DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-14, 16-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman (US 2008/0270905 A1 – hereinafter Goldman) and Wu et al. (US 11,070,888 B1 – hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 1, Goldman discloses a method for producing a video, comprising: displaying a video production interface (Fig. 8; [0105] – a video production interface displaying a loaded video production template), the video production interface comprising a media asset function item (Fig. 8 – the set of elements 812 corresponds to a media asset function item because selecting one of the element would cause a corresponding set of media assets for a corresponding act represented by the selected element 812); displaying a created media asset group operation region for at least two media asset groups in a media asset editing interface presented relative to the media asset function item (Fig. 8; Fig. 12; [0073] – displaying “media element selector 830” as a created media asset group operation region for media asset groups, each of which corresponds to a selected element 812 of the media asset function item, i.e. selecting “Act I” would cause displaying the created media asset group operation region for all versions of media assets for Act I, although Goldman does not explicitly illustrate displaying all versions of media assets for Act II or Act III when one of element “Act II” or element “Act III” is selected, Examiner interprets selecting element “Act II” or element “Act III” would cause displaying all version of media sets for Act II and Act III in the same manner, thus Goldman discloses “displaying a created media asset group operation region for at least two media asset groups in a media asset editing interface presented relative to the media asset function item”), and presenting formed media asset group information in the created media asset group operation region (Fig. 8 – displaying formed media asset group information in “media element selector” 830 as elements 832); and generating a pre-generated video set in response to a triggered video display operation (Fig. 8; [0105] – generating a pre-generated video set, as further described in [0086], in response to a trigger operation, i.e. when the user selects button “842”); wherein the video set comprises video information of at least two synthesized videos, the synthesized videos are generated based on the media asset group information, video contents comprised in different synthesized videos vary, and the video contents are some or all media asset contents extracted obtained from a media asset in each media asset group respectively ([0086] – a video list comprises pre-made synthesized media presentations for all of the possible combinations of the provided media assets for each segment in order to determine which pre-made media presentation corresponds to the selections made by the user).
However, Goldman does not disclose the pre-generated video set as a pre-generated video list; and presenting the pre-generated video list in a video display interface in response to a triggered video display operation.
Wu discloses a pre-generated video set as a pre-generated video list (column 10, lines 15-20 – a pre-generated video list displayed in at least one navigation list); and presenting a pre-generated video list in a video display interface (column 10, lines 15-20 – the pre-generated video list is presented in a video display interface for user’s selections).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Wu into the step of “generating a pre-generated video list in response to a triggered video display operation” in the method taught by Goldman above to allow the user to control which video to be favored and generated.
Regarding claim 4, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the video production interface further comprises a configuration function item, and the method further comprises: displaying a configuration operation region for at least two attribute items in an attribute configuration interface presented relative to the configuration function item, and presenting configured attribute configuration information in the configuration operation region (Fig. 10; [0107]-[0108]); correspondingly, the synthesized video being generated based on the media asset group information and the attribute configuration information, and the attribute configuration information being configured to define a playback attribute of the synthesized video and selection of the media asset contents constituting the video contents in the synthesized video (Fig. 10; [0107]-[0108] – the synthesized video comprising Act I, Act II, and Act III as shown is generated based on the media asset group information 1008, 1010, and 1012, and the attribute configuration information as shown in Fig. 11, and the attribute contents 1014 and 1022).
Regarding claim 5, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the attribute item comprises one or more of a cover attribute, a playback background attribute, a background music attribute, a filter attribute, a transition attribute, a media asset group shot attribute, and a media asset group sound attribute ([0075]; Fig. 10 – at least a media asset group sound attribute, i.e. audio 1016, 1018, and 1020); the configuration operation region displayed in the attribute configuration interface comprises one or more of a cover configuration region, a playback background configuration region, a background music configuration region, a filter configuration region, a transition configuration region, a shot configuration region, and a sound configuration region, the shot configuration region and the sound configuration region presenting an item to be configured in a form of corresponding to each media asset group; and the attribute configuration information comprises one or more of cover configuration information, playback background configuration information, background music configuration information, filter configuration information, transition configuration information, shot configuration information, and sound configuration information ([0074]-[0075] – at least a background music configuration region).
Regarding claim 9, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein a number of videos of the synthesized video comprised in the video list is less than or equal to a predetermined maximum video number ([0086] – in view of Wu disclosing the video list); video duration of the synthesized video in the video list is within a predetermined estimated duration range ([0086] – video duration of a synthesized video is within a predetermined estimated duration range, which is a sum of all video media assets combined for the corresponding synthesized video); and the maximum video number and the estimated duration range are determined by the attribute configuration information corresponding to each media asset group under the media asset group shot attribute comprised in the attribute item ([0086] – the number of media assets and duration of each media asset are determined by the attribute information).
