DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for international priority under 35 U.S.C. 371. The Instant Application is a national stage entry of International Application No. PCT/CN2023/095478, filed on May 22, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 24, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Preliminary Amendment of October 23, 2023, claims 1-5, 7, 9-10 and 14-25 are pending. Claims 6, 8, 11-13 and 26-30 are canceled.
Also as a result of the Preliminary Amendment of October 23, 2023, the Specification is amended to make cross-reference to related applications (see Priority section above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 10, 14, 16-18, 20, 22, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tripathi et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0257752 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Tripathi discloses a method of display processing (Fig. 1-15, generally), the method comprising:
receiving an indication of a potential touch event at a touch sensor circuit (Fig. 13, Detailed Description, [0108-0110]; See also Detailed Description, [0044-0052], “Circuitry 12 may be used to monitor various attributes of the operation of the electronic device such as the activity of frame buffer 32 (e.g., the rate at which the frame buffer is updated with new display data to be displayed display), the type of display content to be displayed with the display (e.g., dynamic content, video content, high-frame-rate video content, common-vector motion content, and static content), user-input signals such as touch-sensor input signals, the device power supply status, and/or other aspects of the operating environment of the electronic device.”);
notifying a display panel circuit of the potential touch event via a signal communicated from
the touch sensor circuit to the display panel circuit (Fig. 13, S152, Detailed Description, [0108-0115], “At step 152, circuitry that is monitoring user-input components of the device may detect user input to the device…. A user may use a finger such as finger 162 to swipe touch sensitive components such as touch-sensor electrodes 99 in display 14 as indicated by arrows 164. Swiping touch-sensor electrodes 99 may cause page 170 to be changed on display 14 as indicated by arrow 172 (e.g., portions of page 170 may move across display 14 with a common motion vector)”); and
changing a frame rate at the display panel circuit from a first frame rate to a second frame
rate in response to the indication (Fig. 13, S154, Detailed Description, [0108-0115], “If desired, the frame rate for display 14 may be set in response to detection of any or all of the common-vector motion display content, user-input signals detected by electrodes 99 and the electronic-reader-specific display content.”).
Regarding claim 3, Tripathi discloses the method further comprising maintaining the frame rate at the second frame rate in response to the potential touch event being determined to be valid (Detailed Description, [0120-0128], “If desired, control circuitry such as control circuitry 12 of FIG. 1 may be configured to operate display 14 in a fixed frame rate mode or in a variable frame rate operational mode such as a frame rate optimization mode. The frame rate used to operate the array of display pixels in the display may remain fixed when the display is operated in the fixed frame rate operational mode and may be adjusted (e.g., increased or decreased) in response to monitored operation of the electronic device as described above in connection with FIGS. 1-21 when the display is operated in the variable frame rate operational mode.”).
Regarding claim 4, Tripathi further discloses the method further comprising communicating the signal via a hardware pin connecting the sensor circuit to the display panel circuit (See Figs. 1-2, display. #14 touch-sensor circuitry #22; Detailed Description, [0036-0045]; generally, it is inherent there is a hardware pin connecting sensor to display panel).
Regarding claim 5, Tripathi further discloses the method further comprising requesting the first frame rate from a host processor in response to the notifying (Figs. 1-2, storage and processing circuit, #12; frame buffer; Detailed Description, [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Tripathi further discloses the method further comprising configuring the first frame rate of display to be faster than the second frame rate of display (see Detailed Description, [0059--0061][0114]) also Tripathi, claim 22).
Regarding claim 9, Tripathi further discloses the method further comprising
monitoring for the touch event at the display panel circuit (Figs. 1-3, S50; Detailed Description, [0057],“At step 50, control circuitry may be used to monitor the status of a frame buffer such a frame buffer 32, the type of display content to be displayed (e.g., static display content, dynamic display content, video display content, scrolling display content, application-specific display content, partially-moving display content, moving display content, etc.), user-input signals (e.g., display-touch signals, swiping gestures, pinching gestures, tapping gestures, button presses, etc.),”).
Regarding claim 10, Tripathi further discloses the method further comprising
communicating raw touch data to a host processor in response to the potential touch event (Figs. 1-3, Fig. 14, Detailed Description,[0044][0057] [0111-0114]).
