DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims 1-32, filed 17 October 2025, which are pending in this application.
EXAMINER’S NOTE
The Examiner notes that the pending application is replete with grammatical errors, indefinite language, and lack of antecedence errors that has made thorough examination remarkably challenging. The application has been interpreted to the best of the Examiner’s ability when considered as a whole, but the Examiner notes that the succeeding rejections may not be conclusive. The Examiner respectfully requests that the Applicant review every single claim for compliance with 37 CFR 1.112, 37 CFR 1.121(d), and 35 U.S.C 112(b) so as to facilitate a clear understanding of the claimed invention and for proper application of prior art.
Further, the Examiner respectfully requests that the entire Specification and each Drawing be thoroughly reviewed for clarity. The succeeding objections are a valiant attempt but are regretfully not an exhaustive review of the Specification and Drawings as this type of review would cause an undue burden upon the Examiner based upon the number of issues within the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1: “a shaft”, “a tongue”, “body side”, “ski boot side”, circumference edge”, “spatial lattice structure”, “lattice structure”, “open space”, and “ribs”
Claim 3: “at tongue attachment lattice” and “a fastening operation”
Claim 4: “at least one ventilation opening towards the outside of the ski boot”
Claim 5: “the vent is located at a top side of the buffer body”
Claim 6: “the ventilation opening is arranged in a part of the circumference edge that is arranged at the top of the buffer body.”
Claim 8: “compressible lattice structure elements”
Claim 11: “a starting shape”
Claim 18: “shin support”
Claim 19: “a lower leg muscle relief surface with a curved shape in order to envelop the lower leg muscle substantially in a form adjacent surrounding manner”
Claim 20: “the lower leg muscle relief surface is at the opposite side of the relief slit arranged relative to the shin support”
Claim 21: “a body contact material”
Claim 24: “the lattice structure is formed using cell shapes as encompassing tetrahedal, centroidal and/or voronoid shapes.”
Claim 25: “inside of a shaft or shell material”
Claim 26: “the outer shell is provided with at least one ventilation opening for the purpose of providing ventilation”
Claim 27: “where at least one vent is made out as a slot or elongated opening”
Claim 28: “comprising closing means, such as a valve, plate or slide, for closing of the at least one ventilation opening, preferably comprising a magnetic coupling with the outer shell”
Claim 30: “at least one ventilation opening in a respective part of a shell or shaft thereof”
Claim 31: “a ventilation opening of the ski boot tongue assembly overlaps with a respective ventilation opening of the ski boot”
Claim 32: “where at least one vent is made out as a slot or elongated opening”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following reference characters are not in the Specification:
“10”, “12”, “31”, “43”, “14’”, “15’”, “A”, “B”, “25”, “26”, and “41’”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following reference characters are not in the Drawings:
“22’”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following structure has multiple reference numbers:
“openings” has been designated as “14”, “15”, and “17”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following individual reference characters have been used to designate multiple structures each:
There are multiple uses of “A” and “B” in the Drawings (See Figs. 3-5) but are not disclosed in the Specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 2, line 4 should recite, “- the spatial lattice structure comprises”
Appropriate correction is required.
Page 9, line 15 states, “PU” which is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example “polyurethane (PU)”.
Page 9, lines 26-27, should recite, “built up using cell shapes such as tetrahedral, centroidal, and/or Voronoi shapes.”
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Claim 19 recites, “comprising a lower leg muscle relief surface with a curved shape in order to envelop the lower leg muscle substantially in a form adjacent surrounding manner” which is not disclosed in the Specification. It is unclear what “a form adjacent surrounding manner” means.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-32 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, should recite, “A buffer
Claim(s) 2-24, line 1 respectively, should recite, “The buffer
Claim(s) 2-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20, 25-26, and 30-32, line 1 respectively (except for claim 25 which includes lines 1-2), should recite, “according to claim #,”
Claim(s) 4 should recite, “comprising at least one ventilation opening towards an outside of the ski boot.”
