DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “soybean oil sunflower oil” should read --soybean oil, sunflower oil--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 1, the phrase “related fishing tackle and gear” is unclear. The metes and bounds cannot be determined. Does this include a pole? Tackle box? Truck? Waders? The ordinarily skilled artisan would be unable to clearly determine the limitations of the claim language.
Further in regards to Claim 1, the phrase “degradable natural fiber and polymer matrix core” is ambiguous. Are both the degradable natural fiber and the polymer matrix in the core, or is only the polymer matrix in the core? Are both part of the degradable composition, which is intended to be used as a core? The claim does not teach that the degradable composition has a core or sheath. Further, is only the natural fiber degradable, or are both the natural fiber and the polymer matrix degradable?
In regards to Claim 2, the phrase “the degradable polymer” is unclear. Is this the same as the “polymer matrix”? If so, the phrases are not in agreement, and Claim 1 does not clearly state that the polymer is degradable.
In regards to Claim 3, the phrase “the degradable polymer” is unclear. Is this the same as the “polymer matrix”? If so, the phrases are not in agreement, and Claim 1 does not clearly state that the polymer is degradable.
In regards to Claim 4, the phrase “the degradable polymer” is unclear. Is this the same as the “polymer matrix”? If so, the phrases are not in agreement, and Claim 1 does not clearly state that the polymer is degradable.
In regards to Claim 9, the phrase “com oil” is not clear. What is com?
In regards to Claim 10, the phrase “the degradable polymer” is unclear. Is this the same as the “polymer matrix”? If so, the phrases are not in agreement, and Claim 1 does not clearly state that the polymer is degradable.
Further in regards to Claim 10, the phrase “the additive” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In regards to Claim 12, the phrase “the natural fiber core” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Further in regards to Claim 12, Claim 12 depends from Claim 11, which states that the natural fiber is plant-derived. As such, linen, lignin, chitin, and silk are not plant derived natura fibers. Linen is a fabric, lignin and chitin are components, not fibers, and silk is from a silk worm.
In regards to Claim 13, the phrase “the natural fiber core” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In regards to Claim 14, the phrase “renewable and degradable natural fiber and polymer matrix core” is ambiguous. Are both the renewable and degradable natural fiber, and the polymer matrix in the core, or is only the polymer matrix in the core? Are both part of the degradable composition, which is intended to be used as a core? The claim does not teach that the degradable composition has a core or sheath. Further, is only the natural fiber renewable and degradable, or are both the natural fiber and the polymer matrix renewable and degradable?
In regards to Claim 15, the phrase “related fishing tackle and gear” is unclear. The metes and bounds cannot be determined. Does this include a pole? Tackle box? Truck? Waders? The ordinarily skilled artisan would be unable to clearly determine the limitations of the claim language.
Further in regards to Claim 15, the phrase “minor components” is unclear. What is considered “minor” versus major? How is this measured or determined?
Still further in regards to Claim 15, the phrase “generally recognized and used” is unclear. What does this mean? How is “generally recognized” measured or determined?
In regards to Claim 18, the phrase “essentially non toxic and environmentally safe” is unclear. How can something be essentially non toxic? Either something is toxic, or it is non toxic. Further, how is “environmentally safe” measured or determined?
In regards to Claim 19, the phrase “substantially faster than conventional materials” is unclear. If the conventional materials are unknown, how can one of ordinary skill in the art determine if something is faster?
The remaining claims inherit the rejection by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 10-20 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilcox (20190307111).
In regards to Claim 1, Wilcox teaches a degradable composition for fishing lines, nets, leaders, tippets, lures, hooks, weights, floats as well as related fishing tackle and gear comprising a degradable natural fiber (Claim 1: hemp) and polymer (Claim 1: polysaccharide) matrix core.
In regards to Claim 2, Wilcox teaches the degradable polymer comprises components derived from i) biomass sources, ii) protein, fatty acid or lipid sources, iii) microbial-based monomers and polymers, iv) agro-based monomers and polymers, v) sugar or starch-based monomers and polymers, or combinations thereof (Claim 1: polysaccharide).
In regards to Claim 3, Wilcox teaches the degradable polymer comprises a polylactide, a polybutylene succinate, a polybutylene succinate adipate, a poly lactic acid, a polyhydroxyalkanoate, a polyhydroxy butyrate, a poly(butylene adipate-co-terephalate), a poly alginate, a polyglycolide, a polyhydroxyalkaonate, a polysaccharide, a starch, a protein, a fatty acid, a lipid, a lignin, a chitin, or combinations thereof (Claim 1: polysaccharide).