Regarding claim 10, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the attribute configuration interface further comprises a production information preview region; and the production information preview region displays at least one of the following data information: a number of media asset groups of the created media asset group, a maximum number of videos of the synthesized video generable, an estimated duration range of the synthesized video, and a total media asset number of media assets added to all media asset groups (Fig. 8 – at least a production information preview region is displayed with at least a number of media asset groups of the created media asset group).
Regarding claim 11, see the teachings of Goldman and Wu as discussed in claim 1 above, wherein the video display interface comprises a preview playback region (Fig. 13 – region 1306) and the video list (Wu: column 10, lines 15-29), and the video information of the at least two synthesized videos comprised in the video list is displayed in a predetermined display order (Wu: column 10, lines 15-19); and wherein the method further comprises: importing the synthesized video corresponding to the video information into the preview playback region as a video to be played back in response to a selection operation for any of the video information in the video list (Wu: column 10, lines 15-19 – the user selecting a video corresponding to storyline for playback. Goldman: importing the selected video into the region 1306); and activating playback of the video to be played back in response to a trigger operation for a playback switch control in the preview playback region ([0122]; Fig. 13; Fig. 19 – playback of the selected video in response to a selection of a play button).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Wu into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein after responding to the selection operation for any of the video information in the video list (Figs. 13, 19 – in view of Wu disclosing selecting any of the video information in the video list in at least column 10, lines 15-29), the method further comprises: displaying a video editing control in a selection box of the video information ([0124]; [0130]; Figs. 13-16, 19); displaying a video editing region in the video display interface in response to a trigger operation for the video editing control, the video editing region comprising at least two video editing items ([0124]; [0130]; Figs. 13-16, 19); presenting an information editing window corresponding to the video editing item in response to a trigger operation for the video editing item ([0124]; [0130]; Figs. 13-16, 19); and obtaining and saving video editing information edited in the information editing window in response to a trigger operation for a save control ([0102]; [0169]-[0170] – saving the presentation).
Regarding claim 13, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the video display interface comprises a video packaging control and a batch selection control presented relative to the video list (Figs. 13-16 and Fig. 19 – a video packing control, wherein scenes can be individually selected. Wu: column 10, lines 15-29 – a bat selection control, wherein a whole storyline can be selected); and wherein the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation for the batch selection control, displaying a selection box for selecting the video information in the video list and taking the video information selected in the selection box as selected video information (Wu: column 10, lines 15-29 – selecting a whole video corresponding to a selected storyline); determining current video information to be edited from the selected video information in response to a trigger operation for the video packaging control (Goldman: Figs. 13-16, 19; [0124]; [0130] – determining a media asset within a scene or determining a scene to be edited in response to a selection); associating a presented video editing region with the current video information to be edited to edit video editing information for the current video information to be edited in the video editing region (Goldman: Figs. 13-16, 19; [0124]; [0130]); and in response to receiving a trigger operation for a presented previous selection control or a next selection control, determining new current video information to be edited from the selected video information and returning to re-execute the operation of associating a presented video editing region with the current video information to be edited (Goldman: Figs. 13-16, 19; [0124]; [0130]).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Wu into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses generating and saving target videos of the corresponding synthesized videos respectively in response to receiving a generation operation relative to one or more synthesized videos in the video list ([0086]; [0169]-[0170] – in view of Wu disclosing the video list in at least column 10, lines 15-29).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Wu into the method has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Goldman also disclosing an electronic device (Fig. 1A), comprising: one or more processors ([0040]-[0041] – at least one processor); and a storage apparatus configured to store instructions ([0040]-[0041] – a memory medium); when executed by the one or more processors, the instructions cause the one or more processors to perform the recited operations ([0040]-[0041] – the instructions stored in a memory, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processors to perform the method in view of Wu’s teachings as discussed in claim 1 above).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Goldman also disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions ([0040]-[0041] – a memory medium), wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the recited operations ([0040]-[0041] – the instructions stored in a memory, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processors to perform the method in view of Wu’s teachings as discussed in claim 1 above).
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claims 2-3 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman and Wu as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 9-14, 16-17, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Fan (US 2017/0111668 A1 – hereinafter Fan).
Regarding claim 2, Goldman in view ofWu also discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying a created media asset group operation region for at least two media asset groups in a media asset editing interface presented relative to the media asset function item, and presenting formed media asset group information in the created media asset group operation region (Fig. 8; Fig. 12), comprise: displaying the media asset editing interface in response to a trigger operation for the media asset function item (Fig. 8; Fig. 12 – displaying “media element selector 830” as a created media asset group operation region for media asset groups, each of which corresponds to a selected element 812 of the media asset function item, i.e. selecting “Act I” would cause displaying the created media asset group operation region for all versions of media assets for Act I, although Goldman does not explicitly illustrate displaying all versions of media assets for Act II or Act III when one of element “Act II” or element “Act III” is selected, Examiner interprets selecting element “Act II” or element “Act III” would cause displaying all version of media sets for Act II and Act III in the same manner, thus Goldman discloses “displaying a created media asset group operation region for at least two media asset groups in a media asset editing interface presented relative to the media asset function item”), the media asset group operation region comprising a media asset addition control (Fig. 8 – control 834 for uploading/importing media for act 1); in response to a trigger operation for the media asset addition control, obtaining at least a media asset selected or imported from a presented media asset addition window and taking media asset information of the media assets as the media asset group information (Fig. 8; [0105] – importing at least a media asset); and adding the media asset group information, and displaying the media asset group information in the corresponding media asset group operation region (Fig. 8 – displaying the media asset group information in element 830).
