DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 19/475,170 filed on 10/14/2025 in which claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-11 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #121bis-e R2-2303420 hereby referred to as R2-2303420.
1. Regarding claim 13, R2-2303420 teaches a network node (page 28, section 2.4 network explicitly informs UE) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one
processor, cause the network node at least to:
determine that a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) counter
synchronization across multiple network nodes is applied for a multicast service,
wherein the multiple network nodes include the network node and at least a second
network node of a second cell (page 28, PDCP count; source cell; target cell; network will explicitly inform UE) and
transmit, in a radio resource control release message to a user equipment
apparatus (UE) in response to the determining, an indication of the PDCP counter
synchronization across the multiple network nodes for the multicast service (R2-2303420, page 28, PDCP count supported during inactive mobility; page 29 continuity of PDCP variables of an MRB is needed among different cells if PDCP count is synchronized).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #121bis-e R2-2303420 hereby referred to as R2-2303420 in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2024/0040662 A1).
2. Regarding claim 1, R2-2303420 teaches a user equipment apparatus (page 28, section 2.4 network explicitly informs UE); comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one
processor, cause the user equipment apparatus at least to:
receive, from a first network node of a first cell, a multicast service while
operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or an RRC idle state in the first
cell (page 28, section 2.4 multicast reception in RRC_INACTIVE);
receive, from the first network node in a radio resource control release
message, an indication of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) counter
synchronization across multiple network nodes for the multicast service, wherein the
multiple network nodes include the first network node and at least a second network
node of a second cell (page 28, PDCP count; source cell; target cell; network will explicitly inform UE);
select the second cell for camping (page 28, section 2.4 PDCP count continuity is supported for multicast reception during handover); and
continue to receive, based on a PDCP variable continuity, the multicast
service in the second cell from the second network node of the second cell
wherein the PDCP variable continuity is
responsive to the indication of the PDCP counter synchronization (page 28, PDCP count supported during inactive mobility; page 29 continuity of PDCP variables of an MRB is needed among different cells if PDCP count is synchronized).
R2-2303420 does not explicitly disclose refrain
from performing an initialization of PDCP state variables in the second cell in
association with the multicast service.
Fujishiro teaches refrain from performing an initialization of PDCP state variables in the second cell in association with the multicast service (Paragraph [0185] without initializing PDCP variable even after the handover).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide refrain from performing an initialization of PDCP state variables in the second cell in association with the multicast service as taught by Fujishiro in the system of R2-2303420 for re-establishing the PDCP entity in response to performing the handover from a first cell to a second cell see Paragraph [0185] of Fujishiro.
3. Regarding claim 7, R2-2303420 teaches a method performed by a user equipment apparatus, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first network node of a first cell, a multicast service while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state in the first cell (page 28, section 2.4 multicast reception in RRC_INACTIVE);
receiving, from the first network node in a radio resource control release message, an indication of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) counter synchronization across multiple network nodes for the multicast service, wherein the multiple network nodes include the first network node and at least a second network node of a second cell (page 28, PDCP count; source cell; target cell; network will explicitly inform UE);
selecting the second cell for camping (page 28, section 2.4 PDCP count continuity is supported for multicast reception during handover); and
continuing to receive, based on a PDCP variable continuity, the multicast service in the second cell from the second network node of the second cell
and wherein the PDCP variable continuity is responsive to the indication
of the PDCP counter synchronization (page 28, PDCP count supported during inactive mobility; page 29 continuity of PDCP variables of an MRB is needed among different cells if PDCP count is synchronized).
R2-2303420 does not explicitly disclose refrain
from performing an initialization of PDCP state variables in the second cell in
association with the multicast service.
Fujishiro teaches refrain from performing an initialization of PDCP state variables in the second cell in association with the multicast service (Paragraph [0185] without initializing PDCP variable even after the handover).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide refrain from performing an initialization of PDCP state variables in the second cell in association with the multicast service as taught by Fujishiro in the system of R2-2303420 for re-establishing the PDCP entity in response to performing the handover from a first cell to a second cell see Paragraph [0185] of Fujishiro.
4. Regarding claims 2 and 8, R2-2303420 in view of Fujishiro teaches
wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, further cause
the user equipment apparatus at least to:
determine, in response to the indication of the PDCP counter synchronization,
the PDCP variable continuity( R2-2303420 ,page 28, section 2.4 PDCP count continuity is supported for multicast reception during handover); and
wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment apparatus at least to continue to receive the multicast service by applying the determined PDCP variable continuity to receive a packet associated with the multicast service in the second cell (R2-2303420 , page 28, PDCP count supported during inactive mobility; page 29 continuity of PDCP variables of an MRB is needed among different cells if PDCP count is synchronized).
5. Regarding claims 6 and 12, R2-2303420 in view of Fujishiro teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment apparatus at least to receive the indication of the PDCP counter synchronization by:
receiving, from the first network node before the selecting, the indication of the PDCP counter synchronization (R2-2303420, page 28, section 2.4 PDCP count continuity is supported for multicast reception during handover).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Zhang et al. (US 2023/0134356 A1) Fig. 5 and 7
Kim et al. (US 2022/0322418 A1) Paragraph [0761] and [1116]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466