Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-16, 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “their positions” in line 6. “Their” is indefinite as it is unclear whether Applicant means to recite the positions of the actuations, display means, or both. Same issue is present in claim 16.
Similar issue is present in line 9 with the phrase “their positions”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation, “two or more display parts (2a, 2b)” should be corrected. The reference numeral 2a, 2b would work for “two” display parts but would not be appropriate for more display parts since “more” would necessarily be more than two in line 3. Further, in line 4, “each display part” should be considered as singular. The phrase should be changed to “each of the two display parts (2a, 2b)”. Same issue is present in claims 11, 22, 23.
Similar issues are present in other dependent claims, such as claim 11.
Claims 10 and 22 further recite the limitation, “wherein the partial displays can be made deferred in place and time”. This limitation is unclear, indefinite and does not particularly point out the subject matter. For the purposes of the office action, Examiner is considered that one display part is presented in a manufacturing process (i.e. deferred in time) and another display apart is mounted in a overlapping manner (i.e. deferred in place). However, further clarification or amendment must be provided for this particular limitation.
Claims 14 and 26 recite the limitation “its actuation” should be corrected to “the actuation”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “their surrounding surfaces”. It is unclear whether the surrounding surfaces are intended for the buttons or the display means.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the result" in line 6 from the end.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the function” in the last line.
Same issues are present in claim 16 for “the result” and “the function”.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitation, “the form” in line 2.
Claim 10 recites the limitation, “the partial displays” in line 2 from the end.
Same issue is present in claim 22.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “the display position” in line 5.
Same issue is present in claim 24.
Claim 14 reciters the limitation, “the start” in line 2 from the end.
The same issue is present in claim 26.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 12, 14-16, 19, 20, 24, 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (PGPUB 2017/0308732 A1) in view of Huang (PGPUB 2021/0073506 A1).
As to claim 1, Wang (Figs. 1, 2B, 5A and 5B) teaches, a display device (1) (mobile terminal 80) for a control system (Fig. 8) of potentially hazardous technical systems (i.e. mobile terminal with security of privacy information), such as industrial plants, machines or motor vehicles, the display device comprising:
a display means (2) (image output module, such as LCD, OLED, ¶ 272) which is configured at least to display one or more buttons (3) (application program icon 102, ¶ 119),
a (touch panel, ¶ 267) which is arranged on the display means (2) and which is configured to detect actuations (i.e. action of touching on the touch panel/touch screen) of the display device (1) and their positions (position)(¶ 267),
at least one detection device (5) (fingerprint collection module / fingerprint sensor)(¶ 155) which is configured to detect the buttons (3) of the display means (1) and actuations of the display device (1) and their positions (processor 802)(¶ steps 103 or 507: i.e. determine whether a touch position corresponds to the fingerprint recognition area)(¶ 100, 146, 191), and
a computing device (6) (processor 802) which is configured to check whether the buttons (3) of the display means (2) detected by the at least one detection device (5) correspond to the buttons (3) to be displayed by the display means (2) (¶ 100, 146, 191: i.e. steps 103 or 507), and/or whether the actuations and/or positions detected by the layer (4) and the at least one detection device (5) correspond to each other and to the displayed buttons (3) (¶ 182-184: i.e. user input is used to determine at least one object), and
wherein the computing device (6) is further configured to send information or control signals depending on the result of checking (i.e. control an application), so that a safe sequence (i.e. password/security) is achieved in a machine or device to be operated by actuation of the display device (¶ 172: i.e. only provides controlling when the password matches through the fingerprint recognition method)
Wang does not specifically teach, a control system of potentially hazardous technical systems, such as an industrial plants, machines or motor vehicles, …
a transparent and touch-sensitive layer, … device to be operated by actuation of the display device (1) by only triggering a potentially dangerous function, assigned by the control system to the button (3), if the display of the button (3) detected by the detection device (5) actually corresponds to the function assigned by the control system to the button (3).
Huang (Figs. 1, 3, 14) teaches, a control system (Fig. 14) of potentially hazardous technical systems, such as an industrial plants, machines or motor vehicles (i.e. for industrial equipment)(¶ 32),
a transparent and touch-sensitive layer (i.e. touch screen 1 includes cover glass and must be transparent to transmit light from display unit 2 to outside)(¶ 61, 63),
a device (i.e. industrial equipment) to be operated by actuation of the display device (1) by only triggering a potentially dangerous function, assigned by the control system to the button (3), if the display of the button (3) detected by the detection device (5) actually corresponds to the function assigned by the control system to the button (3)(¶ 3, 50: i.e. security of industrial equipment is protected by fingerprint and user identification. The specific steps and operation may follow Wang’s prior art discussed above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Huang’s fingerprint device into Wang’s touchscreen device with fingerprint sensor, so as to security of user information and screen unlocking for industrial equipment (¶ 120).
