DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0013723) in view of Yoo (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0180259).
Regarding Claim 11:
Kim discloses a battery connector (1) (Fig. 10A, cell BMS as shown), comprising: a voltage conversion and stabilization unit (2) (Fig. 10A, power management circuit 710 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0171); a coupling unit (3) (Fig. 10A, optoelectronic element 100 of the cell BMS with another optoelectronic element 100 of another adjacent BMS, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc.); and a switching structure (Fig. 10A, switches Q1-Q4 and their related discussion), wherein the switching structure is connected to an output end of a power battery (101) via the voltage conversion and stabilization unit (2) (Fig. 10A, switches Q1-Q4 connected to an output end of battery 10 through power management circuit 710 as shown) and wherein the switching structure receives a control signal sent by a battery management system (102) via the coupling unit (3) (Fig. 10A, switches Q1-Q4 receiving a control signal sent by another adjacent BMS through optoelectronic element 100, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0171, 0180-0184, etc. which disclose when an optical signal is received, via the optoelectronic element 100, from an adjacent BMS, the switches Q1-Q4 are controlled). While Kim teaches a switching structure, Kim fails to teach the switching structure is a contactor.
However, Yoo discloses the utilization of a contactor (Fig. 5, DC contactor 210 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0078-0081, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switches Q1-Q4 of the switching structure of Kim as a DC contactor, as taught within Yoo, to provide a conventional switching device for selectively connecting and disconnecting the battery power path, because Yoo teaches that a DC contactor is used to selectively establish a current path between a battery system and a power conversion system and is controlled to switch the battery system between connected and disconnected states. Furthermore, such a modification would merely substitute one known switching device for another to perform the same predictable switching function through a more simplistic, compact, and potentially cheaper design.
Regarding Claim 12:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Modified Kim, in further view of Kim, discloses wherein the coupling unit (3) comprises a transmitter (31) (Fig. 10A, respective optoelectronic element 100 of the adjacent BMS and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc.) and a receiver (32) (Fig. 10A, respective optoelectronic element 100 of the cell BMS and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc.), wherein the transmitter (31) is configured to convert a first electrical control signal sent by the battery management system (102) to a non-electrical signal and transmit the non-electrical signal (Fig. 10A, respective optoelectronic element 100 of the adjacent BMS and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc. which disclose the optoelectronic element 100 of the adjacent BMS outputs an output signal to the cell BMS, wherein the respective signal is converted to an optical signal for transmission), and wherein the receiver (32) is configured to convert a received non-electrical signal to a second electrical control signal for controlling the contactor (4) (Fig. 10A, respective optoelectronic element 100 of the cell BMS and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc. which disclose converting the received optical signal into an electrical signal subsequently used for controlling the contactor of Modified Kim).
Regarding Claim 13:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 12. Modified Kim, in further view of Kim, discloses wherein the coupling unit (3) is configured as a photoelectric coupler (301) and wherein the non-electrical signal comprises an optical signal (Fig. 10A, optoelectronic element 100 of the cell BMS with another optoelectronic element 100 of another adjacent BMS, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc.).
Regarding Claim 14:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Modified Kim, in further view of Kim, discloses wherein the photoelectric coupler (301) comprises a light-emitting diode serving as the transmitter (31) (Fig. 10A, respective optoelectronic element 100 of the adjacent BMS and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc. which disclose the optoelectronic element 100 includes a photodiode including a light emitting diode) and a phototransistor serving as the receiver (32) (Fig. 10A, respective optoelectronic element 100 of the cell BMS and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0071-0074, 0171, 0180-0185, etc. which disclose the optoelectronic element 100 includes a photodiode including a phototransistor).
Regarding Claim 17:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Modified Kim, in further view of Kim, discloses wherein an output voltage of the power battery (101) is converted and stabilized by the voltage conversion and stabilization unit (2) (Fig. 10A, power management circuit 710 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0171). Kim is silent with respect to the output voltage is converted and stabilized within a rated operating voltage range of the contactor.
