DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 26, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 18, 26 and 28, the claims each recite the word “preferably”. It is not clear to the examiner if everything after “preferably” is part of the invention or not resulting in the scope of the claims to be unclear. The word “preferably” introduces ambiguity in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 30, the claim recites the limitation “wherein the color strip is recessed in the elongate flexible hollow body so that the surface of the color strip is flush with the outer surface of the elongate flexible hollow body”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desombre (US Pub No. 2022/0117475).
Regarding claim 17, Desombre discloses (Figures 1-6) a gastric calibration tube (Figure 1) comprising an elongate flexible hollow body (2) which has an outer wall (4) and a first (end where element 64 is attached as shown in Figure 1) and a second (end where element 16 is attached as shown in Figure 1) tube end, wherein the elongate flexible hollow body has at least one opening in the region of the second tube end (opening at the second end where element 16 is inserted as shown in Figure 1).
Desombre fails to disclose wherein the ratio between the wall thickness of the elongate flexible hollow body in relation to the outer diameter of the elongate flexible hollow body is between 0.1 and 0.25.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the ratio between the wall thickness of the elongate flexible hollow body in relation to the outer diameter of the elongate flexible hollow body to be between 0.1 and 0.25 since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 18, Desombre discloses wherein the elongate flexible hollow body consists of a material which comprises silicone, preferably silicone rubber (Paragraph 0066) but fails to disclose the silicone rubber preferably having a Shore hardness A of between 60 and 100.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the silicone rubber to preferably having a Shore hardness A of between 60 and 100 since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 21, Desombre fails to disclose wherein the ratio between the wall thickness of the elongate flexible hollow body in relation to the outer diameter of the elongate flexible hollow body is between 0.16 and 0.20.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the ratio between the wall thickness of the elongate flexible hollow body in relation to the outer diameter of the elongate flexible hollow body to be between 0.16 and 0.20 since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 22, wherein outlet openings (22) are provided in the region of the second tube end (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 23, wherein a terminating element (16) is provided at the second tube end, which terminates the hollow body (Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the end element is blunt (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the terminating element comprises at least one outlet opening (18) (Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 26, wherein the terminating element has a material comprising radiopaque material, preferably barium sulphate (Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 27, Desombre fails to disclose wherein the material from which the terminating element is made is softer than the material from which the elongate flexible hollow body is made.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the material from which the terminating element is made to be softer than the material from which the elongate flexible hollow body is made, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 28, wherein the material of which the terminating element is made comprises silicone, preferably silicone rubber (Paragraph 0066).
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desombre (US Pub No. 2022/0117475) as applied to 17 above, and further in view of Radl (US Pub No. 2014/0148731).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Desombre discloses outlet openings (22) being provided in the region of the second tube end (Figure 2) but fails to disclose wherein the elongate flexible hollow body has first outlet openings on a first side of the hollow body in the region of the second tube end and second outlet openings on a second side of the hollow body opposite the first side and wherein the first and second outlet openings are arranged offset to one another.
Radl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (Figures 11-12) a tube (122) for bariatric surgery that includes first outlet openings (see annotated figure below) on a first side of the hollow body in the region of the second tube end and second outlet openings (see annotated figure below) on a second side of the hollow body opposite the first side and wherein the first and second outlet openings are arranged offset to one another (clearly shown in the annotated figure below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the elongate flexible hollow body to have first outlet openings on a first side of the hollow body in the region of the second tube end and second outlet openings on a second side of the hollow body opposite the first side and wherein the first and second outlet openings are arranged offset to one another as taught by Radl, in order to ensure that when suction is applied the tube is held in place by the suction and a clear line of delineation or demarcation of
the tube within the stomach is achieved (Radl, Paragraph 0054)
Claims 17, 19, 20 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desombre (US Pub No. 2019/0105483).
Regarding claim 17, Desombre discloses (Figures 1-4) a gastric calibration tube (Figure 3) comprising an elongate flexible hollow body (2) which has an outer wall (24) and a first (22) and a second (23) tube end, wherein the elongate flexible hollow body has at least one opening in the region of the second tube end (opening at the second end where element 26 is inserted as shown in Figure 3) (Paragraph 0083).
Desombre fails to disclose wherein the ratio between the wall thickness of the elongate flexible hollow body in relation to the outer diameter of the elongate flexible hollow body is between 0.1 and 0.25.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the ratio between the wall thickness of the elongate flexible hollow body in relation to the outer diameter of the elongate flexible hollow body to be between 0.1 and 0.25 since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 19, Desombre discloses wherein the elongate flexible hollow body can have at least such a resistance to kinking and that the two tube section ends can be brought together and the tube section does not kink (Paragraph 0051) but fails to disclose a tube section having maximum 20 cm in length.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have a tube section having maximum 20 cm in length since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 20, Desombre discloses wherein the elongate flexible hollow body can have at least such a resistance to kinking and that the two tube section ends can be brought together and the tube section does not kink (Paragraph 0051) but fails to disclose a tube section having maximum 15 cm in length.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have a tube section having maximum 15 cm in length since the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 29, wherein at least one color strip is arranged along the elongate flexible hollow body in the longitudinal direction of the elongate flexible hollow body (Paragraph 0049).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desombre (US Pub No. 2019/0105483) as applied to 17 above, and further in view of Price (US Pub No. 2008/0044579).
Regarding claim 30, Desombre discloses at least one color strip is arranged along the elongate flexible hollow body in the longitudinal direction of the elongate flexible hollow body (Paragraph 0049) but fails to disclose wherein the color strip is recessed in the elongate flexible hollow body so that the surface of the color strip is flush with the outer surface of the elongate flexible hollow body.
Price, in the analogous art of color-coded devices used in surgery, teaches (Figures 1-2) a chamfer cutter (Figure 1) that includes a color coded label (20) that is recessed in the body so that the surface of the color coded label is flush with the outer surface of the body (Figure 2) (Paragraphs 0012 and 0048-0049). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Desombre to have the color strip to be recessed in the elongate flexible hollow body so that the surface of the color strip is flush with the outer surface of the elongate flexible hollow body as taught by Price, in order to prevent the color strip from protruding from the surface of the body that would create a risk that the color strip may be broken off (Price, Paragraph 0012)
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771