In regards to Claim 5, Wilcox teaches an additive (Claim 1: combination thereof including polylactide).
In regards to Claim 10, Wilcox teaches the degradable polymer comprises components from renewable materials, and wherein the additive comprises components that are degradable or components from renewable materials, or both components that are degradable and from renewable materials (Claim 1: polysaccharide).
In regards to Claim 11, Wilcox teaches a plant-derived natural fiber (Claim 1: hemp).
In regards to Claim 12, Wilcox teaches the natural fiber core comprises cotton, jute, hemp, silk, bamboo, linen, flax, sisal, lignin, chitin, or combinations thereof (Claim 1: hemp).
In regards to Claim 13, Wilcox teaches the natural fiber core comprises hemp (Claim 1: hemp).
In regards to Claim 14, Wilcox teaches a degradable composition for a fishing line or fishing net consisting essential of i) a renewable and degradable natural fiber (Claim 1: hemp) and polymer (Claim 1: polysaccharide) matrix core, and ii) a renewable and degradable additive (Claim 1: combination thereof including polylactide).
In regards to Claim 15, Wilcox teaches the fishing lines, nets, leaders, tippets, lures, hooks, weights, floats as well as related fishing tackle and gear consisting essential of i) renewable and degradable natural fiber (Claim 1: hemp) and polymer (Claim 1: polysaccharide) matrix core, ii) renewable and degradable additive (Claim 1: combination thereof including polylactide), and iii) minor components generally recognized and used to manufacture or produce the fishing lines, nets, leaders, tippets, lures, hooks, weights, floats as well as related fishing tackle and gear (air is used to produce fishing line, to allow drying/cooling).
In regards to Claim 16, Wilcox teaches a degradation process comprises a microbial-based process, an oxidation-based process, an ultraviolet light-based process, a free radical-based process, a thermal-based process, or combinations thereof insomuch as hemp and polysaccharide can degrade by a microbial-based process. Claim 16 is not a method.
In regards to Claim 17, Wilcox teaches the degradation process comprises a microbial-based process insomuch as hemp and polysaccharide can degrade by a microbial-based process. Claim 17 is not a method
In regards to Claim 18, Wilcox teaches degradation provides essentially non toxic and environmentally safe products insomuch as hemp and polysaccharide degrade into these products.
In regards to Claim 19, Wilcox teaches degradation is substantially faster than conventional materials used in fishing lines or fishing nets insomuch as hemp and polysaccharide will degrade faster than nylon.
In regards to Claim 20, Wilcox teaches using one or more processes selected from group consisting of spraying, extruding, co-extruding, coating, submersing, laminating, extrusion coating, extruding over a core, or combinations thereof (Paragraph 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox in view of Dzeong et al (RU 2636547; see translation).
In regards to Claim 4, while Wilcox essentially teaches the invention a detailed above, it fails to specifically teach the myriad different degradable polymers which can be used. Dzeong, however, teaches that when dealing with degradable polymers, it is well known to utilize cellulose acetate (Background, 6th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized cellulose acetate, so as to form a strong composition while allowing for degradation by microorganisms when no longer needed.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox in view of Ganatra et al (CA 2969429).
In regards to Claims 6-9, while Wilcox essentially teaches the invention a detailed above, it fails to specifically teach the myriad additives which could be used. Ganatra, however, teaches then when dealing with similar materials, it is well known to utilize olive oil or soy bean oil (Page 21 of document, lines 12-14: Plasticizers that may be incorporated into the compositions include… olive oil, soybean oil…). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the oils as taught, acting as a plasticizer, so as to improve strength and resilience of the polymer materials while being safer than harsher plasticizers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,535,729.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach the same composition, with the claims aligned as follows.
Claim 1 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 2 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 3 of the instant application aligns with Claim 2 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 4 of the instant application aligns with Claim 3 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 5 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 6 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 7 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 8 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 9 of the instant application aligns with Claim 6 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 10 of the instant application aligns with Claim 2 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 11 of the instant application aligns with Claim 8 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 12 of the instant application aligns with Claim 8 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 13 of the instant application aligns with Claim 8 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 14 of the instant application aligns with Claim 1 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 15 of the instant application aligns with Claims 1, 10, 11 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 16 of the instant application aligns with Claim 12 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 17 of the instant application aligns with Claim 13 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 18 of the instant application aligns with Claim 14 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 19 of the instant application aligns with Claim 15 of the ‘729 patent.
Claim 20 of the instant application aligns with Claim 16 of the ‘729 patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See of Record.
Specifically, at least CN 108796659 Description and Fish, Jr. et al (5354616) Background teach elements similar to those as currently claimed.
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732