DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Benefit & Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 365 (c) with PCT/EP2024/060849 and claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) with FR 2304009. The certified copy foreign priority has been filed with the Office on 10/16/2025. Accordingly, the earliest effective filing date was recognized as 04/20/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Re Claim 2-14:
In the claims, “characterized in that” should be changed to –
Re Claim 14:
On line 2, “said device comprises a device” should be changed to – said lighting device comprises [[a]] the device – in order to put the claim in proper form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for transmitting, holding means, optical means, protecting means, projection means, support means, cooling means, and electronic control means ,wherein at least one of the means limitation were cited in at least one of claims 1-7 and 10-13. After careful review of the disclosure as a whole, the Examiner has interpreted means to be a structural term similar to an apparatus, a device, or a part.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Re Claims 10-11:
On line 2 of claim 10 and line 3 of claim 11, the claims recites “the optical means”; however, there is a lack of antecedent bases in the claim dependency for the limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. The Examiner notes that an “optical means” was first recited on line 3 of claim 2. However, after review of the claim dependency it is unclear which claim dependency was intended. Accordingly, the Examiner has interpreted – an optical means – in order to execute compact prosecution.
Re Claims 12-13:
The claims recite “the other elements”, “the cooling means”, and “the electronic control means”; however, there is a lack of antecedent bases in the claim dependency. Accordingly, the Examiner has interpreted – a cooling means – and – an electronic control means – in order to execute compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Romero et al. (US 20200200348 A1; listed as Cite No. 1 Under US Patent Application Publications in the IDS filed on 10/16/2025; “D1”).
Re Claim 1:
D1 discloses a device (shown in at least Figs 11-13; described in at least ¶¶ 0029, 0063, 0191-0193, and 0203-0205 as well as the following and below) for emitting a light beam (beam described in at least ¶¶ 0063-0064; described as laser light and laser emission in ¶ 0191) for use in a lighting device (white light source 1500) allowing light effects to be created (included but not limited to entertainment, theater, music, and concerts in ¶ 0029), said device comprising: a laser source (laser package 1510); and means (fiber assembly 1530) for transmitting at least one laser beam (at least ¶ 0191) emitted by the laser source (1510) to an optical device (light head member 1520) of the lighting device (1500);
the transmitting means (1530) comprise an optical fiber (¶ 0191), one end of which is connected to the laser source (Fig 11) and the other end of which is connectable to the optical device of said lighting device (Fig 11), the device further comprising means for protecting at least one portion of the optical fiber extending between its two ends (described as metal or other thermal conductive material in ¶ 0191).
Re Claim 2:
The claim depends upon claim 1.
D1 further discloses means for cooling the laser source (described in ¶ 0191 as bottom side (not visible) is for mounting to a heat conductive base for distributing heat out of the heat-generating laser device), means for electronically controlling said laser source (blue-laser module 1580; Fig 13; ¶ 0193 ) and optical means (reflecting semi-cone 2330 and phosphor 2350; Fig 19; ¶¶ 0205-0206) to which the end (fiber head 1538) of the optical fiber (1538) opposite said end (output port 1587) connected to the laser source (laser package 1510) is connected (Fig 13 transposed with Fig 19), said optical means (2330, 2350) allowing the transformation of the light beam at the output of the optical fiber and its emission to the optical device of a lighting device (emission as white light beam 2340; Figs 11-13 transposed with Fig 19; ¶ 0206).
Re Claim 14:
The claim depends upon claim 1 and is a dependent claim written in independent form.
D1 further discloses a lighting device (1500) for generating lighting effects from a light beam (described in at least ¶¶ 0029 and 0063 as entertainment, theater, music, and concerts), characterized in that said device (1500) comprises a device for emitting the light beam according to claim 1 (claim 1).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (CN 206496309 U; listed as Cite No. 1 under Foreign Patent Documents in the IDS filed on 10/16/2025; English Machine Translation provided by Applicant; “D2”).
Re Claim 1:
D2 discloses a device (at least green laser 6, red laser 15, blue laser 16, near infrared laser 19, and optical fiber 5; Fig 1) for emitting a light beam (described as light of the light source described in at least Embodiment 1 on Page 3) for use in a lighting device (Multi Colour Laser follow spot light) allowing light effects to be created (at least follow spot light), said device comprising (6, 15-16, and 19): a laser source (6, 15-16, 19); and means (5) for transmitting at least one laser beam emitted by the laser source (Page 3) to an optical device (zoom rotating ring 1, zoom transmission ring 2, collimating lenses 3) of the lighting device (Fig 1);
the transmitting means (5) comprise an optical fiber (Page 3), one end of which is connected to the laser source (end connected to optical fiber input adapter 20) and the other end of which is connectable to the optical device (connectable to 1-3 by optical fiber output joints) of said lighting device (Fig 1), the device further comprising means (housing 21) for protecting at least one portion of the optical fiber (5) extending between its two ends (Page 3, Embodiment 1).
Re Claim 3:
The claim depends on claim 1.
D2 further discloses the optical fiber protection means (21) include a housing in which optical fiber is housed (Fig 1), said housing (21) including means (optical fiber winding post 4) for holding the optical fiber (Fig 1) in wound form with a minimum radius of curvature (radius of 4 in Fig 1).
Re Claim 5:
The claim depends upon claim 3.
D2 further discloses the holding means (4) are provided on the bottom of the housing (Fig 1) to form a receiving space in which the optical fiber (5) is housed and held wound in the housing (Fig 1).
Re Claim 8:
The claim depends upon claim 3.