Claim(s) 6 should recite, “wherein the at least one ventilation opening is arranged in a part of a circumference edge that is arranged at a top of the buffer body.”
Claim(s) 17 should recite, “wherein the tibia contact surface is arranged such that [[it]] the tibia contact surface lies flush against a tibia during use.”
Claim 23, line 2: “PU” is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example “polyurethane (PU)”.
Claim 25, line 1, should recite, “A ski
Claim(s) 26-28, line 1 respectively, should recite, “The ski
Claim(s) 26 should recite, “wherein the outer shell is provided with at least one ventilation opening for
Claim(s) 27 should recite, “wherein the outer shell is provided with at least one ventilation opening for
Claim 29, line 1 should recite, “A ski the ski boot tongue assembly according to claim 1.”
Claim(s) 30-32, line 1 respectively should recite, “The ski
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-16, 18-22, 24-25, 27-28, and 30-32(and claims 4, 6-7, 17, 23, 26, and 29 at least for depending from a rejected claim) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, independent claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a part of the human body”, and the claim also recites “a part of the lower leg” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Independent Claim 1 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “Buffer body for a ski boot tongue assembly, for a ski boot with a shaft and a tongue providing a buffer effect between the ski boot and a part of the human body that is arrangeable in the ski boot, such as a part of the lower leg, wherein the buffer body comprises:- a body side that is directed towards the body during use providing a support effect for supporting of the body,- a ski boot side that is directed away from the body during use,- a circumference edge bordering the body side and the ski boot side,- a spatial lattice structure with open space between ribs forming the lattice structure, wherein - the spatial letter structure comprises a buffer material with resilient properties”. It is unclear if “Buffer body” is being claimed as a noun or a verb as there is no indefinite article preceding the opening to the preamble. Further, it is unclear if the buffer body and/or ski boot tongue assembly are for the ski boot, or if the buffer body is for the ski boot tongue assembly and the ski boot tongue assembly is for the ski boot. Further, it is unclear if the buffer effect is caused by the ski boot tongue assembly, ski boot, shaft, or tongue. Further, it is unclear if “a part of the lower leg” is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use since “such as” is open-ended. Further, there is a lack of antecedence in the claim for “the human body”, “the lower leg”, “the body”, and “the lattice structure” as there is no “a human body”, “a lower leg”, “a body”, and “the lattice structure” previously recited. Further, it is unclear what structure “the body” is referring to; it is unclear if “the body” is the buffer body, the human body, or the body side. Further, there appears to be a typographical error at “the spatial letter structure”. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “A buffer comprising: a ski boot having a shaft and a tongue for providing a buffer effect between the ski boot and a part of a human body that is arrangeable in the ski boot, human body during use and providing a support effect for supporting of the human body,- a ski boot side that is directed away from the human body during use,- a circumference edge bordering the body side and the ski boot side,- a spatial lattice structure with open space between ribs forming a lattice structure, wherein - the spatial lattice structure comprises a buffer material with resilient properties”.
Claim 2 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the lattice structure at the body side comprises a body contact lattice suitable for clothing contact, such as sock contact or pants contact, and/or body contact”. It is unclear if “such as sock contact or pants contact” is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use since “such as” is open-ended. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the lattice structure at the body side comprises a body contact lattice suitable for clothing contact
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “means of a fastening operation”, and the claim also recites “viewing [the Examiner believes the Applicant intended to recite ‘gluing’] or welding” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 3 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the letter structure at the ski boot side comprises a tongue attachment lattice suitable for arranging in the ski boot tongue assembly, such as by means of a fastening operation such as viewing or welding”. It is unclear what is meant by “letter structure” and “viewing or welding”. “letter” and “viewing” both appear to be a typographical errors. Further, it is unclear if “such as by means of a fastening operation such as viewing or welding” is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use since “such as” is open-ended. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the lattice structure at the ski boot side comprises a tongue attachment lattice suitable for arranging in the ski boot tongue assemblygluing or welding”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the vent is located at a top side of the buffer body”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no “a vent” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “the at least one ventilation opening is located at a top side of the buffer body”.
