DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 13-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aase et al. (US 2024/0212134; hereinafter Aase).
An ultrasound system for guiding a user to obtain optimized ultrasound images ([0021]), comprising: a handheld ultrasound probe comprising a transducer array ([0022]); a display ([0021]); a memory ([0018], [0021]); and a processor configured for communication with the transducer array, the display, and the memory ([0021], wherein the processor is configured to: control the transducer array to obtain a first plurality of ultrasound images corresponding to one or more views of a patient anatomy ([0031]); calculate a foreshortening metric corresponding to one or more ultrasound images of the plurality of ultrasound images ([0032], [0038]); output a foreshortening indicator representative of the foreshortening metric to the display ([0040]-[0041]); compare the foreshortening metric to one or more predetermined criteria ([0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0058]); and in response to the foreshortening metric not satisfying the one or more predetermined criteria, iteratively output guidance to the user to adjust the orientation of the handheld ultrasound probe, obtain an additional plurality of ultrasound images, calculate an additional foreshortening metric corresponding to the additional plurality of ultrasound images, update the foreshortening indicator based on the additional foreshortening metric, and compare the additional foreshortening metric to the one or more predetermined criteria until the updated foreshortening metric satisfies the one or more predetermined criteria (when metric is unsatisfactory acquire additional image loops, [0042], [0058]; Fig. 6).
Aase also shows wherein, in response to the foreshortening metric satisfying the one or more predetermined criteria, the processor is configured to store the one or more ultrasound images in the memory ([0042]); wherein, in response to the foreshortening metric not satisfying the one or more predetermined criteria, the processor is configured to: control the transducer array to obtain an additional plurality of ultrasound images ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); calculate an updated foreshortening metric corresponding to the additional plurality of images ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); and modify the foreshortening indicator based on the updated foreshortening metric ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); wherein the processor is configured to: compare the updated foreshortening metric to the one or more predetermined criteria ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); and modify the guidance to the user based on the comparison between the updated foreshortening metric and the one or more predetermined criteria ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); wherein the one or more predetermined criteria comprises a threshold value of the foreshortening metric ([0058]); wherein, to control the transducer array to obtain a plurality of ultrasound images corresponding to the one or more views of the patient anatomy, the processor is further configured to: control the transducer array to obtain a first plurality of ultrasound images while the handheld ultrasound probe is at a first position corresponding to a first view of the patient anatomy ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); control the transducer array to obtain a second plurality of ultrasound images, while the handheld ultrasound probe is at a second position corresponding to a second view of the patient anatomy ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); and control the transducer array to obtain a third plurality of ultrasound images, while the handheld ultrasound probe is at a third position corresponding to a third view of the patient anatomy ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); wherein, to calculate the foreshortening metric corresponding to the one or more of the plurality of ultrasound images, the processor is further configured to: calculate a first foreshortening metric associated with the first plurality of ultrasound images ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); calculate a second foreshortening metric associated with the second plurality of ultrasound images ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); and calculate a third foreshortening metric associated with the third plurality of ultrasound images ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the first foreshortening metric, the second foreshortening metric, and the third foreshortening metric ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); and assign one of the first foreshortening metric, the second foreshortening metric, or the third foreshortening metric to be a historical foreshortening metric ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6); wherein one or more predetermined criteria comprise the historical foreshortening metric ([0042], [0058]; Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aase et al. (US 2024/0212134; hereinafter Aase) in view of McLeod (US 2022/0211347).
Aase shows the invention substantially as described in the 102 rejection above.
Aase fails to show wherein the foreshortening indicator comprises: a plurality of discrete regions respectively associated with different values of the foreshortening metric; and a graphical element aligned with one of the plurality of regions, based on a value of the foreshortening metric; wherein the foreshortening indicator comprises: a continuous spectrum of different values of the foreshortening metric; and a graphical element at a location along the continuous spectrum that is based on a value of the foreshortening metric.
