DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 20-27, 29 and 30 are pending and they are examined in this office action.
Specification
The use of the term “Merck” in page 3, line 1, page 4, line 33, page 5, line 7 and line 17, page 81, line 16, page 86, line 15, page 89, line 21, page 91, line 30, page 93, line 11, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, 20, 24-25, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention are directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims are drawn to a composition for promoting the expression of one or more polyphenols in any cell or a plant cell wherein the composition comprise one or more vector components encoding one or more transcription factor present in the flavonoid pathway.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 27, in claim 1 the recitation of “vector components” has been interpreted any of a fragment of DNA sequence since a vector that encodes a transcription factor is a DNA sequence. Therefore, any of a fragments of DNA that encodes the transcription factors are vector components.
Furthermore, The claims are interpreted as “product by process claim” wherein [E]ven though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." It is only given weight for structure that is implied by the process of making (see MPEP 2113). The method of providing of claim 2 and 3 would only describe process of making the composition.
Gonzalez et al. (Published: 2016, Journal: Developmental Biology 419 54–63) discloses a Arabidopsis plant Landsberg erecta ecotype (i.e. naturally found plant) has a composition in its genome that comprise Transparent testa 2 9TT2) as MYB transcription factor and Transparent Testa8 (TT8) as bHLH transcription factor is present in the proanthocyanidins (PA) pathway, a class of flavonoid chemical (page 54, left paragraph 1), that promotes the production of the PA pigments (page 55, left second to last paragraph, Figure1). Therefore the composition is naturally occurring composition in the Arabidopsis plants.
Regarding claims 11-12, the Arabidopsis plant genome would have structure of the vector components.
Regarding claims 20, 24-25, the natural method of pollination would have introduced the MYB and bHLH transcription factors in the new cells of the Arabidopsis ecotypes.
Regarding claims 29-30, the proanthocyanidins (i.e. a flavonoid) found is obtainable from the Arabidopsis (page 55, left second to last paragraph, Figure1).
Thus, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 -Written Description Requirement
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 20-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Analysis of Breadth of Claims
The enzymes present in flavonoid pathway are large genus of enzymes (claim 1).
There are large genus of transcription factors and their combinations that are recited to promote any polyphenols in any organism (claim 1).
There are diverse plant derived flavonoids (claims 4, 9, 27, 30).
Applicant has not described the polyphenol obtainable from the method according claim 20 (claim 29).
Promoting the expression of polyphenols would mean any level of increase of polyphenols since it does not compare to a control or standard (claim 1).
What is Described in the Specification
Applicant describes:
Plasmids comprising combinations of AtTT8, AmDEL, AmROS1, NtAN2, and AtMYB12 were generated and used to transfect Nicotiana tabacum (page 80, lines 16-20, Table 2), Nicotiana benthamiana (page 85, lines 20-23, Table 5).
Plasmids comprising combinations of SPS1, SPS2, AmDEL, AmROS1, and AtMYB12. were generated and used to transfect Nicotiana benthamiana (page 85, lines 20-23, Table 5).
Tables 3-4 and tables 6-7 showed some fold change in polyphenols doe to various combinations of transcription factors and other has no effect for example table 3 and table 4.
Difference Between What was described and What is Claimed ?
Applicant has not described any enzymes present in flavonoid pathway (claim 1).
Applicant has not described any combination of transcription factors or transcription factor promote expression of polyphenols (claim 1) other than SPS1, SPS2, AmDEL, AmROS1, and AtMYB12.
Applicant has not described the structure of plant derived flavonoids (claims 4, 9, 27, 30).
Applicant has not described the “polyphenol obtainable from the method according claim 20” (claim 29).
Analysis
The purpose of the written description is to ensure that the inventor had possession at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
Applicant has not described the enzymes present in flavonoid pathway (claim 1). Although Table 10 list some enzymes such as ANR, LAR, AN2 etc. Applicant has not described which of the combination of enzymes or enzymes and transcription factors would have affected the polyphenols. Furthermore, Applicant has not described any combination of transcription factors or transcription factor promote expression of polyphenols (claim 1) other than SPS1, SPS2, AmDEL, AmROS1, and AtMYB12.
For example Jiang et al. (Published: 2023, Journal: Front. Plant Sci. 14:1220062.
doi: 10.3389/fpls.2023.1220062, pages: 1-22) teaches plant flavonoids are diverse group of secondary metabolites with amazing structural diversity for example flavanones, flavones, isoflavones, flavonols, anthocyanins etc. (page 3, right paragraph 3, Figure 1). The metabolic pathway would include diverse enzymes that would effect the production of flavonoids (i.e. polyphenols). Jiang et al. further teaches Plant flavonoid metabolism represents a complex process involving multiple transcription factors (page 6, left paragraph 1, Table 1). Furthermore, Chen et al. (Published: 2026, Journal: Horticulture Research, 2026, 13: uhaf306 https://doi.org/10.1093/hr/uhaf306) teaches the different transcription factor regulate various polyphenols in different species of for example fruits species (page 4, Tables 1 and 2). Applicant in Figure 11A to Figure 11Q showed various pathways. Therefore different plant system would have various flavonoid pathways based on effect of enzymes, transcription factors and the polyphenols or flavonoid effected.
