DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-13 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/20/2025 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to Claim 5, the Examiner suggests updating the dependency to Claim 4 for the purpose of consistent antecedent basis for the ‘second connecting means’.
In regards to Claim 12, the Examiner suggests the following amendment(s):
‘an amusement ride (1) according to claim 1,’
‘an occupant’
In regards to Claim 13, which states ‘setting down’ the following amendment is suggested to be consistent with the language stated in Claim 12, “after lowering and depositing”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “can” in claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8-11 introduces indefiniteness into the overall scope of protection sought by the claim. The Examiner is unsure if the limitation following after 'can' is required or optional as the term "can” could be interpreted to express possibility. As such, the Examiner suggests amending the claim to clarify or further remove the term from Claim 5. The examiner further suggests amending the claim to “… [[can / can be]] is configured to / is configured to be support a user…”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the at least one vehicle" in claim 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim does not include proper antecedent basis for this element and is being treated as a new element, for that reason the Examiner suggests including proper primary antecedent basis in Claim 5 or another dependent claim thereof.
The term “preferably” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. When tied to a functional limitation like a "form-locking manner," it creates uncertainty over whether the form-locking structure is strictly required for infringement or merely a suggested, non-binding design choice. The Examiner suggests removing this term of ‘preferably’ prior tot ‘form-locking manner’ to have the limitation less of a vague optionality and more of a determined feature of the amusement ride.
Claim 9 recites the dependency of "claim 1". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 depends from claim 1, but recites the limitations "holding bracket" and "occupant restraint" without providing a prior antecedent basis in claim 1. Claim 1 does not recite a "holding bracket" or an "occupant restraint," making the references in claim 9 vague and confusing as to their structural relationship in the claim set. To overcome this rejection, claim 9 must be amended to depend from claim 6 (which properly introduces these elements), or alternatively, the limitations "holding bracket" and "occupant restraint" must be recited in an independent form with full structural context.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
‘first connecting means’ in claim 4
‘second connecting means’ in claim 5
‘a drive by means’ in claim 11
‘a means of occupant’ in claim 13
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Henderson et al., hereinafter 'Henderson' (US 20200405556 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Henderson teaches: An amusement ride (Fig. 1 and Abstract), in particular a roller coaster (Para 0019-0021), having
- at least one receiving area for at least one occupant (30 - Fig. 8),
- and an entry and/or exit region (60 - Fig. 5 and Fig. 8, shown to the left of receiving area in Fig. 8, noting Para 0050),
- wherein a transfer unit (20 - Fig. 8) is arranged in the entry and/or exit region (Fig. 8), and
- wherein the transfer unit can lift the at least one occupant (46 - Fig. 5) on a seat support (68 - Fig. 5) from the entry and/or exit region onto the at least one receiving area (showing transfer in Fig. 8).
In regards to Claim 2, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that the transfer unit can perform a lifting and lowering movement (Para 0026, Fig. 2) and a translation (Para 0028, Fig. 2).
In regards to Claim 3, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that the seat support is flexible, in particular in that the seat support comprises a seat mat (87 - Fig. 4, Para 0036), a support cloth, a seat shell or a beanbag.
In regards to Claim 4, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that first connecting means (100 - Fig. 8) are provided for forming a releasable connection between the transfer unit and the seat support (Fig. 8, Para 0042-0043).
In regards to Claim 5, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that second connecting means (106 - Fig. 7, Para 0042) are provided for fastening the seat support to the at least one vehicle (Fig. 7).
In regards to Claim 6, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that the transfer unit comprises at least one holding bracket (100 - Fig. 8, Para 0042-0043) to which the seat support can be attached (Fig. 8).
In regards to Claim 7, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 6, characterized in that the holding bracket is U-shaped or C-shaped (see Fig. 7 showing element 100 as U-shaped or C-shaped).
In regards to Claim 9, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that the holding bracket embraces a clear region in which the occupant restraint can be moved between an open (Fig. 7) and a closed position (Fig. 6).
In regards to Claim 11, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, characterized in that the transfer unit has a drive by means of which the lifting and lowering can take place at least with drive support (72 - Fig. 3, Para 0032).