McLeod discloses methods and systems for providing a foreshortening warning. McLeod teaches wherein the foreshortening indicator comprises: a plurality of discrete regions respectively associated with different values of the foreshortening metric (color coding regions of the image; [0035]); and a graphical element aligned with one of the plurality of regions, based on a value of the foreshortening metric ([0035]); wherein the foreshortening indicator comprises: a continuous spectrum of different values of the foreshortening metric ([0035]); and a graphical element at a location along the continuous spectrum that is based on a value of the foreshortening metric ([0035]). .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Aase to calculate the quality metric in a plurality of discrete regions in accordance with the graphical element as taught by McLeod, as providing the quality metric according to a plurality of regions will provide a more accurate assessment regarding all of the structures within an image.
Claim(s) 7-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aase et al. (US 2024/0212134; hereinafter Aase) in view of Denaric et al. (US 2022/0273260; hereinafter Denarie).
Aase shows the invention substantially as described in the 102 rejection above.
Aase fails to show wherein the foreshortening metric comprises a first component relating to probe position and a second component relating to probe tilt; wherein, to compare the foreshortening metric to the one or more predetermined criteria, the processor is further configured to: compare the first component relating to the probe position to a desired probe position; and compare the second component relating to the probe tilt to a desired probe tilt; wherein, in response to the first component relating to the probe position not matching the desired probe position, the guidance to the user comprises a message to adjust a position of the handheld ultrasound probe; wherein the message comprises movement of the handheld ultrasound probe to a different intercostal space in a superior direction or an inferior direction; wherein, in response to the first component relating to the probe position matching the desired probe position and the second component relating to the probe tilt not matching the desired probe tilt, the guidance to the user comprises a message to adjust an angle of the handheld ultrasound probe while maintaining a position of the handheld ultrasound probe; wherein satisfying the one or more predetermined criteria comprises the first component matching the desired probe position and the second component matching the desired probe tilt; wherein the patient anatomy comprises a heart, the first view corresponds to a first intercostal space, the second view corresponds to a second intercostal space superior to the first intercostal space, and the third view corresponds to a third intercostal space inferior to the first intercostal space.
Denarie discloses ultrasound systems and providing probe guidance information. Denarie teaches wherein the foreshortening metric comprises a first component relating to probe position and a second component relating to probe tilt ([0054]-[0056]); wherein, to compare the foreshortening metric to the one or more predetermined criteria, the processor is further configured to: compare the first component relating to the probe position to a desired probe position ([0054]-[0056]); and compare the second component relating to the probe tilt to a desired probe tilt; wherein, in response to the first component relating to the probe position not matching the desired probe position, the guidance to the user comprises a message to adjust a position of the handheld ultrasound probe ([0054]-[0056]); wherein the message comprises movement of the handheld ultrasound probe to a different intercostal space in a superior direction or an inferior direction (where it would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation, to provide guidance in relation to the patient’s heart and rib space including the intercostal space when imaging the patient’s heart; [0054]-[0056]); wherein, in response to the first component relating to the probe position matching the desired probe position and the second component relating to the probe tilt not matching the desired probe tilt, the guidance to the user comprises a message to adjust an angle of the handheld ultrasound probe while maintaining a position of the handheld ultrasound probe ([0054]-[0056]); wherein satisfying the one or more predetermined criteria comprises the first component matching the desired probe position and the second component matching the desired probe tilt ([0054]-[0056]); wherein the patient anatomy comprises a heart, the first view corresponds to a first intercostal space, the second view corresponds to a second intercostal space superior to the first intercostal space, and the third view corresponds to a third intercostal space inferior to the first intercostal space (where it would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation, to provide guidance in relation to the patient’s heart and rib space including the intercostal space when imaging the patient’s heart; [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Aase to provide guidance in the form of displaying to the user how to position the probe to acquire the desired view, including providing guidance to the user to adjust the position and/or tilt of the probe as taught by Denarie, in order to more accurately provide a visual indication to guide the user to manipulate the probe to acquire the correct desired view.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gilbert (US 2022/0211342) discloses ultrasound systems including confidence metrics related to images suffering from foreshortening ([0034]);
Sethuraman (US 2025/0213216) discloses ultrasound systems including detecting a foreshortened atrium ([0079]).
/JONATHAN CWERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797