Therefore there is dearth of description of any transcription factor or any enzyme involved in flavonoid pathway would have promoted any polyphenols in any cell.
Furthermore, since the structure of transcription factor and enzymes involved in the pathway is diverse, there is dearth of description of structure of the enzymes and transcription factors that would promote the polyphenols in any cell.
Promoting the expression of polyphenols would mean any level of increase of polyphenols without comparing it to a control or standard. Instead applicant has not described promoting the expression of polyphenols as compared to the control cell not comprising the vector (claim 1).
Given the large structural diversity associated with the claimed genus, Applicant’s disclosure is not representative of the claimed genus as a whole. This point is particularly relevant because, as discussed above, the prior art speaks to the disconnection between the structure of the broadly claimed variants and their recited function of promoting the expression of any polyphenols.
"The test for sufficiency is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to one skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date." Ariad Pharm, Inc, v EH Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Lockwood v. Amer. Airlines, ina, 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997). "An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations. Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPG2d at 1966". While the written description requirement does not demand either examples or an actual reduction, actual "possession" or reduction to practice outside of the specification is not enough. Ariad Pharm, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F,3d 1336,1352 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Rather, it is the specification itself that must demonstrate possession. Id.
Thus, based on the analysis above, Applicant has not met either of the two elements of the written description requirement as set forth in the court's decision in Eli Lilly. As a result, it is not clear that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Anticipated by Arabidopsis ecotype Landberg erecta
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, 20, 24-25, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Arabidopsis ecotype Landberg erecta plant as evidenced by Gonzalez et al. (Published: 2016, Journal: Developmental Biology 419 54–63).
Claim are drawn to a composition for promoting the expression of one or more polyphenols in any cell wherein the composition comprise one or more vector components encoding one or more transcription factor present in the flavonoid pathway. The claims are further drawn to method of introducing the composition.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 27, the recitation of “vector components” has been interpreted any of a fragment of DNA sequence since a vector that encodes a transcription factor is a DNA sequence. Therefore, any of a fragments of DNA that encodes the transcription factors are vector components.
Furthermore, The claims are interpreted as “product by process claim” wherein [E]ven though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." It is only given weight for structure that is implied by the process of making (see MPEP 2113). The method of providing of claim 2 and 3 would only describe process of making the composition.
Gonzalez et al. discloses a Arabidopsis plant Landsberg erecta ecotype (i.e. naturally found plant) has a composition in its genome that comprise Transparent testa 2 9TT2) as MYB transcription factor and Transparent Testa8 (TT8) as bHLH transcription factor is present in the proanthocyanidins (PA) pathway, a class of flavonoid chemical (page 54, left paragraph 1), that promotes the production of the PA pigments (page 55, left second to last paragraph, Figure1). Therefore the composition is naturally occurring composition in the Arabidopsis plants.
Regarding claims 11-12, the Arabidopsis plant genome would have structure of the vector components.
Regarding claims 20, 24-25, the natural method of pollination would have introduced the MYB and bHLH transcription factors in the new cells of the Arabidopsis ecotypes.
Regarding claims 29-30, the proanthocyanidins (i.e. a flavonoid) found is obtainable from the Arabidopsis (page 55, left second to last paragraph, Figure1).
Therefore Arabidopsis ecotype Landberg erecta plant anticipates the claims.
Anticipated by Luo et al.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 20-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US Patent application Pub. No.: US 2011/0126313 A1, Pub. Date: 05/26/2011).
Claim are drawn to a composition for promoting the expression of one or more polyphenols in any cell wherein the composition comprise one or more vector components encoding one or more transcription factor present in the flavonoid pathway. The claims are further drawn to method of introducing the composition and method of extraction of polyphenols.
Luo et al. discloses a composition for promoting the expression of a polyphenols in a tomato plant cell which comprise a vector encoding a AtMYB transcription factor present in the flavonoid pathway (page 14, paragraph 0228). Luo et al. discloses AtMYB12 activates favonol accumulation in Arabidopsis wherein expression of AtMYB12 resulted in 46-fold and 83-fold increases of rutin (quercetin rutinoside) and kaempferol rutinoside in leaves, flowers when expressed in tobacco plant (page 16, paragraph 0237). The fold increases in polyphenols induced by AtMYB12 were higher in the Money Maker background than in the MicroTom background (page 16, paragraph 0244-0245, Figure 4D).
