DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 200, 400, 500 and 600. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within the twelfth line of claim 1, please replace “a sewing needle” with “the sewing needle” because the phrase has been previously introduced within the third line of the claim
Within the first line of claim 5, please delete the repeat language “wherein the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the applicant recites that the rear end control sensors are positioned “after the roller assembly”. This recitation is indefinite because it is not clear how the sensors are to be interpreted as being “after” the roller assembly. Is “after” based on a feed direction of the fabric?
All remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIZOBUCHI et al. (EP 2275594 A2).
Regarding claim 1, MIZOBUCHI discloses a device for fabric (C1, C2) handling in a sewing machine (100), the device comprising: a plurality of edge detection sensors (cloth edge sensors 43) positioned proximate to a sewing needle (note positioning of sewing head as shown in figure 1 and para. 0053 in reference to a needle) of the sewing machine (100), configured to detect fabric edge deviations in a fabric; a plurality of rear end control sensors (cloth presence sensors 42) positioned to monitor a position of the fabric's rear end relative to the sewing needle, configured to detect extremities reached by the fabric edge; a control unit (13) configured to receive signals from the plurality of edge detection sensors (43) and the plurality of rear end control sensors (42), wherein the control unit (13) utilizes signals to maintain an optimal fabric alignment and control during a sewing operation; and an edge guide unit (4, 8; also can include 6, 10) controlled by the control unit (13) to manipulate a roller assembly comprising pair of rollers (3, 7) configured to feed fabric (C1, C2) towards (in a lateral direction as compared to the direction of feed) a sewing needle of the sewing machine (100), wherein the edge guide unit (4, 8) imparts rotational motion to the pair of rollers (3, 7) in direction of the sewing operation (note that movement in the lateral direction, perpendicular to the feed direction, is still moving the material towards the needle and thus in the direction of the “sewing operation”, given its broadest reasonable interpretation) (Additionally, the “sewing operation” can be the cloth movement to stabilize the seam allowance itself and does not have to be needle movement) (Figures 1-19).
Regarding claim 2, MIZOBUCHI discloses wherein the edge guidance unit comprises actuators (6, 10) configured to adjust a position of the pair of rollers (3, 7) to maintain the fabric alignment (Figures 3-5, 9-10, 14 and 18).
Regarding claim 3, MIZOBUCHI discloses the plurality of edge detection sensors (cloth edge sensors 43) utilizes optical sensing techniques to detect the fabric edge deviations (note light emitting sensor 43a, light receiving sensor 43b and reflective plate 46) (para 85 and 86) (Figures 11-12).
Regarding claim 7, MIZOBUCHI discloses wherein the device further maintains an optimal fabric alignment by dynamically controlling a tension of the fabric to prevent distortion or rupturing during the sewing operation (Figures 14 and 18).
Regarding claim 9, MIZOBUCHI discloses a method for fabric (C1, C2) handling in a sewing machine (100), the method comprising: detecting one or more fabric edge deviations using a plurality of edge detection sensors (cloth edge sensors 43) positioned proximate to a sewing needle (note positioning of sewing head as shown in figure 1 and para. 0053 in reference to a needle) of the sewing machine (100); monitoring a position of the fabric's rear end relative to the sewing needle using a plurality of rear end control sensors (cloth presence sensors 42), configured to detect extremities reached by the fabric edge; receiving signals from the plurality of edge detection sensors (43) and the plurality of rear end control sensors (42) by a control unit (13); utilizing signals received from the plurality of edge detection sensors (43) and the plurality of rear end control sensors (42) by the control unit (13) to maintain optimal fabric alignment (dam allowance) and control during a sewing operation; and manipulating a pair of rollers (3, 7) configured to feed fabric (C1,C2) towards a sewing needle of the sewing machine (100) using an edge guide unit (4, 8; can also include 6, 10) controlled by the control unit (13), wherein the edge guide unit imparts rotational motion to the pair of rollers in the direction of the sewing operation (note that movement in the lateral direction, perpendicular to the feed direction, is still moving the material towards the needle and thus in the direction of the “sewing operation”, given its broadest reasonable interpretation) (Additionally, the “sewing operation” can be the cloth movement to stabilize the seam allowance itself and does not have to be needle movement) (Figures 1-19).
Regarding claim 10, MIZOBUCHI discloses wherein imparting rotation motion to the pair of rollers (3, 7) comprises adjusting the position (note that vertical positioning is adjusted to apply different pressure based on 6, 10) of the pair of rollers (3, 7) to maintain fabric alignment based on signals from the control unit (13) (Figures 3-5, 9-10, 14 and 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZOBUCHI et al. (EP 2275594 A2).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, MIZOBUCHI discloses a device and method for fabric handling in a sewing machine as discussed above. MIZOBUCHI further discloses wherein the rear end control sensors (42) are positioned after the roller assembly (3, 7) (Figures 2 and 11) and configured to detect extremities reached by the fabric edge (C1, C2), prompting the control unit (13) to manipulate a movable gripper (1 and/or 2) attached to a rear end position of the fabric for a realignment by adjusting the fabric in a linear manner (Fig. 2). However, MIZOBUCHI is silent regarding the driving components of the movable gripper. It is old and known in the art for a movable gripper, in the form of a feed dog or feed foot, to be mounted on a linear actuator in order to provide movement thereto while also translating movement to the fabric being sewn. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have mounted the movable gripper of MIZOBUCHI onto a linear actuator because such is considered old and known in the art in order to provide movement thereto while also translating movement to the fabric being sewn.
Regarding claim 6, MIZOBUCHI discloses wherein the plurality of rear end control sensors (42) is positioned on both sides of a fabric path (upper and lower) to being functional capable of monitoring the rear end position from a plurality of angles (note angled positioned of 42a and 42b as well) (Fig. 12).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZOBUCHI et al. (EP 2275594 A2) in view of OLEWICZ et al. (US 5,924,376).
MIZOBUCHI teaches a device and method for fabric handling in a sewing machine as discussed above. However, MIZOBUCHI fails to disclose an uncurl unit. OLEWICZ discloses a device for fabric handling in a sewing machine wherein the device comprises an uncurl unit (blowers 88, 89, 90, 171, 172) in order to flatten a fabric for sewing/processing and thus prevent sewing errors (Figures 6A, 6B, 9A, 9B and 11). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the device of MIZOBUCHI with an uncurl unit as claimed, in light of the teachings of OLEWICZ and common knowledge in the art, in order to flatten the fabric for sewing/processing and thus prevent sewing errors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, as cited on attached PTO-892, and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note that PESTEL et al. (US 4,742,789) discloses sensors (17-19) being positioned forward and rearward of the sewing needle (1) for sewing alignment purposes (Fig. 4). Both FUKUMOTO (US 5,289,788) and KAWASAKI (US 2003/0116069 A1) disclose manipulating a roller assembly (1, 5) (3) based on edge detection sensors (15) (4). Note that the rollers (1, 5) of FUKUMOTO rotate in a direction aligned with a fabric feed direction (Fig. 1).
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732