DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiou (US 12053247).
Chiou shows an optical tracking system and method (abstract) comprising: a first, second, and third optical tracking units (column 118, lines 8-25; column 128, lines 45-55); and one or more processors communicatively associated with the tracking units (column 117, lines 60-65); wherein each of the tracking units comprises an optical sensor and a visual indicator (column 119, lines 1-35; column 130, lines 15-35; column 75, lines 5-60); wherein the first and second tracking units are configured to be fixed relative to one another (column 119, lines 10-40); and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, when the first and second tracking units are fixed relative to one another, a relative pose between a first coordinate system, which is associated with the first and second tracking units, and a second coordinate system, which is associated with the third tracking unit (column 107, lines 40-55; column 110, lines 10-20; column 55, lines 15-60), based at least on: information indicative of a pose of each of the first and second tracking units in the first coordinate system (column 118, lines 10-25; column 120, lines 20-30; column 35, lines 25-65); a first data set indicative of at least one direction in the first coordinate system from the optical sensor of the first tracking unit and/or the optical sensor of the second tracking unit towards the visual indicator of the third tracking unit (fiducial markers on HMD, patient, tools allows for measuring their position, location, orientation, direction of movement/speed in relation to one another; column 109, lines 30-35; column 110, lines 10-20; column 102, lines 40-60; column 54, lines 5-20); and a second data set indicative of two directions in the second coordinate system from the optical sensor of the third tracking unit towards the visual indicator of the first tracking unit and the visual indicator of the second tracking unit (fiducial markers on HMD, patient, tools allows for measuring their position, location, orientation, direction of movement/speed in relation to one another; column 109, lines 30-35; column 110, lines 10-20; column 102, lines 40-60; column 54, lines 5-20).
Chiou also shows wherein each of the first data set and the second data set comprises at least one of: blob data and image data (column 118, lines 20-25; column 120, lines 18-25); wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, based on the first and second data sets, at least one direction from at least one of the optical sensors towards at least one of the visual indicators (column 109, lines 30-35; column 102, lines 40-60; column 100, lines 10-20; column 85, lines 35-60); wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select from the first and second tracking units, whether both thereof, or which thereof, are used to obtain the first data set (column 120, lines 18-40); wherein each of the optical sensors is selected from a pixel array sensor, a CMOS sensor, a CCD sensor, a pair of linear sensor arrays, a 2D lateral effect position sensor, a photodiode array position sensor, a segmented photodetector, a quadrant position-sensing detector, a position-sensitive detector, and a light sensitive element (column 119, lines 1-10; column 130, lines 15-35); wherein each of the visual indicators comprises a light emitting diode (LED) or a reflector (column 119, lines 1-10; column 98, line 55-column 99, line 10); wherein the tracking units are fabricated to be similar with respect to one or more of size, dimensions, type of optical sensor, type of visual indicator, type of communication unit, communication protocol, and/or functionality (column 119, lines 1-10); wherein the first and second tracking units are configured to be fixed relative to one of: a head mounted display (HMD), a surgical microscope, a surgical exoscope, a surgical robot, a surgical robotic arm, an imaging device, a surgical light (column 117 line 60-column 118, line 25); wherein the third tracking unit is configured to be fixed relative to one of: a hand-held tool, a subject, an anatomical site, a camera, an endoscope, a laparoscope (column 117, line 60-column 118, line 25); wherein the information indicative of the relative pose between the first and second tracking units is predetermined (column 119, lines 10-40); wherein the first and second tracking units are permanently attached to an object (column 119, lines 10-40); wherein the one or more processors are further configured to implement a calibration stage wherein the relative pose between the first and second tracking units is computed (column 122, lines 55-65; column 73, lines 10-45); wherein the information indicative of a pose of each of the first and second tracking units in the first coordinate system comprises previously acquired first and second data sets (column 78, lines 1-10; column 78, lines 55-65); wherein the information indicative of a pose of each of the first and second tracking units in the first coordinate system is based on an accurate mounting mechanism (column 78, lines 55-65; column 119, lines 10-40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alzaga (US 2022/0022964) discloses systems for displaying augmented reality, including tracking a plurality of optical fiducial markers on an HMD and surgical tools ([0056], [0087]);
Black (US 2022/0270300) discloses systems for augmented reality, including tracking a plurality of optical fiducial markers on an HMD and surgical tools ([0010]);
Kaseberg (US 2022/0370147) discloses systems for user guidance in surgical tracking systems, including tracking a plurality of optical fiducial markers on an HMD and surgical tools ([0079]);
Palushi (US 2021/0121238) discloses visualization systems including tracking optical fiducials ([0057], [0085]);
Wassall (US 2021/0244479) discloses optical tool tracking for computer assisted surgery, including tracking optical fiducials on tools ([0177]).
/JONATHAN CWERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797