However, Yoo discloses wherein the output voltage is converted and stabilized within a rated operating voltage range of the contactor (Fig. 5, converter 230, contactor 210 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0015, 0067, 0075, etc. which disclose the converter is configured to convert the level of power stored in the battery rack into a voltage level required by the contactor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the power management/conversion circuit of Kim to provide the contactor with a converted and stabilized voltage suitable for operation of the contactor, as taught within Yoo, to provide the contactor with an appropriate operating voltage, thereby improving overall system stability and longevity.
Regarding Claim 20:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Modified Kim, in further view of Kim, discloses a vehicle battery system (10) (see, at least, paragraph 0067 which discloses the BMS apparatus being implemented within a vehicle, such as a hybrid vehicle), comprising: a power battery (101) (Fig. 10A, battery 10 and its related discussion); a battery management system (102) (Fig. 10A, cell BMS with another adjacent BMS not shown and their related discussion); and the battery connector (1) according to claim 11 (see claim 11 above).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0013723) in view of Yoo (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0180259) and in further view of Green et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0022987).
Regarding Claim 15:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 12. Modified Kim fails to teach wherein the coupling unit is configured as an acoustoelectric coupler.
However, Green et al. discloses wherein the coupling unit is configured as an acoustoelectric coupler (302) and wherein the non-electrical signal comprises an acoustic signal (see, at least, paragraph 0067 which discloses the utilization of an acoustic tone generator and receiver utilized for two-way communication for subsequent actuation of a device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the coupling unit of Modified Kim as an acoustoelectric coupler, as taught within Green, as communicating a signal between a transmission node and a reception node through an acoustic transmission pathway would have provided a known non-electrical communication technique for transmitting the BMS control signal between the respective circuitry while maintaining electrical isolation between the circuits, as well as utilize several advantages associated with acoustic signals such as within environments where sound can propagate more effectively.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0013723) in view of Yoo (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0180259) in view of Green et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0022987) and in further view of Kauffman et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0215684).
Regarding Claim 16:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 15. Modified Kim fails to teach wherein the acoustoelectric coupler comprises a buzzer serving as the transmitter and an acoustic sensor serving as the receiver.
However, Kauffman et al. discloses wherein the acoustoelectric coupler comprises a buzzer serving as the transmitter (Fig. 2, low frequency generator 115 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0019 which discloses the generator 115 may be a buzzer) and an acoustic sensor serving as the receiver (Fig. 2, microphone 116 for receiving the acoustic signal from the low frequency generator 115 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0019, 0039, etc. which disclose the microphone 116 receiving the acoustic signal generated by the low frequency generator 115). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the acoustoelectric coupler of Modified Kim as comprising a buzzer and acoustic sensor, as taught within Kauffman, as such components are known acoustic transducer components capable of supplying and receiving acoustic signals, thereby facilitating the desired transmission and reception of acoustic signals as intended.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0013723) in view of Yoo (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0180259) and in further view of Oikarinen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0175641).
Regarding Claim 19:
Modified Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 17. Modified Kim fails to teach wherein the voltage conversion and stabilization unit (2) is configured as a BUCK circuit.
However, Oikarinen et al. discloses wherein the voltage conversion and stabilization unit (2) is configured as a BUCK circuit (Fig. 3, buck charger circuit 308 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0025-0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the voltage conversion unit of Modified Kim as a buck converter circuit, as taught within Oikarinen, as a BUCK converter is a known type of DC-DC voltage conversion circuit capable of employing a known step-down converter in the voltage conversion portion of Modified Kim to obtain a desired lower operating voltage for the respective switching circuitry.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while the prior art of record, including Kim and Yoo, teaches a battery-derived voltage conversion and control of a battery switching device/contactor, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the particular voltage conversion and stabilization structure as recited in claim 18, including the voltage stabilization diode, transistor, and current limiting resistor arranged such that the current limiting resistor provides bias to the transistor and limits current through the voltage stabilization diode, with the voltage stabilization diode clamping the base voltage of the transistor.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836