DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hur et al. (US2023029006) (hereinafter Hur).
Regarding claim 1, Hur discloses a method for encoding, in a data stream, a sequence of point clouds, a point cloud of the sequence comprising a geometry and rendering attributes, the method comprising, for a current frame [Figs. 16-21, 0119-0139, 0292-0325, 0339; point clout data including geometry and attributes].
obtaining a temporal prediction of a current point cloud by motion-compensating the geometry and the rendering attributes of a previously decoded point cloud of the sequence [Figs. 16-17, 0292-0325, 0339; motion compensated frames from reference frames].
compressing the geometry of the current point cloud, encoding the compressed geometry in the data stream and obtaining a reconstructed point cloud by decompressing the compressed geometry [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0317; performing coding operations on geometry information stream for reconstructed frames].
obtaining a mapped current point cloud by mapping the rendering attributes of the current point cloud on the geometry of the reconstructed point cloud [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0317; geometry information stream].
obtaining a mapped temporal prediction by mapping the rendering attributes of the temporal prediction on the geometry of the reconstructed point cloud and by low-pass filtering the rendering attributes of the mapped temporal prediction [0062-0075, 0125-0137; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
obtaining a residue point cloud by subtracting the rendering attributes of the mapped temporal prediction from the rendering attributes of the mapped current point cloud [0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
intra-frame encoding the rendering attributes of the residue point cloud in the data stream [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0325; encoding residual and transmitting].
Regarding claim 3, Hur discloses encoding data in the data stream indicating that the method of claim 1 [Figs. 16-18, 0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values and reconstructing values].
Regarding claim 4, Hur discloses a device for encoding, in a data stream, a sequence of point clouds, a point cloud of the sequence comprising a geometry and rendering attributes, the device comprising a processor associated with a memory, the processor being configured for [Figs. 16-21, 0119-0139, 0292-0325, 0339; point clout data including geometry and attributes].
obtaining a temporal prediction of a current point cloud by motion-compensating the geometry and the rendering attributes of a previously decoded point cloud of the sequence [Figs. 16-17, 0292-0325, 0339; motion compensated frames from reference frames].
compressing the geometry of the current point cloud, encoding the compressed geometry in the data stream and obtaining a reconstructed point cloud by decompressing the compressed geometry [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0317; performing coding operations on geometry information stream for reconstructed frames].
obtaining a mapped current point cloud by mapping the rendering attributes of the current point cloud on the geometry of the reconstructed point cloud [0062-0075, 0125-0137; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
obtaining a mapped temporal prediction by mapping the rendering attributes of the temporal prediction on the geometry of the reconstructed point cloud and by low-pass filtering the rendering attributes of the mapped temporal prediction [0062-0075, 0125-0137; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
obtaining a residue point cloud by subtracting the rendering attributes of the mapped temporal prediction from the attributes of the mapped current point cloud [0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
intra-frame encoding the rendering attributes of the residue point cloud in the data stream [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0325; encoding residual and transmitting].
Regarding claim 6, Hur discloses wherein the processor is further configured for encoding data in the data stream indicating that the method of claim 1 [Figs. 16-18, 0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values and reconstructing values].
Regarding claim 7, Hur discloses a method for decoding a sequence of point clouds, a point cloud of the sequence comprising a geometry and rendering attributes, the method comprising [Figs. 16-21, 0119-0139, 0292-0325, 0339; point clout data including geometry and attributes].
decoding a compressed geometry from a data stream and obtaining a reconstructed point cloud by decompressing the compressed geometry [Figs. 16-21, 0119-0139, 0292-0325, 0339; point clout data including geometry and attributes].
obtaining a temporal prediction of the reconstructed point cloud by motion- compensating the geometry and the rendering attributes of a previously decoded point cloud of the sequence [Figs. 16-17, 0292-0325, 0339; motion compensated frames from reference frames].
obtaining a mapped temporal prediction by mapping the rendering attributes of the temporal prediction on the geometry of the reconstructed point cloud and by low-pass filtering the rendering attributes of the mapped temporal prediction [0062-0075, 0125-0137; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
intra-frame decoding rendering attributes obtained from the data stream [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0325; coding and transmitting].
setting the attributes of the reconstructed point cloud by adding the decoded rendering attributes to the attributes of the temporal prediction 0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values].
Regarding claim 9, Hur discloses comprising obtaining data from the data stream indicating whether the method of claim 7 [Figs. 16-18, 0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values and reconstructing values].
Regarding claim 10, Hur discloses a device for decoding a sequence of point clouds, a point cloud of the sequence comprising a geometry and rendering attributes, the method comprising [Figs. 16-21, 0119-0139, 0292-0325, 0339; point clout data including geometry and attributes].
decoding a compressed geometry from a data stream and obtaining a reconstructed point cloud by decompressing the compressed geometry [Figs. 16-21, 0119-0139, 0292-0325, 0339; point clout data including geometry and attributes].
obtaining a temporal prediction of the reconstructed point cloud by motion- compensating the geometry and the rendering attributes of a previously decoded point cloud of the sequence [Figs. 16-17, 0292-0325, 0339; motion compensated frames from reference frames].
obtaining a mapped temporal prediction by mapping the rendering attributes of the temporal prediction on the geometry of the reconstructed point cloud and by low-pass filtering the rendering attributes of the mapped temporal prediction [0062-0075, 0125-0137; performing operations on point cloud values including obtaining low pass values].
intra-frame decoding rendering attributes obtained from the data stream [Figs. 16-18, 0292-0325; coding and transmitting].
setting the attributes of the reconstructed point cloud by adding the decoded rendering attributes to the attributes of the temporal prediction 0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values].
Regarding claim 12, Hur discloses wherein the processor is configured for first obtaining data from the data stream indicating whether the method of claim 1 or 2 has been used and if so, applying the method of claim 7 [Figs. 16-18, 0062-0075, 0125-0137, 0292-0325; performing operations on point cloud values and reconstructing values].
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483