DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulton et al (US 2017/0212160) in view of Mason (US 2009/0309756)
Re Claim 1; Fulton teaches A multi-port meter for controlling loads, the meter comprising:
Fulton discloses a watt-hour junction meter having one or more electrical junction points interfacing DER equipment with an energy-consuming premises and the electrical distribution grid. Fulton ¶2; Figs. 1–3.
“a grid port configured for connecting the meter to an electric power grid;”
Fulton’s grid blades 1 provide the electrical interface through which electricity enters from electric power grid 35. Fulton ¶¶9 and 23.
“one or more auxiliary ports each configured for connecting the meter to a respective distributed energy resource (DER);”
Fulton’s DER connection point 19 is an electrical interface for a connected DER. Fulton further states that its watt-hour meter may include “one or more” DER electrical junction points. Fulton ¶¶2, 14 and 24.
“a load port configured for connecting the meter to a premises load;”
Fulton’s premises blades 27 deliver power to premises 33 and connect the meter to the premises electrical system. Fulton ¶¶20, 25 and 30.
“a grid switch connected to the grid port and configured for connecting the grid port to the load port;”
Fulton’s whole-premises relay 7 is a closable switch in the electrical path between grid blades 1 and premises blades 27. It remotely connects or disconnects premises 33 from grid 35. Fulton ¶¶12, 23 and 25; Figs. 2–3.
“one or more auxiliary switches, each of the one or more auxiliary switches connected to an auxiliary port of the one or more auxiliary ports and configured for connecting the auxiliary port to the grid port and the load port;”
Fulton’s DER relay 15 is connected to DER connection point 19 and selectively connects or disconnects the attached DER from the meter circuit. Fulton explains that DER connection point 19 may be disconnected from both grid 35 and premises 33. Fulton ¶¶16, 18, 24 and 29; Figs. 2–3.
“and a processing unit configured for processing power grid data measured by the meter and controlling states of the grid switch and the one or more auxiliary switches;”
Fulton’s core processor 21 receives measurements from voltage sensor 5, current sensor 13 and premises meter 9, calculates power-consumption and production data, and sends signals to open or close whole-premises relay 7 and DER relay 15 based on locally sensed conditions or received signals. Fulton ¶¶17 and 19.
“wherein the meter is configured to: detect a consumption event;”
Fulton generally teaches processor operation based on locally sensed conditions but does not expressly define excessive consumption as the event.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“detect a consumption event; and open at least one of the one or more auxiliary switches in response to the consumption event.”
Although Fulton teaches controlling DER relay 15 in response to locally sensed conditions, Fulton does not expressly identify an excessive-consumption condition as the sensed event that causes DER relay 15 to open.
What Mason teaches
Mason teaches an electricity meter having meter controller 408, meter memory 406 and auxiliary load-control relay 412. Mason ¶¶47–49.
Mason teaches detecting when consumer electrical consumption exceeds a predetermined total-demand or TOU-demand threshold. Each time demand is updated, meter controller 408 compares the new demand value with a corresponding configurable threshold. Mason ¶61.
Mason further teaches determining present demand, comparing the demand with a threshold and setting a load control to a de-energized state when demand exceeds the threshold. Mason ¶¶65 and 70.
Most directly, Mason teaches operating auxiliary load control 412 when a total-demand or TOU-demand value exceeds a corresponding predetermined threshold and setting auxiliary load control 412 to its de-energized state. Mason ¶92.
Thus, Mason teaches:
“detect a consumption event; and open at least one of the one or more auxiliary switches in response to the consumption event.”
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to configure Fulton’s processor to perform Mason’s known demand-threshold comparison and to open Fulton’s DER relay 15 when the threshold was exceeded.
(P.S. Fulton already provides: Grid, premises and DER electrical connections. Measurement of power produced or consumed by the premises and DER. A processor responsive to locally sensed conditions. A processor-controlled DER relay. DER embodiments that include EVs and energy-storage batteries capable of consuming power. Fulton ¶¶1 and 17.
Mason supplies the known demand-limiting control rule. Applying Mason’s control rule to Fulton’s existing processor and DER relay would predictably shed a consuming DER, such as an EV charger or charging battery, when grid demand becomes excessive, while leaving the premises energized through Fulton’s grid relay.)
Re Claim 2; Fulton’s core processor 21 receives electrical measurements and calculates power-consumption data for premises 33 and DER 37. Fulton ¶19. Fulton therefore teaches:
“detecting a consumption level.”
Fulton further teaches controlling its relays based on locally sensed conditions. Fulton ¶19.
What Fulton fails to teach
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“determining that there is a consumption event if the detected consumption level is greater than a threshold consumption level.”
Fulton does not expressly compare the measured consumption level with a consumption threshold or identify a threshold crossing as the consumption event.
