DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2013/0076629 A1, Published March 28, 2013) in view of Saito (US 2018/0299972 A1, Published October 18, 2018).
As to claim 1, Lin discloses a touch-sensitive sensor device for sensing a position of an object touch on the sensor device, comprising:
a housing having a ceiling (Lin at Figs. 14-15, in particular, mouse including support plate 120)
a first distance sensor and… disposed spaced apart from each other in the housing (Lin at Figs. 14-15, light source 205 and image sensor 201. MPEP 2144.04(VI) establish that duplication of parts is obvious),
a… surface disposed spaced apart from the first and second distance sensor (Lin at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0038]),
a processing circuit configured to determine the position of the object touch on the ceiling by evaluating a detected first distance variation between the first distance sensor and the light-reflective surface caused by the object touch (Lin at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0043]-[0044] discloses “[0043] Generally, strength of the image signal is proportional to the intensity of the reflected light received by the image sensor 201. The processor 209 may identify a relative distance between the finger and the light source 205 according to the variation of the light spot of the image and to generate a positional signal of the finger. [0044] The processor 209 may be configured to detect a deformation of the touch plate when at least one finger of the user presses thereon according to the images captured by the image sensor 201.” ¶ [0049]), and
a detected second distance variation between the second distance sensor and the light-reflective surface caused by the object touch (Lin at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0043]-[0044]. MPEP 2144.04(VI) establishes that duplication and rearrangement of parts is obvious),1
wherein the detected first distance variation is based on a measurement of the first distance sensor (Lin at ¶ [0049] discloses “In the present embodiment, because the deformable unit 130 is fixed between the soft plate 110 and the transparent supporting plate 130, when at least one finger of the user presses the soft plate 110, the soft plate 110 and the deformable unit 130 deform accordingly. Furthermore, the light beam 143 reflected by the deformable unit 130 transmits to the image sensing module 150. The light beam 143 is converted into an image data by the image sensing module 150. According to compare the image data got in different times, whether the deformable unit 130 deforms or not is determined, and the deformed position of the deformable unit 130 is determined According to the determining result, the cursor or game role in the screen can be managed to do a corresponding motion.”) and
the detected second distance variation is based on a measurement of the second distance sensor (Lin at ¶ [0049]. MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
Lin does not disclose a second distance sensor spaced apart from the first distance sensor.
Lin does not expressly disclose that the surface is light reflective.
However, Saito does disclose a second distance sensor spaced apart from the first distance sensor (Saito at Figs. 3, 7-8, cameras 231 and light emitting portions 241);
Saito discloses that the surface is light reflective (Saito at Figs. 42-48, light reflection layer 220B).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, wherein the first distance sensor is configured for to generate a first output signal, wherein a value of a signal amplitude of the first output signal represents the first distance variation (Lin at ¶ [0043]),
wherein the second distance sensor is configured to generate a second output signal, wherein a value of a signal amplitude of the second output signal represents the second distance variation (Lin at ¶ [0043]. MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
As to claim 3, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, wherein the ceiling is configured as the light-reflective surface (Saito at Figs. 42-48, light reflection layer 220B).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 4, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, comprising: a ground floor being arranged disposed spaced apart from the first and second distance sensor, wherein the ground floor comprises the light-reflective surface (Lin at Figs. 14-15. Examiner takes an official notice that optical mouses and reflective optical mouse pads are well-known in the art).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, wherein the first distance sensor comprises a first optical force sensor that comprises a first light emitter and a first light receiver (Lin at Figs. 14-15, light source 205 and image sensor 201),
wherein the second distance sensor comprises a second optical force sensor that comprises a second light emitter and a second light receiver (Lin at Figs. 14-15, light source 205 and image sensor 201. MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
As to claim 6, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 5
wherein the first light emitter is configured to emit first light beams towards the light-reflective surface (Lin at Figs. 14-15),2
wherein the second light emitter is configured to emit second light beams towards the light-reflective surface (Lin at Figs. 14-15. MPEP 2144.04(VI)), 3
wherein the light-reflective surface is configured to reflect a portion of the first light beams towards the first light receiver (Lin at Figs. 14-15), 4
wherein the light-reflective surface is configured to reflect a portion of the second light beams towards the second light receiver (Lin at Figs. 14-15. MPEP 2144.04(VI)). 5
As to claim 7, Lin discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 6, wherein the first light receiver is configured to provide a first output signal in dependence on an intensity of the portion of the first light beams received by the first light receiver, wherein the second light receiver is configured to provide a second output signal in dependence on an intensity of the portion of the second light beams received by the second light receiver (Saito at Figs. 3, 42-48).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, wherein the ceiling has an area being flexible such that the distance between the first and second distance sensor and the light-reflective surface is changed by applying a pressure onto the area (Lin at Figs. 4, 5, 14-15).6
As to claim 9, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, wherein the ceiling has an area having a flat surface or a curved surface (Lin at Figs. 14-15).
