Detailed Action
Preliminary Amendment
1. Entry of applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 10-16-25 into the application file is acknowledged.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
3. This application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 and therefore PCT article 7 and Rule 11 govern drawing requirements and as seen in PCT Rule 11.13(l) reference numerals in the specification/description must be shown in the drawings and reference numeral 52 in applicant’s originally filed specification is not shown in applicant’s drawing figures.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1 and 15, applicant invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed conveyance unit and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the conveyance unit is detailed as a conveyor as seen in paragraph [0043] of applicant’s originally filed specification. Further, applicant invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed rotation unit and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the rotation unit is detailed as first and second rotation mechanisms that each include an actuator with the actuator being a hydraulic, pneumatic or electric cylinder as seen in paragraphs [0055]-[0056] of applicant’s originally filed specification. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed driving device in that applicant claims specific structures related to the driving device being the claimed traversing unit and the claimed lifting unit. Further, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed traversing unit and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the traversing unit is not detailed structurally. Furter, applicant invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed lifting unit and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the lifting unit is not detailed structurally.
Regarding claim 5, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed retaining pressure adjustment part and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the retaining pressure adjustment part is not detailed structurally.
Regarding claim 14, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed first and second rotation mechanisms and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the first and second rotation mechanisms are detailed as an actuator with the actuator being a hydraulic, pneumatic or electric cylinder as seen in paragraphs [0055]-[0056] of applicant’s originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In each of claims 1 and 15, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed traversing unit and the claimed lifting unit as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action and applicant has not defined the traversing unit and lifting unit structurally in applicant’s originally filed disclosure and therefore it is unclear to what structural components encompass each of the claimed traversing and lifting units.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed retaining pressure adjustment part as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the retaining pressure adjustment part is not detailed structurally in that as seen in paragraph [0080] of applicant’s originally filed specification way to adjust the retaining pressure adjustment part is disclosed but no specific structure is detailed. Further, as seen in applicant’s originally filed specification reference numeral 52 is used for the retaining pressure adjustment part but there is no reference numeral 52 in the drawing figures so the drawings cannot be used to determine the structure that comprises the claimed retaining pressure adjustment part. Therefore it is unclear to what structure(s) encompass the claimed retaining pressure adjustment part.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 10 and 11 detail a third sensor which implies a first and second sensor are part of the claimed device but there are no first and second sensors claimed in claims 1, 10 and 11, so it is unclear as to how many sensors are being claimed.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear as to how the claimed image data is obtained.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to how the processing position is defined by the incision portion and it is unclear to what claimed component the incision portion relates to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 8,882,571 to Hazenbroek et al.
Referring to claims 1 and 15, Hazenbroek et al. discloses a work grasping apparatus comprising, a gripper – at 45 and sprocket at end of 45, for grasping a work – at 47 and poultry leg not shown in the drawings – see figures 1-4, conveyed by a conveyance unit – at 3-9 – see figures 1-2 and 5-6 (items 3-9 comprise a conveyor and therefore is consistent with applicant’s originally filed disclosure as related to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis of the conveyance unit discussed earlier), a rotation unit – at 37-39, for rotating the gripper – at 45, so as to adjust an angle of the gripper with respect to a horizontal plane – see figures 3-4 and column 3 lines 37-51 (Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis of the rotation unit, items 37-39 are at least functional equivalents to applicant’s disclosed rotation unit in that items 37-39 provide similar function of adjusting the position and angle of the gripper), a driving device – at 49-53, including a traversing unit – at 51, and a lifting unit – at 53, for moving the gripper – at 45, and the rotation unit – at 37,39, in an up-down direction and a front-back direction – see figures 1-6 and column 3 line 52 to column 4 line 4 (Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis with respect to the traversing unit and lifting unit, items 51 and 53 are at least functional equivalents to applicant’s disclosed traversing unit and lifting unit since they provide similar function of back and forth and up and down movement), and a controller – not shown but inherent in that the device of Hazenbroek et al., would have an electric controller for automatically operating the disclosed device as described, for controlling the driving device and the rotation unit so that the work is grasped by the gripper at a grasping position on the conveyance unit – see figures 1-6 and column 3 line 24 to column 5 line 17.
Referring to claim 3, Hazenbroek et al. further discloses a guide – at 83,85, for adjusting a posture of the work conveyed by the conveyance unit – see figures 8-10 and column 5 line 63 to column 6 line 36.
Referring to claim 4, Hazenbroek et al. further discloses the guide includes a pair of guide members – at 83 and 85, disposed at opposite sides in a width direction of the conveyance unit – see figures 9-10, such that a distance between the guide members decreases toward a downstream side of the conveyance unit – see adjustment of items 83,85 as seen in figures 9-10 and column 5 line 63 to column 6 line 36.