As to claim 3, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches wherein the display means (2) is designed in the (liquid crystal display) or light-emitting diode film (organic light emitting diode)(¶ 272).
Wang does not specifically teach the form of a film.
Huang (Figs. 1 and 5) teaches, wherein the display means (2) is designed in the form of a film (Figs. 1 and 5: i.e. display 112 and 2 are in slab and film form), in particular as a liquid crystal display or light-emitting diode film (¶ 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Huang’s fingerprint device into Wang’s touchscreen device with fingerprint sensor, so as to security of user information and screen unlocking for industrial equipment (¶ 120).
As to claim 4, Wang teaches the display device of claim 1 but does not specifically teach the touch-sensitive layer is in the form of a film.
Huang (Figs. 1, 5) teaches, wherein the transparent and touch-sensitive layer (4) is designed in the form of a film (Figs. 1 and 5: i.e. touch screen in a long planar slab format as shown in Fig. 1), in particular as a touch screen film (¶ 61).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Huang’s fingerprint device into Wang’s touchscreen device with fingerprint sensor, so as to security of user information and screen unlocking for industrial equipment (¶ 120).
As to claim 5, Wang teaches the display device of claim 1 but does not specifically teach a light field film.
Huang (Fig. 3) teaches, 0wherein one of the at least one detection device (5) is a light field film (photosensor array film 113)(¶ 59).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Huang’s fingerprint device into Wang’s touchscreen device with fingerprint sensor, so as to security of user information and screen unlocking for industrial equipment (¶ 120).
As to claim 6, Wang teaches the display device of claim 1 but does not specifically teach the fingerprint sensor structurally.
Huang (Fig. 5) teaches, wherein one of the at least one detection device (5) is a fingerprint sensor (7) (sensor unit 3) which is arranged directly below the display means (2) (Fig. 5: i.e. sensor unit 3 is directly below display 2), between the layer (4) and the display means (2) or above the layer (4) and is configured to detect fingerprints.
As to claim 8, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches, wherein the computing device (6) is furthermore configured to check whether the fingerprints detected by the fingerprint sensor (7) correspond to fingerprints (stored preset fingerprint information) stored in a data memory (8) (verification module, memory 806 which stores invoking data)(¶ 249, 250, 268).
As to claims 12 and 24, Wang (Figs. 2a-4a) teaches, wherein the display means (2) is configured to display buttons (3) such that the buttons (3) or their surrounding surfaces have one or more of the following features:
changing the display position after a predetermined time,
showing a continuous movement over the display means (2),
visible flashing,
flashing in such a way that the flashing is not visible but can be detected by the
detection device (5),
showing a dynamic change in brightness and/or color, and/or
showing patterns in a dynamic change of brightness and/or color (¶ 238: i.e. dynamically adjusted fingerprint recognition area. The images can be changed such as padlock icon in Fig. 3(a). The brightness of the icon is darker than the image of fingerprint in Fig. 4(a). Different prompt windows can be shown such as 403, 404 than 401).
As to claim 14, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches, wherein the computing unit (6) is configured to take into account an actuation of a button (3) detected by the at least one detection device (5) only when a predefined period of time has elapsed between the start of the display of the button (3) and its actuation (¶ 168, 255: i.e. activation of fingerprint recognition function occurs when detecting the first user interface is displayed. Further, the disabling can happen after 5 s of no input).
As to claim 15, Wang (Fig. 5B) teaches, wherein the display means (2) displays the buttons (3) differently during the predefined period of time than after the predefined period of time has elapsed (Fig. 5B: i.e. differently displayed by presenting a password identification area when fingerprint recognition function is disabled at 513), ¶ 168, 255: i.e. discussion of predefined period of 5 s).
