DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Rejection office action in response to application Serial No. 19/477,540. The claim(s) of the application have been examined and fully considered, with claim(s) 1-9 cancelled. Claim(s) 10-27 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of DE10 2023 113 833.2 filed 05/25/2023 and 371 of PCT/EP2024/063254 filed 05/14/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22 and 24-25 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 12, 14, 17, 20 and 23 When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, and 14-15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Philipp Maurer (WO2021239531A1; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation) hereinafter, referred to as “Maurer” in view of Kerri Gereltuya Batbold (DE102020103753A1; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation) hereinafter, referred to as “Batbold”.
Regarding [claim 10], Maurer discloses an assistance system for supporting a driver of a vehicle when forming an emergency lane (see, Paragraph [0003]: “a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane, comprising at least one environmental sensor for detecting the vehicle's surroundings, and a control device which is connected via a data bus to the at least one environmental sensor for detecting the vehicle's surroundings, wherein the driving assistance system is configured to perform the above method for forming an emergency lane”; also see [0012]), wherein the assistance system (see “a driver assistance system”) is configured to:
receive surroundings data, wherein the surroundings data describe lanes of a roadway and describe a position (see Paragraphs [0013]; [0018]-[0019]; and [0031]: “The driver assistance system can use a single sensor as an environmental sensor to detect the vehicle's surroundings, or multiple environmental sensors to... This includes a joint assessment of the environment.”) and a speed of further road users on the roadway (see Paragraph [0059]: “In an alternative embodiment, the determination of the traffic congestion situation on the road 32 is carried out using sensor information provided by the environmental sensors 16, 18, 20, in particular based on distances to surrounding third-party vehicles 44 and based on distances to the lane boundaries 42 as well as the roadway boundaries 40 of the road 32. For example, a driving speed can be determined based on the movement of stationary flindrinesses relative to the vehicle 10.”);
…
Maurer discloses “Determining which lane the vehicle is traveling in from among the multiple lanes for the vehicle's direction of travel is necessary in order to determine the position of the emergency lane to be formed”, see paragraph [0017] and [0059], however, it is not disclosed that a determined whether a predetermined emergency lane situation exists.
….
determine a lateral distance of the at least one of the further road users to a roadway marking of the adjacent lane based on the surroundings data (see Paragraphs [0027]: “Measuring the emergency lane particularly involves determining the lateral distance to a vehicle on a lane located behind the emergency lane. The measurement of the emergency lane is based on sensor information from at least one environmental sensor. In particular, the lateral distance to the vehicle on the lane behind the emergency lane is determined using an ultrasonic sensor, which is attached to the vehicle in such a way as to detect lateral distances to obstacles, such as surrounding vehicles located to the right or left of the vehicle.”; and [0066]: “In step S170, the rescue lane 14 formed after the change of position is measured. The surveying of emergency lane 14 concerns a Determining a lateral distance to a third vehicle 44 on a lane 36 located behind the emergency lane 14. In the example in Figure 2, a distance to the third vehicle 44 on the middle lane 36b is determined, while in the example in Figure 3, a distance to the third vehicle 44 on the left lane 36c is determined.”); and
….
carry out the automated lateral control depending on the differential speed or the lateral distance (see Paragraphs [0019]: “the driving assistance system comprises two ultrasonic sensors mounted on the vehicle in such a way as to detect lateral distances to obstacles, such as surrounding vehicles located to the right or left of the vehicle, and the driving assistance system is designed to detect the lane traveled by the vehicle based on the lateral distances to the obstacles, and/or the driving assistance system is designed to determine the necessary change in the vehicle's position to form the emergency lane based on the lateral distances to the obstacles.”; and [0050]: “the driving assistance system 12 is designed for autonomous driving of the vehicle 10. The autonomous driving of vehicle 10 includes both longitudinal control, i.e. acceleration and /or... Deceleration of vehicle 10, as well as lateral guidance, i.e. Steering movements.”).