Regarding claim 14, Tripathi discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-2, generally) comprising:
a touch sensor circuit to sense user physical contact comprising a touch event (Fig. 1, touch-sensor circuitry, #22);
a display panel circuit to render graphical data for display (Fig. 1, display driver circuitry, #20);
a memory (Fig. 1 storage and processing circuitry, #12; specifically storage); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the memory, the display panel circuit,
and the touch sensor circuit, the one or more processors (Fig. 1 storage and processing circuitry, #12; specifically processing circuitry); configured to:
receive an indication of a potential touch event at the touch sensor circuit (Fig. 13, Detailed Description, [0108-0110]; See also Detailed Description, [0044-0052], “Circuitry 12 may be used to monitor various attributes of the operation of the electronic device such as the activity of frame buffer 32 (e.g., the rate at which the frame buffer is updated with new display data to be displayed display), the type of display content to be displayed with the display (e.g., dynamic content, video content, high-frame-rate video content, common-vector motion content, and static content), user-input signals such as touch-sensor input signals, the device power supply status, and/or other aspects of the operating environment of the electronic device.”);
notify the display panel circuit of the potential touch event via a signal communicated
from the touch sensor circuit to the display panel circuit (Fig. 13, S152, Detailed Description, [0108-0115], “At step 152, circuitry that is monitoring user-input components of the device may detect user input to the device…. A user may use a finger such as finger 162 to swipe touch sensitive components such as touch-sensor electrodes 99 in display 14 as indicated by arrows 164. Swiping touch-sensor electrodes 99 may cause page 170 to be changed on display 14 as indicated by arrow 172 (e.g., portions of page 170 may move across display 14 with a common motion vector)”); and
change a frame rate at the display panel circuit from a first frame rate to a second
frame rate in response to the indication (Fig. 13, S154, Detailed Description, [0108-0115], “If desired, the frame rate for display 14 may be set in response to detection of any or all of the common-vector motion display content, user-input signals detected by electrodes 99 and the electronic-reader-specific display content.”).
Regarding claim 16, this is met by the rejection to claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, this is met by the rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, Tripathi discloses the apparatus further comprising a host device configured to execute the one or more processors to receive a request for the first frame rate (Figs. 1-2, storage and processing circuit, #12; frame buffer; Detailed Description, [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 20, this is met by the rejection to claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, this is met by the rejection to claim 9.
Regarding claim 23, this is met by the rejection to claim 10.
Regarding claim 25, Tripathi discloses the apparatus further comprising a host device configured to execute the one or more processors to evaluate the raw touch data (Figs. 1-2, storage and processing circuit, #12; display, #14 frame buffer, #32; Detailed Description, [0045-0046])..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 15, 19, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathi in view of Zhang et al., World Intellectual Property Organization Publication No. WO 2021/056364 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Tripathi discloses every element of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose switching back the frame rate from the second to the first frame rate in response to the potential touch event being determined to be a false event.
Zhang, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a method comprising switching back the frame rate from the second to the first frame rate in response to the potential touch event being determined to be a false event (Fig. 6, Detailed Description, [0036-0049][0066], “In some examples, the FPS handling component 198 may also be configured to cause the change in the FPS rate of the display client by initiating an interrupt service request (ISR) within the display driver based on the indication of the touch event, and transmitting ISR to a display processor….In some examples, the apparatus may determine whether to change the current FPS rate based on, for example, a duration or pressure associated with the touch event. For example, a soft touch (e.g., with relatively low pressure) may indicate a pausing of video content and, thus, it may not be beneficial to refresh the display client 131 at a relatively high rate. A hard touch (e.g., with relatively high pressure) may indicate a fastforwarding or rewinding of the video content and, thus, it may be beneficial to refresh the display client 131 at a relatively high rate.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified the method of Tripathi to include the teachings of Zhang’s false touch detection, to provide the step of switching back the frame rate from the second to the first frame rate in response to the potential touch event being determined to be a false event. The motivation to combine these arts is to distinguish between types of potential touch events to determine whether change of refresh rate is necessary (See inter alia, Zhang, Detailed Description, [0036-0049][0060-0066]). The fact that both Tripathi and Zhang disclose adjusting frame rates based on touch events makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 15, this is met by the rejection to claim 2 with the combination of Tripathi and Zhang.
Regarding claim 19, this is met by the rejection to claim 2 with the combination of Tripathi and Zhang.
Regarding claim 21, this is met by the rejection to claim 2 (and claim 15) with the combination of Tripathi and Zhang.
Regarding claim 24, Tripathi discloses every element of claim 23, but Tripathi does not explicitly disclose wherein a false event is determined in response to a timeout function based on a time the raw touch data was communicated.
Zhang, in a similar of endeavor, discloses an apparatus wherein a false event is determined in response to a timeout function based on a time the raw touch data was communicated (See inter alia, Zhang, Detailed Description, [0036-0049][0060-0066], “In some examples, the apparatus may determine whether to change the current FPS rate based on, for example, a duration or pressure associated with the touch event.”; Emphasis Added. Duration reads upon time-sensitive distinguishing of different touch events).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified the touch detection of Tripathi to include the teachings of Zhang’s false touch detection, to provide wherein a false event is determined in response to a timeout function based on a time the raw touch data was communicated. The motivation to combine these arts is to distinguish between types of potential touch events to determine whether change of refresh rate is necessary (See inter alia, Zhang, Detailed Description, [0036-0049][0060-0066]). The fact that both Tripathi and Zhang disclose similar display apparatuses with adjusting frame rates based on touch events makes this combination more easily implemented.
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626