DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houser (US 5,865,801 A).
With respect to claim 1, Houser discloses an ultrasound examination device comprising (see Figures 1 and 6 attached herein): a shaft (catheter shaft #12 as seen on Figure 1); a first lead wire and a second lead wire inserted into an internal space of the shaft and extended out from a distal end of the shaft (see guide wire #16 as described in column 4, lines 40-44 and bifilar wires #88, #100 and #102 as further seen on Figure 6 and as described in column 5 lines 46-
65); a conductive thin film extending from the distal end of the shaft toward a distal side and electrically connected to the first lead wire; an ultrasound probe located on the distal side of the distal end of the shaft and having a first electrode layer electrically connected to the conductive thin film and a second electrode layer electrically connected to the second lead wire (see Figure 6 showing ultrasound electrode #84 in contact with wires #88, #100 and #102); and a resin holder configured to hold, at least, a portion
belonging to the second lead wire and extended out from the shaft, the conductive thin film, and the ultrasound probe (see Column 4, lines 33-38 discloses the catheter shaft #12 with all components as claimed within as a holder and made of polymer resin material).
With respect to claim 2, Houser discloses an insulating support member located between the distal end of the shaft and the ultrasound probe so as to be held by the resin holder, and configured to support the second lead wire (see Columns 4 and 5; lines 33-40 and 9-14 respectively referring to polymer materials for the catheter shaft #12 and ballon section #24 where the ultrasound components are located).
With respect to claim 3, Houser discloses the ultrasound probe has a flat plate shape in which a backing layer, the first electrode layer, a piezoelectric element sheet, and the second electrode layer are laminated, the conductive thin film is connected to a first surface of the ultrasound probe on a side of the backing layer, and the second lead wire is connected to a second surface on a side of the second electrode layer (as seen on Figure 6 showing electrodes #84 and #86 backing to piezoelectric element sheet #82 and connected to wire #88).
With respect to claim 5, Houser discloses the resin holder is configured to internally hold the portion belonging to the second lead wire and extended out from the shaft, the conductive thin film, and the ultrasound probe (see Columns 4 and 5; lines 33-40 and 9-14 respectively referring to polymer materials for the catheter shaft #12 and ballon section #24 where the ultrasound components are located).
With respect to claim 6, Houser discloses a catheter for an intravascular ultrasound examination comprising (as seen on Figure 1): the ultrasound examination device according to claim 1; and an outer shaft into which the ultrasound examination device is inserted rotatably taking the shaft as an axis (see Columns 4 and 5; lines 33-40 and 9-14 respectively referring to the catheter shaft #12 and ballon section #24 where the ultrasound components are located, see catheter’s shat inserted into the patient shown in Figures 12, 13, 15 and 17).
With respect to claim 7, Houser discloses the ultrasound probe has a flat plate shape in which a backing layer, the first electrode layer, a piezoelectric element sheet, and the second electrode layer are laminated, the conductive thin film is connected to a first surface of the ultrasound probe on a side of the backing layer, and the second lead wire is connected to a second surface on a side of the second electrode layer (as seen on Figure 6 showing electrodes #84 and #86 backing to piezoelectric element sheet #82 and connected to wires #88, #100 and #102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houser (US 5,865,801 A) in view of Kheradvar et al. (US 2020/0352717 A1).
With respect to claims 4 and 8, Houser discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that the first lead wire and the second lead wire form a coaxial cable with the second lead wire located at a center. However, Kheradvar discloses the first lead wire and the second lead wire form a coaxial cable with the second lead wire located at a center (see paragraph 0081; Figure 8A-C, catheter sheath #805 may cover the multi-lumen catheter #804 having central channels #865 used to pass a guide wire form a coaxial cable and a plurality of other peripheral channels #864 for a plurality of wires). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the first lead wire and the second lead wire form a coaxial cable with the second lead wire located at a center. as taught by Kheradvar in combination with Houser’s catheter #12 for the purpose of further defining the wire configuration of the guide wire shown by Houser (as defined in Column 4, lines 33-47) widely used to send signals through said cable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art cited in the PTO 892 not relied upon discloses different catheter configurations.
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798