DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application 19/476,201 was filed on October 17, 2025, and claims priority to PCT/JP2023/017049 filed on May 1, 2023 and Japanese Patent Application No. 2023-069172 filed on April 20, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 17, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of this non-final action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 and 6 recite “a movement route from an entrance of an apartment building to each room” (emphasis added). Examiner notes that there is no antecedent basis for “each” room because “each room” refers to one of two or more rooms, but the number of rooms has not been set forth in the claims. For the purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted to read, “a movement route from an entrance of an apartment building to a room” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 and 6 further recite “an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the shared devices to the shared control device” (emphasis added). It appears that this limitation has a typographical/grammatical error. Examiner notes that the claims previously recite, “a shared control device including a control unit that controls one or more shared devices” (emphasis added), which appears to provide the antecedent basis for “the shared devices”. For the purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted to read, “an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the one or more shared devices to the shared control device” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
112(f):
Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: “mechanism for,” “module for,” “device for,” “unit for,” “component for,” “element for,” “member for,” “apparatus for,” “machine for,” or “system for.” See MPEP 2181.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an identification code reading unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 1 and 2; “a control request unit” coupled with functional language, in claim 1; “a request reception unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 1 and 2; “a demand unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 1 and 2; “a demand reception unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 1 and 2; “an instruction unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 1, 2, 6, and 7; “an unlock request unit” coupled with functional language, in claim 2; “an identification unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 3 and 5; “a random number determination unit” coupled with functional language, in claim 5; and “a reception unit” coupled with functional language, in claims 5 and 6.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-7 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: at applicants published specification: in Fig. 3, the various units are shown as logical/functional subblocks in the Door Control Device, Door Control Device Server, Business Terminal, and Delivery Company Server; at paragraph [0027] the Door Control device includes “a memory 2B, a communication device 2C, a display device 2D, a call device 2E, a camera 2F, a light source 2G, a locking mechanism 2H, and a power source 21”; at [0037] the Door Control Device Server includes “a control device 3A, a communication device 3B, and a storage device 3C. The control device 3A mainly includes a CPU 3D and a memory 3E”; at [0044] the Business Terminal includes “a control device 5A, a communication device 5B, and a storage device 5C. The control device 5A mainly includes a CPU 5G and a memory 5H”; and at [0042] the Delivery Company Server includes “a control device 4A, a communication device 4B, and a storage device 4C. The control device 4A mainly includes a CPU 4D and a memory 4E”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0117874 to Daniel-Wayman et al. (Daniel-Wayman) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0219348 to Hanlon (Hanlon).
As to claim 1, Daniel-Wayman teaches a shared control device including a control unit that controls one or more shared devices on a movement route from an entrance of an apartment building to each room (“… In one example, the secured area can be a building having one or more tenants, such as apartments, condominiums, offices, or the like …” and “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 [i.e., shared control device] is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 [i.e., shared devices] in or on the premises 38 … ” and “… Then, utilizing GPS circuitry 34 in the guest device 14, the application can display the location of the access point 42 and, optionally, provide a route for finding the access point 42. This is particularly helpful in a setting where there are several visible doors to gain access to the secured premises 38, but only one can be operated by the application” [0002 and 0025 and 0075]);
a control device server capable of communicating with the shared control device (“Details of the interacting components and structure of the system disclosed herein are shown in FIGS. 1-14. As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10 [i.e., control device server], a guest operated communication device 14, a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20 …” and “… In one approach, the owner controls the operation of the access control device 18 [i.e., shared control device] via the user input 22 on the owner device 10 [i.e., control device server] …” [0024-0025 and 0050]),
a delivery company server (“Turning now to FIG. 6, in this example the intermediary server 16 [i.e., delivery company server] can facilitate communication between the owner device 10 [i.e., control device server] and the guest device 14 …” and “In a second example of FIG. 13, the guest device 14 transmits an authorized control signal to the intermediary server 16, similar to the operation discussed with respect to FIG. 11. Instead of passing the control signal to the access control device 18, however, the intermediary server 16 instead routes the guest's requested control signal or message to the owner device 10 …” [0062-0063 and 0071-0074]),
and a business terminal (“Details of the interacting components and structure of the system disclosed herein are shown in FIGS. 1-14. As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10, a guest operated communication device 14 [i.e., business terminal], a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20 …” and “In another example, as shown in FIG. 11, the intermediary server 16 [delivery company server] can act as a relay for the authorized control signal from the guest device 14 [i.e., business terminal] …” [0023-0024 and 0071-0074]),
the business terminal including an identification code reading unit that reads an identification code provided in a visible position in the apartment building, and a control request unit that transmits a first signal to the delivery company server when the identification code reading unit reads the identification code (“As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18 …” and “In one approach, the application sends guest information to the owner along with the contacting signal … ” [0028 and 0047-0049] Examiner notes Fig. 11 showing the Guest Device 14 sending a signal to Server Device 16 before sending a signal to Access Control Device 18),
