DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claimed invention must fall into one of the four recognized statutory classes of invention, a process (or method), a machine (or system); an article of manufacture; or a composite of matter. However, claim 15 do not fall within one of these recognized categories. Applicant’s specification does not preclude the medium from being a carrier wave. Examiner notes that since claim 15 are drawn to a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments, the claims maybe amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments, the examiner suggests to the applicant to overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, amend the claim to include the phrase “non-transitory”.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 16 recites “a computer program product comprises a computer program.” To perform the method of claim 1, which is non-statutory because it is directed towards software, per se, lacking storage on a medium, which enables any underlying functionality to occur. It is not clear whether instructions are in executable form and therefore there is no practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al., US Pg. Pub. No. (2017/0096164) referred to herineafter as Sun in view of Lu et al., US pg. Pub. No. (2021/0269038) referred to hereinafter as Lu.
As per claim 1, Sun teaches a method for automatic lane changing of vehicles (see at least Para 29-30), wherein the method comprises comprising: receiving scenario information (see at least Para 16-24); adjusting based on the scenario information (see at least 24, 29-30) and the lane change recommendations to mimic the driving style of the a driver during lane changes (see at least Para 27-30). Su does not expressly teach receiving lane change recommendations; and adjusting one or more parameters of the a PID controller. However Lu teaches receiving lane change recommendations (see at least fig. 1 step 101); and adjusting one or more parameters of the a PID controller (see at least fig.1 step 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu into the disclosure of Sun in order to obtain automated lane changes that both track a target lane and resemble a driver’s preferred steering behavior.
As per claim 2, Sun teaches a method according to claim 1, instruct the use of specific driver lane change samples based on the scenario information (see at least Para 27-30, 24). Sun does not expressly teach lane change recommendations. However Lu teaches lane change recommendations (see at least fig.1 step 101). See claim 1 for same motivation.
As per claim 3, Sun teaches a method according to claim 2, wherein the driver lane change samples record the driver's steering wheel torque (see at least Para 27-30, 16-19). Sun does not expressly teach the associated lateral distance Dy value for each cycle during the vehicle's lane change process. However Lu teaches the associated lateral distance Dy value for each cycle during the vehicle's lane change process (see fig. 5). See claim 1 for same motivation.
As per claim 4, Sun teaches a method according to any one of Claims 1 - 3 claim 1,wherein the scenario information is indicated at least by a wiper signal (see at least Para 21-24).
5. (Currently amended) The method according to claim 3, wherein, based on the scenario information and the lane change recommendations, adjusting one or more parameters of the PID controller to mimic the driving style of the driver during lane changes comprises the following: determining specific driver lane change samples based on the scenario information and the lane change recommendations (see at least Para 24, 27-300); using the lateral distance Dy error controller to determine the required steering wheel torque based on the currently measured lateral distance Dy value (see at least Para 16-190. Sun does not expressly teach calculating a parameter set for the a lateral distance Dy error controller in the PID controller based on the specific driver lane change samples. However Lu teaches calculating a parameter set for the a lateral distance Dy error controller in the PID controller based on the specific driver lane change samples (see at least fig. 1 step 103, fig. 5 and 15 PID coefficients and lateral-position). See claim 1 for same motivation.
As per claim 6, Sun does not expressly teach the limitation of claim 6, however Lu teaches wherein, based on the scenario information and the lane change recommendations, adjusting one or more parameters of the PID controller to mimic the driving style of the driver during lane changes further comprises utilizing a heading angle error controller in the PID controller to determine the required heading angle based on the currently measured heading angle (see at least figs. 6 and 15). See claim 1 for same motivation.
As per clam 7, Sun does not expressly teach the limitation of claims 7, however Lu teaches, wherein the parameter set of the lateral distance Dy error controller comprises an adjustment factor for the a proportional coefficient Kp of the PID controller, with the adjustment factor related to the lateral distance Dy (see at least figs. 1, step 103 and figs. 6 and 15). See claim 1 for same motivation.
As per claims 9-13 and 15-16, the limitations of claims 9-13 and 15-16 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-8, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Please refer to from 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669