DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/474474 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of copending application 19/474474 show each and every limitation set forth by the claims of the instant application.
19/474465
19/474474
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Araya [JP 2014231337 A].
As for claim 1, Araya discloses a computer-implemented method for automatic detection of the mounting position of a tire on a vehicle equipped with two or more tires (Figure 1), the method comprising:
transmitting, by a tire mounted sensor (3) mounted on the tire, one or more signals at each of a plurality of predetermined angular positions during at least one rotation of the tire (paragraphs 0031-0032);
receiving, by a receiving unit, the transmitted one or more signals (paragraphs 0031-0032);
processing, by a processing unit (33), the received one or more signals by:
measuring the relative signal strength indicator (RSSI) value of each of the one or more signals transmitted at each of the plurality of predetermined angular positions (paragraph 0025);
associating, based on the measured RSSI values, a derived angular RSSI value to each of the plurality of predetermined angular positions (paragraphs 0025-0029);
grouping the derived angular RSSI values into a group of angular RSSI values forming an RSSI code associated to the tire (paragraphs 0025-0030);
evaluating the difference of the group of angular RSSI values associated to the tire with respect to each code in a predetermined set of reference RSSI codes, wherein each code of said predetermined set of reference RSSI codes is associated to a known tire mounting position on the vehicle (paragraphs 0031-0037); and
determining the mounting position of the tire on the vehicle based on the evaluated difference of the group of angular RSSI values associated to the tire with respect to each of the predetermined reference RSSI codes (paragraphs 0031-0037).
As for claim 2, Araya discloses wherein associating, based on the measured RSSI values, a derived angular RSSI value to each of the plurality of predetermined angular positions comprises:
selecting the measured RSSI value of any of the one or more signals transmitted at the predetermined angular position as the derived angular RSSI value associated to the predetermined angular position (see claim 1 above; paragraphs 0031-0037).
Claim 3 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 1 above.
As for claim 4, Araya discloses a preliminary learning phase for each tire mounted on the vehicle in a known mounting position comprising the following steps:
forming an RSSI code associated to the tire based on the group of angular RSSI values according to any of the preceding claims; saving the obtained RSSI code as the reference RSSI code in association to the corresponding known mounting position of the tire on the vehicle (paragraph 0034).
Claims 6-7 are interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 1 above.
Claim 8 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 4 above.
Claim 12 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 6 above.
Claim 14 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 1 and 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araya as applied to the claims above.
As for claim 5, Araya does not specifically disclose that the plurality of angular positions are selected from the upper half of the tire arc. However, Araya discloses that the predetermined angular positions are selected from the tire arc (paragraphs 0025-0028). Having each of the references on hand, the skilled artisan would have recognized that the predetermined angular positions could be set for different points along the arc of the tire. The selection of the predetermined positions is viewed as a matter of engineering preference. The skilled artisan would have had good reason to try different positions in an effort to yield the most desirable results.
Claim 13 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the cited references discloses tire position determining systems and methods that were known in the art at the time of filing the instant application.
ERIC M. BLOUNT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
/Eric Blount/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685