The Maurer reference does not explicitly disclose
determine whether a predetermined emergency lane situation exists, in which the emergency lane is to be formed by the vehicle;
determine a lane edge, to which the vehicle is to be moved to form the emergency lane; and
carry out an automated lateral control of the vehicle to the lane edge if the predetermined emergency lane situation exists;
determine a differential speed between the vehicle and at least one of the further road users on an adjacent lane based on the surroundings data;
…
However, Batbold discloses
…
determining whether a predetermined emergency lane situation exists, in which the emergency lane is to be formed by the vehicle (see Paragraph [0054]: “The procedure 300 includes detecting and/or determining 301 that a rescue lane situation exists for a vehicle 100, in which the vehicle 100 should form a rescue lane on a currently occupied lane 210. For example, based on the environmental data from one or more environmental sensors 102 of the vehicle 100, it can be recognized that there is a traffic jam and that an emergency lane should therefore be formed”);
determine a lane edge, to which the vehicle is to be moved to form the emergency lane (see Paragraphs [0054]: “The procedure 300 includes detecting and/or determining 301 that a rescue lane situation exists for a vehicle 100, in which the vehicle 100 should form a rescue lane on a currently occupied lane 210.”; and [0055]: “Furthermore, the procedure 300 includes, in response to this, the action 302 that the vehicle 100 is automatically guided to a lane edge 211 of the occupied lane 210 in order to form the emergency lane. For example, the environmental data or the sensor data from one or more environmental sensors 102 (especially cameras) of the vehicle 100 can be evaluated to detect lane markings. Based on the detected lane markings of lane 210, the vehicle 100 can then be automatically guided to the (correct) lane edge 211 to form the emergency lane longitudinally and/or laterally.”); and
carry out an automated lateral control of the vehicle to the lane edge if the predetermined emergency lane situation exists (see Paragraph [0010]: “The driving system can therefore be set up to automatically and/or independently recognize an emergency lane situation. It is therefore possible to determine, based on a self-identified emergency lane situation, that an emergency lane situation exists. Alternatively or additionally, the driving system can be set up based on user input, e.g. B. to determine or detect that an emergency lane situation exists based on the activation of a control element of the vehicle (such as a control element to activate an emergency lane assistant).”; and [0055]: “Furthermore, the procedure 300 includes, in response to this, the action 302 that the vehicle 100 is automatically guided to a lane edge 211 of the occupied lane 210 in order to form the emergency lane. For example, the environmental data or the sensor data from one or more environmental sensors 102 (especially cameras) of the vehicle 100 can be evaluated to detect lane markings. Based on the detected lane markings of lane 210, the vehicle 100 can then be automatically guided to the (correct) lane edge 211 to form the emergency lane longitudinally and/or laterally.”);
determine a differential speed between the vehicle and at least one of the further road users on an adjacent lane based on the surroundings data (see Paragraph [0006]: “The vehicle can then be automatically guided along a target position, e.g. B. guided in the middle, within the lane. Furthermore, the vehicle's speed can be automatically regulated to a target speed and/or the distance to a vehicle in front can be automatically regulated to a target distance. The driving system can be specifically configured to automatically guide the vehicle laterally. Furthermore, the driving system can be configured (optionally) to automatically guide the vehicle longitudinally.”);
…
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
As to [claim 11] Maurer in view of Batbold teaches the assistance system according to claim 10. Maurer discloses wherein the at least one of the further road users is located on the adjacent lane which is adjacent to the lane edge to which the vehicle is to be moved to form the emergency lane (see Paragraph [0059]: “Additionally or alternatively, the traffic jam situation can be detected based on distances to surrounding third-party vehicles 44 and/or based on distances to the lane boundaries 42 as well as the roadway boundaries 40 of the road 32, for example, if a front distance to a preceding third-party vehicle 44 and/or a rear distance to a following third-party vehicle 44 is particularly small, if a difference in speed to third-party vehicles 44 on an adjacent lane 36 is small or even zero, or similar. Step S120 involves detecting a lane 36 being traveled by vehicle 10 from among the multiple lanes 36 for the direction of travel 38 of vehicle 10. Based on the detection of the lane 36 being used by vehicle 10, a position for the emergency lane 14 to be formed can be determined.”).
As to [claim 14], Maurer in view of Batbold teaches the assistance system according to claim 10. Batbold teaches wherein the assistance system is configured to carry out the lateral control such that a lateral offset of the vehicle to the lane edge is determined depending on the differential speed or the lateral distance (see Paragraphs [0055]: “Furthermore, the procedure 300 includes, in response to this, the action 302 that the vehicle 100 is automatically guided to a lane edge 211 of the occupied lane 210 in order to form the emergency lane. For example, the environmental data or the sensor data from one or more environmental sensors 102 (especially cameras) of the vehicle 100 can be evaluated to detect lane markings. Based on the detected lane markings of lane 210, the vehicle 100 can then be automatically
guided to the (correct) lane edge 211 to form the emergency lane longitudinally and/or
laterally”; and [0056]: “The procedure 300 further includes determining 303 lateral offset data in relation to the lateral offset 201 of vehicle 100 to the vehicle 200 in front (on the same lane 210, directly in front of vehicle 100). The lateral offset data can be determined when the vehicle 100 is already at the edge of lane 211. The lateral offset data can, in particular, show the lateral offset 201 of vehicle 100 to the vehicle 200 in front for a driving situation in which the emergency lane has already been formed (and thus vehicle 100 is already at the edge of the lane 211).”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
As to [claim(s) 15], the claims are duplications of claim 14, and would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 17], Maurer in view of Batbold teaches the assistance system according to claim 10. Maurer disclose wherein the assistance system is configured to check a formation of an emergency lane by the at least one of the further road users based on the lateral distance (see Paragraph [0027]: “Measuring the emergency lane particularly involves determining the lateral distance to a vehicle on a lane located behind the emergency lane. The measurement of the emergency lane is based on sensor information from at least one environmental sensor. In particular, the lateral distance to the vehicle on the lane behind the emergency lane is determined using an ultrasonic sensor, which is attached to the vehicle in such a way as to detect lateral distances to obstacles, such as surrounding vehicles located to the right or left of the vehicle. Measuring the width of the emergency lane can be used to check whether it is wide enough for emergency vehicles. If, during the measurement of the emergency lane, it is determined that this is not the case, an additional determination of a necessary change in the vehicle's position can be carried out to create an emergency lane with sufficient width. For example, an emergency lane can be formed by first determining a required change in the vehicle's position, limited to the current lane.”).