Claim 2 recites “detecting the demand response,” despite claim 1 reciting “detect a consumption event.”
Mason teaches calculating a present total-demand or TOU-demand value and comparing that value with a configurable demand threshold. Mason ¶61.
Mason teaches that the de-energization condition exists when the present demand exceeds the applicable threshold. Mason ¶¶65 and 70.
Mason therefore teaches:
“detecting a consumption level; and determining that there is a consumption event if the detected consumption level is greater than a threshold consumption level.”
It would have been obvious to implement Mason’s threshold comparison in Fulton’s processor because Fulton already calculates premises and DER consumption and expressly uses locally sensed conditions to control its relays. The modification would provide a known objective criterion for automatically identifying excessive consumption and initiating load reduction.
Re Claim 3; Fulton additionally teaches “wherein the multi-port meter is an N-port meter comprising a plurality of auxiliary ports” because Fulton states that its watt-hour meter may include “one or more electrical junction points” that interface DER equipment with the premises and grid. Fulton ¶2. Fulton teaches a controllable DER relay 15 associated with DER connection point 19. Fulton ¶¶14 and 16.
Fulton does not expressly illustrate: “a plurality of auxiliary switches” corresponding to its plurality of possible DER junction points. Fulton also does not expressly teach the inherited consumption-threshold event and auxiliary-switch-opening limitations of claim 1.
Mason expressly teaches that meter 114 may include more than one auxiliary load control 412. Mason ¶47. Mason identifies each auxiliary load control as a switch or relay capable of electrically de-energizing a controlled load. Mason ¶49.
Mason additionally teaches operating an auxiliary load control when total or TOU demand exceeds a corresponding predetermined threshold. Mason ¶92.
It would have been obvious to provide a respective Fulton DER relay for each of Fulton’s multiple DER connection points, as expressly suggested by Mason’s teaching that an electricity meter may include more than one auxiliary load-control switch.
Providing a respective relay for each DER port would predictably permit each connected DER or controllable auxiliary load to be independently metered, connected and disconnected. It would also facilitate selective load shedding using Mason’s threshold-based control method.
Re Claim 9; Fulton teaches “wherein the consumption level is a consumption level through the grid port” because grid power enters through grid blades 1, voltage sensor 5 measures incoming grid voltage and whole-premises meter 9 measures power consumed or produced by premises 33. Fulton ¶¶9, 11, 13 and 23. Fulton also teaches: “determine the consumption level based on one or more of a power transferred through the grid port, a current through the grid port, or a voltage at the grid port” because voltage sensor 5 measures incoming grid voltage, whole-premises meter 9 measures premises power and current sensor 13, together with voltage sensor 5, measures power. Fulton ¶¶11, 13, 17 and 23.
Fulton does not expressly teach: “compare the detected consumption level to a threshold consumption level.” Fulton also does not expressly state that grid-port power, current or voltage is compared with a threshold to determine the claimed consumption event.
Mason teaches that electricity meter 114 measures or calculates demand, current, voltage, power factor and electrical-energy consumption. Mason ¶47. Mason teaches comparing:
Total demand with a predetermined total-demand threshold. Mason ¶61. TOU demand with a corresponding TOU-demand threshold. Mason ¶¶61 and 65. Measured electrical current with a predetermined threshold. Mason ¶¶79 and 82.
It would have been obvious to apply Mason’s threshold comparison to Fulton’s grid-path power, current or voltage measurements because both references concern electricity meters that measure consumer demand and control integral relays. The modification would have predictably allowed Fulton’s meter to identify excessive service demand and shed an auxiliary consuming DER before the premises demand exceeded a selected service or utility limit..
Re Claim 11; Fulton teaches “A method for controlling loads of an electricity meter”
because Fulton’s processor controls electrical connections by opening and closing whole-premises relay 7 and DER relay 15. Fulton ¶¶19, 25 and 30.
“operatively connecting a grid port of a multi-port meter to an electric power grid;”
Fulton connects grid blades 1 to electric power grid 35. Fulton ¶¶9 and 23.
“operatively connecting a load port of the multi-port meter to a premises load;”
Fulton connects premises blades 27 to premises electrical system 33. Fulton ¶¶20, 25 and 30.
“operatively connecting one or more auxiliary ports of the multi-port meter to respective distributed energy resources (DERs);”
Fulton connects DER 37 to DER connection point 19 and teaches one or more DER junction points. Fulton ¶¶2, 14 and 24.
“each of the one or more auxiliary switches configured to connect a respective auxiliary port to the grid port and the load port.”