Claim 8 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein ventilation for the lattice structure comprises compressible lattice structure elements.”. It is unclear if the limitation “ventilation for the lattice structure” is a recitation of intended use or a process. Further, it is unclear how the action of “ventilation” can contain the compressible lattice structure elements and how this functions. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein ventilation for the lattice structure comprises compressible lattice structure elements” means the lattice structure has compressible structural elements, and ventilation via the open lattice structures previously recited.
Claim 9 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the compressible lattice structure elements are compressible by compressive force by a respective or adjacent part of the human body”. It is unclear what “a respective… part of the human body” means as it is unclear if there is a collective part of the human body in the compressive lattice structure elements. Further, it is unclear what the difference between a respective part of the human body and an adjacent part of the human body is. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the compressible lattice structure elements are configured to be compressible by a compressive force by an
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “the spatial lattice structure is resiliently compressible”. It is unclear what “resiliently compressible” means as “resiliently” is not defined in the Specification. It is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art would know a “resiliently compressible” structure from any other type of compressibility. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “the spatial lattice structure is resiliently compressible” being a structure that is compressible.
Claim 11 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the spatial lattice structure provides a starting shape when the spatial lattice structure is arranged in the ski boot, as arranged in the ski boot without a thereon exerted force”. It is unclear what is meant by “as arranged in the ski boot without a thereon exerted force.” It is unclear what “a thereon exerted force” is related to, whether the “exerted force” is “thereon” the ski boot or the spatial lattice structure. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the spatial lattice structure provides a starting shape when the spatial lattice structure is arranged in the ski bootan exerted force placed thereon”.
Claim 13 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “comprising a relief slit for relief of the tibialis anterior and/or a tendon of the tibialis anterior”. It is unclear if “the tibialis anterior” is intended to be a general area of the human body or if “the tibialis anterior” is intended to be the tendon itself. Anatomically, there are no other tendons in the tibialis anterior except for the tibialis anterior tendon alone. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “comprising a relief slit configured for relief of [[the]] a tibialis anterior tendon
Claim 14 recites the limitation, “the relief slit is substantially centrally arranged at the inside of the buffer body.” It is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art can ascertain how much the relief slit can deviate from being centrally arranged to be considered “substantially centrally arranged.”
Claim 14 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the relief slit is substantially centrally arranged at the inside of the buffer body, preferably extending from the top to the bottom”. It is unclear what structure the relief slit extends from the top to the bottom of, and it is unclear if the relief slit actually does extend from the top to the bottom of that structure since “preferably” denotes optionality. Further, there is a lack of antecedence in the claim for “the top” and “the bottom” as there is no “a top” nor “a bottom” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the relief slit is substantially centrally arranged at the inside of the buffer body,the relief slit extending from a top of the buffer body to a bottom of the buffer body”.
Claim 15 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the spatial lattice structure is provided with a tibia support comprising a tibia contact surface, preferably comprising a tibia contact surface with a congruence with the surface of the tibia”. It is unclear if the tibia contact surface actually comprises the tibia contact surface with the congruence since “preferably” denotes optionality. Further, there is a lack of antecedence in the claim for “the surface of the tibia” as there is no “a surface of the tibia” previously recited. Further, it is unclear if there are two tibia contact surfaces. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the spatial lattice structure is provided with a tibia support comprising a tibia contact surface, the tibia contact surface configured for a congruence with a surface of a tibia”.
Claim 16 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the body side wherein the tibia contact surface is essentially flat”. It is unclear if the claim is directed to the body side or the tibia contact surface. Further, it is unclear if the structure claimed is flat or not, and how one having ordinary skill in the art would determine how much the structure can deviate from being flat to be considered “essentially flat”. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “
Claim 18 recites the limitation “wherein the relief slit is arranged along the shin support”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no “a relief slit” nor “a shin support” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein a relief slit is arranged along a shin support”.
