DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support for the target values and moving amounts of claims 2-5.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Note that “current limiting means for limiting current” of claim 1 and “droop detection means for detecting” claim 5 invoke 112 (f).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “rotational drive mechanism configured to relatively rotate” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the third moving amount is… larger than the first moving amount” while claim 2 recites “wherein in the first friction heating period, the control means controls the first drive source by using a first control target value of a moving amount per unit time of the first workpiece as a first moving amount… in the second friction heating period, the control means controls the first drive source by using the first control target value as a third moving amount”. It is unclear as to how a first target control value can be a first moving amount and then a third moving amount; as opposed to a first target control value as a first moving amount and a third target control value a third moving amount. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as the third moving amount can be equal to or greater than the first moving amount. Note that this reasoning also applies to the second target control value being a second amount and a larger fourth amount.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaya et al. (US 2021/0291294 A1) in view of Electromen “DC-Motor Control Basics”.
Regarding claim 1, Nakaya teaches:
A friction joining device [machine tool (1); figure 1] comprising:
a first spindle [first spindle (3a)] which grips a first workpiece [workpiece (w1)];
a second spindle [second spindle (3b)] which grips a second workpiece [workpiece (w2)] so as to face the first workpiece in an axial direction [see figure 1];
a first drive mechanism which includes a first drive source [first drive source (9a)] and is configured to move the first spindle in the axial direction by using a drive force of the first drive source [0019];
a second drive mechanism which includes a second drive source [second drive source (9b)] and is configured to move the second spindle in the axial direction by using a drive force of the second drive source [0020];
a rotational drive mechanism [electric motors (6a, 6b)] configured to relatively rotate the first workpiece and the second workpiece around a rotation axis line along the axial direction [0018]; and
control means [control unit (C)] for controlling the first drive mechanism, the second drive mechanism and the rotational drive mechanism so that the first workpiece and the second workpiece are joined by contacting with each other in a state where the first workpiece and the second workpiece are relatively rotated [the control unit is connected to all of the elements of the welding machine and is configured to perform the disclosed welding process; 0024-0026 and figures 1-3].
Nakaya does not teach:
current limiting means for limiting current flowing to the first drive source and the second drive source to predetermined limit values or less, wherein
in a first friction heating period that is a predetermined period immediately after the first workpiece and the second workpiece come in contact with each other, the current limiting means limits the current that flows to the first drive source and the second drive source to a first limit value or less that is smaller than a second limit value for limiting the current flowing to the first drive source and the second drive source in a second friction heating period after the first friction heating period has elapsed.
Electromen teaches placing current limiters on motors in order to protect them and to control the current/torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place current limiters on the first and second drive sources in order to protect them and/or to control the current/torque. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the current limiters to the control unit since all other elements of the machine tool are connected and in order to allow the control unit to control and receive data from the current limiters.
Concerning any claimed results, materials, and/or functions:
Since the prior art apparatus, i.e. the apparatus based on the combined prior art references above, is structurally identical to the claimed apparatus, it is the examiner’s position that the prior art apparatus is capable of achieving any claimed function with any claimed material to achieve any claimed result; such as limiting the current to the claimed values. This reasoning applies to any claim below where functional language, material worked upon, and/or a result is claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Nakaya teaches:
wherein in the first friction heating period [figure 2A], the control means controls the first drive source by using a first control target value of a moving amount per unit time of the first workpiece as a first moving amount [the first spindle remains at a stationary target value], and controls the second drive source by using a second control target value of a moving amount per unit time of the second workpiece as a second moving amount [second spindle (3b) moves at a target value to apply pressure; 0030], and
in the second friction heating period [figure 2B], the control means controls the first drive source by using the first control target value as a third moving amount [first spindle (3a) remains at a stationary target value], and controls the second drive source by using the second control target value as a fourth moving amount [since the fourth moving amount can be more, less, or equal to the second moving amount, this limitation is intrinsically met].
Regarding claim 3, Nakaya teaches:
wherein the third moving amount is an amount the same as the first moving amount [as noted above, both first and third amounts are stationary] or larger than the first moving amount.
Nakaya does not specifically teach:
the fourth moving amount is an amount the same as the second moving amount or larger than the second moving amount.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the fourth amount larger in order to increase the pressure to achieve a desired welding temperature; i.e. the temperature needs to be high enough to plasticize the weld metal.
Regarding claim 4, Nakaya teaches:
wherein the control means stops the second friction heating period by controlling the rotational drive mechanism so as to stop the relative rotation of the first workpiece and the second workpiece [figure 2C and 0032], and
in a joining step after the second frictional heating period ends [figure 2C], the control means controls the first drive source by using the first control target value as a fifth moving amount [the first spindle remains at a stationary target value], and controls the second drive source by using the second control target value as a sixth moving amount [Since the sixth moving amount can be more, less, or equal to the second moving amount, this limitation is intrinsically met. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would note that the pressure in this step is increased in order to increase the upset of the weld.].
Regarding claim 5, the prior art apparatus teaches:
further comprising a droop detection means for detecting a droop of the first drive source and a droop of the second drive source [the droop detection means is met by the incorporation of the Electromen current limiters],
wherein in a case where the droop of the first drive source and the droop of the second drive source, generated in a case of stopping the relative rotation, exceed predetermined thresholds respectively, the control means stops the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism, and does not execute the joining step [This limitation is optional and not further limiting as it is not taken. Additionally, the Nakaya control unit is capable of this function since it controls all elements of the prior art machine tool].
Regarding claim 6, Nakaya teaches:
wherein the rotational drive mechanism rotates the first workpiece and does not rotate the second workpiece [one electric motor is capable of rotating while the other does not since they independent from each other].
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the following claims are functional and do not further limit the apparatus as noted above in the rejection of claim 1.
wherein the current flowing to the first drive source and the second drive source becomes constant at a magnitude the same as the first limit value in the first friction heating period; and
wherein the current flowing to the first drive source and the second drive source becomes constant at a magnitude the same as the second limit value in a predetermined period from the start of the second friction heating period, and does not reach the magnitude the same as the second limit value after the predetermined period.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; see PTO 892.
/CARLOS J GAMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735