DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/27/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2025 is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated
by Beardsley (US 20180250005).
With regard to claim 11, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), the articulation assembly (400) comprising: a first articulation member (402, 404) disposed in mechanical cooperation with an end effector assembly (600) of the surgical device; a second articulation member (406, 408) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the end effector assembly (600) of the surgical device (10); a first spring-loaded articulation mechanism (338, 338) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the first articulation member, the first spring-loaded articulation mechanism (338) including a first distal linkage (342, 346), a first stop member (end of bas passage 316), and a first biasing member (338), the first biasing member (338) disposed between the first distal linkage (402) and the first stop member (end of bar passage 316); and a second spring-loaded articulation mechanism (338) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the second articulation member (406, 408), the second spring-loaded articulation mechanism including a second distal linkage (408), a second stop member (end of bar passage 316), and a second biasing member (338), the second biasing member disposed between the second distal linkage ( 408) and the second stop member (end of bar passage 316), wherein distal movement of the first articulation member relative to the first stop member (end of bar passage 316) results in the first biasing member (338) moving toward an expanded orientation.
With regard to claim 12, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), wherein proximal movement of the second articulation member (406, 408) relative to the second stop member (end of bar passage 316) results in the second biasing member (338) moving toward a compressed orientation.
With regard to claim 13, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), wherein the first biasing member (338) is configured to move toward the expanded orientation at the same time as the second biasing member (338) moves toward the compressed orientation.
With regard to claim 14, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), wherein the first distal linkage (406) is directly engaged with the first articulation member (392).
With regard to claim 15, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), wherein the first distal linkage (406) is fixed from longitudinal movement relative to the first articulation member (360).
With regard to claim 16, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), wherein the second distal linkage (408) is directly engaged with the second articulation member (384).
With regard to claim 17, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device (10), wherein the second distal linkage (408) is fixed from longitudinal movement relative to the second articulation member (384).
With regard to claim 18, Beardsley discloses a surgical device (10), comprising: an end effector (600) including a surgical tool (610, 620); an outer tube (200) having a distal end, the end effector pivotably connected to the distal end of the outer tube (200); and an articulation assembly (300) including: a first articulation member (406) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the end effector assembly (600); a second articulation member (408) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the end effector assembly (600); a first spring-loaded articulation mechanism (340) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the first articulation member (406), the first spring-loaded articulation mechanism including a first distal linkage (406), a first stop member (end of bas passage 316), and a first biasing member (338), the first biasing member disposed between the first distal linkage (406) and the first stop member (end of bas passage 316); and a second spring-loaded articulation mechanism (340) disposed in mechanical cooperation with the second articulation member (384), the second spring-loaded articulation mechanism (340) including a second distal linkage (408), a second stop member (end of bas passage 316), and a second biasing member (408), the second biasing member disposed between the second distal linkage (408) and the second stop member (end of bas passage 316), wherein distal movement of the first articulation member (360) relative to the first stop member (end of bas passage 316) results in the first biasing member (338) moving toward an expanded orientation.
With regard to claim 19, Beardsley discloses a surgical device (10), comprising: an end effector (600) including a surgical tool (610, 620), wherein proximal movement of the second articulation member relative to the second stop member (end of bas passage 316) results in the second biasing member (338) moving toward a compressed orientation.
With regard to claim 20, Beardsley discloses a surgical device (10), comprising: an end effector (600) including a surgical tool (610, 620), wherein the first biasing member (338) is configured to move toward the expanded orientation at the same time as the second biasing member (338) moves toward the compressed orientation.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Claims 1-10 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claim 1, Beardsley discloses an articulation assembly for use with a surgical device, the articulation assembly comprising: a first articulation member disposed in mechanical cooperation with an end effector assembly of the surgical device; a second articulation member disposed in mechanical cooperation with the end effector assembly of the surgical device; a first spring-loaded articulation mechanism disposed in mechanical cooperation with the first articulation member and with the second articulation member, the first spring-loaded articulation mechanism including a proximal boss, a distal boss, and a first biasing member extending between the proximal boss and the distal boss; and a second spring-loaded articulation mechanism disposed in mechanical cooperation with the first articulation member and with the second articulation member, the second spring-loaded articulation mechanism including a proximal boss, a distal boss, and a second biasing member extending between the proximal boss and the distal boss, wherein distal movement of the first articulation member relative to the second articulation member results in compression of the first biasing member and compression of the second biasing member.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
7/28/2026