DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on October 23, 2025. Claims 1, 3 – 6, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18 – 21, 24, 26, 27, 33, 35, 36 and 38 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority based on U.S. provisional applications 63/462,591 filed on April 28, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on October 23, 2025. The Examiner notes that NPL entry 8 contain citations a reference that does not comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.98(b)(5) which requires "Each publication listed in an information disclosure statement must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date, and place of publication." The Examiner is unable to timely consider the various coding standards and working drafts of said coding standard in their entirety as they comprise hundreds of pages. The Examiner encourages resubmission with the pertinent portions of these references pointed out. Accordingly, the reference has been placed on the record, but has not been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 1, 16, 33, and 36, the Examiner has noted the use of clause, “adapted to”. Examples of such claim language raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. The claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. Notably, limitations recited after the phrases will be considered optional to the functionality of the claimed system. It is suggested to positively and concretely define the functionality of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Fig. 5, Items 514, 534 and 554
Fig. 6, Items 614, 634, 650, 652, 654 and 656
Fig. 7, Item 730
Fig. 8, Item 830
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 - 6, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18 - 21, 24, 26, 27, 33, 35, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al., "Video Coding for Machine: Compact Visual Representation Compression for Intelligent Collaborative Analytics", ARXIV.ORG, 18 October 2021, 14 pages (See IDS filed on October 23, 2025) referred to as YANG hereinafter, and in view of HU et al., "Towards Coding For Human And Machine Vision: A Scalable Image Coding Approach", 2020 IEEE International Conference on Multimedia and Expo (ICME), 06 July 2020, 6 pages (See IDS filed on October 23, 2025) referred to as HU hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a method (Fig. 4, Section 2.2.5 two-stream scalable coding), comprising
receiving a bitstream comprising a low-quality representation of at least one region of a sequence of images (Section 2.2.5, illustrated in Fig. 4(a) in bottom stream between Compression model C ( •) that maps the feature into bit-stream and Decompression model D (·) that projects the bitstream back to the feature) along with metadata specifying at least one generic codebook-based representation of a generic feature (Section 2.2.5, illustrated in Fig. 4(a) in the top stream after the E (*) is the feature extractor, between the Compression model C ( •) and the Decompression model D (·)) of at least one region of the sequence of images (Section 3.2.3 Each sequence A = ( af, a~, • • • , a~) , s E [1, n] indicates a linear combination of the spatial bases, defined by a codebook, in the form of {C1, C2, · • • , CT}), wherein the images are at least one region is a face region (Section 2.2.5, analysis and reconstruction of face images via the two-stream structures), wherein the at least one generic codebook-based representation allows determining, by a generative branch (Fig. 4(a) and Fig. 4(b) layered coding), a generic feature (Section 2.2.5 in a scalable coding framework, the deep learning feature (i.e. generic feature) acts as the base layer (i.e. generic codebook-based representation) to support face recognition, and the enhancement layer learns to reconstruct the full-pixel images) adapted to a plurality of computer vision tasks (Fig. 4(a) machine vision task and human vision task); and
decoding, from the bitstream, a reconstructed image (Section 2.2.5 analysis and reconstruction of face images via the two-stream structures) adapted to a plurality of computer vision tasks including both machine consumption (Fig. 4(b) Task 0 and Task L) and human consumption (Fig. 4(b) human vision task).
While Yang teaches analysis and reconstruction of face images via the two-stream structures in section 2.2.5, Yang does not specifically teach human-centric images and one region is a face. Therefore, Yang fails to explicitly teach the images are human-centric images and the at least one region is a face region.
However, Hu teaches the images are human-centric images and the at least one region is a face region (Section 4, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3, VGGFace2 dataset (i.e. human-centric images) for evaluation that have small resolution and low quality, facial landmark detection (i.e. one region is a face)).
