DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 17, line 2 it is unclear what is meant by “positively and force-fitted”. Accordingly, for purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
In claim 24, line 2 it is unclear what is meant by “form- and force-fitted”. Accordingly, for purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 11, 16, 18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujita (US 11,574,888B2).
With respect to claim 1, Fujita teaches an apparatus (title) for processing a substrate (1), the apparatus comprising a processing chamber (6), the processing chamber comprising a chamber upper wall (61) extending along a first axis and extending along a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7); and wherein the substrate is arranged, in use, to be processed at a first processing position (figures 2-4); and wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a hold-down device (2 or 5), arranged to exert, in use, a hold-down force on at least a portion of the substrate along a third axis against a support (4) at the first processing position (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7); wherein the chamber upper wall comprises comprising a hold-down opening (63) for receiving at least an actuator member (5 or the actuator that raises and lowers supply head 5 and applies pressure during soldering) of the hold-down device (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7); and wherein the actuator member is arranged such that, in use, a hold-down force, which is directly received from outside the process chamber, is exertable on at least a portion of the substrate (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7).
With respect to claim 2, Fujita teaches wherein a portion of the chamber upper wall is arranged to be openable (broadest reasonable interpretation) to provide access to at least a portion of the interior of the processing chamber (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7).
With respect to claim 4, Fujita teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a process head (2) for shaping (pressurizing) solder on a substrate (300) for a solder process (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7).
With respect to claim 5, Fujita teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a process head (5) for releasably attaching to a component (2), arranged to be positioned at the first processing position (broadest reasonable interpretation) with the component (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7).
With respect to claim 11, Fujita teaches wherein the hold- down device (5) comprises comprising a first hold-down member, extending outside the processing chamber (6) along the second axis, arranged to exert a hold-down force on the actuator member (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7).
With respect to claim 16, Fujita teaches wherein the processing chamber comprises a comprising an chamber lower wall, extending along the first axis and extending along the second axis (920) (lower chamber wall in figures 2-4).
With respect to claim 18, Fujita teaches wherein the apparatus comprises comprising one or more heaters (the heater in stage 4) and/or one or more heating elements, arranged to raise a temperature of at least a portion of one or more processing surfaces of the substrate (figures 2-4; and column 3, line 4-34).
With respect to claim 20, Fujita teaches wherein the one or more heaters and/or one or more heating elements are housed in the processing chamber or attached to the processing chamber (figures 2-4; and column 3, line 4-34).
With respect to claim 21, Fujita teaches wherein the processing chamber is arranged to receive a component (2), and wherein the substrate (1) is arranged, in use, to receive and support the component during processing (figures 2-4; and column 2, line 48-column 8, line 7).
With respect to claim 22, Fujita teaches wherein the component is a die, semiconductor package, a chip, an integrated circuit, a substrate, or any combination thereof (column 3, lines 49-64).
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 16, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al. (US 7,874,475B2).
With respect to claim 1, Hosseini teaches an apparatus (title) for processing a substrate (1), the apparatus comprising a processing chamber (21), the processing chamber comprising a chamber upper wall (22) extending along a first axis and extending along a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52); and wherein the substrate is arranged, in use, to be processed at a first processing position (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures 1 and 9); and wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a hold-down device (6 or 2), arranged to exert, in use, a hold-down force on at least a portion of the substrate along a third axis against a support at the first processing position (figures 1 and 9; and column 8, line 53-column 9, line 7); wherein the chamber upper wall comprises comprising a hold-down opening (24) for receiving at least an actuator member (6 or the actuator that raises and lowers tool 6 and applies pressure during bonding) of the hold-down device (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52); and wherein the actuator member is arranged such that, in use, a hold-down force, which is directly received from outside the process chamber, is exertable on at least a portion of the substrate (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52).
With respect to claim 2, Hosseini teaches wherein a portion of the chamber upper wall is arranged to be openable (broadest reasonable interpretation) to provide access to at least a portion of the interior of the processing chamber substrate (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52).
With respect to claim 3, Hosseini teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a process head (19) for dispensing solder onto a substrate (1) for a solder process (figure 9; and column 1, line 53-column 2, line 9).
With respect to claim 4, Hosseini teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a process head (2) for shaping (pressurizing) solder (9) on a substrate (1) for a solder process (figure 9; and column 1, line 53-column 2, line 9).
With respect to claim 5, Hosseini teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a process head (6) for releasably attaching to a component (30), arranged to be positioned at the first processing position (broadest reasonable interpretation) with the component (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52).
With respect to claim 11, Hosseini teaches wherein the hold- down device (6) comprises comprising a first hold-down member, extending outside the processing chamber (21) along the second axis, arranged to exert a hold-down force on the actuator member (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52).
