 24-37).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murozono (JPS5970862A).
Re claim 10:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the pistons are hollow pistons having an internal vacuum.
Murozono teaches a heat engine (Figs. 1-2) wherein the pistons (Page 4 - “…the working space is continuously changed by at least two piston-like parts…”) are hollow pistons having an internal vacuum (Page 4 - “…at least two piston-like parts that reciprocate with a phase difference between them, and the piston-like members are connected to a drive mechanism via screws/rods, connecting rods, etc., and at least one of the piston-like members is configured to have a hollow vacuum space inside…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Murozono, thereby making the pistons of Fraser be hollow pistons having an internal vacuum, as taught by Murozono, for the advantage of achieving a better coefficient of performance (Murozono - Page 4).
Claims 11 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Landis (U.S. 6,978,611).
Re claim 11:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose the heat engine further comprising a coupling capacitor for recovering power from the actuation of the pistons.
Landis teaches a heat engine (10, heat engine - Col. 9, Line 35 (see Figs. 2A-2D)) comprising a coupling capacitor (24a, 24b, capacitor plates - Col. 10, Lines 4-5) for recovering power from the actuation of a pistons (32, flexing diagram - Col. 9, Line 25)(see Figs. 2A-2D and Col. 10, Line 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Landis, thereby including a coupling capacitor for recovering power from the actuation of the pistons of Fraser, as taught by Landis, for the advantage of being able to generate electrical energy (Fraser; Col. 10, Line 1-17).
Re claim 13:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above) wherein the housing (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) is hermetically sealed (see Figs. 1-3 and Claim 14 - “…a closed gas flow path…”).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the housing includes at least one end cap formed of silicon.
Landis teaches a heat engine (10, heat engine - Col. 9, Line 35 (see Figs. 2A-2D)) wherein a housing (18, chamber - Col. 9, Line 14) includes at least one end cap (24b, capacitor plate - Col. 9, Lines 6-7) formed of silicon (Col. 9, Lines 5-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Landis, thereby including at least one end cap formed of silicon in the housing of Fraser, as taught by Landis, for the advantage of being able to generate electrical energy (Fraser; Col. 10, Line 1-17).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Berchowitz et al. (U.S. 4,649,283).
Re claim 12:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose the heat engine further comprising at least one magnet and coil pairing for recovering power from the actuation of the pistons.
Berchowitz teaches a heat engine (Fig. 1) comprising at least one magnet and coil pairing (24, 28 and 32, 34) for recovering power from actuation of pistons (14, 30)(see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 3-36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Berchowitz, thereby including at least one magnet and coil paring for recovering power from the actuation of the pistons of Fraser, in the way taught by Berchowitz, for the advantage of being able to generate electrical energy (Berchowitz; see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 3-36).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 1 above, as evidenced by Beale (U.S. 5,502,968).
Re claim 15:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 15 (as described above).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the efficiency of the heat engine is increased as the damping increases and the spring constant decreases.
Beale teaches that spring constant and damping constant are results effective variables effecting ratio of piston amplitude to displacer amplitude and relative phase of their displacement (Col. 2, Lines 22-26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the pistons of Fraser to the efficiency of the heat engine increase as the damping increases and the spring constant decreases, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 1 above, as evidenced by Benson (U.S. 3,928,974).
Re claim 16:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the pistons (74) have a piston mass (see Fig. 2).
Fraser fails to disclose a piston mass between 2-4kg.
Benson teaches piston mass is a results effective variable that determines inertia piston force (Col. 12, Lines 31-34) as well as the damped resonant frequency of the piston (Col. 13, Lines 25-31 and Col. 16, Lines 57-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the pistons of Fraser to have a piston mass between 2-4ks as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (U.S. 4,395,881), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Papadopoulos (DE-4123665-A1) and Landis (U.S. 6,978,611).
Re claim 20:
Fraser discloses the heat engine (Figs. 1-3) of claim 17 (as described above), wherein the housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) is sealed (see Figs. 1-3 and Claim 14 - “…a closed gas flow path…”).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the housing is formed of glass.
Papadopoulos teaches a heat engine (Fig. 2) wherein a housing (8, working cylinder - Para 34) is formed of glass (Para 34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the housing of Fraser after that of Papadopoulos, thereby making the housing of Fraser be formed of glass, as taught by Papadopoulos, for the advantage of making thermal and mechanical stress low (Papadopoulos; Para 34).
Fraser fails to disclose wherein the housing is with a silicon cap.
Landis teaches a heat engine (10, heat engine - Col. 9, Line 35 (see Figs. 2A-2D)) wherein a housing (18, chamber - Col. 9, Line 14) is with a silicon cap (24b, capacitor plate - Col. 9, Lines 6-7 (see Col. 9, Lines 5-12)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the heat engine of Fraser after that of Landis, thereby making the housing of Fraser be with a silicon cap, as taught by Landis, for the advantage of being able to generate electrical energy (Fraser; Col. 10, Line 1-17).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 8/28/26