As to [claim(s) 18] are duplications of claim of 17, and would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 20], Maurer in view of Batbold teaches the assistance system according to claim 10. Batbold teaches wherein the assistance system is configured to determine a lateral offset of at least one further one of the road users on a lane on which the vehicle is located to the determined lane edge based on the surroundings data and to additionally carry out the automated lateral control depending on the lateral offset (see, Paragraph [0014]-[0015]: “Furthermore, the driving system is designed to determine lateral offset data in relation to the lateral offset of the vehicle to (at least) one vehicle in front (on the currently driven lane). The lateral offset data relating to the lateral offset of the vehicle to the vehicle in front can be determined in particular when and/or after and/or as soon as the vehicle has been brought to the edge of the lane being traveled.” [0016]; [0021]: “This describes a driving system for automated longitudinal and/or lateral guidance that enables the reliable and robust formation of an emergency lane (even in the event of interruptions in lane marking detection).”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
As to [claims 21], the claims are duplicated claim of 20, and would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 23], Maurer in view of Batbold teaches the assistance system according to claim 10. Batbold teaches wherein the assistance system is configured to carry out the automated lateral control during hands-off operation of the vehicle (see Paragraphs [0034]; and [0037]: “Within the context of this document, the term "automated driving" can be understood to mean driving with automated longitudinal or lateral control or autonomous driving with automated longitudinal and lateral control. Automated driving can, for example, involve longer periods of driving on the motorway or time-limited driving during parking or maneuvering. The term "automated driving" encompasses automated driving with any degree of automation. Examples of automation levels include assisted, semi-automated, highly automated, or fully automated driving. These levels of automation were defined by the Federal Highway Research Institute (BASt) (see BASt publication “Research Compact”, issue 11/2012). In assisted driving, the driver continuously performs longitudinal or lateral control, while the system takes over the other function within certain limits. In semi-automated driving (TAF), the system takes over longitudinal and lateral control for a certain period of time and/or in specific situations, whereby the driver must continuously monitor the system as in assisted driving. In highly automated driving (HAD), the system takes over longitudinal and lateral control for a certain period of time without the driver having to constantly monitor the system; however, the driver must be able to take over vehicle control within a certain time.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
As to [claim(s) 24], the claims are duplications of claim 23, and would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 26], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 10, therefore claim 24 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 27], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 10, therefore claim 27 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Claim(s) 12-13, 16, 19, 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of Batbold, and in view of Stephan Niermann (DE102020104118A1; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation) hereinafter, referred to as “Niermann”
As to [claim 12], Maurer in view of Batbold teaches the assistance system according to claim 10. Neither reference teaches wherein the assistance system prevents the automated lateral control to the lane edge if the differential speed exceeds a predetermined differential speed limiting value or if the lateral distance falls below a predetermined distance limiting value.
However, Niermann teaches
wherein the assistance system prevents the automated lateral control to the lane edge if the differential speed exceeds a predetermined differential speed limiting value or if the lateral distance falls below a predetermined distance limiting value (see Paragraph [0023]: “The driving system can be configured to determine the adapted trajectory (possibly only then) in response to the detected manual override of the automated lateral guidance and (possibly only then) to cause the vehicle to be automatically guided laterally according to the adapted trajectory if it is determined that the vehicle's speed is less than the speed threshold. In other words, the driving system can be configured, in response to the detected manual override of the automated lateral guidance (possibly only then), to cause the vehicle to be automatically laterally guided along the first lane edge when it is determined that the vehicle's speed is less than the speed threshold. By taking a speed threshold into account, it can be ensured that manual override is only interpreted as a correction to form an emergency lane if there is actually an emergency lane situation.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify driving systems that enable the vehicle to be guided longitudinally and/or laterally in a way that is at least partially automated as taught by Niermann combining determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey that the driving system may be configured to correct the default trajectory in order to determine an adapted trajectory designed to guide the vehicle to and/or along the first lane edge within the lane (see Paragraph [0018]).