With respect to claim 16, Hosseini teaches wherein the processing chamber comprises a comprising a chamber lower wall, extending along the first axis and extending along the second axis (lower chamber wall in figures 1 and 9).
With respect to claim 19, Hosseini teaches wherein the one or more heaters and/or one or more heating elements are attached (broadest reasonable interpretation to a process head (figure 9; and column 1, line 65-column 2, line 9).
With respect to claim 21, Hosseini teaches wherein the processing chamber is arranged to receive a component (2), and wherein the substrate (1) is arranged, in use, to receive and support the component during processing (figures 1 and 9; column 1, lines 53-64; and column 8, lines 8-52).
With respect to claim 22, Hosseini teaches wherein the component is a die, semiconductor package, a chip, an integrated circuit, a substrate, or any combination thereof (column 1, lines 53-64).
With respect to claim 23, Hosseini teaches wherein the apparatus comprises comprising a media carrier (the means that transports components across the furnace), arranged to move along the first axis to position the substrate at the first processing position (figures 1 and 9).
With respect to claim 24, Hosseini teaches wherein the media carrier (the means that transports components across the furnace)and the support (the means on which the components sit while being transported across the furnace) are connected integrally or form- and force-fitted to each other (figures 1 and 9; and column 8, line 53-column 9, line 7).
With respect to claim 25, Hosseini teaches wherein the media carrier is arranged to move the substrate along the first axis and to position the substrate at one or more further positions for loading of the substrate, dispensing solder onto at least a part of the processing position of the substrate, distributing solder on at least a part of the processing position of the substrate, processing of the substrate and/or unloading of the substrate (figures 1 and 9).
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuno et al. (CA-2739239C).
With respect to claim 1, Tsuno teaches an apparatus (title) for processing a substrate (substrate), the apparatus comprising a processing chamber (2), the processing chamber comprising a chamber upper wall (upper wall of the chamber) extending along a first axis and extending along a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis (figure 1); and wherein the substrate is arranged, in use, to be processed at a first processing position (figure 1); and wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a hold-down device (the head of pressure bonding mechanism 11), arranged to exert, in use, a hold-down force on at least a portion of the substrate along a third axis against a support (8) at the first processing position (figure 1); wherein the chamber upper wall comprises comprising a hold-down opening (the opening in which pressure bonding mechanism travels) for receiving at least an actuator member (pressure bonding mechanism) of the hold-down device (figure 1); and wherein the actuator member is arranged such that, in use, a hold-down force, which is directly received from outside the process chamber, is exertable on at least a portion of the substrate (figure 1).
With respect to claim 10, Greer teaches a hold-down drive (11), which is arranged outside the process chamber so as to exert a hold-down force on the actuator member (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita or Hosseini as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Greer et al. (US2011/0169160A1) (hereafter Greer).
With respect to claim 6, Fujita or Hosseini fail to teach wherein the apparatus further comprises comprising a process head for inspection of the substrate, inspection of a component, inspection of the support, inspection after an earlier processing step, and/or inspection before a subsequent processing step.
However, Greer teaches a process head for inspection of the substrate, inspection of a component, inspection of the support, inspection after an earlier processing step, and/or inspection before a subsequent processing step (figures; and paragraph 61).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the inspection means of Greer on the apparatus of Fujita or Hosseini in order to detect defects and form a more reliable bonding process.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita or Hosseini as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hung et al. (US2022/0328446A1) (hereafter Hung).
With respect to claim 9, Fujita or Hosseini do not teach wherein the hold-down device comprises one or more hold-down protrusions, which are attached to the actuator member, wherein the one or more hold-down protrusions are arranged to directly exert, in use, a hold-down force received from the actuator member on at least a portion of the substrate.
However, Hung teaches wherein the hold-down device comprises one or more hold-down protrusions, which are attached to the actuator member, wherein the one or more hold-down protrusions are arranged to directly exert, in use, a hold-down force received from the actuator member on at least a portion of the substrate (figures 1-7B; and paragraph 36).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the protrusions of Hung on the hold-down devices of Fujita or Hosseini in order to ensure that the components are firmly held during the bonding process.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita or Hosseini as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Greer.
With respect to claim 10, Fujita or Hosseini are silent with respect to where the intrinsically required drive is located.
However, Greer teaches that the drive means (11) is located outside o the processing chamber.
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the external drive means of Greer on the apparatuses of Fujita or Hosseini in order to so that drive means does not interfere with bonding and the drive is not subject to unnecessary processing temperatures.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita or Greer.
With respect to claim 17, Fujita or Greer do not explicitly teach that the chamber lower wall and the support are made integrally. However, it is the examiner’s position that making these components integral is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) wherein the court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” The artisan would have been motivated to use one-piece construction for ease of assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 12-15, and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735