As to claim 16, Wang (Figs. 1, 2B, 5A, 5B) teaches, a method (100) for displaying on a display device (1) (mobile terminal 80) for a control system (Fig. 8) of potentially hazardous technical systems (i.e. mobile terminal with security of privacy information), such as industrial plants, machines or motor vehicles, the method comprising:
displaying (110) at least one or more buttons (3) (application program icon 102, ¶ 119) by a display means (2) (image output module, such as LCD, OLED, ¶ 272),
detecting (120) actuations (i.e. user touch) of the display device (1) and their positions (position) by a (touch panel, ¶ 267) arranged on the display means (2) (¶ 267),
detecting (130) the buttons (3) of the display means (2) and actuations of the display device (1) and their positions by at least one detection device (5), (processor 802)(¶ steps 103 or 507: i.e. determine whether a touch position corresponds to the fingerprint recognition area)(¶ 100, 146, 191) and
checking (140), by a computing device (6) (processor 802),
whether the buttons (3) of the display means (2) detected by the at least one detection device (5) (fingerprint collection module / fingerprint sensor)(¶ 155) correspond to the buttons (3) to be displayed by the display means (2) (i.e. determine whether a touch position corresponds to the fingerprint recognition area, particularly image of buttons as shown in the figures)(¶ 100, 146, 191), and
whether the actuations and/or positions detected by the layer (4) and the at least one detection device (5) correspond to each other and to the displayed buttons (3) (i.e. determine whether a touch position corresponds to the fingerprint recognition area), and
sending (150), by the computing device (6), information (i.e. control to control an application) or control signals depending on the result of checking (140) (¶ 172: i.e. only provides controlling when the password matches through the fingerprint recognition method).
Wang does not specifically teach a transparent touch-sensitive layer, and
triggering a potentially dangerous function assigned to the button (3) by the
control system only if the display of the button (3) detected by the detection device (5)
actually corresponds to the function assigned by the control system to the button (3), so that a safe process is carried out in a machine or device to be operated by actuation of
the display device (1).
Huang (Figs. 1, 3, 14) teaches, a transparent and touch-sensitive layer (i.e. touch screen 1 includes cover glass and must be transparent to transmit light from display unit 2 to outside)(¶ 61, 63),
triggering a potentially dangerous function assigned to the button (3) by the control system only if the display of the button (3) detected by the detection device (5)
actually corresponds to the function assigned by the control system to the button (3), so that a safe process is carried out in a machine or device to be operated by actuation of
the display device (1) (¶ 3, 50: i.e. security of industrial equipment is protected by fingerprint and user identification. The specific steps and operation may follow Wang’s prior art discussed above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Huang’s fingerprint device into Wang’s touchscreen device with fingerprint sensor, so as to security of user information and screen unlocking for industrial equipment (¶ 120).
As to claim 19, Wang (Figs. 1, 2B, 5A and 5B) teaches, wherein detecting (130) the buttons comprises detecting (132) fingerprints by a detection device (5) which is a fingerprint sensor (7) (fingerprint collection module / fingerprint sensor)(¶ 155).
As to claim 20, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches,
wherein checking (140) comprises checking (141) whether the detected fingerprints
correspond to fingerprints (stored preset fingerprint information) stored in a data memory (8) (verification module, memory 806 which stores invoking data)(¶ 249, 250, 268).
As to claim 26, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches, wherein checking (140) takes into account an actuation of a button (3) only when a predefined period of time has elapsed between the start of the display of the button (3) and its actuation (¶ 168, 255: i.e. activation of fingerprint recognition function occurs when detecting the first user interface is displayed. Further, the disabling can happen after 5 s of no input).
As to claim 27, Wang (Fig. 5B) teaches, wherein displaying (110) displays the buttons (3) differently during the predefined time period than after the predefined time period has elapsed (Fig. 5B: i.e. differently displayed by presenting a password identification area when fingerprint recognition function is disabled at 513), ¶ 168, 255: i.e. discussion of predefined period of 5 s).
As to claim 28, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches, a non-transitory computer program product (software program) which is directly loadable into a memory (memory 806) of a programmable control apparatus of a display device (1), with program code means (processor 802) for executing all steps of the method according to claim 16 when the program product is executed on the control apparatus (¶ 268).
As to claim 29, Wang (Fig. 8) teaches, wherein one of the at least one detection device (5) is a camera (¶ 267: i.e. camera).
Claim(s) 9, 11, 13, 21, 23 and 25is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gordon et al (PGPUB 2019/0361694 A1).
As to claim 9, Wang and Huang teach the display of claim 1 but do not specifically teach gestures stored in a data memory.
Gordon (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the at least one detection device (5) and the layer (4) are further configured to detect gestures (touch gesture) during actuation (i.e. unlocking), and wherein the computing device (6) is further configured to check whether the gestures detected by the layer (4) and the at least one detection device (5) correspond to each other and correspond to gestures stored in a data memory (8) (¶ 1242: i.e. touch gesture having a predefined shape such as a letter or arrow, ¶ 1245: i.e. gesture database stored).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gordon’s gesture detection with two displays as shown in Fig. 1 into Wang’s touch display as modified with the teaching of Huang’s touch display, so as to provide greater functionality to the touchpad via multi-touch, and different gestures (¶ 204).
As to claim 11, Wang and Huang teach the display device of claim 1 but do not specifically teach wherein the display means (2) comprises two or more display parts (2a, 2b).