Luo et al. discloses a vector composition comprising transcription factors Delila (Del) and Roseal (Ros1) which encodes a basic helix-loop-helix transcription factor a MYB-related transcription factor (page 21, paragraph 0315, see Figure 10.1 below).
Regarding claim 2, the AtMYB12 and DEL-Ros are in separate vector.
Regarding claim 3, Figure 10.1 showed the two transcription factor are provided in single vector which leads increased anthocyanins (i.e. polyphenols or flavonoids) such as 3,5-diglucosides acylated with cinnamic acids and phenolic compounds, natural favonol, rutin (page 22, paragraph 0318, page23, paragraph 0327).
Luo et al. discloses improving the color of the anthocyanins and giving stronger blues, a high flavonol, high anthocyanin tomato has been developed (AtMYB12/Del/Ros1) which is more intensely colored (page 23, paragraph 0329, Figure 10.12).
Regarding claim 4, Luo et al. discloses rutin is a flavonoid (page 16, 0244) and anthocyanins are flavonoids (page 21, paragraph 0308).
Regarding claim 6, the transcription factor comprise MY and bHLH, ROS1 and DEL.
Regarding claim 8, the MYB is MYB12 (page 16, paragraph 0237).
Regarding claim 9, the AtMYB12 is derived from Arabidopsis thaliana.
Regarding claims 11 and 26, The plant transformed were tobacco (from genus nicotiana and species N. tabacum) (page 15, paragraph 0238) and tomato plant (page 23, paragraph 0329, Figure 10.12).
Regarding claims 20 and 24-25 and 27, Luo et al. discloses improving the color of the anthocyanins and giving stronger blues, a high flavonol, high anthocyanin tomato (i.e. promoting polyphenols or flavonoids) has been developed by transforming AtMYB12/Del/Ros1 which is more intensely colored (page 23, paragraph 0329, Figure 10.12).
Regarding claim 21, Luo et al. discloses extraction of anthocyanins (i.e. polyphenols) from fruits (page 26, paragraph 0365), detection (page 26, paragraph 0369) and purification (page 26, paragraph 0370).
Regarding claim 22, Luo et al. discloses levels of phenolics in leaves of transgenic tobacco plant were compared (page 16, paragraph 0238).
Regarding claim 23, Luo et al. teaches selection of flavonoid and hydroxycinnamate content by LC/MS. (page 15, paragraph 0230, page 16, paragraph 0244).
Regarding claims 29-30, Anthocyanin is a flavonoid polyphenol.
Therefore Luo et al. anticipates the claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4, 9, 11-13, 20-21, 23-27, 29 and 30 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 12, 14-15, 26-27 and 41 of copending Application No. 19478137 (reference application) (Hereafter cited as ‘137). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Regarding claims 1, 4, the ‘137 claim 1 recite a composition for promoting expression of styrylpyrones and/or chalcones (i.e flavonoids or polyphenols) in a cell which comprise vector component including transcription factor in flavonoid pathway.
Regarding claims 2-3, the ‘137 claim 2 recite the components are provided in separate or same vector.
Regarding claims 9, the ‘137 claim 12 recite the transcription factor are derived from Arabidopsis or Nicotiana.
Regarding claims 11-13, 24-27, the ‘137 claims 14-15, recite the plant or N. tabacum plant transformed with the vector components.
Regarding claims 20-21, 23, the ‘137 claims 26-27 recite method of introducing the vector, extracting the chalcones and purifying using HPTLC.
Regarding claims 29-30, the ‘137 claim 41 recite a chalcone obtainable by the method which is a flavonoid.
Claims 6, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19478137 (reference application) (Hereafter cited as ‘137). in view of Harris et al. (Published: 2013, Journal: Australian Journal of Grape and Wine Research 19, 221–229).
Regarding claim 1, the ‘137 claim 1 recite a composition for promoting expression of styrylpyrones and/or chalcones (i.e flavonoids or polyphenols) in a cell which comprise vector component including transcription factor in flavonoid pathway.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, ‘137 does not teach the promotion of expression of chalcone by MYB, MYB5A, transcription factor.
Harris et al. teaches MYB5A transcription factor promote the expression of chalcone which is involved in flavonoid pathway (Abstract and page 221, Figure 1, Table 2) in grape plant.
Therefore someone skilled in the art would use composition comprising the vector fragments from MYB5A for the promotion of expression of chalcone in grape plant cells.
Regarding claim 22, Harris et al. teaches leaf also contain tannins and chalcone also expressed in leaves (page221, second to last paragraph, page 225, left paragraph 1).
Therefore someone skilled in the art would use leaf for extraction of chalcone from the grape leaves.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/SANTOSH SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663