Fulton’s DER relay 15 selectively connects or disconnects DER connection point 19 from the grid and premises electrical path. Fulton ¶¶16, 18, 24 and 29.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“detecting a consumption event; and opening at least one of the one or more auxiliary switches connected to the one or more auxiliary ports in response to the consumption event.”
Mason teaches detecting when total or TOU demand exceeds a corresponding threshold. Mason ¶¶61, 65 and 70.
Mason teaches operating auxiliary load control 412 when the demand threshold is exceeded and placing auxiliary load control 412 in the de-energized state. Mason ¶92.
Motivation to combine
It would have been obvious to use Mason’s demand-threshold control method in Fulton’s meter because Fulton already measures consumption, controls its DER relay and responds to locally sensed conditions. The combination would predictably reduce grid demand by disconnecting a consuming DER without disconnecting the entire premises.
Re Claim 12; Fulton teaches “detecting a consumption level.”
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“determining that there is a consumption event if the detected consumption level is greater than a threshold consumption level.”
Mason teaches determining a present demand, comparing the demand with a corresponding threshold and determining that a de-energization condition exists when the demand exceeds the threshold. Mason ¶¶61, 65 and 70.
It would have been obvious to use Mason’s threshold comparison as Fulton’s locally sensed relay-control condition because Fulton already possesses the required electrical measurements, processor and controllable DER relay. The combination would provide a predictable automatic demand-limiting response.
Re Claim 17; Fulton teaches “wherein the consumption level is a consumption level through the grid port” because incoming grid power passes through grid blades 1 and is monitored by voltage sensor 5 and whole-premises meter 9. Fulton ¶¶9, 11, 13 and 23.
Fulton teaches: “determining the consumption level through the grid port based on one or more of a power transferred through the grid port, a current through the grid port, or a voltage at the grid port” because Fulton measures grid voltage, premises power and DER power using voltage and current sensing. Fulton ¶¶11, 13, 17 and 19.
Fulton does not expressly teach “comparing the detected consumption level to a threshold consumption level.”
Mason measures or calculates demand, current, voltage and electrical consumption. Mason ¶47.
Mason compares total or TOU demand with corresponding predetermined thresholds and compares measured current with a current threshold. Mason ¶¶61, 65, 79 and 82.
Motivation to combine
It would have been obvious to apply Mason’s threshold comparison to Fulton’s grid-port electrical measurements to provide automatic demand limiting. The modification uses Fulton’s existing sensors and processor and yields the predictable result of disconnecting an auxiliary consuming DER when service demand becomes excessive.
Claims 4, 10, 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of Rao. (US 2021/0083506)
Re Claim 4; Fulton and Mason collectively teach multiple auxiliary connections, multiple auxiliary relays, consumption-event detection and opening an auxiliary relay. The combination does not expressly state that every auxiliary relay is opened in response to the same consumption event.
Although Mason teaches multiple auxiliary controls and partial or full de-energization, the Fulton-Mason combination does not expressly state that the processor:
“open[s] all of the auxiliary switches in response to the consumption event.”
Rao teaches a plurality of branch circuits, each having a respective controllable element, and control circuitry configured to operate the controllable elements. Rao ¶6.
Rao further teaches limiting total electrical load in one or all branch circuits and opening or closing each branch circuit based on measured load information and corresponding thresholds. Rao ¶¶9 and 19.
It would have been obvious to include Rao’s comprehensive “all circuits” load-shedding mode in the Fulton-Mason meter. When maximum demand reduction is required, opening every auxiliary relay is the predictable implementation of Rao’s one-or-all branch control and Mason’s full-load de-energization.
Re Claim 13; Fulton teaches the claimed method of connecting grid blades, premises blades and one or more DER connection points and controlling a DER relay. Fulton ¶¶2, 9, 14, 16, 19–20 and 23–30.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“wherein the multi-port meter is an N-port meter comprising a plurality of auxiliary ports and a plurality of auxiliary switches, and wherein the method comprises opening all of the auxiliary switches in response to the consumption event.”
Mason teaches that the meter may have more than one auxiliary load-control switch. Mason ¶47. Mason also teaches detecting a demand-threshold event and de-energizing an auxiliary load control in response. Mason ¶¶61, 65 and 92.
It would have been obvious to associate a respective Mason auxiliary control with each of Fulton’s multiple DER ports to allow independent control of multiple auxiliary DERs and to shed such resources when demand exceeds a threshold.
What the Fulton-Mason combination fails to teach
The combination does not expressly teach opening every one of the auxiliary switches in response to the same event.
Rao teaches plural controllable branch elements and limiting the electrical load in one or all controlled branch circuits. Rao ¶¶6 and 9. Rao further teaches determining whether to open or close each branch based on measured current, voltage or power and applicable limits. Rao ¶19.