However, Goldman and Wu do not disclose obtaining at least a media asset selected or imported; the media asset editing interface comprising a media asset group creation control; creating a new media asset group and presenting a media asset group operation region for the media asset group in the media asset editing interface in response to a trigger operation for the media asset group creation control.
Official Notice is taken that multiple selection of media assets, e.g. by selecting while pressing a control key in Windows platforms, is well known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate multiple selection into trigger operation for the media asset addition control in the method taught by Goldman and Wu to enhance the user interface of the method by allowing the user to select multiple media assets in one import operation instead of repeating the same operations for each media asset to be imported.
Goldman and Wu do not disclose the media asset editing interface comprising a media asset group creation control; creating a new media asset group and presenting a media asset group operation region for the media asset group in the media asset editing interface in response to a trigger operation for the media asset group creation control.
Fan discloses a media asset editing interface comprising a media asset group creation control (Fig. 5; [0071]); creating a new media asset group and presenting a media asset group operation region for the media asset group in the media asset editing interface in response to a trigger operation for the media asset group creation control (Fig. 5; [0071]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Fan into the method taught by Goldman and Wu to improve the user interface of the method by allowing the user to create and manage media asset groups easily.
Regarding claim 3, Goldman in view of Wu and Fan also discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the presented media asset group operation region further comprises an attribute configuration control associated with the corresponding media asset group (Figs. 10-11; [0107]-[0108] – control to configure at least captions); and wherein before adding and displaying the media asset group information in the corresponding media asset group operation region, the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation for the attribute configuration control, obtaining media asset group associated attribute information edited in a presented associated attribute configuration window and taking the media asset group associated attribute information as the media asset group information (Figs. 10-11; [0107]-[0108] – obtaining media asset group associated with the caption edited in a presented window as shown in Fig. 11, i.e. selecting either a male or female voice caption); the media asset group associated attribute information comprising caption and dubbing description information and/or title description information corresponding to the media asset for video synthetization in the media asset group (Figs. 10-11; [0107]-[0108] – at least caption and dubbing description information and/or title information as shown in Fig. 8, e.g. “version 1 of media act”, etc., each of which is interpreted as title information of a media asset).
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman and Wu as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 9-14, 16-17, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2023/0362485 A1 – hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Goldman in view of Wu also discloses the method according to claim 5 above, wherein the item to be configured presented in the sound configuration region in the form of corresponding to the media asset group comprises a media asset sound control (Fig. 10; [0075]; [0078]); in response to the configuration operation region being the sound configuration region, before performing the step of presenting configured attribute configuration information in the configuration operation region, the method further comprises determining retaining a media asset sound as the sound configuration information relative to the sound configuration item (Fig. 10; [0075]; [0078]).
However, Goldman and Wu do not disclose the media asset sound control as a media asset original sound switch control; in response to the configuration operation region being the sound configuration region, before performing the step of presenting configured attribute configuration information in the configuration operation region, the method further comprises: determining turning off a media asset original sound as the attribute configuration information of the associated media asset group relative to a sound configuration item in response to detecting that the media asset original sound switch control is in an off state; and determining retaining a media asset original sound as the sound configuration information of the associated media asset group relative to the sound configuration item in response to detecting that the media asset original sound switch control is in an on state.
Kim discloses a media asset sound control as a media asset original sound control ([0012]); determining turning off a media asset original sound as an attribute configuration information relative to a sound configuration item in response to detecting that a media asset original sound control is in an off state ([0012] – determining turning off of original sound as a control indicating an original sound to be removed); and determining retaining a media asset original sound as the sound configuration information relative to the sound configuration item in response to detecting that the media asset original sound control is in an on state ([0012] – determining retaining original sound as a control indicating an original sound not to be removed).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kim into determining retaining the media asset sound in the method taught by Goldman and Wu as discussed above to allow the user to control whether to retain the original sound of media assets in the media asset group if desired, thus enhancing the audio editing capability of the method.
Goldman, Wu, and Kim do not disclose the media asset original sound control is a switch control.
Official Notice is taken that a switch control is well known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate a switch control into the media asset original sound control in the method taught by Goldman, Wu, and Kim because a switch control is intuitively indicative of the intended operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484