DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6-7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 should read as, “…the in-vehicle device comprising:” (emphasis added). Similarly claims 6 and 7 will be read as, “…wherein:” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is “A program that causes a computer… to execute processing” wherein the claim is explicitly directed to a computer program perse with no embodying non-transitory computer readable medium. Since a computer program does not fall within the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101 (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter), the claim is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Froeschl et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0255312) in view of Ueta et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2011/0228429).
Regarding Claim 1:
Froeschl et al. discloses an in-vehicle device (Figs. 2a-2c, current distributor with control unit 201 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0035-0036, 0039, 0043-0051, etc. which disclose an on-board electrical system 150 of a vehicle 100 having one or more current distributors) that controls opening and closing of a plurality of semiconductor switches provided on a power supply line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switches 205, 204, control unit 210, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, 0056, etc. which disclose the control unit 201 controlling the switching elements 204, 205 through the communication network in order to open/close the respective semiconductor switches) from a power supply device mounted on a vehicle (Figs. 1, 2a-2c, etc., power supply associated with the respective vehicle 100, not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, etc.), the in-vehicle device comprising: a control unit configured to perform processing related to opening and closing control of the semiconductor switches (Figs. 2a-2c, control unit 201 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, 0056, etc.), wherein the semiconductor fuses include a main line semiconductor switch disposed on a main line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switch 205 disposed on line 155 and its related discussion) and branch line semiconductor switches respectively arranged on a plurality of branch lines branched from the main line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switches 204 on lines 154 and their related discussion). While Froeschl discloses the utilization of semiconductor switches, Froeschl fails to teach the semiconductor switches as semiconductor fuses.
However, Ueta et al. discloses an in-vehicle device comprising a plurality of semiconductor fuses (see, at least, paragraphs 0006-0007, 0068-0069, 0108-0111, 0114-0115, etc. which disclose the utilization and control of semiconductor fuses within an in-vehicle device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor switching elements of Froeschl to employ semiconductor fuses, as taught within Ueta, as a semiconductor fuse offers fast, low energy protection, thereby providing reliable protection for sensitive devices. Furthermore, Froeschl expressly teaches that semiconductor-based switching elements may replace conventional fuses and provide a safety/protection function, while Ueta teaches that such semiconductor switching elements may be implemented as semiconductor fuses having electronically controlled overcurrent protection. Furthermore, Froeschl fails to teach the control unit acquires information on a power consumption state of the vehicle.
However, Ueta et al. discloses a control unit acquires information on a power consumption state of the vehicle, and enables a protection function of the main line semiconductor fuse and disables a protection function of the branch line semiconductor fuses, according to the acquired information on the power consumption state of the vehicle (see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0011, 0069-0076, 0082, 0089-0091, 0111-0115, etc. which disclose controller operation over the respective semiconductor fuses corresponding to a power condition related to an operation state of the vehicle, i.e. the ignition switch is turned on, power is supplied and subsequently consumed vs when the ignition switch is turned off, as well as stopping of the current detecting unit 42 responsive to the ignition being turned off. See the respective passages related to detecting current to thereby monitor the respective power consumption of the peripheral devices.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit of Froeschl to acquire information related to a vehicle operating/power state and further control the protection functions of the respective semiconductor fuses according to said information, as taught within Ueta, to provide appropriate and timely condition-responsive control over the semiconductor fuses of the system, thereby reducing overall power consumption, preventing battery/power source depletion, and providing a more robust, complete, and efficient protective system.
Regarding Claim 6:
Froeschl et al. discloses a program that causes a computer (see, at least, paragraphs 0023-0024 which disclose the respective hardware, i.e., the processor/control device of the vehicle, executing a software program. That is, the respective hardware plus software constitute the computer as currently claimed), that controls opening and closing of a plurality of semiconductor switches provided on a power supply line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switches 205, 204, control unit 210, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, 0056, etc. which disclose the control unit 201 controlling the switching elements 204, 205 through the communication network in order to open/close the respective semiconductor switches) from a power supply device mounted on a vehicle (Figs. 1, 2a-2c, etc., power supply associated with the respective vehicle 100, not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, etc.), to execute processing, wherein: the semiconductor fuses include a main line semiconductor switch disposed on a main line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switch 205 disposed on line 155 and its related discussion) and branch line semiconductor switches respectively arranged on a plurality of branch lines branched from the main line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switches 204 on lines 154 and their related discussion). While Froeschl discloses the utilization of semiconductor switches, Froeschl fails to teach the semiconductor switches as semiconductor fuses.
However, Ueta et al. discloses an in-vehicle device comprising a plurality of semiconductor fuses (see, at least, paragraphs 0006-0007, 0068-0069, 0108-0111, 0114-0115, etc. which disclose the utilization and control of semiconductor fuses within an in-vehicle device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor switching elements of Froeschl to employ semiconductor fuses, as taught within Ueta, as a semiconductor fuse offers fast, low energy protection, thereby providing reliable protection for sensitive devices. Furthermore, Froeschl expressly teaches that semiconductor-based switching elements may replace conventional fuses and provide a safety/protection function, while Ueta teaches that such semiconductor switching elements may be implemented as semiconductor fuses having electronically controlled overcurrent protection. Furthermore, Froeschl fails to teach acquiring information on a power consumption state of the vehicle.