Motivation to add Rao
It would have been obvious to implement Rao’s all-branch control mode using the Fulton-Mason auxiliary relays when comprehensive load shedding is required. The result would predictably maximize demand reduction during the detected event.
Re Claim 10; Fulton teaches a processor-controlled multi-port DER meter.
Fulton further teaches communications module 25 receiving commands from transceiving station 39. The received commands may include commands changing the position of the control relays. Fulton ¶20.
Fulton therefore teaches receiving a remote indication that causes a meter relay to change state.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
That the received indication is an indication “to implement a demand response program.”
Mason teaches:
Determining when consumer demand exceeds a threshold. Mason ¶¶61 and 65.
Operating auxiliary load control 412 in response to excessive demand. Mason ¶92.
Operating auxiliary load control 412 in response to a remotely received command from control network 120. Mason ¶92.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to configure Fulton’s meter to respond to Mason’s excessive-demand condition and remote load-control command because both references concern utility-controlled electricity meters having integral relays. The combination would permit either automatic local demand limiting or remotely initiated auxiliary-load shedding.
Although the combination teaches remote load-control instructions, it does not expressly characterize the received instruction as:
“an indication to implement a demand response program.”
Rao expressly teaches software applications for: Demand response. Load control. EV charging. Solar monitoring. Rao ¶5.
Rao further teaches receiving an event or input from a power provider or monitoring entity and disconnecting one or more controlled circuits based on that event. Rao ¶18.
It would have been obvious to use Rao’s utility demand-response indication as the remote control input to the Fulton-Mason meter. Demand response is a recognized purpose of remotely controllable smart-meter loads, and the combination would predictably allow a utility to reduce auxiliary consumption during peak-demand or grid-stress periods.
Accordingly, claim 10 would have been obvious over Fulton, Mason and Rao.
Re Claim 18 Fulton teaches a multi-port meter receiving remote commands that control relay positions. Fulton ¶20.
Fulton does not expressly teach: “wherein detecting a consumption event comprises receiving an indication to implement a demand response procedure.”
Mason teaches operating auxiliary load control 412 in response to a remote command from control network 120. Mason ¶92. Mason also teaches locally detecting excessive demand and de-energizing a controlled load. Mason ¶¶61, 65 and 92.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to use Mason’s remote auxiliary-load-control command in Fulton’s meter because Fulton expressly receives commands controlling the relay positions. The modification would provide utility-initiated as well as locally initiated load shedding.
What the Fulton-Mason combination fails to teach
The combination does not expressly identify the remote indication as an instruction to implement a demand-response procedure.
Rao expressly identifies demand response as an electrical-load-management application. Rao ¶5. Rao further teaches responding to an event or input received from a power provider by disconnecting one or more controlled circuits. Rao ¶18.
It would have been obvious to characterize and implement the Fulton-Mason remote load-control command as Rao’s demand-response procedure because remotely initiated utility load reduction is a conventional demand-response function. The combination would predictably allow the utility to shed selected auxiliary DER loads during peak-demand periods.
Re Claim 19; Fulton teaches: “A system for controlling loads of an electricity meter, the system comprising: a multi-port meter comprising:”
Fulton discloses a watt-hour junction meter controlling grid, premises and DER connections. Fulton ¶¶2 and 19.
“a grid port configured for connecting the meter to an electric power grid;”
Fulton’s grid blades 1 connect meter 100 to grid 35. Fulton ¶¶9 and 23.
“one or more auxiliary ports each configured for connecting the meter to a respective distributed energy resource (DER);”
Fulton teaches one or more DER junction points, including DER connection point 19. Fulton ¶¶2 and 14.
“a load port configured for connecting the meter to a premises load;”
Fulton’s premises blades 27 connect meter 100 to premises electrical system 33. Fulton ¶¶20, 25 and 30.
“a grid switch connected to the grid port and configured for connecting the grid port to the load port;”
Fulton’s whole-premises relay 7 selectively connects or disconnects premises 33 from grid 35. Fulton ¶¶12 and 23.
“one or more auxiliary switches, each of the one or more auxiliary switches connected to an auxiliary port of the one or more auxiliary ports and configured for connecting the auxiliary port to the grid port and the load port;”
Fulton’s DER relay 15 is connected to DER connection point 19 and selectively connects or disconnects the DER from the grid and premises electrical path. Fulton ¶¶16, 18, 24 and 29.
“one or more processors;”
Fulton teaches core processor 21 and a communications-module microprocessor. Fulton ¶¶19–20.
Fulton also teaches detecting locally sensed conditions and opening or closing whole-premises relay 7 and DER relay 15. Fulton ¶19.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when read by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to”
perform the claimed operations.
Fulton also does not expressly teach:
“detect a consumption event through the grid port; open at least one of the one or more auxiliary switches in response to detecting a consumption event.”