Claim 19 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “comprising a lower leg muscle relief surface with a curved shape in order to envelop the lower leg muscle substantially in a form adjacent surrounding manner”. It is unclear what “a form adjacent surrounding manner” is as this is not disclosed in the Specification. It is unclear if the “form” is regarding the shape of the lower leg muscle relief surface or the lower leg muscle. Further, it is unclear if “form adjacent” means the configuration of the curved shape is the same as the configuration of the lower leg muscle or if the lower leg muscle relief surface configuration is the same as the configuration of the lower leg muscle. Further, it is unclear what a “surrounding manner” means. Further, it is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art can ascertain how much the lower leg muscle relief surface can deviate from enveloping the lower leg muscle to be considered to “envelop the lower leg muscle substantially in a form adjacent surrounding manner.” Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “comprising a lower leg muscle relief surface with a curved shape configured to envelop a lower leg muscle substantially in a form-fitting manner” consistent with Applicant’s Spec Pg. 8:8-9.
Claim 20 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the lower leg muscle relief surface is at the opposite side of the relief slit arranged relative to the shin support”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no “an opposite side”, “a relief slit”, nor “a shin support” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the lower leg muscle relief surface is at an opposite side of a relief slit arranged relative to a shin support”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 21 recites the broad recitation “a body contact material”, and the claim also recites “a foam or a textile” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Further, the broad recitation “suitable for clothing contact”, and the claim also recites “sock contact or pants contact” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 21 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the body side comprises a body contact material, such as a foam or a textile, with moisture-permeable properties, suitable for clothing contact, such as sock contact or pants contact, and/or body contact”. It is unclear if “such as a foam or a textile” and “such as sock contact or pants contact” is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use since “such as” is open-ended. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the body side comprises a body contact materialcomprising a foam or a textile[[,]] with moisture-permeable properties[[,]] and being suitable for clothing contact
Claim 22 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “a part of the lattice structure forming the tibia support is constructed with a relatively higher stiffness than a part of the lattice structure forming the lower leg muscle relief surface”. It is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art can ascertain how much the tibia support can deviate in stiffness from the lattice structure to be considered having a “relatively higher stiffness”. Further, there is a lack of antecedence in the claims for “the tibia support” as there is no “a tibia support” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “a part of the lattice structure forming a tibia support is constructed with a relatively higher stiffness than a part of the lattice structure forming the lower leg muscle relief surface”.
Claim 24 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the lattice structure is formed using cell shapes as encompassing tetrahedal, centroidal and/or voronoid shapes”. There appears to be two typographical errors in “tetrahedral” and “voronoid” as these shapes are not found in mathematics nor defined in the Specification. Further, it is unclear if “as encompassing” means that the cell shapes are surrounding tetrahedral, centroidal, and/or Voronoi shapes, or if the cell shapes are tetrahedral, centroidal, and Voronoi shapes. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the lattice structure is formed using cell shapes comprising: tetrahedral, centroidal, and/or Voronoi shapes”.
