DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 4b, 5b, 6b and 7 do not illustrate proper crosshatching. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “33” has been used to designate both a recess and a valve opening. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite “it”; however, it is not clear to the Examiner exactly what “it” is referencing.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "at least two radially extending studs". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6799605, Van Scyoc.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses a connection system comprising: cap (10); an adapter (30, 40); the cap and adapter comprising cooperating parts of a fastening mechanism (22, 42) for reversibly joining the cap to the adapter; the cap comprising a first cap side conduit (Fig. 5) and the adapter comprising a first adapter side conduit (Fig. 4); the cap comprising a valve element (18), the valve element being movable relative to a cap body from a closed position in which the valve element closes the first cap side conduit to an open position in which it does not; wherein, with the cap inserted in the adapter, the adapter engages the valve element and a locking movement of the cap relative to the adapter moves the valve element from the closed position to the open position and establishes a fluid communication between the first cap side conduit and the first adapter side conduit.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses the cap is attached to a container (50).
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses the locking movement is a rotation.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses the fastening mechanism is a bayonet joint.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses the cap comprising a second cap side conduit (opposite the first side) and the adapter comprising a second adapter side conduit (opposite the first side); the valve element in the closed position closes the second adapter side conduit and in the open position does not; and with the cap inserted in the adapter, the locking movement of the cap relative to the adapter establishes a fluid communication between the second cap side conduit and the second adapter side conduit.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses the second cap side conduit comprises a check valve arranged to stop liquid from flowing out of the cap through the second cap side conduit.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses the cap comprising; cooperating parts of a fastening mechanism for reversibly joining the cap to an adapter; a first cap side conduit; a valve element, the valve element being movable relative to a cap body from a closed position in which the valve element closes the first cap side conduit to an open position in which it does not.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 2-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Van Scyoc discloses an adapter comprising; cooperating parts of a fastening mechanism for reversibly joining a cap to the adapter; a first adapter side conduit; a receptacle (inside of 40) defining an axis of insertion of a circular cylinder; arranged in or on a front face of the adapter, the first adapter side conduit and at least one of: a second adapter side conduit; a projection, in particular a stud extending outward parallel to the axis of insertion, or a recess, in particular a hole extending inward parallel to the axis of insertion; a contact pin for establishing an electrical contact with a cooperating cap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Scyoc.
In regards to claim 10, Van Scyoc discloses the claimed invention except for the radially extending studs having different diameters, and the bayonet slots having different widths, corresponding to the respective diameters of the studs. Applicant has failed to show criticality for the radially extending studs having different diameters, and the bayonet slots having different widths, corresponding to the respective diameters of the studs. The Van Scyoc invention is fully capable of being modified with radially extending studs having different diameters, and bayonet slots having different widths, corresponding to the respective diameters of the studs. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the Van Scyoc invention with radially extending studs having different diameters, and bayonet slots having different widths, corresponding to the respective diameters of the studs, since a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679