Mason teaches nonvolatile EEPROM meter memory 406 storing:
Meter-controller configuration instructions. Calculated values. Measured values.
Predetermined control thresholds. Mason ¶47.
Mason teaches configurable processing device 408 executing the meter’s measurements, calculations and control functions. Mason ¶48.
Mason further teaches detecting when total or TOU demand exceeds a threshold and operating auxiliary load control 412 in response. Mason ¶¶61, 65 and 92.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to store Mason’s demand-limiting instructions and thresholds in nonvolatile memory associated with Fulton’s processor. Fulton already contains the required electrical sensors, processor and DER relay. Using nonvolatile memory would predictably:
Retain the threshold and configuration after loss of power. Permit repeatable processor execution. Allow threshold values and relay-control parameters to be updated. Implement automatic auxiliary-load shedding without additional meter hardware.
What the Fulton-Mason combination fails to teach
Mason’s EEPROM and stored controller instructions substantially suggest the claimed medium. Nevertheless, the combination does not expressly recite a:
“non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when read by the one or more processors,”
where those instructions expressly identify a grid event and disconnect a controlled auxiliary branch based on that event.
What Rao teaches
Rao expressly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium carrying instructions that, when executed by control circuitry, manage electrical loads. Rao ¶21.
Rao further teaches instructions for:
Identifying an event associated with a power grid.
Determining operating criteria based on the event.
Disconnecting or connecting one or more controlled circuits based on the event.
Rao ¶22.
It would have been obvious to implement the Fulton-Mason demand-control algorithm using Rao’s expressly disclosed non-transitory instruction medium. Software storage and processor execution are conventional implementations of meter-control logic and would predictably perform the same sensing and relay-control functions taught by Fulton and Mason.
Re Claim 20; Fulton teaches measuring grid and premises electrical characteristics using voltage sensor 5, current sensor 13 and whole-premises meter 9. Fulton ¶¶11, 13, 17 and 19.
Fulton therefore teaches:
“detecting a consumption level through the grid port” and: “determine the consumption level based on one or more of a power transferred through the grid port, a current through the grid port, or a voltage at the grid port.”
Fulton also teaches receiving remote relay-control commands. Fulton ¶20.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“comparing the detected consumption level to a threshold consumption level; and determining that there is a consumption event if the detected consumption level is greater than the threshold consumption level.”
Fulton also does not expressly teach a non-transitory medium containing the claimed instructions or: “receiving a set of instructions that cause the one or more processors to implement a demand response program.”
Mason teaches:
Measuring or calculating demand, current, voltage, power and electrical-energy consumption. Mason ¶47.
Storing controller instructions and predetermined thresholds in nonvolatile meter memory. Mason ¶47.
Comparing total or TOU demand with corresponding configurable thresholds. Mason ¶61.
Determining a de-energization condition when demand exceeds the threshold. Mason ¶¶65 and 70.
Comparing measured current with a current threshold. Mason ¶¶79 and 82.
Operating auxiliary load control 412 in response to excessive demand or a remote instruction. Mason ¶92.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to store and execute Mason’s threshold-based demand-limiting control in Fulton’s meter because Fulton already contains the grid-path sensors, processor and DER relay.
The combination would predictably determine grid consumption from power, current or voltage measurements, compare the consumption with a stored threshold and disconnect an auxiliary consuming DER when the threshold was exceeded.
Although Mason expressly teaches nonvolatile memory and remote load-control commands, the combination does not expressly disclose:
The claimed non-transitory computer-readable-medium formulation.
A stored application specifically identified as a “demand response program.”
Instructions expressly identifying a grid event and disconnecting one or more controlled branches based on that event.
What Rao teaches
Rao teaches current and voltage sensors and determining total current flow between a controlled bus and the power grid. Rao ¶¶7 and 12.
It would have been obvious to implement the Fulton-Mason threshold and remote-control functions as Rao’s stored demand-response application because this would provide a conventional software mechanism for utility-directed and locally detected load shedding.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of Flegel. (US 8,471,659)
Re Claim 5; Fulton teaches one or more DER ports, a controllable DER relay and a processor that opens or closes the relay. Fulton ¶¶2, 14, 16 and 19.
Fulton does not expressly teach: A plurality of auxiliary switches. The claimed consumption-threshold control. “prevent all of the auxiliary switches from being closed simultaneously.”
Mason teaches more than one auxiliary load-control switch in the electricity meter. Mason ¶47. Mason also teaches threshold-based operation of an auxiliary load control. Mason ¶¶61 and 92.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to provide multiple auxiliary relays for Fulton’s multiple DER ports to independently connect and disconnect multiple DERs and to apply Mason’s known demand-limiting control to those relays.