As to [claim 13], the claims are duplications of claim 12, and would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 16], the combination of the Maurer, Batbold, and Niermann teaches the assistance system according to claim 12. Batbold teaches wherein the assistance system is configured to carry out the lateral control such that a lateral offset of the vehicle to the lane edge is determined depending on the differential speed or the lateral distance (see Paragraphs [0055]: “Furthermore, the procedure 300 includes, in response to this, the action 302 that the vehicle 100 is automatically guided to a lane edge 211 of the occupied lane 210 in order to form the emergency lane. For example, the environmental data or the sensor data from one or more environmental sensors 102 (especially cameras) of the vehicle 100 can be evaluated to detect lane markings. Based on the detected lane markings of lane 210, the vehicle 100 can then be automatically guided to the (correct) lane edge 211 to form the emergency lane longitudinally and/or laterally”; and [0056]: “The procedure 300 further includes determining 303 lateral offset data in relation to the lateral offset 201 of vehicle 100 to the vehicle 200 in front (on the same lane 210, directly in front of vehicle 100). The lateral offset data can be determined when the vehicle 100 is already at the edge of lane 211. The lateral offset data can, in particular, show the lateral offset 201 of vehicle 100 to the vehicle 200 in front for a driving situation in which the emergency lane has already been formed (and thus vehicle 100 is already at the edge of the lane 211).”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
As to [claim 19], the combination of the Maurer, Batbold, and Niermann teaches the assistance system according to claim 12. Maurer discloses wherein the assistance system is configured to check a formation of an emergency lane by the at least one of the further road users based on the lateral distance (see Paragraph [0027]: “Measuring the emergency lane particularly involves determining the lateral distance to a vehicle on a lane located behind the emergency lane. The measurement of the emergency lane is based on sensor information from at least one environmental sensor. In particular, the lateral distance to the vehicle on the lane behind the emergency lane is determined using an ultrasonic sensor, which is attached to the vehicle in such a way as to detect lateral distances to obstacles, such as surrounding vehicles located to the right or left of the vehicle. Measuring the width of the emergency lane can be used to check whether it is wide enough for emergency vehicles. If, during the measurement of the emergency lane, it is determined that this is not the case, an additional determination of a necessary change in the vehicle's position can be carried out to create an emergency lane with sufficient width. For example, an emergency lane can be formed by first determining a required change in the vehicle's position, limited to the current lane.”).
As to [claim 22], the combination of the Maurer, Batbold, and Niermann teaches the assistance system according to claim 12. Batbold teaches wherein the assistance system is configured to determine a lateral offset of at least one further one of the road users on a lane on which the vehicle is located to the determined lane edge based on the surroundings data and to additionally carry out the automated lateral control depending on the lateral offset (see, Paragraph [0014]-[0015]: “Furthermore, the driving system is designed to determine lateral offset data in relation to the lateral offset of the vehicle to (at least) one vehicle in front (on the currently driven lane). The lateral offset data relating to the lateral offset of the vehicle to the vehicle in front can be determined in particular when and/or after and/or as soon as the vehicle has been brought to the edge of the lane being traveled.” [0016]; [0021]: “This describes a driving system for automated longitudinal and/or lateral guidance that enables the reliable and robust formation of an emergency lane (even in the event of interruptions in lane marking detection).”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
As to [claim 25], the combination of the Maurer, Batbold, and Niermann teaches the assistance system according to claim 12. Batbold teaches wherein the assistance system is configured to carry out the automated lateral control during hands-off operation of the vehicle (see Paragraphs [0034]; and [0037]: “Within the context of this document, the term "automated driving" can be understood to mean driving with automated longitudinal or lateral control or autonomous driving with automated longitudinal and lateral control. Automated driving can, for example, involve longer periods of driving on the motorway or time-limited driving during parking or maneuvering. The term "automated driving" encompasses automated driving with any degree of automation. Examples of automation levels include assisted, semi-automated, highly automated, or fully automated driving. These levels of automation were defined by the Federal Highway Research Institute (BASt) (see BASt publication “Research Compact”, issue 11/2012). In assisted driving, the driver continuously performs longitudinal or lateral control, while the system takes over the other function within certain limits. In semi-automated driving (TAF), the system takes over longitudinal and lateral control for a certain period of time and/or in specific situations, whereby the driver must continuously monitor the system as in assisted driving. In highly automated driving (HAD), the system takes over longitudinal and lateral control for a certain period of time without the driver having to constantly monitor the system; however, the driver must be able to take over vehicle control within a certain time.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining that a vehicle is in an emergency lane situation, in which the vehicle should form an emergency lane by Batbold combining a driving assistance system for a vehicle for forming an emergency lane as taught by Maurer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase the safety of the emergency lane assistance function.
Conclusion
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663