Claim 25 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “Ski boot tongue assembly comprising a buffer body according to claim 1, the ski boot tongue assembly comprising an outer shell for arrangement against an inside of a shaft or shell material of a ski boot”. It is unclear if “Ski boot tongue” is being claimed as a noun or a verb as there is no indefinite article preceding the opening to the preamble. Further, it is unclear if this is the same ski boot tongue assembly and buffer body previously recited in claim 1 or a new/different set of structures. Further, if it unclear if the “a shaft… of a ski boot” is the same as the “a ski boot with a shaft” previously recited in claim 1 or a new/different set of structures. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “The ski the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the ski boot tongue assembly comprises an outer shell for arrangement against an inside of [[a]] the shaft or shell material of [[a]] the ski boot”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “where at least one vent is made out as a slot or elongated opening”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no “at least one vent” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “where at least one ventilation opening is
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 28 recites the broad recitation “closing means”, and the claim also recites “a valve, plate, or slide… comprising a magnetic coupling” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 28 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “comprising closing means, such as a valve, plate or slide, for closing of the at least one ventilation opening, preferably comprising a magnetic coupling with the outer shell”. It is unclear if “such as a valve, plate or slide” and “a magnetic coupling” is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use since “such as” and “preferable” are both open-ended. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “comprising closing meansthe closing means comprising a valve, plate, or slide; and wherein the closing means further comprise
Claim 30 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “comprising at least one ventilation opening in a respective part of a shell or shaft thereof”. It is unclear if “a respective part of a shell or shaft thereof” is referring to the ski boot or the at least one ventilation opening. Further, it is unclear if the shell or shaft are part of the ski boot or the at least one ventilation opening. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “comprising at least one ventilation opening, the at least one ventilation opening in a of the ski boot or the shaft of the ski boot
Claim 31 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “where a ventilation opening of the ski boot tongue assembly overlaps with a respective ventilation opening of the ski boot.” It is unclear if “a respective ventilation opening of the ski boot” is the same or different structure than the “at least one ventilation opening” of claim 30, from which claim 31 depends. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “where a ventilation opening of the ski boot tongue assembly overlaps with [[a]] the respective at least one ventilation opening of the ski boot.”
Claim 32 recites the limitation “where at least one vent has an elongated slot shape”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no “at least one vent” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “where at least one ventilation opening is
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim(s) 9, 13, 15, and 19 (and claims 14, 16-17, and 20 at least for depending from a rejected claim) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding Claim 9, Applicant appears to have positively recited and claimed a human body part because “part of the human body” is within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to add functional language such as "adapted to/for” or “configured to/for” preceding, or “when in use” succeeding any reference to a human or human body part. For example, Applicant could recite, “wherein the compressible lattice structure elements are configured to be compressible by a compressive force by an
Regarding Claim 13, Applicant appears to have positively recited and claimed a human body part because “tibialis anterior and/or a tendon of the tibialis anterior” is within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to add functional language such as "adapted to/for” or “configured to/for” preceding, or “when in use” succeeding any reference to a human or human body part. For example, Applicant could recite, “comprising a relief slit configured for relief of [[the]] a tibialis anterior tendon
Regarding Claim 15, Applicant appears to have positively recited and claimed a human body part because “the surface of the tibia” is within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to add functional language such as "adapted to/for” or “configured to/for” preceding, or “when in use” succeeding any reference to a human or human body part. For example, Applicant could recite, “wherein the spatial lattice structure is provided with a tibia support comprising a tibia contact surface, the tibia contact surface configured for a congruence with a surface of a tibia.”
Regarding Claim 19, Applicant appears to have positively recited and claimed a human body part because “lower leg muscle” is within a product claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to add functional language such as "adapted to/for” or “configured to/for” preceding, or “when in use” succeeding any reference to a human or human body part. For example, Applicant could recite, “a lower leg muscle relief surface with a curved shape configured to envelop a lower leg muscle substantially in a form adjacent surrounding manner.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22, 24-27, and 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schievenin EP 3884801.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Schievenin discloses a buffer body (Fig. 12 #12) for a ski boot tongue assembly (Figs. 1-8 #121/123), for a ski boot (Figs. 1-8 #100) with a shaft (Figs. 1-8 #110) and a tongue (Figs. 1-8 #121) providing a buffer effect between the ski boot and a part of the human body that is arrangeable in the ski boot (¶0002), such as a part of the lower leg (¶0023), wherein the buffer body comprises:- a body side (Figs. 1-3 show the ski boot which has an interior for the liner #120, the interior being the “body side”; ¶0033 notes “the inner boot 120” which appears to be the liner on the interior of the boot, the interior being the “body side”) that is directed towards the body during use providing a support effect for supporting of the body (¶0033),- a ski boot side (Fig. 1 shows the ski boot #100 exterior) that is directed away from the body during use (Fig. 1),- a circumference edge bordering the body side and the ski boot side (Schievenin Annt. Fig. 1),- a spatial lattice structure (Fig. 13 #1) with open space (Figs. 13-33 shows openings; ¶0054) between ribs (Figs. 13-25 #4/14) forming the lattice structure (Fig. 17 #22), wherein - the spatial letter structure comprises a buffer material with resilient properties (¶0087-0089).