The Fulton-Mason combination does not expressly teach:
“wherein the meter is configured to prevent all of the auxiliary switches from being closed simultaneously.”
Flegel teaches interlinked source switches arranged such that both switches cannot be in the ON position simultaneously. Flegel, col. 1, ll. 38–49; col. 3, ll. 45–53.
Flegel explains that the interlock prevents multiple power sources from simultaneously feeding a common power path and prevents one source from backfeeding another. Flegel, col. 1, ll. 38–49; col. 3, ll. 61–65.
It would have been obvious to apply Flegel’s known interlock principle to the plurality of Fulton-Mason DER switches to prevent prohibited simultaneous closure, source paralleling, backfeed and excessive current.
The interlock could predictably be implemented mechanically, electrically or through Fulton’s processor control. Fulton itself recognizes safety, power-quality and automatic-disconnect requirements for DER interconnections. Fulton ¶2.
Re Claim 14; Fulton teaches connecting grid, premises and DER ports and controlling a DER relay using a processor. Fulton ¶¶2, 9, 14, 16, 19–20 and 23–30.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“wherein the multi-port meter is an N-port meter comprising a plurality of auxiliary ports and a plurality of auxiliary switches, and wherein the method comprises preventing all of the auxiliary switches from being closed simultaneously.”
Mason teaches an electricity meter having more than one auxiliary load-control switch. Mason ¶47. Mason further teaches controlling those auxiliary switches through meter controller 408. Mason ¶¶48–49.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to provide a respective auxiliary control for each Fulton DER port to permit independent switching of multiple connected DERs.
What the Fulton-Mason combination fails to teach
The combination does not expressly prevent every auxiliary switch from being closed simultaneously.
Flegel teaches an interlock that prevents multiple source switches from simultaneously occupying their ON states. Flegel, col. 1, ll. 38–49; col. 3, ll. 45–53; col. 5, ll. 1–10.
It would have been obvious to apply Flegel’s interlocking method to the multiple Fulton-Mason DER switches to prevent unsafe simultaneous source connection and backfeeding. This would have been a predictable safety modification consistent with Fulton’s stated DER interconnection requirements.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of Flegel. (US 8,471,659) and Elrayyah.(US 2021/0288502)
Re Claim 15; Fulton teaches One or more DER ports. A DER relay is associated with a DER port.
Processor-controlled opening and closing of the DER relay. Measurement of power produced or consumed through the DER port. Photovoltaic generating DERs.
Fulton ¶¶1–2, 14, 16–17 and 19.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
“wherein the plurality of auxiliary switches comprises a first auxiliary switch and a second auxiliary switch associated with first and second auxiliary ports respectively”
or:
“closing the second auxiliary switch only if the first auxiliary port is connected to a generating device and a power flow through the first auxiliary port exceeds a second threshold value.”
Mason expressly teaches more than one auxiliary load-control switch controlled by the meter processor. Mason ¶¶47–49.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to provide a respective auxiliary relay for each Fulton DER port to allow multiple DERs and loads to be independently connected and disconnected by the meter.
What the Fulton-Mason combination fails to teach
The combination does not expressly condition closing the second auxiliary switch on the type and output power of the DER connected to the first auxiliary port.
Elrayyah teaches a photovoltaic generating device, determines its available surplus power, compares the available power with a threshold and permits a disconnected load to connect when sufficient photovoltaic power exists. Elrayyah ¶¶3, 51 and 65–66.
It would have been obvious to use Elrayyah’s threshold-based solar-load coordination in the Fulton-Mason multi-port meter. Fulton’s port sensor supplies the power measurement, while Elrayyah supplies the known decision rule for closing the second load relay. This would predictably prevent the second load from increasing grid demand when insufficient solar generation exists.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of Elrayyah.(US 2021/0288502)
Re Claim 6; Fulton teaches Claim 6 incorporates claim 3. Fulton teaches:
One or more DER ports. Fulton ¶2.
DER relay 15 associated with DER connection point 19. Fulton ¶¶14 and 16.
A processor that opens and closes DER relay 15. Fulton ¶19.
Measurement of power produced or consumed through the DER port. Fulton ¶17.
DERs including photovoltaic solar panels, electric vehicles and batteries. Fulton ¶1.
Fulton therefore teaches a first auxiliary port that may be connected to a generating DER and a processor capable of measuring power through that port.
Fulton does not expressly teach:
A first and second auxiliary switch associated with respective first and second auxiliary ports.
Closing the second auxiliary switch only if the first auxiliary port is connected to a generating device.
Requiring power flow through the first auxiliary port to exceed a threshold before closing the second auxiliary switch.