the delivery company server including a request reception unit that receives the first signal from the business terminal, and a demand unit that transmits a second signal to the control device server when the request reception unit receives the first signal (“In another example, as shown in FIG. 11, the intermediary server 16 can act as a relay for the authorized control signal from the guest device 14 …” [0071-0073]),
and the control device server including a demand reception unit that receives the second signal from the delivery company server, and an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the shared devices to the shared control device when the demand reception unit receives the second signal (“As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” and “Upon reception of the access rights data from the owner device 10, the application running on the guest device 14 can then configure the guest device 14 to send an authorized control signal to the access control device 18 to allow the guest to thereby operate the access control device 18 …” [0025-0026 and 0053-0054]).
Daniel-Wayman does not teach, a delivery company server managed by a delivery company of a package; a business terminal owned by a delivery person who delivers the package. However, Hanlon teaches, a delivery company server managed by a delivery company of a package (“… In some embodiments, the server 110 can comprise one or more separate and/or independent networks, for example, a network or server which is associated with a delivery network [i.e., a delivery company of a package], a network or server which is associated with a smart home services supplier, and a network or server which is associated with a retailer …” and “… The server 210 can be a server or network owned by, associated with or affiliated with a distribution network, such as the USPS …” [0025-0029 and 0033-0034]);
a business terminal owned by a delivery person who delivers the package (“As a carrier approaches the delivery point to deliver an item, the carrier, using a mobile delivery device [i.e., a business terminal], receives codes, credentials, or other permission or authorization to access a smart device, such as a smart receptacle or smart lock …” and “… A process 400 starts in step 402, where an item is associated with a carrier or a mobile delivery device, for example, with a device carried by a carrier of a distribution network …” [0027 and 0051-0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, a delivery company server managed by a delivery company of a package; a business terminal owned by a delivery person who delivers the package, as taught by Hanlon with the delivery system of Daniel-Wayman. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Hanlon that doing so would allow an item to be safely delivered and protected from theft when the recipient is not home [0027].
As to claim 2, Daniel-Wayman teaches a door control device including a control unit that controls locking and unlocking of a door installed at an entrance of an apartment building (“… In one example, the secured area can be a building having one or more tenants, such as apartments, condominiums, offices, or the like …” and “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 [i.e., door control device] is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” [0002 and 0025]);
a door control device server capable of communicating with the door control device (“Details of the interacting components and structure of the system disclosed herein are shown in FIGS. 1-14. As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10 [i.e., door control device server], a guest operated communication device 14, a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20 …” and “… In one approach, the owner controls the operation of the access control device 18 [i.e., door control device] via the user input 22 on the owner device 10 [i.e., door control device server]…” [0024-0025 and 0050]),
a delivery company server (“Turning now to FIG. 6, in this example the intermediary server 16 [i.e., delivery company server] can facilitate communication between the owner device 10 [i.e., door control device server] and the guest device 14 …” and “In a second example of FIG. 13, the guest device 14 transmits an authorized control signal to the intermediary server 16, similar to the operation discussed with respect to FIG. 11. Instead of passing the control signal to the access control device 18, however, the intermediary server 16 instead routes the guest's requested control signal or message to the owner device 10 …” [0062-0063 and 0071-0074]),
a business terminal (“Details of the interacting components and structure of the system disclosed herein are shown in FIGS. 1-14. As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10, a guest operated communication device 14 [i.e., business terminal], a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20 …” and “In another example, as shown in FIG. 11, the intermediary server 16 [delivery company server] can act as a relay for the authorized control signal from the guest device 14 [i.e., business terminal] …” [0023-0024 and 0071-0074]),
the business terminal including an identification code reading unit that reads an identification code provided at a visible position at the entrance, and an unlock request unit that transmits a first signal to the delivery company server when the identification code reading unit reads the identification code (“As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18 …” and “In one approach, the application sends guest information to the owner along with the contacting signal … ” [0028 and 0047-0049] Examiner notes Fig. 11 showing the Guest Device 14 sending a signal to Server Device 16 before sending a signal to Access Control Device 18),
the delivery company server including a request reception unit that receives the first signal from the business terminal, and a demand unit that transmits a second signal to the door control device server when the request reception unit receives the first signal (“In another example, as shown in FIG. 11, the intermediary server 16 can act as a relay for the authorized control signal from the guest device 14 …” [0071-0073]),
and the door control device server including a demand reception unit that receives the second signal from the delivery company server, and an instruction unit that transmits an unlock instruction for unlocking the door to the door control device when the demand reception unit receives the second signal (“As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” and “Upon reception of the access rights data from the owner device 10, the application running on the guest device 14 can then configure the guest device 14 to send an authorized control signal to the access control device 18 to allow the guest to thereby operate the access control device 18 …” [0025-0026 and 0053-0054]).
