DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 10,626,981) in view of Nakanishi (US 10,508,732).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a shift device (see Fig. 1) comprising:
A shift body (3) having an operation rod (see Fig. 1) that can rotate with respect to a rotation axis (Ax).
A sensor substrate (620) disposed at one side, in a rotating direction of the operation rod, with respect to the rotation axis (see Fig. 3), and having a sensor (620) that detects a rotational position of the operation rod.
Yang does not disclose a sensor substrate for the sensor. However, Nakanishi discloses in a similar shift device (see Fig. 2) having a sensor substrate (38) having a sensor (see Col. 6 Lines 11-23, disclosing sensors disposed on the printed wiring board 38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shift device disclosed in Yang with a sensor substrate for the sensor as taught in Nakanishi to provide for mounting of the sensor to a medium that can process the signal for use in the shift device.
Regarding Claim 2, the Combination further suggests the shift device of Claim 1, wherein the sensor substrate is disposed further toward an inner side than an outer side portion of the shift body, in an axial direction of the rotation axis (see Yang Fig. 4, showing the sensor is located at this location, and accordingly the sensor substrate would likewise be located at the claimed location).
Regarding Claim 3, the Combination further suggests the shift device of Claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the sensor substrate is disposed in a concave portion, which is recessed in an axial direction of the rotation axis, of the shift body (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang further discloses the shift device of Claim 1, comprising a rotating body (610) connected to the shift body by a gear (110).
Wherein the sensor is disposed at a position at which the sensor can detect a rotational position of the rotating body (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang further discloses the shift device of Claim 1, wherein the sensor substrate is disposed so as to avoid a rotation range of the operation rod as seen from an axial direction of the rotation axis (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, the Combination further suggests the shift device of Claim 5, wherein:
The sensor substrate is formed in a shape of a plate that extends in the rotating direction (see Nakanishi Fig. 2; Yang Fig. 4), with the axial direction of the rotation axis being a plate thickness direction of the sensor substrate as seen from the axial direction of the rotation axis (see Nakanishi Fig. 2), the sensor substrate is disposed so as to avoid the rotation range of the operation rod due to at least one notch being formed in a portion, which is at a rotation axis side, of the sensor substrate (see Nakanishi Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, the Combination further suggests the shift device of Claim 5, wherein:
The sensor substrate is formed in a shape of a plate that extends in the rotating direction, with the axial direction of the rotation axis being a plate thickness direction of the sensor substrate (see Nakanishi Fig. 2).
As seen from the axial direction of the rotation axis, the sensor substrate is disposed so as to avoid the rotation range of the operation rod due to a portion, which is at a rotation axis side, of the sensor substrate being formed in a tapered shape that is inclined with respect to the rotation axis (see Nakanishi Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/GREGORY ROBERT WEBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618