DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "110" and "100" have both been used to designate a top drive (see paragraph 022). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "124" and "126" have both been used to designate a base portion (see, paragraph 028). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "126" and "128" have both been used to designate a fluid coupling (see, paragraph 0029). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “118” has been used to designate both an end effector and a riser filling tool. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “126” has been used to designate both a central base cover and a bracket. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at page 8, line 13, “if” should be changed to “in”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the flange” in line 9, and there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are rejected here because the claims all depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-12 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0222544 A1 (Rakhunde).
As concerns claim 1, Rakhunde discloses a riser filling tool, comprising: a base portion 250 including a coupling mechanism (implicit, in as much as it is attached to the base 250, see figure 3A) for coupling to a robot 256 and configured for supporting several devices in alignment with one or more aspects of a riser section 126; a fluid coupling device 352, 354, 356 arranged on the base portion and configured for facilitating filling of the riser section with fluid and angular alignment of the riser filling tool with the riser section (0018); an engagement device 350 arranged on the base portion and configured for engaging the flange (the flange (end of the section 126 showing the opening at 320 is equivalent) and pulling the riser filling tool into sealing engagement with the riser section via the engagement with the flange (from the position of 3A to the position shown in figure 3B).
As concerns claim 2, Rakhunde discloses the riser filling tool of claim1, further comprising a central bore 320 configured to cover a central bore 310 of a riser and configured to draw the riser filling tool into alignment with a longitudinal axis of the riser section.
As concerns claim 3, Rakhunde discloses the riser filling tool of claim 1, wherein the fluid coupling device comprises a fluid supply interface for connection of fluid supply lines 252 (see, 0017).
As concerns claim 4, Rakhunde discloses the riser filling tool of claim 1, wherein the fluid coupling device comprises a filling spear (see, 0018, “connectors 352, 354 and 356 are male stabbing-type interfaces configured to sealingly engage the openings 322, 324 and 326”, reasonably interpreted as “spears”).
As concerns claim 6, Rakhunde discloses the riser filling tool of claim 1, wherein the fluid coupling device comprise a plurality of fluid coupling devices (there are three shown in figure 3A).
As concerns claim 9, Rakhunde discloses a robot 256 arranged on a drill rig and configured for selectively engaging and operating the riser filling tool of claim 1 (figure 3A and figure 3B).
As concerns claim 10, Rakhunde discloses a drill rig comprising the robot 256 of claim 9 (see, 0003).
As concerns claim 11, Rakhunde discloses a method of filling a riser with fluid, the method comprising: using a first robot 256, engaging a riser fluid tool 150 with a flange of a riser (figure 3A), comprising engaging filling spears 352, 256 of the riser fluid tool with fluid nipples 322, 326 on the riser; filling the riser section with fluid using the riser fluid tool (0018, 0019 et seq.); and using an engagement device 350 to engage the flange and pull the riser filling tool into sealing engagement with the riser section via the engagement with the flange (from the position shown in figure 3A to the position shown in figure 3B).
As concerns claim 12, Rakhunde discloses the method of claim 11, wherein engaging a riser fluid tool 150 with a flange of a riser further comprises lowering the riser fluid tool such that a central bore cover shown at 320 ) engages the central bore 310 of the riser.
As concerns claim 17, Rakhunde discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising, engaging a bolt hole in the flange of the riser with a flange engagement device of the riser fluid tool (see, 0021, figure 4 at 440, wherein the riser joints are bolted together).
As concerns claim 18, Rakhunde discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising drawing the riser fluid tool into sealing engagement with one or more fluid lines on the riser (from the position of figure 3A to the position shown in figure 3B).
As concerns claim 19, Rakhunde discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising pressurizing the one or more fluid lines on the riser and conducting a pressure test (see, at least 0015 et seq.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakhunde in view of US 2020/0270955 A1 (Ziegler et al.).
With respect to claims 5 and 13-14, Rakhunde discloses all of the elements except for the filling spears having tapered tips configured to guide the fluid coupling devices into alignment with respective conduits; nevertheless Ziegler et al. discloses apparatus and method for multi-stab connections between equipment on a rig and components of a riser system having male couplings 172, 174 with an external taper to insert into female coupling 122, 124, and additionally teaches at 0099 and 0100 that the tapers facilitate alignment and mating of the connectors. One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered incorporating the tapered tips of Ziegler et al. into the filling spears of Rakhunde with a reasonable expectation of success, as the tapers provide the desirable result of optimizing the alignment and mating of the fluid connections. Moreover, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As concerns claim 7, the combination discloses the riser filling tool of claim 6, wherein the plurality of fluid coupling devices comprises at least one device of a first size and at least one other device of a second size different than the first size (note figure 7A and 7B Ziegler et al. which shows the different sizes of connectors, that can be used for different types of connections, i.e., hydraulic, electrical and optical (see, 0110)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 15-16 are objected to as depending from rejected base claims, but may be allowable if rewritten into independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims, as the engagement device comprising a motor and a threaded shaft, and communicating the position and alignment of the riser to a second robot as claimed are not disclosed, taught or suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0098939 A1 (McCormick et al.) discloses a system for making/breaking a riser including a robot having one or more arms configured to be disposed on a spider deck and one or more riser-connection manipulation tools configured to manipulate a riser connection.
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/JAMES G SAYRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672