However, Ueta et al. discloses acquiring information on a power consumption state of the vehicle, and enabling a protection function of the main line semiconductor fuse and disabling a protection function of the branch line semiconductor fuses, according to the acquired information on the power consumption state of the vehicle (see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0011, 0069-0076, 0082, 0089-0091, 0111-0115, etc. which disclose controller operation over the respective semiconductor fuses corresponding to a power condition related to an operation state of the vehicle, i.e. the ignition switch is turned on, power is supplied and subsequently consumed vs when the ignition switch is turned off, as well as stopping of the current detecting unit 42 responsive to the ignition being turned off. See the respective passages related to detecting current to thereby monitor the respective power consumption of the peripheral devices.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit of Froeschl to acquire information related to a vehicle operating/power state and further control the protection functions of the respective semiconductor fuses according to said information, as taught within Ueta, to provide appropriate and timely condition-responsive control over the semiconductor fuses of the system, thereby reducing overall power consumption, preventing battery/power source depletion, and providing a more robust, complete, and efficient protective system.
Regarding Claim 7:
Froeschl et al. discloses a information processing method that causes a computer (see, at least, paragraphs 0023-0024 which disclose the respective hardware, i.e., the processor/control device of the vehicle, executing a software program. That is, the respective hardware plus software constitute the computer as currently claimed), that controls opening and closing of a plurality of semiconductor switches provided on a power supply line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switches 205, 204, control unit 210, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, 0056, etc. which disclose the control unit 201 controlling the switching elements 204, 205 through the communication network in order to open/close the respective semiconductor switches) from a power supply device mounted on a vehicle (Figs. 1, 2a-2c, etc., power supply associated with the respective vehicle 100, not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0043-0051, etc.), to execute processing, wherein: the semiconductor fuses include a main line semiconductor switch disposed on a main line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switch 205 disposed on line 155 and its related discussion) and branch line semiconductor switches respectively arranged on a plurality of branch lines branched from the main line (Figs. 2a-2c, semiconductor switches 204 on lines 154 and their related discussion). While Froeschl discloses the utilization of semiconductor switches, Froeschl fails to teach the semiconductor switches as semiconductor fuses.
However, Ueta et al. discloses an in-vehicle device comprising a plurality of semiconductor fuses (see, at least, paragraphs 0006-0007, 0068-0069, 0108-0111, 0114-0115, etc. which disclose the utilization and control of semiconductor fuses within an in-vehicle device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor switching elements of Froeschl to employ semiconductor fuses, as taught within Ueta, as a semiconductor fuse offers fast, low energy protection, thereby providing reliable protection for sensitive devices. Furthermore, Froeschl expressly teaches that semiconductor-based switching elements may replace conventional fuses and provide a safety/protection function, while Ueta teaches that such semiconductor switching elements may be implemented as semiconductor fuses having electronically controlled overcurrent protection. Furthermore, Froeschl fails to teach acquiring information on a power consumption state of the vehicle.
However, Ueta et al. discloses acquiring information on a power consumption state of the vehicle, and enabling a protection function of the main line semiconductor fuse and disabling a protection function of the branch line semiconductor fuses, according to the acquired information on the power consumption state of the vehicle (see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0011, 0069-0076, 0082, 0089-0091, 0111-0115, etc. which disclose controller operation over the respective semiconductor fuses corresponding to a power condition related to an operation state of the vehicle, i.e. the ignition switch is turned on, power is supplied and subsequently consumed vs when the ignition switch is turned off, as well as stopping of the current detecting unit 42 responsive to the ignition being turned off. See the respective passages related to detecting current to thereby monitor the respective power consumption of the peripheral devices.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit of Froeschl to acquire information related to a vehicle operating/power state and further control the protection functions of the respective semiconductor fuses according to said information, as taught within Ueta, to provide appropriate and timely condition-responsive control over the semiconductor fuses of the system, thereby reducing overall power consumption, preventing battery/power source depletion, and providing a more robust, complete, and efficient protective system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to dependent claim 2: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest setting an interruption characteristic of the main line semiconductor fuse, when its protection is enabled, to a value that is greater than the sum of the current values flowing through the plurality of branch lines during a standby state of the vehicle while being less than the “smoke-generation characteristics” corresponding to the plurality of branch lines. Although Froeschl teaches hierarchical semiconductor switching elements having respective protection thresholds, and Ueta teaches semiconductor fuse protection circuitry and operation in vehicle sleep/standby conditions, neither reference, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests coordinating the interruption characteristic of the upstream semiconductor fuse according to both the aggregate standby current of the downstream branch lines and the smoke-generation limit of the downstream branch lines as currently claimed. Dependent claims 3-5 are objected to as being ultimately dependent upon claim 2.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836