Referring to claim 14, Hazenbroek et al. further discloses the rotation unit includes,
a first rotation mechanism for rotating the gripper about a first axis along the vertical plane; and
a second rotation mechanism for rotating the gripper about a second axis which intersects with the first axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazenbroek et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP Patent No. 3964074 to Kido et al. (published more than one year before applicant’s earliest effective filing date of 9-1-23).
Referring to claim 2, Hazenbroek et al. does not disclose a first sensor for detecting that a tip end portion of the work on the conveyance unit has reached a first position, wherein the controller is configured to move a grasp portion of the work to the grasping position by returning the work in an opposite direction by a predetermined amount with the conveyance unit if the first sensor detects that the tip end portion of the work has reached the first position. Kido et al. does disclose a first sensor – at 52,53, for detecting that a tip end portion of the work – at W, on the conveyance unit has reached a first position – see paragraphs [0037]-[0041], wherein the controller – at 30, is configured to move a grasp portion of the work – at W, to the grasping position – see paragraphs [0037]-[0041], by returning the work in an opposite direction by a predetermined amount with the conveyance unit if the first sensor detects that the tip end portion of the work has reached the first position – these claim limitations are not required by the claim given the “if” clause in that the claim does not positively recite the first sensor causes the work to be returned in an opposite direction. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hazenbroek et al. and add the first sensor of Kido et al., so as to yield the predictable result of providing better gripping/grasping of the object being worked on during operation.
Referring to claim 10, Hazenbroek et al. further discloses the work grasped by the gripper is rotated to a hung posture by the rotation unit – at 37-39 – see figures 1-6 and column 3 line 24 to column 5 line 17, but does not disclose a third sensor for detecting a grasp portion of the work by the gripper. Kido et al. does not disclose a third sensor – at 52,53 (it is noted that a first and second sensor are not claimed), for detecting a grasp portion of the work by the gripper – at 14,34 – see paragraphs [0037]-[0041]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hazenbroek et al. and add the first sensor of Kido et al., so as to yield the predictable result of providing better gripping/grasping of the object being worked on during operation.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazenbroek et al. as modified by Kido et al. as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,661,450 to Miyazaki et al.
Referring to claim 11, Hazenbroek et al. as modified by Kido et al. wherein a processing position of the work is determined by matching the grasp portion detected by the third sensor – see paragraphs [0037]-[0041] of Kido et al., but does not disclose a processing position is determined by matching image data of the work. Miyazaki et al. does disclose a processing position related to a grasp portion is determined by matching image data of the work – see figures 3-7 and column 8 lines 12-52. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hazenbroek et al. as modified by Kido et al. and add the determining of a processing position by using image data of the work as disclosed by Miyazaki et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring proper grasping and moving of the object being worked on during operation.
Referring to claim 12, Hazenbroek et al. as modified by Kido et al. and Miyazaki further discloses the processing position is an incision portion for inserting a meat separator – at 83,85, extending along a horizontal direction – see figures 8-10 and column 5 line 63 to column 6 line 36 of Hazenbroek et al.
Referring to claim 13, Hazenbroek et al. as modified by Kido et al. and Miyazaki further discloses the controller is configured to control the driving device so as to lift up or down the gripper grasping the work while the meat separator is inserted in the incision portion – see at 53 and column 3 line 24 to column 6 line 26 of Hazenbroek et al. and at 22,24 and paragraphs [0037]-[0041] of Kido et al.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazenbroek et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Referring to claim 14, Hazenbroek et al. further discloses the rotation unit includes, a first rotation mechanism – at 37, for rotating the gripper – at 45, about a first axis along the vertical plane – see figures 3-4, and a second rotation mechanism – at 39, for rotating the gripper about an axis – see figures 3-4, but does not disclose the second rotation mechanism rotates the gripper about a second axis which intersects with the first axis. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hazenbroek et al. and have the second rotation mechanism rotate the gripper in a second axis that intersects the first axis as claimed, so as to yield the predicable result of allowing the device to be worked on to be placed into multiple different positions to more easily perform the desired operations on the object as desired. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed first and second rotation mechanisms, items 37 and 39 of Hazenbroek et al. are at least functional equivalents to applicant’s disclosed first and second rotation mechanisms in that items 37 and 39 provide a similar function to that of applicant’s disclosure of adjusting and moving the gripper into different positions as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 5-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to gripping/grasping devices/methods in general:
U.S. Pat. No. 4,327,463 to Martin – shows gripping device
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643