DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 10/13/2025. Claims 1-10 are currently amended. Claim 11 has been newly added. No claims have been canceled. Presently, claims 1-11 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/13/2025 and 10/29/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/13/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The substitute specification dated 10/13/2025 has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8 recites the limitation “means for controlling” in lines 2-3. The recitation of “means for controlling” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the substitute disclosure dated 10/13/2025 indicates that the recitation of “means for controlling” includes “a control unit” (see paragraph [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the wall" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pauliukonis (US 4,121,619).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 11 will be treated as best understood in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
Regarding claim 1, the Pauliukonis reference discloses a device (see figure 9) for metering a cryogenic medium into a container (it is considered that the outlet 126 is connected to an output which can be considered a container), the device having:
a valve (see figure 9) comprising:
a valve housing (considered the combination of 120 and 125) which can be fastened in the wall of the container (it is considered that the housing 120 is capable of being connected to a wall of a container at the connection at outlet 126; further, it is considered that the recitation of “can be fastened” is a recitation of the intended use of the valve housing), which is equipped with a connection for connecting a supply line (at 129) for the cryogenic medium (port 129 is equivalent to the side ports in figures 7 and 8; see col. 10, lines 59-64; wherein the side port in figure 7 is utilized with cryogenic vessels; col. 8, lines 26-34), and which is equipped with a nozzle opening (at reference number 128 as depicted in figure 9) arranged in a wall section (127) of the valve housing (120) for introducing the cryogenic medium into the container;
a shut-off member (130) that is accommodated axially movably in the valve housing in such a way that the shut-off member can be brought from a closed position, in which the shut-off member (130) closes the nozzle opening with a closing section (141, 140), into an open position, in which the closing section (141, 140) is arranged at a distance from the nozzle opening (at reference number 128 as depicted in figure 9) and thus releases the nozzle opening, and in which the axial movement of the shut-off member (130) from the closed position into the open position takes place against the action of a recoiling spring element (137);
wherein the shut-off member (130) at least partially comprises ferromagnetic material (magnetic iron; see col. 11, lines 11-18) and, for moving into the open position, acts together with an electromagnet (122) arranged on the outside of the valve housing.
In regards to claim 2, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein the shut-off member (130) is installed in the valve housing (120) in such a way that in the closed position of the shut-off member, the closing section (141, 140) of the shut-off member (130) is pressed by a pressure of the cryogenic medium acting in the interior of the valve housing (120) from inside against the wall section of the valve housing (120) having the nozzle opening (at reference number 128 as depicted in figure 9).
It is considered that fluid pressure through the port (129) would provide pressure on the shut-off member (130) from inside the port (129) and wherein the shut-off member (130) is pressed against the valve housing (120).
In regards to claim 3, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein the electromagnet (122) is formed as tubular (the coil 122 surrounds the extension of element 125 of the housing 120, 125) and encloses at least some sections of the valve housing (at the extension of 125; see figure 9).
In regards to claim 4, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein the spring element (137) has a spiral spring which extends in the valve housing (120, 125), between an end face (at 138) of the shut-off member (130) facing away from the container (the end face faces away from the port 126 that is connectable to the container) and a spring seat (at the upper end of the spring 137 that contacts the surface of the valve housing portion 125) of the valve housing (see figure 9).
In regards to claim 6, the Pauliukonis reference disclose wherein the wall section (127) of the valve housing (120) having the nozzle opening (at reference number 128 as depicted in figure 9) is shaped on its inner side as conical, narrowing toward the nozzle opening (at reference number 128 as depicted in figure 9), and for closing the valve acts together with a corresponding conical shaping of the closing section (140) of the shut-off member (130).
In regards to claim 7, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein the valve housing (120) is detachably connected (at the port 126) to the wall or to a connection piece mounted firmly on the wall of the container.
It is considered that the valve housing (120) is able to be attached / detached to a container having a wall at the port (129).
In regards to claim 8, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein the valve is equipped with means for controlling (it is considered that the unit that controls the energization of the coil 122 (see col. 11, lines 9-27) constitutes “a control unit” to control the valve).
In regards to claim 9, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein a peripheral sealing element (141) is provided in the closing section (140) of the shut-off member (130).
In regards to claim 11, the Pauliukonis reference discloses wherein the peripheral sealing element (141) is a sealing ring (141) accommodated in a peripheral groove in the closing section of the shut-off member (see figure 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pauliukonis (US 4,121,619) in view of Coldren (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0369177 A1).
Claim(s) 5 will be treated as best understood in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
In regards to claim 5, the Pauliukonis reference does not disclose wherein the nozzle opening is formed as a cylindrical bore which extends through the wall section of the valve housing and, for closing the valve, acts together with a corresponding cylindrical shaping of the closing section of the shut-off member.
However, the Coldren reference teaches a valve for a cryogenic medium (see at least paragraph [0018]) wherein the valve includes a nozzle (48) having a nozzle opening (considered the opening through 87) that is formed as a cylindrical bore (see paragraph [0026]) which extends through a wall section (see figure 2), and, for closing the valve, acts together with a corresponding cylindrical shaping of the closing section of the shut-off member (52; see paragraph [0028]).
The substitution of one known element (the nozzle opening is formed as a cylindrical bore which extends through the wall section of the valve housing and, for closing the valve, acts together with a corresponding cylindrical shaping of the closing section of the shut-off member as shown in Coldren) for another (the nozzle opening and the corresponding shape of the closing section of the shut-off member as shown in Pauliukonis) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the nozzle opening is formed as a cylindrical bore which extends through the wall section of the valve housing and, for closing the valve, acts together with a corresponding cylindrical shaping of the closing section of the shut-off member shown in Coldren would have yielded predictable results, namely, a shape of the nozzle opening and the corresponding shape of the shut-off member to meter the cryogenic medium in a desired manner through the device of the Pauliukonis reference.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pauliukonis (US 4,121,619) in view of Smith (US 4,805,806).
Claim(s) 10 will be treated as best understood in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
In regards to claim 10, the Pauliukonis reference does not expressly disclose wherein liquid or gaseous nitrogen, liquid or gaseous carbon dioxide, liquid or gaseous argon or liquid or gaseous nitrous oxide is used as the cryogenic medium.
However, the Smith reference teaches an apparatus for dispensing liquified gas wherein the apparatus dispenses a cryogenic liquid, for example, liquid nitrogen (col. 1, lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a liquid nitrogen for the cryogenic medium through the device for metering a cryogenic medium of the Pauliukonis reference as taught by the Smith reference, since the patented structure of the Pauliukonis reference is capable of retaining such a fluid since the Pauliukonis reference discloses using a cryogenic medium. Further, it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize a liquid nitrogen for the cryogenic medium in order to benefit from the properties of liquid nitrogen (such as the ability to provide a desired cooling / freezing (Smith: col. 1, lines 11-32)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Komiya et al. (US 6,561,480), LaGreca et al. (US 6,050,543), Otaka (US 5,992,219), Barker (US 3,469,590), Shaw (US 2,241,747), Hayama et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0196173 A1), and Allidieres et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2009/0014671 A1) disclose various valve assemblies that include an electromagnetic valve to control and meter a fluid flow through a nozzle opening.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753