Daniel-Wayman does not teach, a delivery company server that is managed by a delivery company of a package; a business terminal that is owned by a delivery person who delivers the package to the apartment. However, Hanlon teaches, a delivery company server that is managed by a delivery company of a package (“… In some embodiments, the server 110 can comprise one or more separate and/or independent networks, for example, a network or server which is associated with a delivery network [i.e., a delivery company of a package], a network or server which is associated with a smart home services supplier, and a network or server which is associated with a retailer …” and “… The server 210 can be a server or network owned by, associated with or affiliated with a distribution network, such as the USPS …” [0025-0029 and 0033-0034]);
a business terminal that is owned by a delivery person who delivers the package to the apartment (“As a carrier approaches the delivery point to deliver an item, the carrier, using a mobile delivery device [i.e., a business terminal], receives codes, credentials, or other permission or authorization to access a smart device, such as a smart receptacle or smart lock …” and “… A process 400 starts in step 402, where an item is associated with a carrier or a mobile delivery device, for example, with a device carried by a carrier of a distribution network …” [0027 and 0051-0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, a delivery company server that is managed by a delivery company of a package; a business terminal that is owned by a delivery person who delivers the package to the apartment, as taught by Hanlon with the delivery system of Daniel-Wayman. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Hanlon that doing so would allow an item to be safely delivered and protected from theft when the recipient is not home [0027].
As to claim 3, Daniel-Wayman in view of Hanlon teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Daniel-Wayman further teaches, wherein the identification code includes device identification information that identifies the door control device (“… In response to determining that the guest's mobile device is located within the predetermined area, the application software can display identification information for owners or tenants of the secured premises …” and “… In another example, the linked content provides identification information for the application that can include a name, a location for downloading the application, instructions for use, associated products, and the like …” and “… By one approach, the owner operates the application on the owner device 10 in order to identify and register the access control device 18 with the application. This can be done by inputting identification information, such as registration numbers, serial numbers, or the like into the application using the user input 22 on the owner device 10 …” [0021 and 0028-0032 and 0038]),
the business terminal further includes an identification unit that acquires the device identification information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit (“… Once scanned, the guest device 14 can decode the machine readable code and display the linked content on the display 32 of the guest device 14 …” [0028-0032]),
the first signal and the second signal include the (“… When adding a new owner or editing a current owner, the owner or other administrator enter owner identification information, including name, location, and contact information for the owner device 10, so that the application can facilitate confidential communication between the guest device 14 and the owner device 10” and “Alternatively, or in addition, the owner can grant access rights to the guest. In this form, the application utilizes access rights data that includes identification information of the access control device 18 and corresponding authorization information for access rights to the access control device 18 …” and “… The owner device 10 also transmits identification information of the guest device 14, so that the access control device 18 can identify the guest device 14 and transmit the access rights data or the application along with the access rights data to the guest device 14, similarly to that described above” [0045 and 0051 and 0060-0061]),
and the instruction unit transmits the unlock instruction to the door control device indicated by the (“As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” and “Upon reception of the access rights data from the owner device 10, the application running on the guest device 14 can then configure the guest device 14 to send an authorized control signal to the access control device 18 to allow the guest to thereby operate the access control device 18 …” [0025-0026 and 0053-0054]).