Examiner notes that italicized limitations in the Prior Art rejections are functional and do not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead require the ability of the structure to perform and/or function. As the Prior Art of Schievenin discloses the structure of the buffer body/ski boot tongue assembly/ski boot, there would be a reasonable expectation for the buffer body/ski boot tongue assembly/ski boot to perform such functions as explained after each functional limitation.
Regarding Claim 2, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 wherein the lattice structure at the body side comprises a body contact lattice suitable for clothing contact, such as sock contact or pants contact, and/or body contact (¶0045; Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.)
Regarding Claim 3, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 wherein the letter structure at the ski boot side comprises a tongue attachment lattice (Fig. 12 #121D) suitable for arranging in the ski boot tongue assembly (¶0044), such as by means of a fastening operation such as viewing or welding (¶0096).
Regarding Claim 4, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 comprising at least one ventilation opening towards the outside of the ski boot (Figs. 13-28 #O2; ¶0054).
Regarding Claim 5, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 4 wherein the vent is located at a top side of the buffer body (Figs. 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 4 wherein the ventilation opening is arranged in a part of the circumference edge that is arranged at the top of the buffer body (Figs. 12-33).
Regarding Claim 7, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 comprising a ventilation-promoting lattice structure (Figs. 12-33 show an open structure capable of promoting ventilation; ¶0054).
Regarding Claim 8, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 7 wherein ventilation for the lattice structure comprises compressible lattice structure elements (¶0071).
Regarding Claim 9, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 8 wherein the compressible lattice structure elements are compressible by compressive force by a respective or adjacent part of the human body (¶0069-0074, 0101).
Regarding Claim 10, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the spatial lattice structure is resiliently compressible (¶0016, 0096).
Regarding Claim 11, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the spatial lattice structure provides a starting shape (Fig. 12) when the spatial lattice structure is arranged in the ski boot (Fig. 12; ¶0044, 0048), as arranged in the ski boot without a thereon exerted force (Fig. 12; ¶0087-0089).
Regarding Claim 12, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 11 wherein the spatial lattice structure is resiliently compressible from the starting shape (¶0087-0089).
Regarding Claim 13, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 comprising a relief slit (Fig. 17 #J) for relief of the tibialis anterior and/or a tendon of the tibialis anterior (¶0096).
Regarding Claim 14, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 13 wherein the relief slit is substantially centrally arranged at the inside of the buffer body, preferably extending from the top to the bottom (Fig. 12; ¶0044, 0048).
Regarding Claim 15, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the spatial lattice structure is provided with a tibia support (Fig. 13-18 #S1) comprising a tibia contact surface (Figs. 13-18 #18 surface), preferably comprising a tibia contact surface with a congruence with the surface of the tibia (Figs. 12-18; ¶0057).
Regarding Claim 16, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 15 wherein the body side wherein the tibia contact surface is essentially flat (Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 15 wherein the tibia contact surface is arranged such that it lies flush against the tibia during use (Fig. 12 would lay the tongue flush against the tibial area of the leg).
Regarding Claim 18, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the relief slit is arranged along (Fig. 12) the shin support (Fig. 1 #112).