In regards to Claim 12, Henderson teaches: A method of operating an amusement ride (Abstract), in particular an amusement ride (Para 0004) claim 1, having the following method steps:
- connecting a seat support (68 - Fig. 3) to a transfer unit (20 - Fig. 2),
- lifting and subsequent transporting of an occupant (Para 0021) arranged on the seat support (Fig. 2) from an entry and exit region (60, Fig. 5 and 8) via a receiving area (30 - 2) and lowering and depositing of the seat support on the receiving area or lifting of a occupant arranged on a seat support from a receiving area and subsequent transporting to an entry and exit region and lowering and depositing of the seat support (Examiner notes the 'OR' statement, such that the reverse motion shown from Fig. 8 to 6, 5, 4 and 3 show the reverse motion of lifting an occupant in reverse from the seat to receiving area to an entry/exit region and then lowering and depositing the seat support),
- releasing the connection between the seat support and the transfer unit (Fig. 4).
In regards to Claim 13, Henderson teaches: The method according to claim 12 characterized in that after lowering and setting down, a connection is established between the seat support (100 - Fig. 8, Para 0042-0045) and the transfer unit or a means of occupant transport (Para 0042), in particular a wheelchair (Para 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson' (US 20200405556 A1) in view of Zamperla (WO 2021111395 A1).
In regards to Claim 8, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride to claim 1, but Henderson does not explicitly teach, characterized in that the at least one receiving area comprises a occupant restraint which can hold the at least one occupant in the receiving area, preferably in a form-locking manner.
Zamperla teaches: characterized in that the at least one receiving area comprises a occupant restraint which can hold the at least one occupant in the receiving area, preferably in a form-locking manner (61 - Fig. 1, "it is further secured by a belt 61 which, in use, connects the bar 60 to the seat 1, and in particular to the seat portion 2.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Henderson’s amusement ride to include an occupant restraint for the receiving area, as taught by Zamperla, in order to securely retain an occupant within the receiving area during loading, unloading, and ride operation. Incorporating the occupant restraint of Zamperla would have predictably improved passenger safety by preventing unintended occupant movement while maintaining the rider in the desired position, which is a well-known design consideration in amusement ride systems. Such a modification merely applies a known restraint mechanism to Henderson’s receiving area to achieve its expected function without changing the principle of operation of the primary reference.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson' (US 20200405556 A1) in view of Sheldon (US 5884563 A).
In regards to Claim 10, Henderson teaches: The amusement ride according to claim 1, but Henderson does not explicitly teach, characterized in that the transfer unit comprises a lifting device which can be positioned above the entry and/or exit region and the at least one receiving area.
Sheldon teaches: characterized in that the transfer unit comprises a lifting device (60 - Fig. 5) which can be positioned above the entry and/or exit region and the at least one receiving area (60 is shown to be positioned adjacent thereto, and above, both the entry and/or exit region and the at least one receiving area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transfer unit of Henderson to comprise a lifting device positioned above the entry and/or exit region and the receiving area, as taught by Sheldon, in order to facilitate the lifting and transfer of passengers into and out of the amusement ride in a safe and efficient manner. Utilizing an overhead lifting device would have predictably improved accessibility for riders, particularly those with limited mobility, while simplifying the transfer process and reducing manual handling. The combination merely substitutes one known passenger transfer arrangement for another to obtain its expected and well-understood benefits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Santore (US-20200368085-A1) teaches: A transfer device configured to support a passenger for transfer from a mobile chair to a ride seat of a ride vehicle includes a frame coupled to a seating portion, where the seating portion is configured to support the passenger. The transfer device includes at least one wheel coupled to the frame. The transfer device also includes a mounting bracket coupled to the frame and configured to reversibly engage with the ride vehicle. In an engaged configuration, the transfer device is coupled to the ride vehicle such that a seating pan of the seating portion is aligned with the ride seat of the ride vehicle. The transfer device, when engaged, is configured to travel with the ride vehicle while the ride vehicle travels along a track.
Volz (US 6149528 A) teaches: An amusement ride vehicle includes a seat for accommodating a rider in a wheelchair. A door attached to the seat pivots outwardly. The seat bottom folds down and a seat back pivotably attached to the seat bottom retracts, to create space for maneuvering a wheelchair and reveals storage panels for wheelchair tiedowns. A fixed companion seat is provided alongside the space created for the wheelchair. To accommodate non-physically disabled riders, the seat bottom is moved to an up position and the seat back moved out, to align with the seat bottom and back of the fixed companion seat. The door, when in the closed position, engages a seat lock that supports the folding seat on both sides.
MADISON MATTHEWS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/MADISON MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
07/24/2026