As to claim 6, Daniel-Wayman teaches a shared control device including a control unit that controls one or more shared devices located on a movement route from an entrance of an apartment building to each room (“… In one example, the secured area can be a building having one or more tenants, such as apartments, condominiums, offices, or the like …” and “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 [i.e., shared control device] is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 [i.e., shared devices] in or on the premises 38 … ” and “… Then, utilizing GPS circuitry 34 in the guest device 14, the application can display the location of the access point 42 and, optionally, provide a route for finding the access point 42. This is particularly helpful in a setting where there are several visible doors to gain access to the secured premises 38, but only one can be operated by the application” [0002 and 0025 and 0075]);
and a control device server that includes a reception unit that receives a signal from a business terminal or a delivery company server linked to the business terminal when the business terminal reads an identification code provided in a visible position in the apartment building (“Details of the interacting components and structure of the system disclosed herein are shown in FIGS. 1-14. As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10 [i.e., control device server], a guest operated communication device 14, a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20 …” and “As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18 …” and “… In one approach, the owner controls the operation of the access control device 18 [i.e., shared control device] via the user input 22 on the owner device 10 [i.e., control device server] …” and “In another example, as shown in FIG. 11, the intermediary server 16 [delivery company server] can act as a relay for the authorized control signal from the guest device 14 [i.e., business terminal] …” [0024-0025 and 0028 and 0047-0050 and 0071-0074]),
and [the control device server includes] an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the shared devices (“As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 [i.e., shared control device] is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 [i.e., shared devices] in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” and “Upon reception of the access rights data from the owner device 10, the application running on the guest device 14 can then configure the guest device 14 to send an authorized control signal to the access control device 18 to allow the guest to thereby operate the access control device 18 …” [0025-0026 and 0053-0054]).
Daniel-Wayman does not teach, the control device server includes an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the shared devices to the shared control device. However, Hanlon teaches, the control device server includes an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the shared devices to the shared control device (“… The server 110 communicates with a component of the smart home 100 such as a hub (not shown), which, in turn, can communicate with the smart doorbell 102 and the smart lock 104. In some embodiments, the server 110 can communicate with the smart doorbell 102 and the smart lock 104 …” and “… The server [i.e., control device server] can communicate the request for smart lock 204 operation to the smart home connected device 200 [i.e., shared control device], and in turn, the smart home connected device 200 communicates the unlock signal to the smart lock 204 [i.e., shared device] …” [0028 and 0063-0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, the control device server includes an instruction unit that transmits an instruction for controlling the shared devices to the shared control device, as taught by Hanlon with the delivery system of Daniel-Wayman. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Hanlon that doing so would allow an item to be safely delivered and protected from theft when the recipient is not home [0027].
As to claim 7, Daniel-Wayman teaches a door control device including a control unit that controls locking and unlocking of a door installed at an entrance of an apartment building (“… In one example, the secured area can be a building having one or more tenants, such as apartments, condominiums, offices, or the like …” and “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 [i.e., door control device] is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” [0002 and 0025])
and a door control device server including a reception unit that receives a signal from a business terminal or a delivery company server linked to the business terminal when the business terminal reads an identification code provided in a visible position at the entrance (“Details of the interacting components and structure of the system disclosed herein are shown in FIGS. 1-14. As illustrated, an owner operated communication device 10 [i.e., door control device server], a guest operated communication device 14, a server device 16, and an access control device 18 are capable of communication with one another through one or more communication networks 20 …” and “As discussed in the background, the issue arises when a guest approaches the secured premises 38 and needs to be granted access by the owner. In a first instance, a machine readable code 43, such as a QR code, barcode, or the like, is positioned in a visible area 44 adjacent to an access point 42 controlled by the access control device 18 …” and “… In one approach, the owner controls the operation of the access control device 18 [i.e., door control device] via the user input 22 on the owner device 10 [i.e., door control device server] …” and “In another example, as shown in FIG. 11, the intermediary server 16 [delivery company server] can act as a relay for the authorized control signal from the guest device 14 [i.e., business terminal] …” [0023-0025 and 0028 and 0047-0050 and 0071-0074]),
and an instruction unit that transmits an unlock instruction for unlocking the door to the door control device when the reception unit receives the signal (“As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the access control device 18 is located in or around a secured premises or area 38. The access control device 18 is configured, upon receipt of a properly authorized control signal, to control operation of one or more secondary devices 40 in or on the premises 38 … In this approach, the access control device 18 can directly receive the control signal to open or close a movable barrier, lock or unlock one or more doors, activate or deactivate an alarm, and the like so that the guest can gain access to the secured premises via an access point 42 …” and “Upon reception of the access rights data from the owner device 10, the application running on the guest device 14 can then configure the guest device 14 to send an authorized control signal to the access control device 18 to allow the guest to thereby operate the access control device 18 …” [0025-0026 and 0053-0054]).