Mason teaches an electricity meter having more than one auxiliary load-control switch. Mason ¶47. Each auxiliary control may be a processor-controlled switch or relay. Mason ¶¶48–49.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to provide multiple processor-controlled auxiliary relays for Fulton’s multiple DER ports because Mason expressly teaches multiple auxiliary meter switches. This would allow Fulton’s processor to independently connect and disconnect multiple DERs or auxiliary loads.
The Fulton-Mason combination does not expressly teach:
“wherein when the first auxiliary switch is closed the meter is configured to close the second auxiliary switch only if the first auxiliary port is connected to a generating device and a power flow through the first auxiliary port exceeds a second threshold value.”
Elrayyah teaches:
A photovoltaic generating source and plural controllable loads. Elrayyah ¶3. Determining photovoltaic available or surplus power. Elrayyah ¶51. Comparing the photovoltaic surplus power with a predetermined threshold selected to determine whether an appliance can be supplied. Elrayyah ¶51. Controllable loads connected through microcontroller-operated relays. Elrayyah ¶¶53–55. Connecting a previously disconnected load when sufficient photovoltaic surplus power is available. Elrayyah ¶¶65–66.
It would have been obvious to implement Elrayyah’s solar-surplus load-admission rule in the Fulton-Mason meter. Fulton already measures power produced through the first DER port and controls the auxiliary relays. A skilled artisan would have used the measured generating-port power to determine whether adequate locally generated power existed before closing the second auxiliary relay. Doing so would predictably: Increase use of locally generated solar energy.
Reduce grid imports. Avoid connecting an auxiliary load that the local generator could not support. Avoid repetitive connection and disconnection caused by insufficient generation, as discussed by Elrayyah ¶67.
Re Claim 7; Fulton teaches “wherein the first auxiliary port is operatively connected to a first DER” because DER connection point 19 is operatively connected to DER 37. Fulton ¶¶14, 16 and 24. Fulton also identifies photovoltaic solar equipment as a DER. Fulton ¶1.
What Fulton fails to teach
Fulton does not expressly identify the connected photovoltaic DER as:
“a solar inverter.”
Fulton also does not teach the inherited rule requiring a second auxiliary switch to close only when power through the first generating-DER port exceeds a threshold.
What Mason teaches
Mason teaches multiple processor-controlled auxiliary switches, supplying the plurality-switch aspect of claim 6. Mason ¶¶47–49.
Motivation to combine Fulton and Mason
It would have been obvious to provide multiple auxiliary relays in Fulton’s meter to independently control a photovoltaic DER and an auxiliary consuming DER.
The combination does not expressly identify a solar inverter or teach closing another auxiliary relay only when solar power exceeds the claimed threshold.
Elrayyah expressly teaches a photovoltaic source operated through a PV inverter. Elrayyah ¶¶3, 51 and 71.
Elrayyah further teaches determining photovoltaic surplus power, comparing it with a threshold and permitting a disconnected load to connect when sufficient photovoltaic power is available. Elrayyah ¶¶51 and 65–66.
It would have been obvious to use Elrayyah’s conventional solar inverter as Fulton’s expressly contemplated photovoltaic DER and to use its available-power control method to govern connection of a second auxiliary load. The combination would predictably coordinate auxiliary-load operation with solar generation.
Claims 8 and 16 are conditionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of SCE.
Re Claims 8 and 16; The combination disclosure has been discussed above. The combination does not disclose “wherein the multi-port meter is an ANSI Form 43S multi-port meter.”
SCE describes a Form 43S meter type and compatible panel/socket used for DER integration, additional measurement and control and behind-the-meter generation monitoring. SCE, pp. 42–43 and 47–48.
Applying that known meter form to Fulton’s multi-port DER meter would have been a predictable physical implementation for its intended DER-interconnection purpose.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of Rao.
Re Claim 10; Fulton receives commands from transceiving station 39, including commands specifying relay positions. Fulton ¶20.
Fulton does not disclose wherein detecting the consumption event comprises receiving an indication to implement a demand response program.
Rao teaches demand-response applications and an event received from a power provider or monitoring entity that causes controlled circuits to be connected or disconnected. Rao ¶¶5, 13 and 18.
In the combination, the power-provider event is the claimed indication to implement the demand-response program, and Fulton’s processor responds by opening the selected DER relay.
Re Claim 18; Fulton receives remote relay-control commands. Fulton ¶20. Mason operates auxiliary load control 412 in response to a remote command. Mason ¶92
The combination does not disclose wherein detecting a consumption event comprises receiving an indication to implement a demand response procedure.
Rao teaches demand response and an input from a power provider causing one or more controlled circuits to be disconnected. Rao ¶¶5 and 18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention received an indication to implement a demand response procedure in order to confirm and update records
Accordingly, claim 18 would have been obvious over Fulton, Mason and Rao.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Fulton in view of Mason, and further in view of Rao.
