DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US20190158884) (hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to receive input data comprising a first ground truth data [0084-0088, 0117-0132; CRM including residual information].
provide the first ground truth data into a first encoder, said ground truth data comprising at least a first part of the input data; obtain an initial encoded input data from an output of the first encoder; provide the initial encoded input data into a first decoder; obtain an initial reconstruction of the input data from an output of the first decoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; variety of coding architecture and techniques implemented by system pipeline including parallel coding including a conventional H.264 and residual auto encoder (Huffman ie.) and decoder generating residual output].
determine a residual based at least on the first ground truth data and the initial reconstruction of the input data; provide a second ground truth data comprising at least the residual into a second encoder, said second encoder comprising at least a first sub-encoder and a probability model [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
provide the second ground truth data into the first sub-encoder; provide an output of the first sub-encoder to the probability model; obtain one or more first probabilities from an output of the probability model [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
obtain, based on the output of the first sub-encoder and on the one or more probabilities, an encoded residual information from an output of the second encoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; residual output generated by learning models].
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses wherein the first encoder, the first decoder and the second encoder belong to an end-to-end learned intra-frame codec [0118-0120; application of different coding schemes].
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses provide the initial reconstruction of the input data from the output of the first decoder, or data derived from the initial reconstruction of the input data, to an input of a first sub-decoder of a second decoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; variety of coding architecture and techniques implemented by system pipeline including parallel coding including a conventional H.264 and residual auto encoder (Huffman ie.) and decoder generating residual output].
Regarding claim 5, Tsai discloses provide the initial reconstruction of the input data from the output of the first decoder, or data derived from the initial reconstruction of the input data, to an input of the first sub-encoder of the second encoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
Regarding claim 7, Tsai discloses a method comprising; receiving input data comprising a first ground truth data; providing the first ground truth data into a first encoder, said ground truth data comprising at least a first part of the input data; obtaining an initial encoded input data from an output of the first encoder; providing the initial encoded input data into a first decoder; obtaining an initial reconstruction of the input data from an output of the first decoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; variety of coding architecture and techniques implemented by system pipeline including parallel coding including a conventional H.264 and residual auto encoder (Huffman ie.) and decoder generating residual output].
determining a residual based at least on the first ground truth data and the initial reconstruction of the input data; providing a second ground truth data comprising at least the residual into a second encoder, said second encoder comprising at least a first sub-encoder and a probability model ;providing the second ground truth data into the first sub-encoder; providing an output of the first sub-encoder to the probability model [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
obtaining one or more first probabilities from an output of the probability model; and obtaining, based on the output of the first sub-encoder and on the one or more probabilities, an encoded residual information from an output of the second encoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; residual output generated by learning models].
Regarding claim 8, Tsai discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least input data comprising an initial reconstruction of an input data of an encoder, an encoded residual, wherein the encoded residual is determined based at least on a ground truth data of the encoder and the initial reconstruction of the input data and an adaptation signal into a decoder, said decoder comprising at least a first sub- decoder, a syntax generation unit and a probability model [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; variety of coding architecture and techniques implemented by system pipeline including parallel coding including a conventional H.264 and residual auto encoder (Huffman ie.) and decoder generating residual output].
obtain an entropy decoded residual based at least on the encoded residual and on one or more probabilities of the probability model, wherein the entropy decoded residual is represented as a plurality of decoded latent tensor elements; provide the entropy decoded residual to the first sub-decoder; provide the adaptation signal to the syntax generation unit for generating one or more syntaxes based on the adaptation signal; adapt decoding of the residual in the first sub-decoder based on said one or more syntaxes [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
obtain a reconstructed residual from an output of the first sub- decoder; combine the reconstructed residual with initial reconstruction of the input data to obtain a final reconstruction of the input data [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; residual output generated by learning models].
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses wherein said first sub-decoder of the decoder is a neural decoder comprising one or more spatial attention units for receiving said one or more syntaxes and adapting the decoding of the residual component [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; probability models and residual values signaled in the pipeline].
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses wherein the adaptation signal input to the syntax generation network is a dequantized latent tensor output by another codec component [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; probability models and residual values signaled in the pipeline including plurality of coder and residual coder].
Regarding claim 12, Tsai discloses wherein the adaptation signal input to the syntax generation network is the initial reconstruction of input data [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values].
Regarding claim 13, Tsai discloses wherein the adaptation signal input to the syntax generation network is an output of an auxiliary encoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
Regarding claim 14, Tsai discloses wherein the decoder belongs to an end-to-end learned intra-frame codec [0118-0120; application of different coding schemes].
Regarding claim 15, Tsai discloses wherein said means for combining is configured to omit the initial reconstruction of the input data upon obtaining the final reconstruction of the input data [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; probability models and residual values signaled in the pipeline including plurality of coder and residual coder].
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses a method comprising receiving input data comprising an initial reconstruction of an input data of an encoder, an encoded residual, wherein the encoded residual is determined based at least on a ground truth data of the encoder and the initial reconstruction of the input data and an adaptation signal into a decoder, said decoder comprising at least a first sub-decoder, a syntax generation unit and a probability model [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; variety of coding architecture and techniques implemented by system pipeline including parallel coding including a conventional H.264 and residual auto encoder (Huffman ie.) and decoder generating residual output].
obtaining an entropy decoded residual based at least on the encoded residual component and on one or more probabilities of the probability model, wherein the entropy decoded residual is represented as a plurality of decoded latent tensor elements; providing the entropy decoded residual to the first sub-decoder; providing the adaptation signal to the syntax generation unit for generating one or more syntaxes based on the adaptation signal; adapting decoding of the residual in the first sub-decoder based on said one or more syntaxes [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
obtaining a reconstructed residual from an output of the first sub-decoder; and combining the reconstructed residual with initial reconstruction of the input data to obtain a final reconstruction of the input data [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; residual output generated by learning models].
Regarding claim 18, Tsai discloses said first sub-decoder of the decoder is a neural decoder comprising one or more spatial attention units for receiving said one or more syntaxes and adapting the decoding of the residual component [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; probability models and residual values signaled in the pipeline].
Regarding claim 19, Tsai discloses wherein the adaptation signal input to the syntax generation network is one of a dequantized latent tensor output by another codec, the initial reconstruction of input data and an output of an auxiliary encoder [Figs. 3-7, 0031-0042, 0103-0104, 0117-0132; coding pipeline utilizing probability models and residual values during parallel processing].
Regarding claim 20, Tsai discloses wherein the decoder belongs to an end-to- end learned intra-frame codec [0118-0120; application of different coding schemes].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose estimate a probability of one or more elements in the plurality of decoded latent tensor element; the entropy decoder is configured to at least output a plurality of decoded latent tensor elements at least partly based on the input data and the probability of one or more elements in the plurality of latent tensor element; and the neural decoder is configured to at least convert the plurality of decoded latent tensor elements into the reconstructed chroma component, when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483