Daniel-Wayman does not teach, the door control device server including an instruction unit. However, Hanlon teaches, the door control device server including an instruction unit (“… The server 110 communicates with a component of the smart home 100 such as a hub (not shown), which, in turn, can communicate with the smart doorbell 102 and the smart lock 104. In some embodiments, the server 110 can communicate with the smart doorbell 102 and the smart lock 104 …” and “… The server [i.e., door control device server] can communicate the request for smart lock 204 operation to the smart home connected device 200 [i.e., door control device], and in turn, the smart home connected device 200 communicates the unlock signal to the smart lock 204 …” [0028 and 0063-0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, the door control device server including an instruction unit, as taught by Hanlon with the delivery system of Daniel-Wayman. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Hanlon that doing so would allow an item to be safely delivered and protected from theft when the recipient is not home [0027].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0117874 to Daniel-Wayman et al. (Daniel-Wayman) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0219348 to Hanlon (Hanlon), as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0226535 to Yoden (Yoden).
As to claim 4, Daniel-Wayman in view of Hanlon teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. Daniel-Wayman does not teach, wherein the identification code further includes server identification information that identifies the door control device server, the identification unit further acquires the server identification information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit, the first signal further includes the server identification information acquired by the identification unit, and the demand unit transmits the second signal to the door control device server indicated by the server identification information included in the first signal. However, Yoden teaches, wherein the identification code further includes server identification information that identifies the door control device server, the identification unit further acquires the server identification information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit (“… In some embodiments, a tag on which at least one of a user ID, address, server ID, item ID, category ID, and expiration information, and destination information is encoded and readable by the user's mobile communication device 300 may be provided or issued by the seller 3 to the user, so that the user's mobile communication device 300 may retrieve at least one of the user ID, address, server ID, item ID, category ID, expiration information, and destination information by reading the tag …” [0112-0114]),
the first signal further includes the server identification information acquired by the identification unit (“The user's mobile communication device 300 may send the user ID, address, server ID, item ID, category ID, expiration information, and/or destination information retrieved from the tag according to the process P7a or P7b to the device 100 over the communication 10 …” [0115]),
and the demand unit transmits the second signal to the door control device server indicated by the server identification information included in the first signal (“The device 100 may also have access to a server ID 102 that identifies the server 200 as a destination of data transmission over the communication 11, so that the device 100 may transmit data to the server 200 over the communication 11 by addressing the data to the server ID 102 ...” and “The user's mobile communication device 300 may also have access to a server ID 302. The server ID 302 identifies the server 200 as a destination of data transmission over the communication 12, so that the user's mobile communication device 300 may transmit data to the server 200 over the communication 12 by addressing the data to the server ID 302 …” [0091 and 0100]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, wherein the identification code further includes server identification information that identifies the door control device server, the identification unit further acquires the server identification information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit, the first signal further includes the server identification information acquired by the identification unit, and the demand unit transmits the second signal to the door control device server indicated by the server identification information included in the first signal, as taught by Yoden with the delivery system of Daniel-Wayman in view of Hanlon. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Yoden that doing so would help improve a user's constant purchases of consumable items and/or seller's constant deliveries of consumable items [0006].
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0117874 to Daniel-Wayman et al. (Daniel-Wayman) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0219348 to Hanlon (Hanlon), as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244461 to Nandakumar (Nandakumar).