Regarding Claim 19, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 comprising a lower leg muscle relief surface (Schievenin Annot. Fig. 12) with a curved shape (Schievenin Annot. Fig. 12) in order to envelop the lower leg muscle substantially in a form adjacent surrounding manner (Figs. 1-3 & 12; ¶0048).
Regarding Claim 20, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 19 wherein the lower leg muscle relief surface is at the opposite side of the relief slit arranged relative to the shin support (Figs. 12-33).
Regarding Claim 21, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the body side comprises a body contact material, such as a foam or a textile, with moisture-permeable properties, suitable for clothing contact, such as sock contact or pants contact, and/or body contact (¶0003, 0045; Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 22, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1 wherein a part of the lattice structure forming the tibia support is constructed with a relatively higher stiffness than a part of the lattice structure forming the lower leg muscle relief surface (¶0069-0072).
Regarding Claim 24, Schievenin discloses the buffer body according to claim 1, wherein the lattice structure is formed using cell shapes as encompassing tetrahedal, centroidal and/or voronoid shapes (Figs. 12-33).
Regarding Claim 25, Schievenin discloses a ski boot tongue assembly comprising a buffer body according to claim 1, the ski boot tongue assembly comprising an outer shell (Fig. 1 #110) for arrangement against an inside of a shaft or shell material of a ski boot (¶0028-0030).
Regarding Claim 26, Schievenin discloses the ski boot tongue assembly according to claim 25 wherein the outer shell is provided with at least one ventilation opening for the purpose of providing ventilation (Schievenin Annt. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 27, Schievenin discloses the ski boot tongue assembly according to claim 26, where at least one vent is made out as an elongated opening (Schievenin Annot. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 29, Schievenin discloses the ski boot comprising a ski boot tongue assembly according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 30, Schievenin discloses the ski boot according to claim 29 comprising at least one ventilation opening in a respective part of a shell or shaft thereof (Schievenin Annot. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 31, Schievenin discloses the ski boot according to claim 30 where a ventilation opening of the ski boot tongue assembly overlaps with a respective ventilation opening of the ski boot (Schievenin Annot. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 32, Schievenin discloses the ski boot according to claim 1 where at least one vent has an elongated slot shape (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schievenin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vandecruys US 20210177090.
Regarding Claim 23, Schievenin discloses the buffer according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the lattice structure comprises at least one elastomeric PU.
Vandecruys teaches a cushioning structure for footwear wherein a lattice structure (Figs. 1-11) comprises at least one elastomeric PU (¶0040).
Both Schievenin and Vandecruys teach analogous inventions in the art of lattice structures for footwear. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schievenin with the teachings of Vandecruys such that the lattice structure would be made of an elastomeric polyurethane because elastomeric polyurethane is readily available and commonly used in the production of shoes. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schievenin as applied to claim 1 and 25-26 above, and further in view of Dehn Us 20090203275.
Regarding Claim 28, Schievenin discloses the ski boot tongue assembly, according to claims 1, but does not expressly disclose a closing means, such as a valve, plate or slide, for closing of the at least one ventilation opening, preferably comprising a magnetic coupling with the outer shell.
Dehn teaches a footwear with a closing means (¶0043, 0048, 0053, 0121-0122), such as a valve, plate or slide (¶0043, 0048, 0053, 0121-0122), for closing of the at least one ventilation opening, preferably comprising a magnetic coupling with the outer shell (¶0043, 0048, 0053, 0121-0122).
Both Schievenin and Dehn teach analogous inventions in the art of lattice structures for footwear. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schievenin with the teachings of Dehn such that the at least one ventilation opening would have a closing means that is a valve, plate, or slide with a magnetic coupling to the outer shell as this combination “is advantageously designed so that it prevents more extensive conduction of moisture into the interior” (Dehn ¶0043). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vrijburg US 20190133245 teaches a ski shoe tongue assembly
Marega US 5265353 teaches a ski boot tongue liner
Dachgruber US 6360730 teaches a ki boot tongue assembly
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732