As to claim 10, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the touch-sensitive sensor device of claim 1, wherein the ceiling has a material being opaque for a respective wavelength of the light the first and second light receivers are sensitive to receive (Saito at Figs. 3; ¶ [0327).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 15, Lin discloses a slide controller device for controlling an apparatus, comprising: a touch-sensitive sensor device configured to sense a position of an object touch on the sensor device (Lin at Figs. 2, 5, 14-15), comprising:
a housing having a ceiling (Lin at Figs. 14-15, in particular, mouse including support plate 120),
a first distance sensor and… a second distance sensor disposed spaced apart from each other in the housing (Lin at Figs. 14-15, light source 205 and image sensor 201. MPEP 2144.04(VI) establish that duplication of parts is obvious),
a… light-reflective surface disposed spaced apart from the first and second distance sensor (Lin at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0038]),
a processing circuit configured to determine the position of the object touch on the ceiling by evaluating a detected first distance variation between the first distance sensor and the light- reflective surface caused by the object touch (Lin at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0043]-[0044] discloses “[0043] Generally, strength of the image signal is proportional to the intensity of the reflected light received by the image sensor 201. The processor 209 may identify a relative distance between the finger and the light source 205 according to the variation of the light spot of the image and to generate a positional signal of the finger. [0044] The processor 209 may be configured to detect a deformation of the touch plate when at least one finger of the user presses thereon according to the images captured by the image sensor 201.” ¶ [0049]), and
a detected second distance variation between the second distance sensor and the light-reflective surface caused by the object touch (Lin at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0043]-[0044]. MPEP 2144.04(VI) establishes that duplication and rearrangement of parts is obvious),7
wherein the detected first distance variation is based on a measurement of the first distance sensor (Lin at ¶ [0049] discloses “In the present embodiment, because the deformable unit 130 is fixed between the soft plate 110 and the transparent supporting plate 130, when at least one finger of the user presses the soft plate 110, the soft plate 110 and the deformable unit 130 deform accordingly. Furthermore, the light beam 143 reflected by the deformable unit 130 transmits to the image sensing module 150. The light beam 143 is converted into an image data by the image sensing module 150. According to compare the image data got in different times, whether the deformable unit 130 deforms or not is determined, and the deformed position of the deformable unit 130 is determined According to the determining result, the cursor or game role in the screen can be managed to do a corresponding motion.”) and
the detected second distance variation is based on a measurement of the second distance sensor (Lin at ¶ [0049]. MPEP 2144.04(VI)),
wherein the slide controller device has an outer surface, said outer surface comprising the ceiling of the touch-sensitive sensor device, or being mechanically coupled to the ceiling of the touch-sensitive sensor device so that a distance between the light-reflective surface and the first and second distance sensor is changed, while applying a force onto the outer surface of the controller device (Lin at Figs. 2, 14-15; ¶ [0049]).8
Lin does not disclose a second distance sensor spaced apart from the first distance sensor.