As to claim 5, Daniel-Wayman in view of Hanlon teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Daniel-Wayman does not teach, wherein the door control device further includes a display unit that displays the identification code on a screen, the identification code includes random number information that is changed at a predetermined timing, the business terminal further includes an identification unit that acquires the random number information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit, the first signal and the second signal include the random number information acquired by the identification unit, the door control device server includes a random number determination unit that determines whether or not the random number information included in the unlock demand received by the demand reception unit is the newest, and the instruction unit transmits the unlock instruction when the second signal is received by the demand reception unit and when the random number determination unit determines that the random number information is the newest. However, Nandakumar teaches, wherein the door control device further includes a display unit that displays the identification code on a screen (“… If the request was submitted by scanning the ‘QR Code’ using a wallet app, then a one-time authorization code and/or a response message will be displayed in the said wallet app …” and “… The mobile wallet would display the response in the mobile device. If the request is processed successfully then the response message would include the one-time authorization code” [0210 and 0236]),
the identification code includes random number information that is changed at a predetermined timing (“… If the validation process does not terminate and the entered values of all the fields as shown in FIG. 2-25 are valid, then the service provider 2-8 would create a new unique random number and update the QR Code database 2-132 as per the schema 2-119 as shown in FIG. 2-24 …” and “… The content of the QR Code would be facility ID, check-point ID, scanner chamber number, dip switch 2-68 settings and/or serial number 2-69, the text ‘GET CODE’ and a service provider 2-8 provided random number generated each time the QR Code is replaced. Inspectors 2-10 can replace the QR Code as often as required … If the mobile wallet process is not terminated, then the mobile wallet would verify the random number included in the QR Code with the service provider 2-10 using an Application Programming Interface provided by the service provider 2-10 …” [0200 and 0236]),
the business terminal further includes an identification unit that acquires the random number information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit (“If the end users 2-12 scanned the QR Code 2-100 or 2-110 using a mobile wallet, then the mobile wallet would read the content of the QR Code to start a mobile wallet process and provide a one-time authorization code or issue an error message …” and “… End-Users 3-12 get a one-time authorization code to unlock a door of the said security body scanner chamber facing secured area by scanning a ‘QR Code’ using a mobile wallet or by entering a mobile number in the ‘Key Pad’ and by pressing the ‘GET CODE’ button …” [0235-0236 and 0342]),
the first signal and the second signal include the random number information acquired by the identification unit (“If input type exists in the request message and is ‘QR CODE’ and if the verification process is not terminated the service provider 2-8 would terminate the verification process with response type ‘APPROVE’ and response message populated with the said random number …” [0246]),
the door control device server includes a random number determination unit that determines whether or not the random number information included in the unlock demand received by the demand reception unit is the newest, and the instruction unit transmits the unlock instruction when the second signal is received by the demand reception unit and when the random number determination unit determines that the random number information is the newest (“… If the mobile wallet process is not terminated, then the mobile wallet would verify the random number included in the QR Code with the service provider 2-10 using an Application Programming Interface provided by the service provider 2-10 …” and “… If the mobile wallet process is not terminated, then the mobile wallet would verify the random number included in the QR Code with the service provider 3-8 using an Application Programming Interface provided by the service provider 3-8 …” [0235-0236 and 0366-0367]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, wherein the door control device further includes a display unit that displays the identification code on a screen, the identification code includes random number information that is changed at a predetermined timing, the business terminal further includes an identification unit that acquires the random number information from the identification code read by the identification code reading unit, the first signal and the second signal include the random number information acquired by the identification unit, the door control device server includes a random number determination unit that determines whether or not the random number information included in the unlock demand received by the demand reception unit is the newest, and the instruction unit transmits the unlock instruction when the second signal is received by the demand reception unit and when the random number determination unit determines that the random number information is the newest, as taught by Nandakumar with the delivery system of Daniel-Wayman in view of Hanlon. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Nandakumar that doing so would improve the quality of check point security considerably [0007].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0380808 to Hager et al. (Hager)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0068078 to Schmidt et al. (Schmidt)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0300678 to Drako et al. (Drako)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0406111 to Doyon et al. (Doyon)
Japanese Patent Publication No. 2020/053047 to Uchiyama et al. (Uchiyama)
/S.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/RUPANGINI SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628