Gordon (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the display means (2) comprises two or more display parts (2a, 2b) (first backlit touchscreen 102 and second electronic ink screen 126), wherein each display part (2a, 2b) is configured to display a part of each button (3 (one or more applications 122)(Fig. 1),
wherein the display parts (2a, 2b) are arranged next to each other and each
button (3) extends to each display part (2a, 2b) (Fig. 39C).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gordon’s gesture detection with two displays as shown in Fig. 1 into Wang’s touch display as modified with the teaching of Huang’s touch display, so as to provide greater functionality to the touchpad via multi-touch, and different gestures (¶ 204).
As to claim 13, Wang and Huang teach the display device of claim 1 but do not specifically teach checking simultaneously.
Gordon (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the computing unit (6) is further configured to perform the checking for two or more buttons (3) simultaneously (¶ 1244: i.e. simultaneously input, ¶ 1796).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gordon’s gesture detection with two displays as shown in Fig. 1 into Wang’s touch display as modified with the teaching of Huang’s touch display, so as to provide greater functionality to the touchpad via multi-touch, and different gestures (¶ 204).
As to claim 21, Wang and Huang teach the claim of 16 but do not specifically teach gestures stored in a data memory.
Gordon (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein detecting (120) actuations and detecting (130) the buttons comprises detecting (121, 131) gestures (touch gesture) during the actuation (i.e. unlocking), and wherein checking (140) comprises checking (141) whether the gestures detected by the layer (4) and the at least one detection device (5) correspond to each other and correspond to gestures stored in a data memory (8) (¶ 1242: i.e. touch gesture having a predefined shape such as a letter or arrow, ¶ 1245: i.e. gesture database stored).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gordon’s gesture detection with two displays as shown in Fig. 1 into Wang’s touch display as modified with the teaching of Huang’s touch display, so as to provide greater functionality to the touchpad via multi-touch, and different gestures (¶ 204).
As to claim 23, Wang and Huang teach the display device of claim 1 but do not specifically teach wherein the display means (2) comprises two or more display parts (2a, 2b).
Gordon (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein displaying (110) is effected by two or more display parts (2a, 2b) (first backlit touchscreen 102 and second electronic ink screen 126) of the display means (2), wherein each display part (2a, 2b) displays a part of each button (3 (one or more applications 122)(Fig. 1), in such a way that each
button (3) extends to each display part (2a, 2b) (Fig. 39C).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gordon’s gesture detection with two displays as shown in Fig. 1 into Wang’s touch display as modified with the teaching of Huang’s touch display, so as to provide greater functionality to the touchpad via multi-touch, and different gestures (¶ 204).
As to claim 25, Wang and Huang teach the display device of claim 1 but do not specifically teach checking simultaneously.
Gordon (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein checking (140) checks two or more buttons (3) simultaneously (¶ 1244: i.e. simultaneously input, ¶ 1796).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gordon’s gesture detection with two displays as shown in Fig. 1 into Wang’s touch display as modified with the teaching of Huang’s touch display, so as to provide greater functionality to the touchpad via multi-touch, and different gestures (¶ 204).
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al (PGPUB 2023/0176442 A1).
As to claim 10, Wang and Huang teach the display device of claim 1 but do not specifically teach the display means comprises two or more display parts (2a, 2b).
Kim (Fig. 2) teaches, wherein the display means (2) comprises two or more display parts (2a, 2b) (first display panel 100 and second display panel 300), wherein each display part (2a, 2b) is configured to display a part of each button (3) (Fig. 1: i.e. part of same avatar of skier is displayed via PA1 and PA2),
wherein the display parts (2a, 2b) are arranged one above the other, at least one
display part (2a) is semi-transparent and the buttons (3) result from the superimposition of the partial displays (Fig. 2: i.e. 100 is on top of 300 and light from 300 and 400 transfers through 100), and wherein the partial displays can be made deferred in place and time (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s display structure into Wang’s display device as modified with the teaching of Huang, so as to improve visibility and contrast ratio (¶ 54).
As to claim 22, Wang and Huang teach the method of claim 16 but do not specifically teach two or more display parts.
Kim (Fig. 2) teaches, wherein displaying (110) is effected by two or more display parts (2a, 2b) (first display panel 100 and second display panel 300), of the display means (2), wherein each display part (2a, 2b) displays a part of each button (3) (Fig. 1: i.e. part of same avatar of skier is displayed via PA1 and PA2), in such a way that the buttons (3) result from the superimposition of the partial displays , wherein the partial displays can be made deferred in place and time (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s display structure into Wang’s display device as modified with the teaching of Huang, so as to improve visibility and contrast ratio (¶ 54).
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623