D2 further discloses the housing (21) includes a bottom (bottom of Fig 1) and a peripheral wall (side wall of Fig 1) defining a peripheral contour of curved shape (curved shape near handle 13), including having linear portions connecting by curved portions (configuration shown in Fig 1).
Re Claim 10:
The claim depend upon claim 3.
D2 further discloses the optical device means (optical fiber output joints 22) to which one end of the optical fiber is attached (shown in Fig 1) are housed in the housing (in 21, fig 1).
Re Claim 11:
The claim depends upon claim 8.
D2 further discloses the bottom of the housing includes a tubular element (1) projecting toward the outside of the housing (outside of 21, Fig 1), in which the optical means (optical fiber output joints 22) are housed (Fig 1), to which one end of the of the optical fiber is attached (Fig 1).
Re Claim 12:
The claim depends upon claim 3.
D2 further discloses said device takes the form on an emission module (configuration of Fig 1) wherein the cooling means (heat dispersion heat sinks 7) provide support for the other elements of the device, including the light source (6, 15-16, 19), the electronic control means (drive circuits 10) and the housing (21), containing part of the wound optical fiber (Fig 1).
Re Claim 13:
The claim depends upon claim 3.
D2 further discloses said device takes the form of an emission module (configuration in Fig 1) wherein the housing (21) provides support means for other the other elements of the device, including the laser source (6, 15-16, 19), the electronic control means (drive circuits 10) and the cooling means (and heat dispersion heat sink 7; Fig 1).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2021110163 A1; listed as Cite No. 4 under Foreign Patent Documents in the IDS filed on 10/16/2025; English machine translation provided by the Office; “D3”).
Re Claim 1:
D3 discloses a device (at least light source module 2c and optical fiber 5c; Figs 1 and 4; Pages 35-36 as well as the following and below) for emitting a light beam (laser light beams red, blue, and green specifically; Page 35; Implementation mode three) for use in a lighting device (shown in at least Fig 4; described on Page 35 as light source module) allowing light effects to be created (the effective of eliminating speckles and a more uniform beam color described on Page 36, 2 paragraphs before Implementation mode four is described), said device (2c) comprising: a laser source (blue lasers 211b, green laser 212b, and red lasers 212c; Fig 3; Page 34); and means (5c) for transmitting at least one laser beam emitted by the laser source to an optical device of the lighting device (to homogenizing device 421c of the light source module; Fig 4; Pages 34-35);
the transmitting means (5c) comprise an optical fiber (Page 35), one end of which is connected to the laser source (shown in Fig 4) and the other end (light output end 52c) of which is connectable to the optical device of said lighting device (to 421c of the light source module; Fig 4 , the device (2c, 5c) further comprising means (not described but shown jacketing 5c in Fig 4) for protecting at least one portion of the optical fiber (5c) extending between its two ends (shown jacketing between the two ends in Fig 4).
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Junichi (JP 2014093191 A; listed as Cite No. 2 under Foreign Patent Document in the IDS filed on 10/16/2025; English Machine Translation provided by Applicant; “D4”).
Re Claim 1:
D4 discloses a device (at least housing 28, solid state light source 30, light guide path 32, and support 60; Figs 1-4) for emitting a light beam (light beam G1, Figs 2 and 4) for use in a lighting device (solid state lighting device, at least Page 2) allowing light effects to be created (scattered light and wavelength converted light; shown with arrows in Fig 4; described on bottom of Page 2), said device (30, 32, 60) comprising: a laser source (30); and means (32) for transmitting at least one laser beam emitted by the laser source to an optical device (to light emitting unit 40; at Fig 2) of the lighting device (Fig 1);
the transmitting means (32) comprise an optical fiber (described as optical fiber on Page 2), one end of which is connected to the laser source (optically connected by coupling lens unit 35) and the other end of which is connectable to the optical device of said lighting device (Fig 2), the device further comprising means (22, 60) for protecting at least one portion of the optical fiber extending between its two ends (28 shown surrounding 32, and 60 shown jacketing 32 in at least Fig 1).
Re Claim 3:
The claim depends upon claim 1.
D4 further discloses the optical fiber protection means include a housing (28, 60) in which the optical fiber (32) is housed (Fig 1), said housing including means for holding the optical fiber in wound form with a minimum radius of curvature (winding and radius shown in Fig 1).
Re Claim 5:
The claim depends upon claim 3.
D4 further discloses the holding means (60) are provided on the bottom of the housing (Fig 1 near G1), the peripheral wall of the housing (Fig 1), and the end of said peripheral wall (end near 40) to form a receiving space in which the optical fiber is housed and held wound in the housing (Fig 1).
Re Claim 9:
The claim depends upon claim 3.
D4 further discloses the housing (specifically 28) includes a bottom (bottom portion 22)and a peripheral wall (see lined shape in Fig 1) defining a parallelepiped shape of the housing (configuration shown in Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D4.
The claim depends upon claim 3.
With further regard to the optical fiber projection means, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (“PHOSITA”) to recognize D4 as at least suggesting the holding means (60) include the wall of the housing against which the wound optical fiber rests when said fiber position wound in said housing (shown in Fig 1 of D4 with the Examiner’s annotations, below).
Figure 1 of D4 with the Examiner's annotations
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Below is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Re Claim 6:
The closest prior art of record (D1-D4) fails to any one of disclose or suggest the combined structure and functionality of the tongues as set forth in the claim.
Re Claim 7:
The closest prior art of record (D1-D4) fails to any one of disclose or suggest the combined structure and functionality of the flange as set forth in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. IIZAWA et al. (US 20220082230 A1) discloses a lighting device including at least a laser light source, housing, optical device, and optical fiber.
KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE JR.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875