35 USC 102 rejection
Claim(s) 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0222198 (McCarthy).
Regarding independent claim 5, McCarthy discloses a tank for containing automotive liquid reducing agent (the phrase “for containing automotive liquid reducing agent” is clearly intended use which is given little patentable weight) , comprising a body formed at least partially by a high-density polyethylene, wherein the high-density polyethylene is obtained through at least one raw material of biomass source (note: McCarthy discloses a container comprising between about 0.1% to about 80% sugarcane-based resin, between about 20% to about 99.9% of at least one of a post-consumer recycled resin, post-industrial recycled resin, and a virgin petroleum-based resin, and combinations thereof, and optionally between about 0.0% and about 2.5% colorant (claim 1). Specifically, containers in McCarthy comprise a blow-molding grade of sugarcane-based HDPE [0020]. A sugarcane-based HDPE implicitly comprises in its production the steps of processing the sugar cane for producing ethanol;
- dehydrating the alcohol obtained for obtaining ethylene; and polymerizing the ethylene through a process involving at least one step of polyaddition or chain polymerization that does not generate subproducts, for obtaining high-density polyethylene). Furthermore, claims 5-12 are apparatus claims, but as far as structures are concerned, the claimed invention only recites a tank made by high-density polyethylene, the rest of the claimed subject matter are directed to a process of making/forming/obtaining the high-density ethylene which is given little patentable weight in apparatus claims. Thus, the claims are very broad, and any references with a tank made from polyethylene can be used to reject all claims 5-12 because the method steps are not given weight. Note MPEP 2113 below.
2113 Product-by-Process Claims [R-01.2024][AltContent: rect]
I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS [AltContent: rect]
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.). Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes." Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n. 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n. 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). See also Biogen MA Inc. v. EMD Serono, Inc., 976 F.3d 1326, 1334, 2020 USPQ2d 11129 (Fed. Cir. 2020) ("Biogen is certainly correct that the scope of composition and method of treatment claims is generally subject to distinctly different analyses. But where, as here, the novelty of the method of administration rests wholly on the novelty of the composition administered, which in turn rests on the novelty of the source limitation, the Amgen analysis will necessarily result in the same conclusion on anticipation for both forms of claims."); United Therapeutics Corp. v Liquidia Techs., Inc., 74 F.4th 1360, 1373, 2023 USPQ2d 862 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (the court held that product-by-process claims were properly rejected as "anticipated by a disclosure of the same product irrespective of the processes by which they are made."); and Purdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, 811 F.3d 1345, 117 USPQ2d 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, in the context of an infringement analysis, a product-by-process claim is only infringed by a product made by the process recited in the claim. Id. at 1370 ("a product in the prior art made by a different process can anticipate a product-by-process claim, but an accused product made by a different process cannot infringe a product-by-process claim"). [AltContent: rect]
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979) (holding "interbonded by interfusion" to limit structure of the claimed composite and noting that terms such as "welded," "intermixed," "ground in place," "press fitted," and "etched" are capable of construction as structural limitations). See also In re Nordt Dev. Co., 881 F.3d 1371,1375-76, 125 USPQ2d 1817, 1820 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(holding "the specification demonstrates that ‘injected molded’ connotes an integral structure," and discussing several cases since Garnero that held "limitations to convey structure even when they also describe a process of manufacture"). [AltContent: rect]
**Suggestion: it is strongly recommended to amend and convert all claims to method claims to give all limitations patentable weight.
Regarding dependent claims 6-12, as clearly noted above, McCarthy discloses “a container comprising between about 0.1% to about 80% sugarcane-based resin, between about 20% to about 99.9% of at least one of a post-consumer recycled resin, post-industrial recycled resin, and a virgin petroleum-based resin, and combinations thereof, and optionally between about 0.0% and about 2.5% colorant (claim 1). Specifically, containers in McCarthy comprise a blow-molding grade of sugarcane-based HDPE [0020]. A sugarcane-based HDPE implicitly comprises in its production the steps of processing the sugar cane for producing ethanol;- dehydrating the alcohol obtained for obtaining ethylene; and polymerizing the ethylene through a process involving at least one step of polyaddition or chain polymerization that does not generate subproducts, for obtaining high-density polyethylene”; paragraph 21 further teaches “[0021] Sugarcane is an advantageous raw material for use in fabricating containers for consumer products. See FIG. 1A for a schematic showing a representative method for preparing green polyethylene (PE) from sugar cane. Sugarcane is both sustainable and carbon negative. Referring now to FIG. 1B, for every 1 lb. of petroleum-based resin that is produced, 1.83 lbs. of carbon dioxide is emitted into the atmosphere, thereby contributing to the greenhouse effect. Conversely, for every 1 lb. of sugarcane-based resin that is planted, cultivated, undergoes photosynthesis and then produced”. Those teaching cover all recitations of claims 6-12 even if the process steps are given patentable weight.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8083064, Fogel, Vantomme, and US 2011/0120902 disclose tanks made by polyethylene.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOANG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
HOANG NGUYEN
PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 3746
Hoang Minh Nguyen
10/9/2026