References Yang and Hu are considered to be analogous art because they relate to human and machine vision. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying human-centric images as suggested by Hu in the invention of Yang for evaluation considering the pervasiveness and importance of facial images in our daily life and industry. (See Hu, Section 4)).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the low-quality representation of at least one region of a sequence of images comprises coded data including the at least one region and a background of the at least one region of the sequence of images using a video compression standard (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, Section 2.2.4 and two compression networks are used to compress object regions and background ones, supporting diverse visual analytics tasks with low-bit-rate representations, The proposals cover aspects of use cases, requirements, processing pipelines, plan for potential VCM standards).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 3. Yang further teaches wherein the metadata specifying at least one generic codebook-based representation of a generic feature of at least one region of the sequence of images are signaled as a supplemental information message (Section 2.2.1 The first direction - side information guidance - is to detect the side information related to the analytics performance at first and then utilize the side information (i.e. supplemental information message) to adjust the coding configurations at the encoder and decoder sides. For example, the region of interest for machine is detected based on the degree of importance for each coding tree unit in visual analysis, which is injected into a novel CTU-level bit allocation model. The task-specific quantization tables are learned via learning a differentiable loss function to approximates bit-rates).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 4. Yang further teaches wherein the metadata specifying at least one generic codebook-based representation of a generic feature of at least one region of the sequence of images are signaled with an image of the sequence of images containing faces (Section 2.2.5, analysis and reconstruction of face images via the two-stream structures).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 3. Yang further teaches wherein the metadata specifying at least one generic codebook-based representation of a generic feature of at least one region of the sequence of images comprises at least one of:
an indication specifying a number of regions to be processed by a set of generative branches (Section 2.2.5, multi-stream scalable coding, as shown in Fig. 4 (b ), adopts more than one stream (i.e. set of generative branches) to transmit features (i.e. number of regions) with a feature salable prediction mechanism, feature compression approach is conducted on the intermediate representations where different layers serve the tasks (Task 0 – Task L) requiring different grained semantic information);
an indication specifying a number of generative branches to be processed by the set of generative branches;
an indication specifying horizontal and vertical coordinates of a top left corner of the at least one region;
an indication specifying a horizontal size and a vertical size of the at least one region;
an indication identifying a generative branch to apply to the at least one region;
an indication specifying a weight that is used to merge a result of a jth generative branch with results of other generative branches;
an indication specifying a number of codeword indices to code the generic feature; and
an indication of values of codebook indices used to reconstruct the face region according to a reconstruction process of the jth generative branch.
Regarding Claim 9, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the low-quality representation of at least one region of a sequence of images comprises coded data using a video compression standard, and wherein the bitstream further comprises coded data representative of a background of at least one region of the sequence of images using a video compression standard (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, Section 2.2.4 and two compression networks are used to compress object regions and background ones, supporting diverse visual analytics tasks with low-bit-rate representations, The proposals cover aspects of use cases, requirements, processing pipelines, plan for potential VCM standards).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 9. Yang further teaches wherein the metadata specifying at least one generic codebook-based representation of a generic feature of at least one region of the sequence of images comprises at least one of:
an indication specifying a number of regions to be processed by a set of generative branches (Section 2.2.5, multi-stream scalable coding, as shown in Fig. 4 (b ), adopts more than one stream (i.e. set of generative branches) to transmit features (i.e. number of regions) with a feature salable prediction mechanism, feature compression approach is conducted on the intermediate representations where different layers serve the tasks (Task 0 – Task L) requiring different grained semantic information);
an indication specifying a number of generative branches to be processed by the set of generative branches;
an indication specifying horizontal and vertical coordinates of a top left corner of the at least one region;
an indication specifying a horizontal size and a vertical size of the at least one region;
an indication identifying a generative branch to apply to the at least one region;
an indication specifying a weight that is used to merge a result of a jth generative branch with results of other generative branches;
an indication specifying a number of codeword indices to code the generic feature; and
an indication of values of codebook indices used to reconstruct the face region according to a reconstruction process of the jth generative branch.
Regarding Claim 12, Yang in view of Hu teaches Claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the low-quality representation of at least one region of a sequence of images comprises coded data using a normative generative compression standard (Section 2.2.5 quantized edges and color clues are used to generate reconstruction images via the generative model at different bit-rates that support facial landmark detection and image reconstruction, Introduction: Therefore, in this context, coding compression and analysis techniques for machine vision, called video coding for machine (VCM) have emerged to build an efficient joint compression and analytics framework upon the combination of deep generative models, analytics models and coding techniques) and wherein the bitstream further comprises coded data representative of a background of at least one region of the sequence of images using a video compression standard (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, Section 2.2.4 and two compression networks are used to compress object regions and background ones, supporting diverse visual analytics tasks with low-bit-rate representations, The proposals cover aspects of use cases, requirements, processing pipelines, plan for potential VCM standards).
Regarding Claims 16, 18 - 21, 24, 26 and 27, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) of claims 1, 3 - 6, 9, 11 and 12, respectively, and are met by the reference as discussed above. Claims 16, 18 - 21, 24, 26 and 27 however recite an encoding method, rather than a decoding method, which is similar in structure expect in reverse operation. Therefore, Claims 16, 18 - 21, 24, 26 and 27 are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Apparatus claims 33 and 35 are drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claims 1 and 3, respectively. Therefore apparatus claims 33 and 35 correspond to method claims 1 and 3, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Apparatus claims 36 and 38 are drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claims 1 and 3, respectively. Therefore apparatus claims 36 and 38 correspond to method claims 1 and 3, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Karabutov et al. (US 2023/0065862 A1) teaches scalable encoding and decoding of video images and image features of video images. VESELOV et al. (US 2021/0203997 A1) teaches hybrid encoding and decoding of video images and image features of video images.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425