Re Claim 19; Fulton teaches or suggests:
“A system for controlling loads of an electricity meter, the system comprising: a multi-port meter comprising:”
Fulton discloses a watt-hour junction meter that controls grid, premises and DER electrical connections. Fulton ¶¶2 and 19.
“a grid port configured for connecting the meter to an electric power grid;”
Fulton’s grid blades 1 connect to grid 35. Fulton ¶¶9 and 23.
“one or more auxiliary ports each configured for connecting the meter to a respective distributed energy resource (DER);”
Fulton discloses one or more DER junction points, including DER connection point 19. Fulton ¶¶2 and 14.
“a load port configured for connecting the meter to a premises load;”
Fulton’s premises blades 27 connect to premises electrical system 33. Fulton ¶¶20, 25 and 30.
“a grid switch connected to the grid port and configured for connecting the grid port to the load port;”
Fulton’s whole-premises relay 7 selectively connects premises 33 to grid 35. Fulton ¶¶12 and 23.
“one or more auxiliary switches, each of the one or more auxiliary switches connected to an auxiliary port of the one or more auxiliary ports and configured for connecting the auxiliary port to the grid port and the load port;”
Fulton’s DER relay 15 selectively connects or disconnects DER connection point 19 from the meter circuit leading to the grid and premises. Fulton ¶¶16, 18, 24 and 29.
“one or more processors;”
Fulton teaches core processor 21 and a communications-module microprocessor. Fulton ¶¶19–20.
“and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when read by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to carry out the following steps:”
Mason teaches nonvolatile EEPROM memory 406 storing controller configuration instructions and threshold values executed by meter controller 408. Mason ¶¶47–48.
Rao expressly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having encoded instructions that, when executed by control circuitry, manage electrical loads. Rao ¶21.
“detect a consumption event through the grid port;”
Fulton measures grid voltage and premises power consumption. Fulton ¶¶11, 13, 19 and 23.
Mason detects when total or TOU demand exceeds a corresponding threshold. Mason ¶¶61, 65 and 70.
Rao measures total current flow between a busbar and the power grid. Rao ¶12.
“open at least one of the one or more auxiliary switches in response to detecting a consumption event.”
Mason operates auxiliary load control 412 when demand exceeds a corresponding threshold and places it in the de-energized state. Mason ¶92.
Rao teaches instructions for identifying a grid event and disconnecting one or more controlled circuits based on the event. Rao ¶¶18 and 22.
Re Claim 20 incorporates claim 19 and further recites:
“wherein detecting a consumption event comprises: detecting a consumption level through the grid port;”
Fulton measures incoming grid voltage and premises consumption. Fulton ¶¶11, 13 and 23. Mason measures or calculates demand, current, voltage, power and electrical-energy consumption. Mason ¶47. Rao determines total current flow between the controlled bus and power grid. Rao ¶12.
“comparing the detected consumption level to a threshold consumption level;”
Mason compares total or TOU demand with a corresponding configurable threshold. Mason ¶61. Mason also compares measured current with a predetermined threshold. Mason ¶¶79 and 82.
“and determining that there is a consumption event if the detected consumption level is greater than the threshold consumption level,”
Mason determines a de-energization condition when measured demand exceeds the corresponding threshold. Mason ¶¶65 and 70.
“wherein the consumption level is a consumption level through the grid port,”
Fulton’s grid blades, grid-side voltage sensor and whole-premises meter provide the grid-path measurements. Fulton ¶¶9, 11, 13 and 23. Rao expressly measures current flow between the busbar and grid. Rao ¶12.
“the non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when read by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: determine the consumption level based on one or more of a power transferred through the grid port, a current through the grid port, or a voltage at the grid port;”
Mason’s nonvolatile memory stores controller instructions and calculated or measured thresholds. Mason ¶47. Mason measures or calculates demand, current, voltage and energy consumption. Id.
Rao teaches a non-transitory medium carrying instructions for receiving electrical sensor signals and determining respective electrical loads. Rao ¶21. Rao teaches current and voltage sensors and grid-current determination. Rao ¶¶7 and 12.
“and compare the detected consumption level to a threshold consumption level;”
Mason teaches the claimed comparison. Mason ¶¶61, 65, 79 and 82.
“and/or wherein detecting a consumption event comprises receiving a set of instructions that cause the one or more processors to implement a demand response program.”
Under the alternative demand-response construction, Rao teaches software applications for demand response and load control. Rao ¶5. Rao also teaches receiving input from a power provider and disconnecting controlled circuits based on the resulting grid event. Rao ¶18. Rao’s instructions are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Rao ¶¶21–22.
Fulton independently teaches receiving remote commands controlling relay positions. Fulton ¶20.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836