Lin does not expressly disclose that the surface is light reflective.
However, Saito does disclose a second distance sensor spaced apart from the first distance sensor (Saito at Figs. 3, 7-8, cameras 231 and light emitting portions 241);
Saito discloses that the surface is light reflective (Saito at Figs. 42-48, light reflection layer 220B).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the slide controller device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first distance sensor is configured to generate a first output signal, wherein a value of a signal amplitude of the first output signal represents the first distance variation (Lin at ¶ [0043]),
wherein the second distance sensor is configured to generate a second output signal, wherein a value of a signal amplitude of the second output signal represents the second distance variation (Lin at ¶ [0043]. MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
As to claim 17, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the slide controller device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the ceiling is configured as the light-reflective surface (Saito at Figs. 42-48, light reflection layer 220B).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 18, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the slide controller device as claimed in claim 15, comprising: a ground floor disposed spaced apart from the first and second distance sensor, wherein the ground floor comprises the light-reflective surface (Lin at Figs. 14-15. Examiner takes an official notice that optical mouses and reflective optical mouse pads are well-known in the art).
As to claim 19, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the slide controller device as claimed in The slide controller device as claimed in wherein the first distance sensor comprises a first optical force sensor that comprises a first light emitter and a first light receiver (Lin at Figs. 14-15, light source 205 and image sensor 201),
wherein the second distance sensor comprises a second optical force sensor that comprises a second light emitter and a second light receiver (Lin at Figs. 14-15, light source 205 and image sensor 201. MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
As to claim 20, the combination of Lin and Saito discloses the slide controller device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first light emitter is configured to emit first light beams towards the light- reflective surface, wherein the second light emitter is configured to emit second light beams towards the light-reflective surface, wherein the light-reflective surface is configured to reflect a portion of the first light beams towards the first light receiver, wherein the light-reflective surface is configured to reflect a portion of the second light beams towards the second light receiver, wherein the first light receiver is configured to provide a first output signal in dependence on an intensity of the portion of the first light beams received by the first light receiver, wherein the second light receiver is configured to provide a second output signal in dependence on an intensity of the portion of the second light beams received by the second light receiver (Saito at Figs. 3, 42-48).
Lin discloses a base user input device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Saito discloses a comparable user input device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Saito for the predictable result of performing intuitive input (Saito at ¶ [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the objected to claim and all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 11, none of the prior art found by the Examiner discloses the claimed aspects of: wherein the first light emitter (21) is configured to emit the first light beams with a first wavelength (Lin at Figs. 14-15), wherein the second light emitter is configured to emit the second light beams with a second wavelength being different from the first wavelength.
As to claim 12, none of the prior art found by the Examiner discloses the claimed aspects of: wherein the processing circuit (60) is configured to determine the position of the object touch on in dependence from the value of the signal amplitude of the first output signal and the value of the signal amplitude of the second output signal.
As to claim 13, none of the prior art found by the Examiner discloses the claimed aspects of: wherein the processing circuit is configured for to determine a smoothed position by applying median and/or average filtering to a plurality of positions determined at subsequent times.
As to claim 14, none of the prior art found by the Examiner discloses the claimed aspects of: wherein the processing circuit is configured to assess the position of the object touch on the ceiling as being valid by calculating a derivative of the first and second output signal and evaluating the derivative with respect to a threshold value.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han (US 2008/0029691 A1, Published February 7, 2008) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 14 by its disclosure of the following at Fig. 7:
Krah (US 2007/0152966 A1, Published July 5, 2007) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 14 by its disclosure of the following at Figs. 5, 7-8:
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
07/25/2026
1 See Saito below for second distance sensor.
2 See also Lin at Figs. 42-48.
3 See also Lin at Figs. 42-48.
4 See also Lin at Figs. 42-48.
5 See also Lin at Figs. 42-48.
6 See also Saito at Figs. 4, 42-48.
7 See Saito below for second distance sensor.
8 See also Saito at Figs. 42-48.